Time LineTime Line ray Wed, 04/21/2010 - 11:21
Commencing with the year 1682 and continuing to present day, I have subjectively gleaned salient dates and facts relating to our local chronology from journals and other authoritative sources and have compiled them into this overview of the 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st Centuries of Ocean Springs History...
French Colonial Period [1699-1763]French Colonial Period [1699-1763] ray Wed, 04/21/2010 - 12:29
Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle (1643-1687) reconnoitered the Mississippi River from the Great Lakes locating its deltaic mouth on the Gulf of Mexico in April 1682. He claimed for France the vast area between the Rocky Mountains and the Alleghenies drained by the Mississippi and all of its tributaries. We know this territory as Louisiana, i.e. belonging to King Louis XIV of France. La Salle called the Great River, Colbert, in honor of the French Minister of Marine.
Pierre Le Moyne (1661-1706), Sieur d'Iberville, French Canadian soldier of fortune, departed Brest, France aboard La Badine on October 24, 1698 to locate the mouth of the Mississippi River from the Mexican Gulf and establish a French presence on the Gulf Coast to discourage Spanish and English incursions into the area claimed byLaSalle for France. Some French strategist feared that if the English controlled the mouth of the Mississippi River that their holdings and commercial enterprises, including the lucrative fur trade of interior North America were doomed.
Fort Maurepas Replica
[image made February 1995 by Ray L. Bellande. Destroyed in August 2005 by Hurricane Katrina]
French soldiers led by Iberville in the service of King Louis XIV of France, commenced the construction of Fort Maurepas, at present day Ocean Springs, Mississippi, in early April. Fort Maurepas was named to honor the French Minister of the Marine (Navy), Jerome Phelypeaux de Maurepas, Comte (Earl) de Pontchartrain. Several locales in North America bear the name Maurepas or Pontchartrain: Lakes Maurepas and Pontchartrain in southeastern Louisiana and Point Maurepas on the island of Michipicoten (Ontario) in Lake Superior. The Fort Maurepas settlement was also called Biloxi for the local Siouxan Indian tribe which lived on the Pascagoula River.
Iberville and fleet departed Ship Island for France in May. He left a garrison of seventy-six men and ten officers under Sauvolle Fort Maurepas.
In late April, Bienville explored the area of present day D’Iberville and found it to be fine for a settlement. Iberville also visited here and commented: “I found it very beautiful with pine woods, mixed with trees of other kinds in spots, many prairies, light sandy soil everywhere; I saw a good many deer. Deer are killed everywhere in the vicinity of the fort.”
Iberville aboard La Badine and his fleet departed Ship Island for France in May. He left a garrison of seventy-six men and ten officers under Sauvolle at Fort Maurepas.
Iberville returned from France and anchored at Ship Island on January 8th aboard Renommee. He departed Ship Island for New York and France in late May 1700. At New York, Iberville sold 9000 pelts acquired from trappers in the Mississippi Valley.
February 6th, the French establish Fort de La Boulaye (Fort Mississippi) on the Lower Mississippi, near Phoenix, thirty miles below New Orleans. Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne (1680-1767), Sieur de Bienville in command of fifteen men. First French establishment in present day Louisiana. Position abandoned 1707, with Juchreau St. Denis in command.
Commandant Sauvolle expired at Fort Maurepas on August 22nd. Bienville assumed command of Fort Maurepas on Bilocchy [Biloxi] Bay.
Iberville arrived at Pensacola aboard Renommee December 15th.
Iberville ordered Bienville to abandon Fort Maurepas on December 17th and build a fort at La Mobile on the Mobile River, twenty seven miles from Dauphin Island.
Fort Maurepas was abandoned in the early January 1702, as Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne (1680-1768), Sieur de Bienville removed the French garrison to Dauphin Island to construct a warehouse.
Iberville laid out the streets of La Mobile in late March.
On March 26th, Iberville, Tonty, and Bienville, interpreter, met with three Chickasaw and four Choctawchiefs at La Mobile to establish a peace between these warring tribes and discourage them from trading with the English. He gave each Indian nation the following: twelve muskets; 200 pounds of black powder; 200 pounds of bullets; 200 pounds of game-shot; 100 axes; 150 knives; kettles; glass beads; gun flints; awls; and assorted hardware.
Iberville left Pensacola for Havana on April 27th with a load of beaver pelts and common animal skins. Renommee sailed for Rochefort, France from Havana on June 17th.
Iberville died at Havana on July 9th.
Natchez, Mississippi founded by the French.
Fort Toulouse was erected by the French at the juncture of the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers near present day Wetumpka, Alabama, just north of Montgomery, Alabama to prevent English trade with the local Indians and to deter Anglo settlers and traders from advancing from the Carolinas.
The French return to Biloxi Bay and locate on the site of old Fort Maurepas after a hurricane in August 1717 damages their harbor at Dauphine Island.
John Law (1671-1729), a Scottish economist, granted charter through his Compagnie l'Orient to a monopoly on trade in Louisiana. Law lost his charter in 1722, through bankruptcy. Reorganized as Compagnie des Indies. Office of Royal Governor ceased-Superior Council ruled Louisiana until 1731, when Compagnie des Indies gave up control.
Bienville founded New Orleans.
Bienville seized Pensacola from the Spanish
French move their base of operations from present day Ocean Springs [Vieux Biloxi] to present day Biloxi [Nouveau Biloxi].
Bienville relocated to New Orleans from Biloxi.
French move Louisiana Colony government to New Orleans on the Mississippi River.
Bienville commissioned Governor of Louisiana Colony.
Bienville led French forces in the northeast Mississippi Chickasaw campaigns at Ackia and Cotton Gin (Amory).
Bienville left Louisiana and arrived at Rochefort, France in October. He retired to Paris.
The French and Indian War was the last of four major colonial wars between the British, the French, and their Native American allies. Unlike the previous three wars, the French and Indian War began on North American soil and then spread to Europe, where Britain and France continued fighting. Britain officially declared war on France on May 15, 1756, marking the beginnings of the Seven Years' War in Europe. Native Americans fought for both sides, but primarily alongside the French (with one exception being the Iroquois Confederacy which sided with the colonies and Britain). The first major event was in 1754. Major George Washington, then twenty-one years of age, was sent to negotiate boundaries with the French, who did not give up their forts. Washington led a group of Virginian (colonial) troops to confront the French at Fort Duquesne (present day Pittsburgh). Washington stumbled upon the French at theBattle of Jumonville Glen (about six miles NW of soon-to-be-established Fort Necessity, and in the ensuing skirmish, a French Officer (Joseph Coulon de Jumonville) was killed, news of which would certainly provoke a strong French response. Washington pulled back a few miles and established Fort Necessity. The French forced Washington and his men to retreat. Meanwhile, the Albany Congress was taking place as means to discuss further action.
Edward Braddock led a campaign against the French in 1755; Washington was among the British and colonial troops. Braddock employed European tactics: bold, linear marches and firing formations. This led to disaster at the Monongahela, where the French and natives, though heavily outmanned and outgunned (the British had a heavy cannon), used superior tactics (using the trees and bushes as cover) to gun down and rout the British. Braddock was killed; Washington, despite four close calls, escaped unharmed and led the survivors in retreat.
Major French victories continued at Fort William Henry, Fort Duquesne, and Carillon, where Montcalmfamously defeated five times his number. The only British success in 1755 was the taking of Fort Beausejour by ColonelRobert Monckton, thus protecting the Nova Scotia frontier. An unfortunate consequence of this was the subsequent forced deportation of the Acadian population of Nova Scotia and the Beaubassin region of Acadia. 1756 brought with itWilliam Pitt, Secretary of State of Great Britain. His leadership, and France's continued neglect of the North-American theater, turned the tide in favor of the British. The French were driven from many frontier posts such as Fort Niagara, and the key Fortress Louisbourg fell to the British in 1758. In 1759, the Battle of the Plains of Abraham gave Quebec City to the British, who had to withstand a siege there after the Battle of Sainte-Foy a year later. In September of 1760, Pierre François de Rigaud, Marquis de Vaudreuil-Cavagnal, the King's Governor of New France, negotiated a surrender with British General Jeffrey Amherst. General Amherst granted Vaudreuil's request that any French residents who chose to remain in the colony would be given freedom to continue worshiping in their Roman Catholic tradition, continued ownership of their property, and the right to remain undisturbed in their homes. The British provided medical treatment for the sick and wounded French soldiers and French regular troops were returned to France aboard British ships with an agreement that they were not to serve again in the present war.
Though most of the North American fighting ended on September 8, 1760, when the Marquis de Vaudreuil surrendered Montreal — and effectively all of Canada — to Britain (one notable late battle allowed the capture of Spanish Havana by British and colonial forces in 1762), the war officially ended with the signing of the Treaty of Parison February 10, 1763. The treaty resulted in France's loss of all its North American possessions east of the Mississippi (all of Canada was ceded to Britain) except Saint Pierre and Miquelon, two small islands off Newfoundland. France regained the Caribbean islands of Guadeloupe and Martinique, which had been occupied by the British. The economic value of these islands was greater than that of Canada at the time, because of their rich sugar crops, and the islands were easier to defend. Spain gained Louisiana, including New Orleans, in compensation for its loss of Florida to the British.
British Colonial Period [1763-1780]British Colonial Period [1763-1780] ray Wed, 04/21/2010 - 12:30
Together with the Treaty of Hubertusburg, it ended the French and Indian War or Seven Years' War. The treaties marked the beginning of an extensive period of British dominance outside of Europe. While the bulk of conquered territories were restored to their pre-war owners, the British made some substantial overseas gains at the expense of France and, to a lesser extent, Spain.
In India, the French lost out to the British, receiving back its "factories" (trading posts), but agreeing to support the British client governments, as well as returning Sumatra and agreeing not to base troops in Bengal. The British garrison on the Mediterranean island of Minorca was returned to her control, having been captured by the French at the outbreak of hostilities in Europe.
Britain returned the slave station on the isle of Gorée to the French, but gained the Senegal River and its settlements. Britain agreed to demolish its fortifications in Honduras, but received permission from Spain to keep a logwood-cutting colony there. Britain confirmed in the treaty the rights of its new subjects to practice the Roman Catholic religion and received confirmation of the continuation of the British king's Hanoverian right as a Prince-elector of the Holy Roman Empire.
Bienville died at Paris. Buried Montmarte Cemetery.
In June 1768, George A. Gauld (1732-1782), a Scottish cartographer and surveyor, in the employ of the British Admiralty, made a map of coastal Mississippi. He was operating from HMS Sir Edward Hawke. During his reconnaissance and charting of the region, Gauld made many observations about Horn Island. He discovered that it was some sixteen miles in length, but in width no more than one mile. Orientation was nearly east-west. As regards to vegetation, Gauld noted that there were uneven groves of trees on the west end of the island. The middle was characterized by dense growth, and the eastern end of the sand bar was fairly devoid of tree growth.(Ware, 1982, p.107)
In June 1768, George A. Gauld (1732-1782), a Scottish cartographer and surveyor, in the employ of the British Admiralty, made a map of coastal Mississippi. He was operating from HMS Sir Edward Hawke. During his reconnaissance and charting of the region, Gauld made many observations about Horn Island. He discovered that it was some sixteen miles in length, but in width no more than one mile. Orientation was nearly east-west. As regards to vegetation, Gauld noted that there were uneven groves of trees on the west end of the island. The middle was characterized by dense growth, and the eastern end of the sand bar was fairly devoid of tree growth.(Ware, 1982, p.107)
On July 4, 1776, the thirteen American colonies declared their independence from Great Britain.
In June 1779, Spain declared war on Great Britain. In September, General Bernado de Galvez (1746-1786), Spanish governor of the Louisiana Territory, captured Fort Bute at Manchac, Louisiana; the English garrison at Baton Rouge, Louisiana; and accepted the surrender of Fort Panmure at Natchez.
Spanish Colonial Period [1780-1811]Spanish Colonial Period [1780-1811] ray Wed, 04/21/2010 - 12:31
On March 14, 1780, General Galvez captured Fort Charlotte and the city of Mobile, Alabama. The Mississippi Gulf Coast became a part of Spanish West Florida.
In May 1781, the English at Pensacola, Florida surrendered to Spanish forces led by General Galvez.
On July 3, 1781, Spanish Governor of the Louisiana Territory, Bernardo de Galvez (1746-1786) granted Horn Island to Marie Catherine Vinconneau Baudrau of Pascagoula. She was born at La Rochelle, France and marriedJean-Baptise Baudrau II (1707?-1757), the son of Jean-Baptise Baudrau dit Graveline and an Indian woman.
American Revolutionary War ends with Great Britain the signing of the Treaty of Paris. America is now bounded on the north by Canada; east by Atlantic Ocean; south by Spanish West Florida; and west by theMississippi River.
The Mississippi Territory was organized on April 7, 1798, from territory ceded by Georgia and South Carolina; it was later twice expanded to include disputed territory claimed by both the U.S. and Spain. Land was purchased (generally through unequal treaties) from Native American tribes from 1800 to about 1830.
Winthrop Sargent (1753-1820) was named first Governor of the Mississippi Territory in May.
William C.C. Claiborne (1775-1817) became Governor of the Mississippi Territory in May.
The Louisiana Purchase was the acquisition by the United States of approximately 530 million acres(828,000 sq mi or 2,100,000 km²) of French territory on April 30, 1803, at the cost of about 3¢ per acre (7¢ per ha); totaling $15 million or 80 million French francs. Including interest, America finally paid $23,213,568 for the Louisiana territory. The land purchased contained all of present-day Arkansas, Missouri, Iowa, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska,Minnesota south of Mississippi River, much of North Dakota, nearly all of South Dakota, northeastern New Mexico, northern Texas, the portions of Montana, Wyoming, and Colorado east of the Continental Divide, and Louisiana on both sides of the Mississippi River, including the city of New Orleans. (The Oklahoma Panhandle, and southwestern portions of Kansas and Louisiana were still claimed by Spain at the time of the Purchase.) In addition, the Purchase contained small portions of land that would eventually become part of the Canadian provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan. The land included in the purchase comprises around 23% of the territory of the modern United States. The purchase was an important moment in the presidency of Thomas Jefferson. At the time, it faced domestic opposition as being possiblyunconstitutional. Although he felt that the Constitution did not contain any provisions for acquiring territory, Jefferson decided to purchase Louisiana because he felt uneasy about France and Spain having the power to block American traders' access to the port of New Orleans.
Circa 1805, Louis Auguste LaFontaine (1762-circa 1813) and Catherine Bourgeois LaFontaine (1768-circa 1840) purchased a land grant on the Bay of Biloxi containing 280 arpents [7 arpents (1344 feet) front by 40 arpents (7680 feet) deep] from Julian Azevedo, probably a Spaniard. On January 15, 1816, The United States House of Representatives approved the land grant known as No. 30 in an abstract of Commissioner Crawford titled, "land in the District east of the Pearl River in Louisiana founded on private conveyances or grants lost by time or accident". This land grant became known as the Widow LaFontaine Tract and encompasses Section 37, T7S-R8W, which is most of'Old Ocean Springs'. Section 37, T7S-R8W is bounded on the north by Government Street; east by General Pershing; south by the Bay of Biloxi; and west by Martin Avenue.
Robert Williams (1773-1836) was named third Governor of the Mississippi Territory in March.
David Holmes (1769-1832) was named the fourth Governor of the Mississippi Territory in March.
The Republic of West Florida was declared independent of Spain in September at St. Francisville, Louisiana. It lasted only forty-five days.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi - 19th Century (1811 - 1900)Ocean Springs, Mississippi - 19th Century (1811 - 1900) ray Wed, 04/21/2010 - 12:33
When Dr. William 'Fat Doctor' Flood, the representative of Governor Claiborne of the Orleans Territory, was dispatched to the Mississippi coast to hoist the flag of the United States in January 1811, he found the population between the Pearl River and Biloxi to be about four hundred people chiefly French and Creoles. Dr. Flood in his report to Governor Claiborne wrote: proceeded to the Bay of Biloxi, where I found Mr. Ladnier (Jacques), and gave him the commission (Justice of the Peace). He is a man of excellent sense, but can neither read or write, nor can any inhabitants of the bay of Biloxi that I can hear of. They are, all along this beautiful coast, a primitive people, of mixed origin, retaining the gaiety and politeness of the French, blended with the abstemiousness and indolence of the Indian. They plant a little rice, and a few roots and vegetables, but depend on subsistence chiefly on game and fish. I left with all these appointees copies of the laws, ordinances, etc. But few laws will be wanted here. The people are universally honest. There are no crimes. The father of the family or the oldest inhabitant, settles all disputes......A more innocent and inoffensive people may not be found. They seem to desire only the simple necessities of life, and to be let alone in their tranquility. I am greatly impressed with the beauty and value of this coast. The high sandy lands, heavily timbered with pine, and the lovely bays and rivers, from Pearl River to Mobile will furnish New Orleans with a rich commerce, and with a delightful summer resort. For a cantonment or military post, in consideration of the health of the troops, this whole coast is admirably fitted.
The War of 1812 with the British Empire commenced on June 18th.
Jackson County was created on December 12, 1812 as part of the Mississippi Territory.
The War of 1812 with England officially ended on December 24, 1814 and unofficially in March 1815.
General Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) and his small army defeated General Edward M. Packingham (1778-1815) and his large force at the Battle of New Orleans fought on the plains of Chalmette on January 8th. General Packingham was killed in the fight.
Mississippi entered the Union on December 10th as the 20th State of the United States of America withDavid Holmes (1769-1832) As Governor. David Holmes had been Governor of the Mississippi Territory since 1809.
On March 3, 1819, the Widow LaFontaine Claim [Section 37, T7S-R8W] was confirmed by an Act of Congress, entitled "An Act for adjusting the claims of land and establishing Land Offices in the District East of the Island of New Orleans". The land was surveyed in 1824, and a patent issued by the United States Government to the Widow LaFontaine on May 16, 1846.
Population of Jackson County 1681 people-1300 white, 321 black, and 61 free black.[count from Federal Census]
The first post office in Jackson County, Mississippi was established in 1821 and called Jackson County Courthouse. It was located in present day George County near Wilkerson’s Ferry on the Pascagoula River. It was also in the vicinity of the County’s first courthouse, which was at the home of Thomas Bilbo [Bilbaud] (1776-1870), a prominent surveyor of this time.(The History of JXCO, Ms., 1989, pp. 10-11)
Cady [Cadet?] Lafontaine - Died, a few days past, at the Bay of Biluxi [sic], in the State of Mississippi, Cady Lafontaine, at the remarkable age of 137 years. He retained his faculties until the day of his death.[The Louisiana State Gazette, New Orleans, December 18, 1823]
Population of Jackson County 1792 people.[count from Federal Census]
In 1835, Joseph H. Bellande (1813-1907) arrived in the United States, probably New Orleans, from Marseille, France. He was one of the first settlers in the fishing village of East Biloxi, which became Ocean Springs in 1854. Joseph marries Roseline LaFauce [LaForce], a granddaughter of Catherine LeBourgeios, the Widow LaFontaine, and inherits land from her estate in 1848.
The Picayune began publishing it newspaper at 38 Gravier Street at NOLA on January 25, 1837 by Francis A. Lumsden and George Wilkins Kendall (1809-1867). The four page journal cost 25 cents per week or 6 1/4 cents per issue, the value of a Spanish picayune. A three months subcription was $2.50. By early November 1837, the paper became The Daily Picayune. In 1914, The Daily Picayune merged with The New Orleans Times-Democrat to become The Times-Picayune.
Population of Ocean Springs estimated at 273 people.[Bellande count from Federal Census]
Harrison County, Mississippi was formed from Hancock and Jackson County, Mississippi on February 5, 1841.
Joseph H. Bellande (1813-1907) married Rosaline LaFauce [LaForce] (1821-1895), daughter of Jacques LaFauce and Marie Eveline LaFontaine on May 26, 1842. She was the granddaughter of Louis LaFontaine and Catherine Bourgeois LaFontaine, the Widow LaFontaine.
Circa 1840 before her demise, the 237 acres of land, Section 37, T7S-R8W, possessed by Catherine Bourgeois LaFontaine, the Widow LaFontaine, informally gave her land to her family. From west to east beginning at Martin Avenue and going to the Inner Harbor, the Widow LaFontaine original partition was to her sons-in-law, Jerome Ryan(1793- c. 1875), John Westbrook, and Jean Baptise Ladner; Joseph Bellande (1819-1907), the husband of her granddaughter, Roseline LaFauce (1821-1893); Azalie LaFauce Clay Ryan (b. 1820), her granddaughter; and her son,Louis Auguste LaFontaine II. The eastern three arpents were probably sold to Andre Fournier and his wife,Catherine Bouzage Fournie (b. 1780), many years before the Widow LaFontaine's donation to her family. The Fournier tract was bounded on the east by a small bayou called Bayou Bouzage probably for his wife's family. It later became known as Mill Dam Bayou, and after widening and dredging is now the Inner Harbor.
In August 1846, a partition deed for the Widow LaFontaine Tract was filed at the Jackson County Courthouse. The land was divided by her heirs and legal representatives. From Martin Avenue east to the vicinity of the Gulf Oaks Condominiums, the land was parceled into five lots. Lot One ran from Martin Avenue 561 feet eastward, and was owned by Jerome Ryan (his wife, Euphrosine LaFontaine, appears to be deceased at this time). Lot Two ran from the east boundary of Lot One a distance of 672 feet east and was owned by Robert B. Kendall. Lot Three, also possessed by Kendall, was 720 feet wide. Lot Four which was 528 feet wide was owned by Joseph H. Bellande, his wife, Roseline LaFauce, and his sister-in-law, Azalie LaFauce. Azalie would marry George Clay (b. 1812), an Ohio millwright, circa 1849, and later Mr. Ryan. Lot Five was in the possession of Robert B. Kendall and ran 198 feet. Madame Fournier owned to Bayou Bouzage (Inner Harbor) which completed the seven arpents fronting on the Bay of Biloxi.
Population of Ocean Springs 183 of which 52 were slaves.[Bellande count from Federal Census]
The Louisville & Nashville Railroad was born March 5, 1850, when it was granted a charter by the Commonwealth of Kentucky “...to build a railroad between Louisville, Kentucky, and the Tennessee state line in the direction of Nashville." On December 4, 1851, an act of the Tennessee General Assembly authorized the company to extend its road from the Tennessee state line to Nashville. Laying of track began at Ninth Street and Broadway in Louisville in May of 1853. By 1855, the founding fathers of the L&N, most of them Louisville citizens, had raised nearly $3 million to finance the construction. The first train to operate over the railroad ran on August 25, 1855, when some 300 people traveled eight miles from Louisville at a speed of 15 mph!
Benjamin L.C. Wailes (1797-1852), State geologist of Mississippi, viewed the village of Back Bay, present day D'Iberville, from Biloxi on August 27, 1852, and observed the following: Rode in the morning, after a call from Judge Smith, to Back Bay 2 miles, which is the extension of the Bay of Baluxi (sic). Found a steam ferry running across where it seems to be a mile in width. The extensive brick yard of Mr. Kendall, where bricks are made on a very extensive scale from dry compressed earth by steam power, was in sight of the opposite side, about two miles distant. A number of small craft were in the Bay, and several along the shore were undergoing repairs. Several steam mills, which are very numerous on the Bay, for sawing pine timber, were also in view.(Wailes, 1854)
William Gray Kendall (1812-1872) was a Kentucky lawyer and entrepreneur residing at New Orleans, who in January 1846, purchased a fifty-acre tract of land at Ocean Springs in Section 30, T7S-R8W with 800 feet fronting on the Bay of Biloxi, between the present day Shearwater Pottery and Weeks Bayou. On this beautiful, high ground facing Deer Island to the south, he built a residence, icehouse, small cemetery. Mr. Kendall was postmaster at NOLA in 1854 and operated the Biloxi Steam Brick Works at present day D'Iberville. Kendall's brick making operation utilized over 160 slaves before it went bankrupt circa 1855.
On January 19, 1853, Robert Little was appointed Postmaster at Lynchburg Springs [now Ocean Springs]. This village on the east side of Biloxi Bay, which had been the site of Fort Maurepas, the 1699 French beachhead of Colonial Louisiana, had been known through the years as Biloxey, Vieux Biloxey, and prior to Lynchburg Springs, East Biloxi. It acquired the name “Lynchburg Springs” from George Lynch (1815-1880+), a native of Maryland.(The Daily Picayune, February 4, 1853, p. 3)
[The Daily Crescent [NOLA], May 10, 1853, p. 2]
Dr. William Glover Austin (1814-1894) and Warrick Martin (1810-1854+) erected the Ocean Springs Hotel on Jackson Avenue near Cleveland Avenue. It opened for business on June 19, 1853 under the management of Enoch Everett (1813-1853+), a Massachusetts born teacher who resided at New Orleans.(The Daily Picayune, June 18, 1853, p. 2)
Yellow Fever struck Biloxi on June 29th, when it was brought to Biloxi by someone from New Orleans. Dr. Andreas Byrenheidt (1768-1858) reported following the crisis that there were 533 cases of Yellow Fever in Biloxi, which resulted in 111 deaths. He estimated that the population at this time was 5500 people, which included summer tourists and those fleeing the epidemic at New Orleans.(Testimony of Dr. A. Byrenheidt, M.D. in Report of the Sanitary Commission of NOLA on the Yellow Fever of 1853, 1854, p. 540)
The Yellow Fever epidemic at New Orleans killed about 10,000 of the 30,000 persons infected with the mosquito borne virus. It earned the Crescent City the epithet "Necropolis of the South".
Enoch Everitt of the Ocean Springs Hotel sponsored a regatta at Ocean Springs from July 21st to July 23rd hosting yachtsman from the Mississippi Coast, New Orleans, and Mobile. The course was sailed clockwise from the wharf at Ocean Springs around Deer Island and back. Participants were: Sylph, J.G. Robinson; Venture, S. Story;Stingaree, Stingaree Club; Sea Serpent, Captain Walker; Secret, A. McIlhenny; Eagle, J.O. Nixon; Edith, T. Byrnes;Kate, W. Dearing; and the Vision. The last two vessels were from Mobile. Creole, the local steam packet, followed the racers with well wishers and a musical band. (The Daily Picayune, July 13, 1853, p. 2 and July 23, 1853)
Frederick G. Moeling (1835-1880), pronounced “mailing”, was the new Postmaster at “Ocean Springs”. His appointment date was December 12, 1854. “Ocean Springs” took its name from the Ocean Springs Hotel, which had been erected in 1853 by Dr. William Glover Austin (1814-1894) and Warrick Martin (1810-1854+). The US Post Office here has been called Ocean Springs since this time.
The Gazette, a newspaper owned by George Allen Cox (1811-1887), was published at Ocean Springs.
Lofton Jennings (1819-1873), born in Maine and resident of New Orleans, took over the lease and management of the Ocean Springs Hotel when it opened June 1st.(The Daily Picayune, June 2, 1854, p. 3)
The Daily Picayune, February 20. 1855, p. 5.
Eye of Hurricane of September 15-16 passed over Bay St. Louis.
The Last Islands [Isles Dernieres] Hurricane mauls this seaside resort off of Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana on August 11th and kills about 200 people. According to modern estimates by the NOAA the storm was probably aCategory 4 hurricane with central pressure of around 934 mb. It tied with Hurricane Hugo as the 10th most intense hurricane to hit the mainland United States.
In 1859, Joseph H. Bellande (1813-1907) sold to Bishop William H. Elder of the Diocese of Natchez a lot measuring 192 x 100 feet for the first site of St. Alphonsus Catholic Church on Porter Avenue for $100.
Population of Ocean Springs 336 of which 57 were slaves.[Bellande count from Federal Census]
John B. Toulme (1795-1860), native of Saint Domingue, now Haiti, expired at Bay St. Louis, on August 17th. He was a pioneer settler of this village and assisted General Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) with information on the British invasion forces in this area during the War of 1812.(The Daily Picayune, August 25, 1860, p. 2)
The War of the Rebellion or American Civil War commences on April 12, 1861 in South Carolina.
“The Live Oak Rifles”, Company A, 3rd Mississippi Infantry Regiment, C.S.A., were sworn into State military service on September 18, 1861, on the Sardin G. Ramsay (1837-1920) homestead and farm, south of Vancleave. 3rd Sergeant Sardin G. Ramsay was one of the seven members of the Ramsay family of Jackson County to serve in this military unit.(Howell, To Live and Die in Dixie, 1991, p. 59 and p. 552)
The Civil War ends on April 9, 1865 in Virginia.
Population of Ocean Springs 313 people.[Bellande count from Federal Census]
Captain Charles N. Walker (1821-1870), age 49 years and steamboat captain who worked between NOLA and Mobile, died at Ocean Springs on January 15, 1870.(The New Orleans Times, January 18, 1870, p.6)
On Saturday night inst, Messrs Edward Keith [O' Keefe] and Blaze Leitzler had a difficulty, resulting in the death of Leitzler, who received a fatal wound in the bowels and back with a pocket knife. So far as we have been able to gather the particulars, they are as follows: Ned Keith went to the barroom of Leitzler in search of a friend, and when he knocked at the door Leitzler answered, opened the door and asked Keith what he wanted. Keith replied that he came after his friend (naming him) and must see him, but refused to go in and drink with Leitzler; whereupon Leitzler pushed Keith away from the door, at the same time telling him he did not care a d—n for him or his friend. They then clinched and fell to the ground, Leitzler being topmost, and during the scuffle Leitzler received the wounds from which he died a few hours after, notwithstanding the best medical aid that could be procured in the town. It is a lamentable affair; they were both old citizens with families. Mr. Keith immediately took the Creole (steamer) for East Pascagoula, where he at once gave himself up to the Sheriff, Mr. John C. Clark, who delivered the prisoner to our Sheriff last Sunday, who placed him in jail, where he awaits his examination in Jackson County.[The Daily Picayune, October 26, 1870]
On October 29, 1870, the New Orleans, Mobile, & Chattanooga Railroad (Chartered 1866) completed the rail line between Mobile and New Orleans. Rail service commenced on November 21, 1870.
R.A Van Cleave (1840-1908) is erecting a store near the depot. Town lots near the depot were deemed overpriced by The Handsboro Democrat as Ocean Springs was regarded as a village.(The NOLA Republican, December 28, 1870, p. 8)
The N.O.M. & C. was reorganized on April 18, 1871 and became the New Orleans, Mobile & Texas Railroad.
[The Weekly Clarion [Jackson, Mississippi], 16 July 1874, p. 1]
An editorial in The Star of Pascagoula blasted the New Orleans, Mobile & Texas Railroad as "nothing more that or less than a gang of highway robbers, entitled to as little consideration from the people as so many bandits who rob and plunder the weak and defenseless in defiance of the law. The only remedy for these wrongs is the sale of the road. Refuse to patronize the road, even if undergo inconvenience in doing so.(The Star of Pascagoula, May 22, 1875, p. 2)
In June, D.B. Seal, District Attorney of Hancock County filed litigation against the New Orleans, Mobile, & Chattanooga Railroad (sic?). The plaintiffs were asking that the railroad build a draw bridge across the Pearl River. The present bridge was blocking the East Pearl River channel, which was needed for the lumber trade.(The Star of Pascagoula, June 12, 1875, p. 3)
[The Handsboro Democrat-Star, July 1, 1876, p. 3]
In February 1877, the citizens of Ocean Springs organized an improvement society to beautify and refurbish the local streetscapes.(The Star of Pascagoula, February 9, 1877, p. 1)
On April 1st, the New Orleans, Mobile & Texas Railroad almost doubled it fare to $.05 per mile. Before the passenger rate increase the cost of a round trip ticket to New Orleans from Pascagoula was $5 and to Mobile $2. After increase, the New Orleans fare was $10 and that to Mobile $4.10.(The Star of Pascagoula, April 6, 1788, p. 1)
In May 1877, Mr. Fontz of Paducah, Kentucky and Mr. Leftwich of Tuscaloosa, Alabama acquired property at Ocean Springs.(The Star of Pascagoula, May 18, 1877, p. 1)
In July 1877, Vigilant Fire Company No. 3 of New Orleans came to stay at the Illing House for a three day respite. They brought a band and held a ball, which was well-attended. The Baptist community held an ice cream festival to raise funds for a new sanctuary. Mr. Gueringer, the railroad agent, auctioned off the cakes-some selling for $2.50 to $3.00 to as high as $10.(The Star of Pascagoula, July 20, 1877, p. 1)
A monthly mite meeting was held in early April at the home of Mrs. Lyman Bradford [nee Cynthia Davis (1813-1887) and the widow of Lyman Bradford (1804-1858)] two miles east of Ocean Springs. R.A. Van Cleave (1840-1908), local merchant was in attendance and $11.25 was collected for the new Baptist Church under construction at Ocean Springs. Guest were served cakes, pastries, meats, candies, and fruits.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, April 12, 1878)
In late April 1878, R.A. Van Cleave (1840-1908) held a benefit at his home to raise funds to erect a new Baptist Church at Ocean Springs.(The Star of Pascagoula, May 3, 1878, p. 3)
In the late summer and early fall, there were approximately one hundred seventy-five cases of yellow feverrecorded at Ocean Springs from the nearly six hundred people believed to have been here at the time. From this population about thirty deaths were recorded. Many were small children.
During the 1880s, Ocean Springs saw the ground work laid for its future as an agricultural and horticultural center. Parker Earle (1831-1917), William A. Sigerson (1844-1906),
Population of Ocean Springs 560 people.[Bellande count from Federal Census]
The Van Cleave Hotel opened on May 1, 1880. The Pascagoula Democrat-Star of May 7, 1880 revealed: This entirely new and comfortable hotel opened on the 1st of May, 1880, and will remain open all the year round for the accommodation of regular and transient boarders. This hotel being entirely new and elegantly fitted up, and with large, well ventilated rooms lighted by gas, boarders will find every comfort desired. Special arrangements made for family. Rates moderate.
The L&N Railroad leased the property of the N.O.M. & T. on May 8, 1880.
In July 1880, Jefferson Davis (1808-889), former CSA president, and Varina Howell Davis (1826-1905), his spouse, visited and spent the day at the Ocean Springs Hotel.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, July 23, 1880, p. 3)
On October 30, 1880 the Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1 was duly organized with forty-one active members and eighteen honorary members. It was the first fire company in the State to receive a charter, which wassigned by Governor John M. Stone on September 22, 1881. R.A. Van Cleave, president; Robert W. Lewis, vice-president; A. von Rosambeau, secretary, and Thomas Cochran, treasurer.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, November 26, 1880, p. 3 and Volunteer Fire Companies of Ocean Springs, Ms., 1961, p. 3)
In March 1881, Father John C. Ahern (1841-1881+), an Irish immigrant and pastor of St. Alphonsus Catholic Church was arrested and fined $35 for firing a pistol at C.F. Emery, principal of the Scranton Public Schools. Both men had guns on the streets of Ocean Springs and had been in a recent disagreement. Sheriff Clark jailed Father Ahern in Pascagoula. Professor Emery was not incarcerated. Professor Emory departed Ocean Springs in May 1881 for Fort Smith, Arkansas to practice law.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, March 11, 1881, p. 3 and May 20, 1881, p. 3)
In April 1881, Father Francis Janssens (1843-1897), Dutch born missionary Catholic priest, was appointed the fourth Bishop of the Diocese of Natchez.
In May 1881, Elder I.A. Hailey of Louisville, Kentucky arrived at Scranton [Pascagoula] to serve as pastor of the Baptist churches at Moss Point, Scranton, and Ocean Springs.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 20, 1881, p. 3)
On October 5, 1881, the L&N Railroad purchased all the assets of the reorganized New Orleans, Mobile, & Texas Railroad for $6,000,000. This acquisition included the Ponchartrain Railroad which ran seven mile from New Orleans to Milneburg on Lake Ponchartrain, and the one hundred forty-one miles of track, depots, the creosote plant at West Pascagoula (Gautier), stations, station houses, section houses, rolling stock, etc. between Mobile and New Orleans. (JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 5, p. 299)
On September 9, 1882, probably the most memorable event to take place at the Van Cleave Hotel and possibly in Ocean Springs occurred. This special occasion was the military review by Jefferson Davis (1808-1889), former President of the Confederate States of America, of the Reichard Battalion and German Guards of New Orleans under the command of Major Maximillian Hermann. The troops were accompanied to Ocean Springs by Wolf's band. The train, which carried the military personnel, stopped at Beauvoir for Davis and his daughter with the band playing the "Bonnie Blue Flag". When they arrived at Ocean Springs, the uniformed Ocean Springs Fire Company greeted them in a heavy rain at the depot. The honored troops marched to the splendidly decorated Van Cleave Hotel where they were welcomed by R.A. Van Cleave (1880-1908), President of the Ocean Springs Fire Company. After a review by Jefferson Davis, a reception with champagne punch sponsored by W.B. Schmidt (1823-1900), wealthy merchant of New Orleans, was held in the parlor of the hotel. The festivities of the day were concluded with a grand military ball at Schmidt's Ocean Springs Hotel.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, September 9, 1882 and September 16, 1882)
Parker Earle (1831-1917) recently moved to Ocean Springs from southern Illinois [Anna] and former president of the American Fruit Growers Association acquired over 20,000 acres of land in Jackson County. He planted over 20,000 peach trees and 10,000 vines in orchards and vineyards north of Old Fort Bayou. One of these tracts called the Earle Farm would become known as the Rose Farm from which Rose Farm Road got its name. Also at this time, William A. Sigerson (1810-1897) from Ohio had 20,000 pear trees near Ocean Springs of the Keifer, LeConte, and Bartlett variety.(The Biloxi Herald, January 14, 1888, p. 1)
Jefferson Davis (1808-1889) died at New Orleans on December 6th. His remains were interred in the Metairie Cemetery.
US Federal Census burned. No population count for Ocean Springs.
Father F. Charles Bohmert (1844-1890), native of Alsace and pastor of St. Alphonsus Catholic Church,committed suicide on June 24th.(The Times Picayune, June 28, 1890, p. 8)
Frederick M. Weed (1850-1926) sold an artesian well to Alfred E. Lewis (1862-1933) in October 1890. Located on Church Street behind present day Bayou Sporting Goods. Mr. Lewis became known as the "Artesian Prince" because he furnished free water to the citizens of Ocean Springs for four public fountains (drinking troughs for horses). He also supplied water freely for fighting fires. Mr. Lewis built a hostel on the southwest corner of Jackson and Porter. It became known as the Artesian House.(Jackson County, Mississippi Land Deed Book 12, p. 98 and Minutes of the Town of Ocean Springs, July 4, 1893 and January 2, 1894)
In late January, Louis Sullivan and James Charnley of Chicago were guests at Frye's Ocean Springs Hotel awaiting completion of their East Beach homes.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, January 30, 1891, p. 1)
H.H. Curtis of Wisconsin is a guest of Mr. Holcombe, a winter resident and summer citizen of Chicago. Mr. Curtis is in town to check in real estate investments and supervise the men in his employ that are preparing Alto Park for further development. Colonel Sigerson and Colonel Stuart are engaged in greeting new arrivals from the Northinterested in the "land boom" here.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, January 30, 1891, p. 1)
In April, the L&N Railroad built an iron turn-table at Ocean Springs.(The Pascagoula-Democrat-Star, April 24, 1891, p. 2)
Parker Earle & Sons of Ocean Springs, succeeded the Winter Park Lumber Company, in the manufacturing of yellow pine lumber.(The Biloxi Herald, July 11, 1891, p. 4)
Potable water was introduced into local homes in late 1891. The Biloxi Herald reported in January 1892, that "the streets (of Ocean Springs) that were torn up for the purpose of introducing the artesian water into residences should be put in as good condition as they were not left in ruts and holes, as is the case in several instances".(The Biloxi Herald, January 2, 1892, p. 4)
Bishop Thompson of the Episcopal Church delivered an inspiring sermon at the Baptist Church, which the Episcopalians are using until their new sanctuary is completed.(The Biloxi Herald, January 9, 1892, p. 8)
Ocean Springs Hook and Ladder Volunteer Fire Company was organized in April. H.H. Beyer, president; W.R. Simmons, vice president; and James B. Garrard, secretary.(The Biloxi Herald, April 16, 1892, p. 1)
Town of Ocean Springs incorporated on September 9, 1892.
H. Eugene Tiblier Jr. (1866-1936), found a sunken French vessel in the Back Bay of Biloxi beneath the shallow water over the family oyster lease, near the L&N Railroad bridge. Captain Tiblier hired Joseph "Pep" Suarez (1840-1912), who owned the schooner, Maggie, to assist in the salvage of artifacts from the hold of the sunken ship. His sons, Albert Tiblier and Vital Tiblier, dove on the oyster bank during the salvage operations. According to a report ofThe Pascagoula Democrat-Star of September 23, 1892, the Tiblier family recovered four cannons, swords and scabbards, some muskets, cannon balls, wooden sheaves, fire brick, iron braces, and rock ballast.
The Ocean Springs Signal-published only in 1892 by C.W. Crozier and F.L. Drinkwater.(C.E. Schmidt, Ocean Springs French Beachhead, 1972, pp. 80-81).
The Youth's Dramatic Club of Ocean Springs gave its initial performance on January 27th at the Firemen's Hall for the benefit of the Ocean Springs Episcopal Church.(The Biloxi Herald, January 21, 1893, p. 8)
In late May, the corporal remains of Jefferson Davis (1808-1889) were sent from New Orleans by a L&N funeral car to Richmond, Virginia for burial on May 31st in the Hollywood Cemetery.(The Biloxi Herald, May 29, 1893, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Leader-published in 1893 by F.L. Drinkwater (Regina Hines Ellison, Ocean Springs, 1892, p. 27.)
The Mexican Gulf Coast Illustrated written by T.H. Glenn of Ocean Springs is complete and being bound. Mr. Glenn was renting Spring Hill, the Wing Cottage on Old Fort Bayou.(The Biloxi Herald, January 2, 1892, p. 8, January 9, 1892, p. 8, and July 8, 1893, p. 8)
The Columbian Exposition Edition, an eight page and eight column journal, was published by The Biloxi Herald in July. G.W. Wilkes, publisher, and W.L. Gilbert were responsible for this splendid publication.(The Biloxi Herald, July 22, 1893, p. 1 and July 29, 1893, p. 1)
Captain Pablo Cox (1842-1893) was lost in the Cheniere Caminda Storm of early October 1893. He was aboard the Alphonsine, a schooner owned by the Biloxi Canning Company, when the tempest hit them. Four additional sailors on the schooner from Ocean Springs were also drowned.(The Biloxi Herald, October 5, 1893, p. 1)
"Desoto Avenue a new street has been graded and ditched."(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, March 23, 1894, p. 3)
[The Southern Live Stock Journal, May 28, 1894, p. 7]
'The Westbrooks', local baseball club of Ocean Springs, lost to the 'Lemons' of Biloxi 29 to 7 at Ocean Springs. The battery for Ocean Springs was Fayard, Seeman (sic), and Katchardt (sic). Biloxi's battery was Clark and Henley. Clark struck out ten Westbrooks, while Seeman (sic) fanned only two 'Lemons'.(The Biloxi Herald, May 11, 1895, p. 8)
A fire in late September 1895 had destroyed the round-house which was adjacent to and north of the L&N depot. The depot was damaged by the blaze and water resulting from efforts to squelch the blaze. The station was entirely renovated in November 1895. Agent Weed, made numerous interior changes and the interior and exterior of the building was painted. Many felt that the Ocean Springs depot was the most attractive on this division of the L&N and a credit to the company. The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 4, 1895).
An indication that Schmidt & Ziegler were losing interest in their Ocean Springs Hotel occurred in June 1896, when they sold the venerable Marble Springs to the City of Ocean Springs for $1.00.(JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. Book 17, pp. 431-432)
William Gorenflo (1844-1932) of Biloxi sold the Town of Ocean Springs 10,000 barrels of oyster shells to pave the streets of Ocean Springs. Jerry O'Keefe (1860-1911) bid $185 to do the work.(The Pascagoula Democratic-Star, November 27, 1896, p. 3 and The Biloxi Herald, November 28, 1896, p. 8)
The Ocean Springs Wave-published for 10 months in 1896 by Arthur Soule. Jules Paul Soule [1855-1896], editor. Two issues (1896) available at Mississippi Department of Archives and History and on microfilm at the Pascagoula Public Library.
Jules Paul Soule, editor of The Biloxi Review, was mortally wounded by John H. Miller (1847-1928), editor of The Biloxi Herald on December 7th. Captain Miller was exonerated of manslaughter charges in July 1897.(The Biloxi Herald, December 12, 1896, p. 8 and July 3, 1897, p. 1)
The 1300-foot sand bar at Horn Island will be cut away and 600 feet dredged on either side.(The Biloxi Herald, December 12, 1896, p. 5)
Beginning December 14th, the Gulf & Ship Island Railroad became a regular U.S. Mail route.(The Biloxi Herald, December 12, 1896, p. 5)
Rev. Nelson Ayres, former Episcopalian minister for Ocean Springs and the Mississippi Coast, was ordained a Roman Catholic priest at NOLA by Archbishop Francis Janssens (1843-1897), fourth Archbishop of NOLA, in mid-December.(The Biloxi Herald, December 26, 1896, p. 1)
[The Times-Democrat [NOLA] Febuary 19, 1897-courtesy of Jeff Rosenberg-DMR]
In February, Albert E. Lee (1873-1936) of Hammond, Louisiana was in Ocean Springs to determine if a local journal was warranted. In his thirty-nine years in town, Mr. Lee would go on to own and publish three local journals:The Progress, The Ocean Springs News, and The Jackson County Times.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star February 10, 1897, p. 3)
William S. Van Cleave erected a small, one-story, frame, store building juxtaposed to the family home and situated on the northeast corner of Washington Avenue and Desoto. This 750 square-foot, general store building was razed in March 1903, after he had formed a partnership with Junius P. Van Cleave, his brother.(The Pascagoula Democrat Star, March 5, 1897, p. 3 and January 27, 1903, p. 3)
Joseph Kotzum (1842-1915) sold the Town of Ocean Springs a strip of land thirty feet wide and one hundred feet long to continue Desoto Avenue from Cash Alley to State Street.(JXCO. Ms. Land Deed Bk. 34, p. 463)
Marshall Tardy had his men working to beautify Martin Avenue. They were also shelling the Beach Road.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, April 16, 1897, p. 3)
Ocean Springs Hook and Ladder Volunteer Fire Company held a grand May ball in late April in order to raise capital to acquire a building lot.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, April 16, 1897, p. 3)
Dr. Juan Guiteras (1852-1925), government Yellow Fever authority, examined twenty-eight cases of fever at Ocean Springs in early September and reported that twenty-five people had dengue fever with three cases undiagnosed.(The Daily Picayune, September 9, 1897, p. 1)
The Progress- A.E. Lee (1874-1936) publisher and editor from 1897-1903. Lee sold to Ernest Beaugez. Plant destroyed by fire March 4, 1905. Some issues (1904-1905) available at Mississippi Department of Archives and History, and Chancery Court of Jackson County Archives in Pascagoula.
The Spanish American War began on April 21st.[see Civil War and Spanish American War on webpage]
Captain John Johnson of Ocean Springs was probably the heaviest loser of anyone in town from the cold. A few days previous he had purchased 700 barrels of oysters at fancy prices, all of which froze, entailing a loss of nearly $800. To make matters worse, orders for oysters have been pouring in all week which cannot be filled.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 21, 1899, p. 8)
Battery D, 1st Regiment Artillery, Mississippi National Guard was reorganized on May 6th. Joseph B. Garrard (1871-1915), Captain; Ross A. Switzer, 1st Lieutenant; Harry P. Halstead, 2nd Lieutenant; Louis D. Schmidt, 1st Sergeant; and Edward F. Illing, Quartermaster.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 12, 1899, p. 3)
Frederick M. Dick was appointed manager of the Joseph B. Rose Farm, north of Ocean Springs.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, June 23, p. 3)
H. Piser & Company of Mobile acquired over 50,000 pounds of Jackson County wool through the Davis Brothers, their local agent. The price was 19 1/2 cents per pound.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, July 7, 1899, p. 3)
Light for local houses was created with acetylene gas. At this time, George W. Dale (1872-1953) provided the service locally.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, July 7, 1899, p. 3)
The Mayor and Board of Alderman passed an ordinance giving the American telephone & Telegraph Company the right to construct and operate lines of telephones and telegraphs along the streets and alleys of town.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 4 1899, p. 3)
The Mayor and Board of Alderman accepted the survey and plan of the Evergreen Cemetery made by Fred Hess of Pascagoula.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 4 1899, p. 3)
The Colored Camp Meeting in progress is largely attended by White people as well as Colored.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 11, 1899, p. 3)
H.F. Russell (1858-1940) and Dr. Oscar Lee Bailey (1870-1938) met with Mayor Daniel Nash (1859-1900+) of Biloxi to have quarantine restrictions lifted on the healthy Gulf Coast resort towns.(The Biloxi Herald, September 19, 1899, p. 8)
Due to the 'infamous quarantine', the news and other items from Ocean Springs did not reach The Pascagoula Democrat-Star for publication.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, September 22, 1899, p. 3)
Ernest Garic (1862-1899) and son, Adrian Garic (1887-1899), drowned in Old Fort Bayou near the Washington Avenue ferry on September 30th.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 6, 1899, p. 3)
A new map of the Evergreen Cemetery was drawn by Professor Q.D. Sauls and was accepted by theReverend Oren Switzer, Joseph Kotzum, and George W. Davis, appointed trustees.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 13, 1899, p. 3)
Mrs. Pauline Ryan Bellman (1811-1899) died on October 20th.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 20, 1899, p. 3)
The population of Ocean Springs 1256 people [925 white and 331 black].[Ray L. Bellande count from Federal Census]
Population of Jackson County 16513 people with 10697 white and 5815 black.
Edward W. Wickey (1866-1900+) of Indianapolis, Indiana asked the Board of Mayor and Aldermen for afranchise to establish an electric light plant and ice factory. The franchise was reported granted to Mr. Wickey in mid-January.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, January 5, 1900, p. 3 and January 19, 1900, p. 3)
The Cumberland Telephone & Telegraph Company commenced installation of the first telephone system in Ocean Springs. Business and residential telephones became operational in late April with Mrs. Olive Perrigrin Terry (1878-1900+) as operator in charge. Will Terry (d. 1899), her spouse, was killed at Plaquemine, Louisiana on April 28, 1899.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, February 2, 1900 and May 4, 1900, p. 3, and April 28, 1899, p. 3)
Narcisse Seymour (1849-1931), pioneer seafood shipper, was sending shrimp to Mobile, New Orleans, and Pascagoula.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, March 16, 1900)
The Big White Public School on Porter and Dewey was completed on April 15, 1900, by contractor, Frank Bourgh. Professor Q.D. Sauls was in charge of the nearly two hundred students in attendance.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, April 13, 1900)
Nine hundred head of sheep driven to Ocean Springs from the Vancleave ranches of H.C. Havens, Thomas E. Ramsay, and George W. Tootle. They were shipped to W.L. Bramblett in three railcars to Paris, Kentucky.(The Pascagoula-Democrat-Star, May 18, 1900, p. 3)
The Methodist Episcopal Church on the southeast corner of Porter and Rayburn was dedicated on September 16, 1900. The first service was held in mid-May although the edifice had not yet been completed. A new Sanctuarycommenced services here October 21, 1962.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 25, 1900, p. 3 and
Mrs. Thomas Hanson, nee Ryan, widow of Thomas Hanson, Danish immigrat, expired at Ocean Springs on the 29th of October.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, October 30, 1900, p. 8)
The Ocean Springs Drug Store building of Herman Nill (1863-1904) situated on the northwest corner of Washington Avenue and Porter was destroyed in a large conflagration on December 2, 1900. The building also housed the Cumberland Telephone Exchange and office of Dr. E.A. Riggs (1861-1903). Mr. Nill’s brother-in-law, Caspar Vahle (1867-1922), had his livery stable burned the same night.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, December 7, 1900)
Pioneer citizen, Joseph Catchot (1823-1900), a native of Mahon, Menorca, died. He was the father of Antonio J. Catchot (1864-1954), Mayor, Fire Chief, and L&N bridge builder. Joseph Catchot arrived here in 1848.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi - 20th Century (1901 - 2000)Ocean Springs, Mississippi - 20th Century (1901 - 2000) ray Wed, 04/21/2010 - 12:46
The period 1900-1910 is marked by the birth of the remarkable Schmidt brothers. These sons of Frank E. Schmidt (1877-1954) and Antoinette Johnson Schmidt (1880-1956), Dr. Frank O. Schmidt, Dr. Harry J. Schmidt, and Charles E. Schmidt, left an indelible mark on the history of Ocean Springs. Though seemingly native sons, the Anderson brothers, Peter, Walter (Bob), and James (Mac), who would become leaders in the artistic community for over seven decades, came into the world at New Orleans.
Many of the old guard millionaires from New Orleans, the Midwest, and the Eastern seaboard, whose winter havens dotted the shoreline from Fort Point to Halstead Bayou passed on. Modern technology in the guise of the telephone, electricity, the automobile, moving pictures, and an ice plant, began to arrive here. Several new churches were built and the tourist industry was strong with more than ten hotels and many tourist homes in operation primarily on Front Beach, Jackson Avenue, and Washington Avenue.
Horticulture, especially citrus and pecan orchards, began to develop east and north of Ocean Springs. On the negative side, two hurricanes hit town and a small gang of young ruffians who had terrorized the city for several years was broken up when one was killed in a scuffle on Washington Avenue by a gun-slinging, lawman from Vancleave.
Stock raising is to be made a feature of the big Rose Farm as a carload of western horses was received here. Rush H. Field is the gentleman behind the stock venture and is thoroughly capable of making a grand success, having had years of experience. (The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 15, 1901, p. 8)
The Gulfport News of Sam Braselton, began publication in July.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 28 , 1901, p. 8)
The Hurricane of August 15, 1901 came ashore at Pascagoula.
The Peoples Water Works was chartered by Joseph Kotzum (1842-1915, F.J. Lundy (1863-1912), B.F. Joachim (1853-1925), Thomas I. Keys (1861-1931), et al on September 4, 1901, to compete with J.J. Kuhn’s water works company.(JXCO Chancery Court Chattel Deed Bk. 2, pp. 182-187)
William B. Schmidt, (1823-1901), the Merchant Prince of New Orleans expired at New Orleans on June 16th. Schmidt had a large estate on Front Beach and owned the Ocean Springs Hotel from circa 1866 until 1901 with his business partner, Frances M. Ziegler (1818-1901). He was generous to the people of Ocean Springs giving land for St. John’s Episcopal Church in 1891, and the Marble Springs Park in 1896.
The first Fort Bayou Bridge, a steel structure, at Franco’s Ferry on Washington Avenue was built by the George E. King Bridge Company for $9469 in 1901. It was completed in December 1901. Leonard Fayard (1847-1923) was the first bridge tender and was remunerated $30 per month for his duties.(Minute Book 4, JXCO Mississippi Board of Supervisors, p. 39, p. 45, p. 108, p. 122, and p. 165)
By December, Leo von Rosambeau had replaced Mrs. Terry as operator in the telephone office. He was backed up by Minnie Powell.(The Pascagoula-Democrat-Star, December 3, 1901, p. 3)
Peter Anderson (1901-1984), potter and artisan, was born on December 22, 1901, at New Orleans.
Arthur A. Macginnis (1846-1901) Jr., cotton manufacturer of New Orleans, and proprietor of a large estate on Front Beach, died at New York City on December 27, 1901. His wife, Mary Amelia Tweed (1851-1887), was the daughter of W.M. “Boss” Tweed (1823-1878), leader of Tammany, the Democratic political machine of NYC.
The Progress, a local journal, was selected by the Jackson County Board of Supervisors as one of its County printers.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 9.1902, p. 8)
The Bowers Bill, created for the conservation of the Mississippi oyster industry, passed in the State Legislature.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 6, 1902, p. 1)
The residence of Orion A. Baker (1869-1908) was totally destroyed by fire. The glow was visible at Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 9, 1902, p. 8)
In April 1902, Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938) of Milwaukee acquires the Parker Earle (1831-1917) Place on Fort Point from Sarah Deuel Cooke (1839-1904), and commenced development of the park landscape at “Shore Acres” on what became known as Benjamin Point.
Joseph Benson Rose (1841-1902) expired on July 3, 1902, in the Savoy Hotel at NYC. Mr. Rose, an entrepreneur and yachtsman of NYC and Chicago, maintained an estate, “Elk Lodge”, on East Beach. He gave his name to the Earle Farm, which he acquired in August 1897.
Dr. Frank O. Schmidt (1902-1975), dedicated community physician, born at Ocean Springs on November 16, 1902.
The Scranton State Bank opened a branch here on the northeast corner of Washington and County Road (Government Street).
The Public School was headed by H.G. McGowan and he was assisted by teachers: Adele Adams of Ohio; Miss D. Owings of Missouri and sister of Professor Owings, Superintendent of the Biloxi Public Schools; and Florence Morrow.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 10, 1903, p. 6)
Dr. Ethan Allen Riggs (1861-1903) who formerly practiced medicine at Ocean Springs and Biloxi expired at New Orleans on May 28th. He was educated at the University of Mississippi and Tulane.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 29, 1903, p. 1)
On June 23, 1903, the Biloxi Electric Street Railway & Power Company acquired the franchise to provide electricity to Ocean Springs by erecting as modern electric light plant. W.K.M. Dukate, E.C. Joullian, and Walter A. White of Biloxi were involved in the project.(City Ordinance No. 139 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 5, 1903, p. 1 and June 6, 1903, p. 8)
The Jacques Bertuccini (1854-1943) House, now Minerva's Antiques and owned by Courtney Cook Blossman, was erected at present day 619 Washington Avenue.
The OS Fire Department held it annual parade on August 19th. The Biloxi Brass Band played music for the parade and grand ball later.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 19, 1903, p. 6)
Arson continued at Ocean Springs as the home of Mrs. M.E. Wilcox of Michigan was torched. Her home was vacant at the time of the fire.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 16, 1903, p. 6)
Walter I. “Bob”Anderson (1903-1965), ceramics decorator and watercolorist, was born at New Orleans on September 29, 1903.
The Ocean Springs Electric Light and Ice Company began operations south of the L&N Railroad bridge on Biloxi Bay.
Ellen Chambers Clark (1843-1915), spouse of Newcomb Clark, former Union office, organized the Ladies Book Exchange at her home. The society met once a week with each member bringing a new book by their favorite author which she had read and exchange it with another member.(The Daily Picayune, January 24, 1904, p. 19)
Judge Thomas W. Grayson (1825-1904) passed on March 4, 1904. Grayson came here in 1881, from Grangers Landing (Woolmarket) and was elected Mayor of Ocean Springs for the 1897-1898 term. Eugene W. Illing (1870-1947) was elected Justice of the Peace to succeed Mr. Grayson.
In late June 1904, electric street lights operated by the Biloxi Electric Street Railway Company.
The Rose Farm was selling its mandarin oranges at Biloxi for between 15 and 30 cents per dozen. They also had a large crop of Creole oranges.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 4, 1904, p. 5)
Robert Walter Lewis (1886-1904), son of the widow of A.E. Lewis, expired on December 4th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 6, 1904, p. 5)
Frederick J.V. LeCand (1841-1933) from Natchez, Mississippi acquired 'Audubon Place' at Ocean Springs and moved his family here in December 1904 to start a poultry farm.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 7, 1904, p. 5 and December 28, 1904, p. 5)
Frederick Mason Weed 1850-1926), incumbernt, defeated Hiram D. Cudabac for Mayor of Ocean Springs 76 votes to 35 votes.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 14, 1904, p. 5)
Jacob C. Tucker (1845-1917) advertised for his Gulf Coast School of Practical Railroad Telegraphy.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 17, 1904, p.
“Iduma” [L-R: (ground)-Jonathan Ramsay (1873-1953); David Ramsay (1873-1947); unknown; Reuben Ramsay; Knox Ramsay: L-R: (on Boat)-Iduma Walker Ramsay and Woody Ramsay. From Mike Ramsay, Arnaudville, La.]
Schooner Iduma built by Jonathan Ramsay (1873-1953)- official number 201722*, 44 feet and 11 tons, built at Ocean Springs in 1905, by John Ramsay for his own use. It was named for his sister-in-law, Iduma Walker, the spouse of Wesley Knox Ramsay.
The Ocean Springs State Bank was organized in January 1905, by Dr. O.L. Bailey (1870-1938) and F.M. Weed (1852-1926), et al.
The L&N RR announced that it would build a modern depot at Ocean Springs commencing in June.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 11, 1905, p. 5)
Mary McGowan (1839-1905), native of Ireland and mother-in-law of L&N Conductor William Johnson (1861-1922), died in February.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 16, 1905, p. 1)
Henry Gottsche (1875-1905), brother of Albert C. Gottshe, took his own life in the barn behind the Davis Brothers Store..(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 3, 1905, p. 6)
The venerable Ocean Springs Hotel on Jackson Avenue was destroyed by fire on May 25, 1905.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 26, 1905, p. 3)
George Friar commenced a bucket factory. Porter B. Hand (1834-1914), master mechanic and son of Miles B. Hand (1804-1880+), the founder of Handsboro, ran the machinery which made staves from pine and native woods at the rate of one bucket each minute.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, December 1, 1905)
In August 1905, The Illing House, one of the oldest hotels of Ocean Springs, was demolished by Judge E.W. Illing. It was located on the northeast corner of Washington Avenue and Porter where Illing would build later his Illing Theatre.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 11,1905)
In October, Marcellus “Mike” Reus (1884-1905) was killed in a scuffle by Night Policeman, Henry Taylor(1869-1947), on Washington Avenue. Officer Taylor, a former deputy sheriff, was brought in from Vancleave to eliminate hoodlum activity in the town.
The Ocean Springs Packing Company was chartered in November by Daniel J. Gay; L.D. Byrd; J.H. Johnson; and R.M. Davis, all naval stores operators, as well as Louis A. Lundy and Hiram F. Russell of Ocean Springs; and Sydney Anderson of Vancleave. This enterprise did not come to fruition until 1915.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 20, 1905, p. 1)
Dr. Harry J. Schmidt (1905-1997), prominent Biloxi physician, was born at Ocean Springs on December 28, 1905.
J.J. Kuhn (1848-1925) of New Orleans sold his waterworks operations to the Peoples Water Works for $3180.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, January 5, 1906)
Ann Hyde Grayson (1832-1906), widow of Thomas W. Grayson (1825-1904), former Mayor of Ocean Springs, died at Biloxi on January 7th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 8, 1906, p. 4)
Chief Justice Melville W. Fuller (1833-1910) of the U.S. Supreme Court on March 5th ruled in favor of Louisiana on the water boundary dispute between Louisiana and Mississippi. Federal Case called Louisiana v. Mississippi US 58 (1906).(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 6, 1906, p. 1)
Town Marshal Samuel P. Starks resigned and Augustus von Rosambeau (1849-1912) was appointed temporary Marshal until a special election was held.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April 6, 1906, p. 4)
The automobile arrived at Ocean Springs. Two Canadian born gentlemen, who settled here, Dr. Henry B. Powell (1867-1949) and Orey A. Young (1868-1938), share the honor of owning the first cars in town.(The Pascagoula Democrat Star, April 6, 1906, p. 3, c. 5 and Ocean Springs French Beachhead, 1972, p. 101) Not far behind were Fred W. Benjamin (1879-ca 1945) and Colonel Newcomb Clark (1836-1913).(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 26, 1906, p. 2, c. 1)
Dr. Henry Bradford Powell established a sanitarium on Fort Bayou in the Antonio Franco (1834-1891) home.
The Scranton State Bank failed in August 1906.
The price of charcoal reached an all time high at Ocean Springs of $240 per train car load. In past years, a train car load sold for between $60 and $80.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 22, 1906, p. 4)
On September 26-27, 1906, a Hurricane hit Pascagoula. There was wide spread damage at Ocean Springs as the 1878 Baptist Church on Church Street and Desoto Avenue was destroyed. The Knights of Pythias Hall on Washington Avenue was severely marred and later demolished. The Rose Farm was extensively damaged as well as the Boulevard Farm residency of Mr. C.S. Bell (1842-1925). The residences of Wilson L. Carter (1867-1942) and Joe Wieder (1879-1931), which were under construction, were demolished by the tempest. The Firemen’s Hall and the new concrete block store of the Van Cleave Brothers were wrecked. Many trees and fences on Washington and Jackson Avenue were blown down. The Horn Island Lighthouse was destroyed and Charles Johnsson, the keeper, his spouse and daughter, were drowned.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 5, 1906, The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 28, 1906, p. 2, and the Mississippi Press, October 16?, 1977, p. 13A)
In late August, H.F. Russell and family moved into their “new” home, the Dr. Case place on Porter and Washington Avenue.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 24, 1906, p. 3)
Mrs. Martha Lyon Holcomb (1833-1906) expired at “Hollywood”, her home on the northeast corner of Porter and Rayburn, on November 29,1906.
L&N Railroad erected a new depot building east of the former structure.
Pioneer citizen, Joseph Bellande, (1813-1907), a native of Marseille, France passed on June 16,1907. The Bellande Cemetery situated on Dewey Avenue was named for him and his wife, Rosaline LaForce Bellande (1821-1893), the granddaughter of Catherine Bourgeois LaFontaine, the Widow LaFontaine. Bellande arrived at Ocean Springs in1835.
James McConnell Anderson (1907-1998), artist, born on August 9, 1907 at New Orleans.
The Hanson-Wilson House, originally called Bay View, now called Shadowlawn, and the bed and breakfast establishment of Bill and Nancy White Wilson on Shearwater Drive, was erected by Christian C. A. Hanson (1845-1914) of New Orleans.
Mrs. Julia Egan (1833-1907), fiery red-headed Irish lady, who once ran the post office, a store, and a boarding house, the Egan Cottage, on Jackson Avenue and Front Beach, expired.
In early January, Miss Lillie Sutton was arrested by Officer Henry Taylor (1869-1947) while robbing the home of Fred Abbley. A search of her home revealed over $600 in cash, purses, watches, a locket, necklace, and a diamond ring. Also among her stolen items was a diamond ring belonging to Mrs. Jenny O'Keefe.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 9, 1908, p. 1)
In January, Ocean Springs Hook and Ladder Volunteer Fire Company was preparing to erect a new hall on Washington Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 20, 1908, p. 1)
Pioneer citizen and merchant, Robert Adrian Van Cleave (1845-1908), a native of Hinds County, died on September 24, 1908. His name lives in perpetuity for an area in southwestern Jackson County for which a US Post Office was named in 1870.
The Eglin House, a large, comfortable, boarding house, was built on Washington Avenue by Amelia Krohn Eglin (1855-1916).
The F.J. Lundy residence in the rear of his Washington Avenue store was destroyed by fire in early November. Valiant actions of local citizens, the Hook & Ladder Company and Volunteer Fire Company No. 1,prevented a larger conflagration which might have destroyed the entire business district of Ocean Springs.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 9, 1908, p. 2)
Rushton Holmes Field (1838-1908), New York native, Colorado mining operator and resident of East Beach, expired at Ocean Springs on December 29th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 29, 1908, p. 1)
Dr. Jasper J. Bland’s Beach Hotel on Front Beach was enlarged by Burr & Bradford.
In November, the L&N Railroad commenced installing a long distance telephone system along the Coast to be used for dispatching trains.(The Ocean Springs News, November 20, 1909.
1909 Baptist Church-demolished in July 2006.
The First Baptist Church built a new sanctuary on the northwest corner of Porter and Bellande in the spring of 1909 and dedicated in early November 1909. John Burr (1875-1916) and Fred Bradford (1878-1951) were the contractors. The lot was donated by George W. Davis (1842-1914).(The Ocean Springs News, February 13, 1909, p. 1 and October 9, 1909, p. 5)
Maria Torney Shanahan (1832-1909), an 1847 Irish immigrant and wife of John Shanahan (1810-1892), passed on June 10, 1909. The Shanhans were pioneer settlers of Ocean Springs. In the 1890s, Mrs. Shanhan founded the Shanahan Hotel.(The Ocean Springs News, June 12, 1909, p. 5)
The Seymour Eagles [from D'Iberville] a baseball team composed of Adolph Boney, Terrell Chinn, Emile Fayard, Walter Fayard, J. Jpullian, Jesse Parker, Lazaro Quave, Peter Quave, and Joseph Santa Cruz defeated Ocean Springs 10-1. J. Ryan and O. Fayard was the battery for Ocean Springs.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 20, 1909. p. 4)
Construction commences on a new building for the Ocean Springs State Bank in the summer of 1909.
The years 1910-1919 were marked by continuous economic and population growth at Ocean Springs. In addition to pecans, citrus, and other agricultural products, seafood, charcoal, and naval stores production continued with vigor in this section. World WW I (1914-1918) saw wool prices inflate and shipbuilding at Moss Point bring further prosperity. The piney-woods, sheep farmers at Latimer, LaRue, and Vancleave profited accordingly shipping or selling their wool at Ocean Springs. The tourist industry was popular as ever, and a new hotel and several tourist homes were erected.
A large fire on Washington Avenue south of Porter in mid-November 1916, and crop damaging cold in the winter of 1917-1918 devastated the citrus orchards. Tropical cyclones in 1915 and 1916 were also harmful to the welfare of the region.
Population of Ocean Springs 1472 people [1141 white and 331 black]. The Ocean Springs News opined that:"the census taker did he best we have no doubt, but undoubtedly a number of people were missed. The News believes that the population is over 1700. At certain seasons of the year Ocean Springs has a population of over 3000."(The Ocean Springs News, April 22, 1911, p. 5)
Population of Jackson County 15451 with 9983 white and 5467 black.
The Rose Farm, which had recently been acquired in 1909, by the H.D. Money family, an affluent planter clan from Holmes County, Mississippi, was enlarged and improved by manager, Vincent Beyer (1874-1920+).
The new building of the Ocean Springs State Bank designed by William Drago (1871-1920+) of New Orleans, was completed by contractor, Chevally & Fursdon of Gulfport, and accepted by H.F. Russell (1858-1940), building chairman, on January 18, 1910.
Pioneer settler, Arnaud Catchot (1834-1910), a native of Mahon, Minorca, passed on April 12, 1910. His union with Adele Ryan (1842-pre 1880), the daughter of Jerome Ryan and Euphrosine LaFontaine, produced a large family.
In the spring, the Mississippi Gulf Coast Country Club at Gulfport was completed. It later became the Great Southern Country Club.(Black, 1986, p. 48)
Judge E.W. Illing opened the Photo-Play Airdome, an open air silent movie theater, on the northeast corner of Porter and Washington, where the Illing House, a tourist home, had once stood.
In May 1910, Frank H. Bryan (1872-1936), an insurance executive from Missouri, contracted with J.A. Wieder (1877-1960) to erect a large Queen Anne residence on the northeast corner of Jackson Avenue and Ocean. This lovely home is extant at 406 Jackson Avenue.(The Ocean Springs News, May 14, 1910)
Satsuma Camp No. 703 Woodmen of the World had their third annual picnic on May 26th with about 1500 in attendance. Sporting contests were held in baseball and basketball; sack races; greasy pig capture; and baby contests. Miss Eula Catchot was chosen as the most popular young lady and given a gold watch.(The Daily Herald, May 27, 1910, p. 8)
The Fort Maurepas (1699-1702) cornerstone found on the W.B. Schmidt estate by Robert Rupp (1850-1930), the caretaker.
When the State Commission increased its tax rate on passenger train tickets in 1911, the L&N Railroad compensated for the small increase by charging an additional penny on its local travel rates. The fare to Biloxi from Ocean Springs increased from twelve to thirteen cents.(The Ocean Springs News, October 7, 1911, p. 5)
Thomas I. Keys (1861-1931), first and only Black postmaster at Ocean Springs, ended his fourteen-year term in office in March. Charles H. Bransford (1868-1928+) replaced him.(The Ocean Springs News, March 4, 1911, p. 1)
Theo Bechtel (1863-1931) donated a flag pole for the school public.(The Ocean Springs News, May 20, 1911)
The first Boy Scout battalion [troop] in Ocean Springs was organized by F.M. Dick, J.H. Behrens, and S.H. Webster who were appointed by of the OS Civic Federation.(The Ocean Springs News, May 20, 1911, p. 5)
The Boy Scouts were meeting at Ocean Springs with Mark E. Lee (1898-1990) as leader.(The Ocean Springs News, June 24, 1911)
Construction of Marshall Park by the Ocean Springs Civic Federation and L&N Railroad was commenced.
When the State Commission increased its tax rate on passenger train tickets in 1911, the L&N Railroad compensated for the small increase by charging an additional penny on its local travel rates. The train fare to Biloxi from Ocean Springs increased from twelve to thirteen cents.(The Ocean Springs News, October 7, 1911, p. 5)
Jeremiah J. O’Keefe (1860-1911), expired on November 6, 1911. He and his wife, Alice Cahill O’Keefe (1864-1921), had continued very successfully the teamster, livery, boarding house, and burial business commenced by his father, Edward O’Keefe (1815-1874).
The Fort Bayou Telephone Company, a communications co-operative composed of farmers and landowners, was formed in December. The officers of this business were: J.H. Behrens, president; R.M. Spaulding, vice-president; and S.C. Spencer, secretary.(The Ocean Springs News, December 23, 1911, p. 5)
Merchant and town marshal (1905-1910), Augustus von Rosambeau (1849-1912), an immigrant from northern Germany, expired. He may have possessed the first private street lamp in town at his Jackson Avenue residence.
Local entrepreneur, F.J. Lundy (1863-1912) passed on. He was born at Mobile and came to Ocean Springs circa 1889. Mr. Lundy once owned the Ocean Springs Hotel, a mercantile business on Washington Avenue and an elegant home on LaFontaine and Washington Avenue where the Powers-Latil residential complex is now situated.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1912, p. 8)
The Paragon Saloon of G.E. Arndt (1857-1945) was moved west of its Washington Avenue and Robinson location.
Albert C. Gottsche (1873-1949) completed his new store building on Washington Avenue at Desoto, the former site of the Thomas I. Keys Store and US Post Office.
The Farmers and Merchants State Bank was chartered in February and led by C.E. Pabst (1851-1920), George E. Arndt (1857-1945), and Edwin R. Glasscock (1857-1913+). A two-story bank building was erected on the former site of the Paragon Saloon diagonally opposite the L&N Depot and on the west side of Washington Avenue opposite the Commercial Hotel.
In mid-April, the Ocean Springs State Bank was nearing completion on an annex to house the US Post Office.(The Daily Herald, April 10, 1913)
First cement sidewalks were laid from the Commercial Hotel, present day SE/C of Washington and Robinson to the Chinese Laundry, about three hundred feet south. H.F. Russell (1858-1940) held the contract for the work.(The Ocean Springs News, February 14, 1914, p. 5)
In late March, at Paris France, Mary F. Meyers Field, the widow of Colonel Rushton H. Field (1838-1908) became engaged to Chevalier Edward Scovel, a great tenor.(The Ocean Springs News, April 14, 1914, p. 5)
The new US Post Office on Government Street at Ocean Springs would remain at this location for another forty years (1914-1954). The initial lease agreement was signed by A.S. Burleson, Postmaster General of the United States, on April 20, 1914. The Ocean Springs State Bank rented to the U.S. Post Office a certain room (44 feet x 24 feet inside measurements) on the first floor of the one story brick premises situated on the north side of Old County Road, now Government Street, between Washington Avenue and Bellande Street on Lot 302, Block 56. The lease was for ten years and the rent $275/month. (JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 40, pp. 333-336)
A new 200 drop switch board was installed for the local Cumberland Telephone & Telegraph Company exchange situated on the second floor of the Ocean Springs State Bank building. W.T. Ames (1880-1969) was the local manager.(The Ocean Springs News, May 2, 1914, p. 5)
Bridgett Shanahan White (1860-1943) took a lease on the New Beach Hotel.(The Ocean Springs news, May 23, 1914, p. 5)
The Ocean Springs Country Club was founded in June by Dr. Henry Bradford Powell (1867-1949), Albert E. Lee (1874-1936), and George E. Arndt (1857-1945) on 65-acres leased from the Rose Farm.(The Ocean Springs News, June 20, 1914, p. 8)
Fred Davidson (1885-1914+), the son of Jerome T. Davidson (1845-1918) and Jessie C. Montgomery Davidson (1859-pre 1930), and his associates opened a movie house in the H.F. Russell Building on the east side of Washington Avenue between Bowen and Government. Manager Davidson, an Illinois native, had acquired good equipment and a contracted for high class motion pictures.(The Ocean Springs News, July 25, 1914, p. 5)
In July, Captain Francis O’Neill (1849-1936) acquired the J.J. Kuhn (1848-1925) estate on Front Beach. O’Neill was the retired general superintendent of the Chicago police force. He named his place “Glengarriff” for an Irish resort town near his birthplace on Bantry Bay, County Cork.
Thomas Eglin (1887-1914), flagman for the L&N Railroad, was murdered by masked bandits when the New York Limited was robbed at Gentilly, east of New Orleans.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1914, p. 1, c. 2)
P.K. Mayers (1833-1914) [from T.H. Glenn's, The Mexican Gulf Coast Illustrated, 1893, p. 43]
Pizarro Kemp "P.K." Mayers (1833-1914) fiery, journalist, publisher, and editor who was born at Winchester, Wayne County. Mississippi, expired on July 28th at Pascagoula, Mississippi. He founded The Handsboro Democrat and later acquired The Pascagoula Democrat-Star.(The Ocean Springs News, August 1, 1914, p. 1)
WW I commenced in Europe when Germany declared war on Russian and France in early August.
In October, J.K. Lemon Jr. (1914-1998) was born on Jackson Avenue in a Rosambeau rental cottage, which became the home of Marie Brou Bryan (1879-1957) in 1917. Mr. Lemon was a lifelong entrepreneur, respected community leader, and local historian. Has anyone loved Ocean Springs more?
In the late fall, the L&N Railroad shipped 35,766 pounds of pecans from Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, November 25, 1915, p. 1)
A local Tent of the Knights of the Maccabees was organized on December 9th in the Knights of Pythias Hall.(The Ocean Springs News, December 3, 1914, p. 1)
On December 18, 1914, the home of A.J. Catchot (1864-1954) at present day 703 Porter burned to the ground. Elizabeth Clark Nolan (1839-1914), A.J. Catchot's mother-in-law, was killed in the conflagration. The inferno was sourced from an exploding oil heater in her room. The Catchot home was rebuilt in January 1915, and is owned today by John and Sherry Kendall.(The Ocean Springs News, December 24, 1914, p. 1)
The Griffin Place on Washington Avenue, which housed the medical office of Dr. O.L. Bailey (1870-1938) was destroyed by fire. Bailey's Drug Store, now Lovelace Drugs, was erected here in 1926, by Dr. Bailey.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1915, p. 8, also see year 1926 of this chronology)
The Mississippi Coast Amateur Baseball League was organized in February with teams from Biloxi, DeLisle, Gulfport, and Ocean Springs participating. The following officers were elected: James Lynch of Gulfport- president;T.W. Dabney of Ocean Springs-vice president; O.A. Porter of Gulfport-secretary-treasurer. The Ocean Springs team was manned by: Harry Westbrook, catcher; Bill Horton, catcher; Emile Ladnier, pitcher; Oscar Davis, pitcher; W. Ryan, infielder; Minor Russell, infielder; J. Ryan, infielder; Mark Lee, infielder; R. Mons, outfielder; Everett McKay, outfielder; Dan Van Court, outfielder; F.L. Westbrook, outfielder. Others: Frank K. Ryan; Aurie Beaugez; Herbert Beaugez; Edward Ladnier; James Colligan; and Alphonse Cox. In their first game, Ocean Springs lost by a forfeit to Biloxi, when the team left the field in the 7th inning because Biloxi fans would not move away from the sidelines. Biloxi led 5 to 4.(The Gulfport Advocate, February 20, 1915, p. 4, March 6, 1915, p. 4, and April 10, 1915, p. 7)
The Ocean Springs Packing Company, a seafood-agricultural processing and canning plant on Biloxi Bay south of the L&N Railroad, opened for business in March by Louis A. Lundy (1876-1941), L. Morris McClure (1884-1940), and Joseph F. Zaehringer.(1881-1969). It was severely damaged by a hurricane on September 29th and was rebuilt three times larger.(The Daily Herald, October 30, 1915, p. 1)
L. Morris McClure (1884-1940) appointed Postmaster at Ocean Springs in March.(The Ocean Springs News, March 4, 1915, p. 3)
OCEAN SPRINGS BRASS BAND [founded March 1915]
Top Row, L-R: T.J. Ames (1876-1927), Director; George L. Friar; Daniel B. Van Court; Russell Carver; and John Seymour. Middle Row, L-R: Robert Friar; Frank E. Schmidt; George Dick; William T. Ames; Uriah Joachim; and Albert E. Lee. Bottom Row, L-R: Lloyd Netto; Ed Simmons; George Dale; and Bob Tucker. [Courtesy of Peggy Carver Deshommes]
The Ocean Springs Brass Band was organized in late March with the following leadership: George L. Friar (1869-1924), pres.; Russell A. Carver (1888-1961), vice-pres.; George C. Pabst (1881-1949), sec.; Ira W. Simmons (1867-1919), treas.; and Theodore J. Ames (1876-1927), band director. The group planned concerts in Marshall Park and to perform at local baseball games.(The Ocean Springs News, March 25, 1915, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs News of May 13, 1915, reported that: "J.K. Lemon's bungalow is certainly a beauty. Mr. Lemon expects to move into it very shortly. Fred Bradford is the builder." It is situated at present day 1108 Iberville Drive in the Ames Tract. Section 19, T7S-R8W.
W.B. Hollingsworth of South Bend, Indiana opened a Ford and Buick agency and garage in the Horton Building in late March.(The Ocean Springs News, April 8, 1915, p. 1)
The automobile population of Ocean Springs reached forty-five as the O'Keefe family acquired a Studebaker in May. The O'Keefe's had the first Ford motor car in Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs News, May 13, 1915, p. 3)
The Ocean Springs Citrus Growers Association, a unit of the Gulf Coast Citrus Exchange, was formed in May. Ralph P. Barnhardt (1875-1925) was elected president; Dr. H.B. Powell (1867-1949), vice president; and Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970) secretary-treasurer. The purpose of the organization was to advertise and market the huge, local Satsuma crop from the three million trees under cultivation.(The Ocean Springs News, May 13, 1915, p. 1)
In late April 1915, D.B. Lemon, an experienced mill man, planned to harvest timber from Cat Island. Estimated reserves at 3,500,000 board feet. Mill could process 7,000 board feet each day. Lumber shipped to Gulfport for domestic and export utilization.(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1915, p. 7)
Captain F.P. Barry arrived in Biloxi from Tampa to take charge of the Deer Island Ferry service.(The Daily Herald, May 15, 1915, p. 2, May 24, 1915, p. 2, and May 30, 1915, p. 4)
In June, A.B. Lemons of Gulfport commenced his sawmill on Cat Island and planned to cut 10000 board-feet per day. The lumber has been sold to a NOLA interest. Estimates are that he will cut 4 million board feet in 400 working days.(The Gulfport Advocate, June 5, 1915, p. 4)
The Deer Island Island Development Company formally dedicated their Deer Island amusement center on June 23rd. Meyer Eiseman of the DIDC; George W. Grayson of the Biloxi Commercial Club; Mayor Glennan of Biloxi; Mayor Foote of Gulfport; and Mayor Saucier of Pass Christian spoke at the ceremony. Ocean Springs beat Biloxi 5-2 in the baseball game.(The Gulfport Advocate, June 26, 1915, p. 1)
Dr. L.T. McMurphy, a recent dental school graduate of Vanderbilt, planned to open his practice in the Ocean Springs State Bank building.(The Ocean Springs News, July 15, 1915, p. 1)
Alfred Bonnabel 1840-1921) andLaura Brockenbaugh Bonnabel (1845-1919), his spouse of New Orleans, made a donation of palms, ferns, and potted plants from the Metairie Ridge Nursery to the Ocean Springs Civic Federation. The plants were sold at a soiree' to benefit the civic improvement local organization. The Bonnabels had acquired in July 1911, the Egan-Hudachek Cottage at present day 314 Jackson Avenue from the O’Keefe family.(The Ocean Springs News, July 25, 1915, p. 5 and JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 37, p. 871)
The L&N Creosote plant at Gautier caught fire on August 13, 1915.(The Daily Herald, August 13, 1915, p.1)
Ernest A. Morris (1860-1946), an English immigrant and a retired candy manufacturer from Chicago, erected the Pines Hotel on the southwest corner of Washington Avenue and Ocean. It opened for business in October 1915.(The Jackson County Times,
A hurricane struck Ocean Springs and the Mississippi Gulf Coast on September 29th.
Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970), acquired The Ocean Springs News from A.E. Lee. He also published “Ocean Springs: Land Where Dreams Come True”. Mr. Dabney was in the dynamiting business and owner of the Boscobel Dairy prior to his advent into the local newspaper business.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1947, p. 5)
Edward A. Bellande (1897-1976), Ocean Springs’ first native aviator became a student pilot of Glenn Curtiss at Buffalo, New York.
Albert Enos Lee (1874-1936), a native of Iowa,acquired the The Ocean Springs News from Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970) and renamed the publication The Jackson County Times.(The Jackson County Times, August 3, 1927, p.1)
The L&N Railroad shipped 38,344 pounds of pecans from Ocean Springs between October 15th and November 20th.(The Daily Herald, November 25, 1915, p. 1)
The Big Ridge Union Church, two and one-half miles north of Ocean Springs, was near completion. The trustees of the church were: C.W. Rownds, W.H. Hults, Mrs. E. Balthrop (sic), and W.D. Price.(The Ocean Springs News, December 1915)
Albert Gottsche (1873-1949) began auto delivery service from his grocery store replacing two horse teams.(The Ocean Springs News, January 6, 1916, p. 5)
Franklin S. Earle (1856-1929), formerly of Ocean Springs, shipped the first refrigerated car of fresh produce: tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, and grapefruit from his plantation near Herradura, Cuba to Chicago via Florida in January.(The Ocean Springs News, January 13, 1916, p. 5)
Theodore G. Bilbo (1877-1947) began his first term as Governor in January.
A record over 200,000 pecan trees ranging from 3 to 25 feet and valued over $75,000 were shipped from Ocean Springs nurseries via rail express from December 1915 to February 1916. In addition, L.E. Chase sent 20,000 pounds of pecans to New York. Anticipated pecan shipments for the season is expected to exceed 100,000 pounds.(The Ocean Springs News, February 3, 1916, p. 1)
Two railcars of local wool weighing over 22,000 pounds were shipped to Savannah, Georgia from Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs News, June 15, 1916, p. 1)
Ocean Springs beat the Norton Club of NOLA 7-2 in a baseball game in Ocean Springs. Davis and Murraywere the battery for the locals.(The Daily Herald, June 27, 1916, p. 2)
Shortly after the 4th of July, a category three hurricane hit between Pascagoula and Ocean Springs. The Black Baptist church was fatally damaged and the pecan-citrus orchards of the Rose-Money Farm and C.E. Pabst (1851-1920) were severely shaken.
In July, Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970) closed The Ocean Springs News and relocated to Pensacola. In the1930s, he was employed by The Times Picayune.
Albert E. Lee (1874-1936) published the first issue of The Jackson County Times in late July 1916. He had previously published The Progress (1897-1903) and The Ocean Springs News (1905-1915). In September1936,Harry R. Lee (1903-1951), his son, became publisher and editor until the paper was sold in 1947. Copies available 1916, 1917, 1920-1927 and 1929 in bound books at the Jackson County Chancery Court Archives at Pascagoula. March 1943 to January 1947? on microfilm at the Ocean Springs Public Library. Mississippi Department of Archives and History has (1918-29, 1933, 1936, 1949, 1951-1953) on microfilm.(The Jackson County Times, July 29, 1916, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, September 29, 1947, p. 5)
Mrs. Carrie Johnson Garrard (1886-1968) hired local contractor, J.A. Wieder (1877-1960), to erect a rental cottage on the northwest corner of Washington Avenue and Ocean.(The Jackson County Times, September 23, 1916, p. 1) In March 1943, Mark Oscar Joachim acquired the house from Mrs. Carrie G. Everhart.
In October 1916, Halstead Road was completed from County Road (Government Street) to the Beach.(The Jackson County Times, October 14, 1916)
On November 15, 1916, one of the most destructive fires in the history of Ocean Springs, known as “The Big Fire”, commenced in the J.P. VanCleave building on the southeast corner of Washington and Porter. It consumed several buildings and cottages on Washington Avenue between Calhoun and Porter. Among the casualties of this conflagration were the fire hall of Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1 and the Vahle House, a hostel, on the northwest corner of Washington and Calhoun.(The Jackson County Times, November 18, 1916, p. 1)
H.F. Russell (1858-1940), local entrepreneur, reported that the orange crop for 1916 was only about one-third that of 1915 due to the Hurricane of September 1915. The crop amounted to about two train car loads. The sweet potato and sugar cane crops were also down. Sweet potatoes were selling for one dollar per bushel. Mr. Russell stated that this is the highest price for this commodity since he arrived here in 1881. Syrup sold for $.75 per gallon.(The Daily Herald, December 14, 1916, p. 2)
In December 1916, Governor Theodore Bilbo (1877-1947) and son came to the Bechtel nurseries and orchards on Holcomb Boulevard to consult with Mr. Bechtel about pecan stock for his farm at Poplarville, Mississippi. Bilbo was impressed with the quality of Bechtel’s plants and acquired young pecan trees for his Pearl River, County plantation.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1917, p. 3)
Parker Earle (1831-1917) died on January 12, at Pasadena, California. Mr. Earle , native of Vermont, was a horticulturist and entrepreneur. His enterprises at Ocean Springs from 1887-1892, included the development of a large farm north of Fort Bayou, which would become known as The Rose Farm; the founding of the Winter Park Land Improvement and Livestock Company; operating a ferry across Fort Bayou; and the erection of a large home on Fort Point which would become the Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938) Place in 1902.
Miss Eliza Ames (1842-1917) expired on January 23, 1917. The Ames family came to America from Ireland in 1835. Miss Ames and her brothers nursed the sick and buried the dead in the Great Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1878.(The Jackson Count Times, January 26, 1917, p. 1, c. 3)
Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938) of Milwaukee donated $500 towards the construction of a new fire hall on Washington Avenue.(The Jackson County Times, March 17, 1917, p. 5)
On April 6th, the United States entered WWI, which was raging in Western Europe.
The Builder's Supply Company, John D. Minor, and George L. Friar were shipping between $3000 and $5000 of lumber each month from the L&N Depot.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1917)
In October, Sidney J. Anderson (1867-1917), entrepreneur from New Orleans, who was active in the hotel, shipping, and mercantile business at Ocean Springs and Vancleave, died at Hot Springs, Arkansas.(The Jackson County Times, October 6, 1917, p. 5, c. 3)
The von Rosambeau cottage on Jackson Avenue was destroyed by fire.(The Jackson County Times, November 17, 1917, p. 1)
Captain John A. O’Keefe (1891-1985), field artillery, and 1st Lt. V.G. Humphreys (1885-1942) were commissioned officers in the US Army at Leon Springs, Texas.(The Jackson County Times, December 1, 1917, p. 1, c. 5)
In October, Sidney J. Anderson (1867-1917), entrepreneur from New Orleans, who was active in the hotel, shipping, and mercantile business at Ocean Springs and Vancleave, died at Hot Springs, Arkansas.(The Jackson County Times, October 6, 1917, p. 5)
The von Rosambeau cottage on Jackson Avenue was destroyed by fire.(The Jackson County Times, November 17, 1917, p. 1)
In January 1918, the new fire hall on Washington Avenue, of Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1, was dedicated. Built by contractor, Fred S. Bradford (1878-1951), the Spanish mission-style structure now serves the community as the senior citizens center.
The new ferry over the Pascagoula River between the new causeway and bridge has been completed.(The Daily Herald, February 18, 1918, p. 3)
Annette McConnell Anderson (1867-1964) acquired the “DePass” place on Biloxi Bay from George Ashman in May, commencing the residency of the George W. Anderson family of New Orleans here.
In June, the inactive New Beach Hotel was acquired by a New Orleans syndicate. Proprietor, Dr. Jasper J. Bland (1850-1932), had relocated to Vinton, Louisiana.
In the summer of 1918, local contractor, Fred Bradford (1878-1951) built a large, Dutch Colonial Revival home for John B. Honor (1856-1929) and Margaret Soden Honor (1860-1932) at "Many Oaks". This architectural masterpiece is now owned by Mary Zala Jensen at 315 Front Beach Drive.
In October, Emile Ladnier Jr. (1894-1918) gave his life for this nation on a battlefield in France. American Legion Post No. 42 was named in his memory.
World War I ends in November 1918.
Judge Paul Myron W. Linebarger (1871-1939) and family, who resided at Hollingsworth Point on Davis Bayou from 1916 until 1919, left for Shanghai, China to resume working for Chinese revolutionary, Sun Yat-sen (1866-1925).(The Jackson County Times, May 3, 1919, p,. 5)
J.B. Lemon (1862-1919), former proprietor of Lemon's Drug Store in Biloxi expired on August 6th at Ocean Springs where he had been in the pharmacy business since March 1918. Pansy Belle Robarts (d. 1943), his widow, was the sister of Adele Robarts Arndt (1875-1945), the wife of George E. Arndt (1857-1945), prominent Ocean Springs businessman.(The Daily Herald, August 7, 1919, p. 4)
Captain June Poitevent (1837-1919) died at Ocean Springs. He came here in 1877, from Hancock County and built “Bay Home” on Lovers Lane. Poitevent was an entrepreneur with land holdings in Mexico, Florida, and Texas. He operated the Pearl Rivers, a steam packet, from Mississippi “lake” ports to New Orleans commencing in 1878.
The Shanahan Hotel on Washington Avenue and Calhoun burns on Christmas Eve, 1919.(The Jackson County Times, December 27, 1919)
J.K. Lemon Sr. (1870-1929) elected to the JXCO Board of Supervisors.
The Prohibition Era (1919-1933) begins.
The years between 1920 and 1929 were generally prosperous at Ocean Springs, but the decade closed on a disastrous tone for the entire nation with the Stock Market Crash in October 1929. Seafood, agriculture, and the L&N Railroad continued to be the main source of local employment. Citrus production began to decline, but pecans and horticulture in general did well.
The speculative land boom in Florida spilled over to the Mississippi coast as developers erected modern hotels at Biloxi and Gulfport, the Buena Vista, Edgewater, and Tivoli. Ocean Springs was the site of Gulf Hills, a final destination resort, which offered golf and water sports in a magnificent sylvan setting. The town continued to be popular with local tourist, primarily New Orleans “excursionists”, and “snow-birds” from the Midwest. With the progressive leadership of Beat Four Supervisor, J.K. Lemon (1870-1929), construction in the form of modern roads, bridges, and a seawall saw the infrastructure of the western Jackson County area improve dramatically.
“Miracle worker”, Brother Isaiah (1847-1934), who was born John Cudney in Ontario Province, Canada, arrived in Jackson County. He and his disciples resided in the St. Martin community. Brother Isaiah left the area and eventually settled near Oroville, California, where he expired at “New Jerusalem”.
This decade also saw the commencement of the political career of A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967), who would become a large influence in the political arena of Jackson County in the next thirty years. Mr. Moran served the people of Beat Four as their supervisor from 1929 until his retirement in 1967.
An institution, which has brought much laud and tourism to our town, the Shearwater Pottery, was commenced by Peter Anderson (1901-1984) in January 1928. Peter’s pottery also laid the foundation for Mrs. George Walter Anderson’s aspiration that her three sons would become successful artists.
In August 1929, the United Poultry Producers, primarily an egg co-operative, was organized by John W. Wright, R.W. Taylor, Henry Girot and others. It was situated on the NE/C of Washington Avenue and DeSoto.
Population of Ocean Springs 1732 people.[Bellande counted 1734 people with 1371 white and 363 black].(The Jackson County Times, August 14, 1920, p. 3)
Lee M. Russell (1875-1943) began his term as Governor in January.
The name of County Road, an east-west thoroughfare, was changed to Government Street in February 1920, by the Mayor and Board of Aldermen. A petition presented by a group of citizens requesting the name change. The city government, headed by Mayor A.J. Catchot (1864-1954), deemed this request appropriate.(The Jackson County Times,January 24, 1920 and March 6, 1920, p. 5)
The D.A.R. dedicated a monument on April 8th on the shore of Back Bay in North Biloxi commemorating the landing of Iberville in 1699.(The Daily Herald, April 9, 1920, p. 1)
Former Mayor, oyster commissioner, contractor, and civic leader, John Duncan Minor (1863-1920) expired at Ocean Springs on May 8, 1920.
Pecan pioneer and German immigrant, Charles E. Pabst (1851-1920), expired on June 30,1920.
Matt Huber opened his drugstore in the Farmers & Merchants Bank Building in August. A pharmacy was previously run here by J.B. Lemon (1862-1919) of Biloxi.
In August, the population of Ocean Springs was officially given by the US Census Bureau as 1732, a gain of about 300 over 1910.(The Jackson County Times, August 14, 1920, p. 3)
The Commercial Hotel, built in 1880 as The Van Cleave Hotel, was destroyed by fire on October 26, 1920. It was situated opposite the L&N Depot on the southeast corner of Washington Avenue and Robinson. H.F. Russell (1858-1940) was the proprietor at the time of the conflagration.(The Jackson County Times, October 30, 1920)
Corsican immigrant, Antoine Bertuccini (1844-1921), who founded the French Hotel, expired in March.
Scot immigrant, James H. Edwards (1893-1950), acquired the French Hotel from Marie G. Bertuccini (1863-1930) in June.
In June, Charles Dryden (1880-1931), prominent sportswriter for many national journals, suffered a paralytic stroke at Chicago, and came to Ocean Springs in the fall to recover. He stayed in the Rosambeau cottage on Calhoun Avenue where his sister, Louise D. Davenport, cared for him for the next ten years.
In January, the Ocean Springs Improvement League was formed to promote tourism and better the community
Brother Isaiah (1847-1934) and entourage arrived in Jackson County to preach and administer to the sick and afflicted.(The Daily Herald, June 10, 1922, p. 3)
In May, the Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1 acquired a motorized chemical fire engine.(The Jackson County Times, May 13, 1922, p. 5)
In July, the Volunteer Hook & Ladder Company No. 1 agreed to consolidate with the Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1.(The Jackson County Times, July 29, 1922, p. 5)
Harry R. Lee (1903-1951) joined The Jackson County Time in a mechanical and reportorial capacity after attending the Nashville School of Typography and interning at Joplin, Missouri.(The Jackson County Times, July 8, 1922, p. 5)
Caspar Vahle (1869-1922), former liveryman and ice dealer, expired at Gulfport in late July.(The Daily Herald, July 24, 1922, p. 4)
Jackson County’s first woman attorney, Elinore S. Babendreer (1901-1984+), of Ocean Springs was admitted to the bar in August. She married Walter D. Moore in 1941, at Pinewood at present day 601 Pine Hills Road, the home of her mother, Dr. Estelle Turner Babendreer (1871-1958).(Jackson County Times, August 12, 1922, p. 1) Her brother, Eric Babdendreer (1903-1975), also practiced law here before relocating to Memphis.
In late January, the I.H. Bass Nursery Company, one of the largest growers in the State and nation, closed it local nursery. Charles Maxwell (1891-1967), its manager here, returned with his family to the companies headquarters at Lumberton, Mississippi.(The Jackson County Times, February 3, 1923, p. 5)
J.A. Witty (1852-1933), of Los Angeles and former resident, donated $1000 to the McLeod Masonic Lodge building fund.(The Jackson County Times, February 24, 1923, p. 4)
Walter S. Lindsay (1888-1975), the son-in-law of Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin, acquired the old Staples place on Lovers Lane and refurbished it. J.K. Lemon (1914-1998) and Eleanora B. Lemon acquired it in 1971, from Mr. Lindsay of Milwaukee. Mr. Lemon was permitted by Lindsay to use the name “Shore Acres” which had been the designation of the Ocean Springs estate of Lindsay’s mother-in-law, Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938).
Jeremiah J. O’Keefe was born on July 12th at the O’Keefe home on Porter Avenue. During WW II, he was a Marine fighter pilot in the South Pacific Theater and gained “ace” status for destroying seven Japanese aircraft while flying combat missions.(The History of Jackson County, Mississippi, 1989, p. 302)
The Bradford Company of Biloxi, well known funeral directors and embalmers, opened a branch in Ocean Springs in the McFarland bungalow at present day 317 Washington Avenue.(The Jackson County Times, July 14, 1923, p. 5)
A mid-October tropical storm brought high wind and water, which subsequently damaged piers and bath houses on the front beach at Ocean Springs. Water reached the hill at Washington Avenue and flooded the first block of Jackson Avenue. Before it quick recession at daylight on October 16th, Old Fort Bayou was a mile wide.(The Jackson County Times, October 20, 1923, p. 5)
The Louisa B. Bartlett-F.E. Lee home at present day 212 Washington Avenue (now the Redmann-Shipman House) was destroyed by fire. Noted American writer, George Washington Cable (1844-1925), her son-in-law, owned the cottage from 1876 until 1890. Mrs. Bartlett (1823-1889) of New Orleans organized the Presbyterian Church here in the1880s, as well as The Ladies Village Improvement Society. Her civic improvement group fenced the Evergreen Cemetery in 1878.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, March 29, 1878, p. 3)
Louis H. Sullivan (1850-1924), American architect called “the father of the skyscraper”, and former part-time, resident of East Beach expired on April 24th.
Gustav R. Nelson (1896-1970), a Swedish immigrant horticulturist, residing east of Ocean Springs developed the concept of protecting fruit trees by “freezing” them as the air temperature dropped below 32 degrees Fahrenheit.(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1939, p. 7)
The Ocean Springs Rotary Club was formally organized on May 14, 1924 at the Pines Hotel on Washington Avenue. Frank E. Schmidt (1877-1954) was elected the inaugural president of the organization.(The Jackson County Times, May 17, 1924, p. 1)
In late June, the bungalow home of A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967) at present day 501 Washington Avenuewas nearing completion.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 1924, p. 5)
The Buena Vista Hotel at Biloxi opened on July 10th.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 5, 1924, p. 5)
Concrete paving of US 90 between Ocean Springs and Pascagoula had reached as far as Mrs. W.R. Stuarts place (Government and M.L. King Jr.) by August 1924.(The Jackson County Times, August 16, 1924, p. 5)
Rt. Rev. Richard Oliver Gerow was consecrated Bishop of Natchez at Mobile on October 11th.(The Jackson County Times, October 15, 1924, p. 4)
Ruth Kimball Gardiner (1872-1924), a frequent visitor to Ocean Springs expired on November 19, 1924 at Washington D.C. She was the widow of Cornelius Gardner (b. 1861), Chicago Post correspondent at Washington D.C.. Mrs. Gardiner wrote music, short stories, and magazine fiction.(The Jackson County Times, December 6, 1924, p. 5)
Some of Mrs. Gardner's literary efforts include: In Happy Far-Away Lands;
- Your Daughter's Mother Journal of Social Hygiene: October, 1920 (Volume 6, Number 4) ;An Inauguration Incident (vi)Munsey’s Jun 1904; Richard’s Practising (ss) The Century Oct 1904;
- John Edward’s Friend (ss) The Century Jun 1905; Maria Redburn (ss) Everybody’s Magazine Jun 1906; and Hilary Duane’s Widow (ss) The Smart Set Dec 1914.
In November W.E. Wilson closed his lunch and confectionery business, which he had operated on Washington Avenue for fifteen years and opened a cash and carry store at present day 1011 Desoto Avenue in December.(The Jackson County Times, November 1, 1924, p. 4 and December 20, 1924, p. 5.
The Illinois Central acquired the three hundred seven miles of track of the Gulf & Ship Island Railroad in South Mississippi for $5,000,000.(Black, 1986, p. 73)
B.F. Joachim (1853-1925), produce retailer and founder of the Builder’s Supply Company in 1905, expired at New Orleans.(The Jackson County Times, January 17, 1925)
Elizabeth McCauley Stuart (1840-1925) and her former slave and later faithful servant and companion, Tempy Burton (1821-1925), expired in January and March respectively. Aunt Tempy Burton was the oldest person in Jackson County at the time of her demise.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1925, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, March 7, 1925, p. 5)
Gideon N. Tillman (1872-1925) prominent building contractor expired in April.(The Jackson County Times, April 4, 1925)
The new ferry across the Pascagoula River commenced operations on March 18th.(The Jackson County Times, April 11, 1925, p. 1)
Frank Galle & Son commenced their contracting business in April.(The Jackson County Times, April 11, 1925, p. 3)
The Old Spanish Trail between Ocean Springs and Pascagoula was open for vehicular traffic in late April, with the exception of the underpass on the L&N Railroad at Hilda, west of Gautier.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1925, p. 1)
Lucretia Money, Roger Holloway, James Garrard, and John Edwards, local students, graduated from Biloxi High School.(The Jackson County Times, May 30, 1925)
Elias S. Davis (1859-1925), long time Washington Avenue merchant expired in June.(The Jackson County Times, June 13, 1925)
Gulf Hills, a family resort featuring golf and marine recreational activities situated north of Ocean Springs, was chartered by: Allan B. Crowder, William E. Applegate, Ralph R. Root, H.W. Branigar, and Clarence W. Gormly.(The Jackson County Times, September 19, 1925, p. 2)
The Community Center-American Legion Hall at Marble Springs Park on Iberville, completed in the Fall of 1925. It was demolished in September 1996, after years of litigation and demolition by neglect.
Author and former summer resident, George Washington Cable (1844-1925), expired at Northhampton, Massachusetts.
Western Union planned to open an office in a new building on Washington Avenue to be erected by H.F. Russell & Son. The Russells planed to build adjacent to the O’Keefe Brothers service station and real estate office on the corner of Washington and Robinson.(The Daily Herald, October 27, 1925, p. 1) Sanborn Maps indicate that the Russell Building here was never built!
Fred E. Lee (1874-1932) commenced construction of “Casa Flores” on Davis Bayou and Old Spanish Trail. This Spanish colonial home is now called “Delcastle”. It was built by the Jensen Brothers from a Gordon Hite design.(The Jackson County Times, November 21, 1925, p. 5)
Mayor William E. Dever (1862-1929) of Chicago was a guest of the Branigar Brothers at Gulf Hills. Mayor Dever sailed aboard the Fairy Queen from the BYC to Gulf Hills.(The Jackson County Times, January 30, 1926, p. 4)
In February, Standard Oil commenced construction of a gas station on the southeast corner of Washington and Government, formerly Lundy’s Corner. The total investment cost $30,000. Zanca later owned the property.(The Jackson County Times, February 13, 1926)
First street paving program proposed with Washington Avenue and portions of Porter, Jackson, Cleveland, Government, and Front Beach, included.(The Jackson County Times, March 6, 1926, p. 5 and The Daily Herald, May 25, 1926, p. 3))
The Branigar Brothers hosted a buffet luncheon in the dining room at the new Gulf Hills Country Club on the Old Spanish Trail between Biloxi and Ocean Springs. They wanted to express their appreciation of the hearty support that their fellow realtors, and particulary the Biloxi Real Estate Board, had in the growth of the new $15,000,000 residential park and playground on Biloxi Bay. (The Sun Herald March 13,1926 p.7)
Mississippi Power Company planned a forty-six mile power line from the Miss.-Ala. state line to Gulfportwhere a large step-down transforming station will be built. Power for the line will come from hydro-electric plants on the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers in Alabama. With no difficulties, hydro-electric power should be available on the Mississippi Gulf Coast by January 1, 1927.(The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 19)
The F.J. Lundy (1863-1912) House, called Haven-on-the-Hill, on Washington and LaFontaine, was destroyed by fire in mid-April. Mrs. Mignon C. Lundy (1877-1957) had relocated to Townshend, Vermont and the house was abandoned.(The Jackson County Times, April 17, 1926, p. 1)
Forest Hills Subdivision was created on the former site of Colonel W.R. Stuart property by Daniel J. Gay(1870-1949) and Associates.(The Jackson County Times, April 26, 1926, p. 1)
Henry L. Girot (1887-1953), native of NOLA, opened a new subdivision, Cherokee Glen. It was situated in Section 24, T7S-R9W, on the west side of Ocean Springs. In May 1926, he received approval from the Board of Aldermen of his sixty-acre platting, which was bounded on the north by Old Fort Bayou, on the east by the land that was adversely possessed by O.D. Davidson (1872-1938) and would become the Davidson Hills Subdivision in March 1956, on the south by Porter, and on the west by Lovers Lane.( The Jackson County Times, May 22, 1926, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, May 25, 1926, p. 3)
Edgar Pipes Guice (1898-1970), Ocean Springs resident and manager of the Mississippi Ice and Utilities,opened a drive-in retail ice dispensing system at the companies two Biloxi outlets on Lameuse and Railroad and Porter and Howard, Another drive-in ice station is planned for East Biloxi.(The Biloxi News, June 27, 1926, p. 13)
Moore Construction Company of Biloxi was awarded the contract to pave the road, now called North Washington and LeMoyne Boulevard, from the Fort Bayou Bridge to the Harrison County line in July. The bid was $132,000. F.H. McGowen, civil engineer, for Jackson County will inspect the work.(The Jackson County Times, July 10, 1926, p. 1)
The Vancleave Store, located on the east side of Washington Avenue between Robinson and Desoto, was erected in April 1894 north of the residence of former proprietor, R.A. VanCleave (1840-1908). It burned on October 11, 1926. While in the possession of H.F. Russell (1858-1940).(The Jackson County Times, October 16, 1926, p. 1)
The Bailey Building was completed by Kean & Company of Gulfport for Dr. O.L. Bailey (1870-1938) in late July. Dr. Bailey operated his drug store and medical practice from the new structure on Washington Avenue. Realtor, F.E. Lee (1874-1932), rented an office space in the building. We know this edifice today as Lovelace Drugs owned by the McCall family.(The Jackson County Times, July 24, 1926, p. 5 and October 2, 1912)
The Town of Ocean Springs acquired the Peoples Water Works for $6500.(The Jackson County Times, December 8, 1926, p. 1)
In early December, Frederick Mason Weed (1850-1926), “the Yankee Mayor” of Ocean Springs (1899-1912) and a native of Hinesburg,Vermont, died. Mayor Weed also co-founded the Ocean Springs State Bank. His remains were interred at Milton, Vermont.(The Jackson County Times, December 4, 1926, p. 5)
Nine holes were opened for play at the Gulf Hills golf course in mid-December. Eddie Murphy of Chicago was in charge of the golf program.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1926, p. 8)
Daniel Newcomb (1906-1967), Morris McClure “Babe” Baker (1907-1994) and Louis A. “Lucky Lou” Lundy Jr. (1908-1992) were superior Ocean Springs athletes, on the Biloxi High School football team that played the Sunflower County Agricultural High School of Moorhead at Greenville, Mississippi in early December 1926 for the high school championship of Mississippi. The Biloxi gridsters were outweighed by the Aggies 24 pounds per man, but fought the larger, less fleet farmers to a 7-7 stalemate. Biloxi had won ten of eleven games scoring 249 points to their oppositions 15 points. They beat the St. Stanislaus Reserves 125-0.(The Daily Herald, December 3, 1926 and The Jackson County Times, December 4, 1926, p. 5)
In January, Hartmann & Clark Brothers of Peoria, Illinois won a contract for $57,630 to pave several streets in downtown Ocean Springs. Those chosen were: Washington Avenue from the Beach to Old Fort Bayou; Jackson Avenue from Porter Street to the Beach; Porter Street from Dewey to Martin Avenue; and Beach Drive from Jackson Avenue to Washington Avenue. Paving beagn in mid-February 1927.(The Daily Herald, February 2, 1927, p. 5 and The Jackson County Times, January 8, 1927, p. 1)
In mid-January, the 18-hole golf course designed by Jack Daray, of the Olympic Fields golf course at Chicago, opened at Gulf Hills.(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1927)
In February, Jackson Avenue was paved with concrete from Porter Street to Front Beach Drive.(The Jackson County Times, February 27, 1927)
The Moore Construction Company of Biloxi was awarded another paving contract in April to pave Martin Avenue, a portion of Porter, Middle Avenue, and a part of Magnolia Street.(The Jackson County Times, April 16, 1927, p. 1)
Edward P. Guice (1899-1971) erected a new ice plant on Jackson Avenue commencing in February. Architect Bruce Tolar owned and occupied this structure in the 1990s and early 2000s. Andrew Marion acquired this historic building in 2008?
The paved highway between Biloxi and Ocean Springs [north Washington Avenue and LeMoyne Boulevard] was completed in late March.(The Jackson County Times, March 19, 1927, p. 2)
On June 2nd, voters approved a $600,000 bond issue to build seawalls at Ocean Springs and Pascagoula. The Pascagoula seawall project was commenced after the Pruden Company of Toledo, Ohio acquired $300,000 of the five percent bonds issued by the Jackson County Board of Supervisors.(The Jackson County Times, August 6, 1927, p. 1)
H. Minor Russell (1892-1940) erected a large Mediterranean style home on Front Beach and the west side of Martin Avenue. It was designed by Shaw & Woleben of Gulfport and built by J.A. Wieder at a cost of $40,000.(The Jackson County Times, April 9, 1927, p. 5) The H.M. Russell home burned in August 1937.(The Jackson County Times, August 28, 1937, p. 2)
In late August, the Biloxi to Isle of Caprice Marathon Race was won by 'Mobile' Bill Jackson (b. 1903), a professional swimmer from Mobile. Herbert P. Beaugez (1895-1954) of Ocean Springs swam in the event as an amateur and awarded a medal.(The Daily Herald, August 24, p. 1 and August 25, 1927, p. 1)
In September, the new school Public School, situated on Government Street, commenced classes. It was built on land donated to the Town of Ocean Springs by Daniel J. Gay (1870-1949), and named the Mary C. O’Keefe Center of Culture and Arts in December 1998. William T. Nolan of NOLA was the architect.
A Black public school was also erected on the 3.7-acre lot donated by Gus Nelson on present day School Street.
OSHS sports teams were called "The Panthers".(The Daily Herald, November 17, p. 7)
Theodore G. Bilbo (1877-1947) began his second term as Governor of Mississippi in January.
Shearwater Pottery commenced by Peter Anderson (1901-1884) in January.(The Jackson County Times, January 21, 1928, p. 3)
First contract to commence work on new Fort Bayou bridge was let in February to the Allen Dredging Company of Pascagoula to build a road from the old span to Mechain Hill on the north side of the bayou. Work was also started for molding concrete pilings for the new seawall at Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1928, p. 8)
The Pascagoula River Bridge and Escatawpa River Bridge in Jackson County were dedicated on April 14th. The completion of the Pascagoula River Bridge completed the last gap of the Old Spanish Trail [US Highway 90] on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1928, p. 1)
The Fort Bayou Telephone Company commenced improving its rural Jackson County service by metalizing its circuits. Work commenced on Fontainebleau Point and at Fontainebleau.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 5, 1928, p. 3)
Johnny Weissmuller (1904-1984), Olympic champion swimmer and later the movie "Tarzan", and Ulise J. 'Pete' Desjardins (1907-1985), Olympic diving champion, were invited to the Harrison County seawall dedication held on May 10th. It cost $3.4 million dollars and was designed by Hobart D. Shaw (1908-1973) of Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1928, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, May 5, 1928, p. 1)
McLeod Lodge No. 424 F.&A.M. Masonic Temple on Government Street and Bellande was dedicated on June 6, 1928.
In July, test pilings were driven by the Fuller Construction Company of Memphis for the $750,000 War Memorial Bridge connecting Ocean Springs with Biloxi.
Camp McClellan, a National Guard encampment north of Ocean Springs, had a flag raising ceremony in late July.(The Jackson County times, August 4, 1928, p. 3)
Jitney Jungle, first “modern” meat market and store opened in the north half of the Bailey Building (now known as the Lovelace Drugstore) in the space vacated by the Ocean Springs State Bank.(The Jackson County Times, August 11, 1928 and August 18, 1928, p. 3)
Alfred B. Stuart (1860-1928), dairyman and cattle breeder, expired at New Orleans in October.(The Jackson County Times, October 4, 1928, p. 3)
Alfred E. Smith (1873-1944), Governor of New York and 1928 Democratic presidential candidate who lost to Herbert Hoover (1874-1964), was in Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, November 24, 1928, p. 2)
The H. Minor Russell (1892-1942) home and cottage, on Jackson Avenue were destroyed in a daylight conflagration on Jackson Avenue. The large fire also claimed the homes of Mrs. Carrie E. Dancer and C.E. Bennett. Mr. Russell’s cottage was occupied by John Tue. Had the Biloxi Fire Department not come to the scene, the entire block might have been destroyed.(The Jackson County Times, December 15, 1928, p. 1)
Miller & Hutchinson, seawall contractor, was awarded the contract to build a timber bulkhead through the Fort Bayou marsh connecting Gulf Hills and Ocean Springs. Upon completion, the bulkhead was to be filled with dirt in preparation to complete a road.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1929, p. 2)
The Mississippi Coast Amateur [baseball] League was organized in February.(The Daily Herald, February 16, 1929, p. 3)
Seawall on Front Beach completed by the Miller-Hutchinson Company of Lake Charles, Louisiana.
A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) elected to his first term as Beat 4 Supervisor in May 1929, succeeding the late J.K. Lemon (1870-1929). He defeated W.S. VanCleave (1871-1938), F.E. Schmidt (1877-1954), and Jerry Oliver.(The Jackson County Times, June 1, 1929, p. 1)
John Koester of NOLA, an air mail pilot, crashed landed his bi-plane on Marsh Point in late July. The plane valued at $10,000 was placed on a barge and towed to Gulf Hills were it was dismantled and sent to NOLA. Pilot Koester was slightly injured and soon returned to his mail route between NOLA and Atlanta.(The Jackson County Times, August 3, 1929, p. 1)
Pilots, Edward A. Bellande (1897-1976), a native of Ocean Springs, and Charles A. Lindbergh (1902-1974), flew the first TWA passenger airplane from Los Angeles to New York.
[The Daily Herald, September 3, 1929, p. 4]
The Reverend Lowndes A. Darsey (1849-1929) of the Methodist church expired in late October.(The Daily Herald, October 28, 1929, p. 1)
October 1929, Stock market crash.
New bridge erected across Fort Bayou by the Miller-Hutchinson Company of Lake Charles, Louisiana. It was opened for public use on October 26, 1929.(The Jackson County Times, October 26, 1929, p. 2)
For the majority of Americans, this decade may have been the most economically miserable of the Twentieth Century. The period beginning with the stock market crash in October 1929, until the commencement of WW II in late 1939, was dismal at best. These hard times became known as “The Depression”. In 1933, President-elect, Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882-1945) and Congress created legislation to provide relief from this economic calamity through programs of agriculture and business regulation, inflation, price stabilization, and public works. Some of the more familiar New Deal programs were: the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC); the Public Works Administration; Tennessee Valley Authority; the Works Progress Administration, the Social Security System; the Federal Communications Commission; and the Security and Exchange Commission.
Locally, the community benefited from several of these government induced economic programs. In 1933, the Civil Works Administration had over two hundred men employed in mosquito control, oyster planting, and street and public building beatification. In 1933, the Anderson brothers of Shearwater Pottery were selected by Chairman Elsworth Woodward of the Region Six Public Works of Art Project, to create murals for the Ocean Springs Public School. In 1938, A CCC camp was erected east of town, which built the Magnolia State Park. In 1939, sewing rooms were established by the Works Progress Administration, which employed nine women at Ocean Springs making garments, quilts, and rugs.
On the negative side, the Farmers & Merchants State Bank failed in 1933. T.W. Milner was appointed the receiver of this financial institution. Also the tourist trade slackened and demolition, bankruptcy, and fire reduced the town to only one hotel, the French Hotel of J.H. Edwards. In 1932, Dr. Powell’s Bayou Inn, became the Fort Bayou estate of Emma M. Logan of Shreveport, Louisiana.
Lurline Shrieber Hall who grew up in Ocean Springs on East Porter during the Depression remembers these difficult times well. Her recollection follows: In 1929, came the crash although we did not feel it until later. I remember going uptown, probably to Gottsche’s Store for Mama and coming home with the news that the Farmers and Merchants Bank had closed. I wanted to know if we had lost our money and she said our money (what little we had) was in the other bank (Ocean Springs State Bank). In 1930, the truth began to come out. They were called the “Troubled Thirties”, and “Brother, can you spare a dime?” was the password. Mr. Gottsche put a sign in his front window-“NRA-We Do Our Part”. Those fortunate to own a radio listened to Amos n’ Andy”, Kate Smith, Walter Winchell, Eddie Cantor, and Rudy Vallee. We read cartoons such as, “Little Orphan Annie”, “Gasoline Alley”, and “Dick Tracy”. When our folks could “spare a dime”, we went to the picture show to see the Marx Brothers, Bella Lugosi, as Count Dracula, and the giant gorilla, King Kong, and any and all musicals. Then came the New Deal when Roosevelt was elected. The Civil Works Administration (CWA) hit Ocean Springs and later the Works Progress Administration (WPA). That perked the town up enough to tide us over until WW II.(Lurline Schrieber Hall, letter dated June 11 ,1999 from Letohatchie, Alabama)
The decade saw a major technological advance in 1939, when a German made the first rocket powered flight and the jet propulsion engine to power an aircraft was developed by an American.
Population of Ocean Springs 1663 people.[Bellande counts 1638 with 1280 white and 358 black].(The Jackson County Times, June 22, 1940, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs City government set annual water rates for 1930 as follows: one faucet-$9; 2nd faucet-$2; each additional faucet-$.75. Each yard faucet cost $1. Rate increased by $.50 over old rate.(The Daily Herald, December 30, 1930, p. 7)
The War Memorial Bridge across the Bay of Biloxi connecting Ocean Springs with Biloxi via US 90 (The Old Spanish Trail), was dedicated in June.
Eugene Rodriguez (1898-1969) was named motorcycle officer for Beat 4 Jackson County. He also patrols the new Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bridge.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1930)
In August, Mrs. Marie Gouax Bertuccini Vance (1863-1930), French immigrant and co-founder of the French Hotel, passed on at her Jackson Avenue residence.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1930, p. 2)
In August, the Texas Company (ChevronTexaco) awarded a contract to Bradford & Carver for the erection of a gasoline service station on the southeast corner of Washington Avenue and Porter. Today, the Robert Mohler family is operating a gasoline service station, deli, and quick stop market at the same location and vending Texaco gasoline.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1930, p. 2)
Dorothy Dix (1861-1951), nom de plume of Elizabeth Meriwether Gilmer, who was the highest paid and most widely read journalist at the time of her demise, visited Holmecliffe, the Lovers Lane resident of Robert H. Holmes (1869-1949).(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1931, p. 2)
J.P. Edwards was re-elected vice president of the Biloxi Hospital board.(The Daily Herald, January 20,1931, p. 2)
Narcisse Seymour (1849-1931), fish and oyster businessman, expired on January 20th.(The Daily Herald, January 20,1931, p. 2)
Theo Bechtel (1863-1931) died on January 17th at the Bechtel home on Porter Avenue. He was a native of Stauton, Illinois and pecan pioneer. Becthel developed the Success Pecan and experimented with other varieties. He was a former president of the Southern Pecan Growers’ Association, chairman of the South Central Pecan Marketing Association, and prominent in the Coast Pecan Marketing Association.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1931, p. 1)
On St. Valentine’s Day, Charles Dryden (1860-1931) died on Calhoun Avenue in the Rosambeau cottage. Mr. Dryden was a national personality and baseball sportswriter for many major journals. He vacationed here during the off-season enjoying the spectacular local fishing. He also wrote several works of fiction. Dryden’s corporal remains were sent to his birthplace, Monmouth, Illinois, for burial.
The younger set enjoyed another of its series of informal dances at the Community House on Saturday night. Present were: Bobby Anderson; Frank Beuhler; Elinor Coates; Carl Dick; John Edwards; Elwin Friar; Judlin Girot and Sallie Girot; Flossie Heath; Brown Honor; Jesse Johnson; Margaret Lewis Lemon and Sara Lemon; Henry Parlin; Roy Riviere; Elizabeth Ryan and Inez Ryan; Joseph Taixes; Walton Tardy; Horace Watson; Andrew Westbrook; and Elinor Wright. Misses Amy Quick and Elizabeth Barbee were chaperones.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1931, p. 2)
In the summer, Henry Oliviere (1890-1930+), a native of Malta, had a seedling peach tree that bore fruit measuring four inches in diameter and weighing 17 1/2 ounces. These measurements were verified by Horace Gladney of the Mississippi State Plant Board.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1932, p. 2)
Sir Thomas Johnstone Lipton (1845-1931), Scottish entrepreneur and yachtsman, died on October 2nd. He lost five challenges to win the America's Cup between 1899 and 1930.
Mike Connor was inaugurated Governor of Mississippi on January 19th.(The Daily Herald, January 18, 1932, p. 1)
The Pines Hotel on Washington Avenue at Ocean, burned on May 5, 1932. It was owned by Mrs. Victor Levy at the time of its destruction.
Dr. Jasper J. Bland, founder of the Beach Hotel, expired at Beaumont, Texas on March 30, 1932.
Katherina R. Hottinger (1850-1932) expired at her East Beach home on March 30, 1932. Her corporal remians were sent to Chicago for internment. Katherina was survived by four daughters: Mrs. E. Holbeck; Mrs. R. Zimmerman; Mrs. L. Peterson; and Mrs. W.T. Veazue; and two sons, Arnold Hottinger and Adolph Hottinger. All the Hottinger children were residents of the Windy City.(The Daily Herald, March 31, 1932, p. 5)
Barbara Irene Wittenburg Gallagher Berthaud (1882-1932), called Rena and the widow of Micahel A. Gallagher (1877-1903), and the spouse of Edgar Berthaut (1869-1939) died at Algiers, Louisiana in mid-November.(The Daily Herald, November 12, 1932, p. 2)
The Dr. Don C. Case-H.F. Russell (1858-1940) home on the southwest corner of Washington and Porter was badly damaged in a fire on February 11, 1933. It was subsequently demolished.(see JXCO, Ms. Chancery Court Cause No. 5606-December 1934)
Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882-1945) became President on March 4th.
The Farmers and Merchants State Bank was put into liquidation with T.W. Milner as receiver.
Father Peter J. Ahern (1869-1933), a native of Wakefield, Massachusetts expired on September 25th. Father Ahern came to Ocean Springs circa 1929 to be the chaplain for the Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart, an Italian Holy Order.(The Daily Herald, September 26, 1933, p. 1)
In late September, Al Pesses, proprietor of the Biloxi Music Company and former bandmaster at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy at New London, Connecticut, met with OSHS students to organize a school band of about twenty musicians. Miss Eulalie Seymour was named band manager.(The Daily Herald, September 28, 1933, p. 2)
The Federal government repealed Prohibition on December 5th by the passage of the 21st Amendment.
Coach LaCroix, teacher and coach, at the Public School resigned to take a job to work in the research department of the Standard Oil Company at Baton Rouge, Louisiana.(The Jackson County Times, December 9, 1933, p. 3)
More than two hundred men were at work in Ocean Springs on various Civil Works Administration activities. Mosquito control projects supervised by Horace Gladney (1894-1975) utilized more than half of the labor force. Others were involved in planting oyster shells, refurbishing the public school grounds, or working on streets.(The Jackson County Times, December 16, 1933, p. 1)
Mary C. O'Keefe, principal of OSHS, was notified that the Southern Association of Schools had dropped OSHS from its accreditation list because the school failed for two years to have at least 175 days of class room instruction.(The Daily Herald, December 23, 1933, p. 3)
Ocean Springs first park commission met on January 3rd with three members in attendance, Dr. Anton Hrabe, E.S. Dick, and Mrs. H.L. Girot.(The Jackson County Times, January 6, 1934)
The Ocean Springs High School girls basketball team won the Mississippi Gulf Coast Championship defeating Escatawpa 49-32. Team members were: Vertalee Bradford Van Cleave, (The Daily Herald, February 26, 1934, p. 2)
On February 29th, beer and wine were legal to vend in Mississippi. Ocean Springs was not affected since alcoholic beverages had been sold here for some time.(The Jackson County Times, March 3, 1934, p. 1)
Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin expired at Milwaukee in early March. She had wintered at Ocean Springs for many years at “Shore Acres” and owned the “Benjamin Castle” on Prospect Avenue and Lake Michigan, where her fine art collection hung.(The Milwaukee Journal, March 7, 1938)
In April, Robert C. Crysell (1874-1934), an L&N employee, was killed in an accident while loading a rail car.(The Jackson County Times, April 21, 1934, p. 3)
The new athletic field on Government Street, and east of the public school [on Bills Avenue] was built as a Civil Works Administration project for $5800, on the former Sigerson farm. J.S. Bradford supervised the landscaping for the 600-foot by 600-foot field enclosed by a 7-foot, tight board fence. The Terry Oilers of Ocean Springs beat Gulfport 11 to 3 on April 22nd in a baseball game, the inaugural sporting contest. Malcolm 'Bud' Hodges raised the American flag as he had won a contest against Duncan Moran, Oscar Joachim and Walter Murphy. The Biloxi Boys Band played for this grand event.(The Daily Herald, January 20, 1934, p. 1, April 27, 1934, p. 9 and The Jackson County Times, January 20, 1934, p. 1 and April 28, 1934, p. 1)
In May 1934, Jefferson Davis Holloway (1869-1938), local L&N railroad engineer, was presented a fifty year, gold, service button set with ten diamonds in a ceremony at the L&N Railroad office at Mobile, Alabama.(The Daily Herald, May 23, 1934, p. 8 and The Jackson County Times, May 12, 1934, p. 1)
Dorothy Dell (1914-1934), nee Dorothy Dell Goff, former resident and Hollywood starlet, was killed on June 8th in an automobile accident at Pasadena, California.
The Methodist congregation at Ocean Springs commenced calling their church, St. Paul’s, in mid-June.(The Jackson County Times, June 16, 1934, p. 3)
In June, the “Fish and Bird” tile mural of James McConnell Anderson (1907-1998) and Peter Anderson (1903-1984) and Bob Anderson’s mural, “Ocean Springs: Past and Present”, were installed in the Ocean Springs Public School building on Government Street.(The Jackson County Times, June 9, 1934, p. 1)
Brother Isaiah (1847-1934), nee John Cudney, expired on July 20, 1934, at “New Jerusalem” near Oroville, California. Brother Isaiah lived for a short duration in the St. Martin community in the 1920s, where he preached and cured the afflicted.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1934, p. 2)
In July a Little Theatre Guild was organized at Ocean Springs. H. Pitts Flateau, president; Mrs. George W. Walter Anderson, vice president; Mrs. Chester Davis, treasurer; and Miss Elsie McFarland, secretary.
Elvis A. Presley (1935-1977) was born at Tupelo, Mississippi on January 8th.
Marcus F. Shanteau Sr. (1905-1975) opened his automobile repair and maintenance service on Government Street. He initially sold Sinclair gasoline.
H. Minor Russell (1892-1940) sued the City because he felt that the new municipal pier, which was over 600 feet long, infringed upon his riparian rights.(The Daily Herald, April 12, 1935, p. 10)
Dave’s Place owned by Walter S. Davidson (1888-1950) opened for business on Washington Avenue in the former Russell Beer Parlor. He served Eagle and Pabst’s Blue Ribbon beers.(The Jackson County Times, May 4, 1935, p. 3) He later ran a feed store on Bowen Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 1, 1950, p. 1)
On May 6, 1935, the Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.) was created to help provide economic relief to the citizens of the United States who were suffering through the Great Depression.
Professor James Lynch (1852-1935), probably a native of County Cavin, Ireland, expired. Mr. Lynch was a merchant, ran a private school, and served as the town clerk from 1919 until 1929.(The Jackson County Times, July 6, 1935)
Edward “Eddie” A. Bellande (1897-1976), a native of Ocean Springs, was awarded the Congressional Air Mail Medal of Honor presented to him by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt in 1935. It was awarded to Eddie Bellande for an act of heroism following his only crash at Bakersfield, California. He safely landed a Transcontinental and Western Air Ford Tri-motor aircraft, which was in flames and helped all of his passengers to reach safety before the plane was totally destroyed by the fire.
The Mill Dam Bridge, now called the Shearwater Bridge, was rebuilt by Supervisor A.P. Moran (1897-1967).(The Jackson County Times, January 25, 1936 p. 1)
Captain Francis O'Neill (1849-1936), retired General Superintendent of the Chicago Police from 1901-1905) and owner of Glengariff, a Front Beach estate, expired at Chicago on January 28, 1936. Captain O'Neill was passionate about Irish music. He devoted much of his life to playing, collecting, researching and writing about Irish music. Captain O'Neill's musical archives and plates for his three music books were legated to the University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana.(The Jackson County Times, February 21, 1927, Jackson County, Ms. Chancery Court Cause No. 5893, and Chicago Tribune, January 29, 1936)
The Mississippi National Guard formed the 106th Quartermaster Regiment at Ocean Springs led by 1st Lt. Jefferson Davis Holloway. His command consisted of the following soldiers: Sgt. Daniel B. Van Court; Corporal Frank Beuhler; Privates: Malcolm Beaugez; Wilson K. Beckham; Anthony F. Catchot; Gerard W. Dale; Beverly Dalgo; Charles T. Gresham; Norman C. Holmes; Benjamin F. Joachim; Mark Oscar Joachim; Wallace B. Maxwell; Clay Mendenhall Parlin; Edward J. Riviere; Roy Riviere; Raymond F. Ryan; Bennie P. Semour; Charles N. Seymour; Foster N. Seymour; Hugh C. Seymour; Milton J. Seymour; Oscar L. Seymour; Joseph Strait; Arnold J. Van Court; and Henry Weyerstall.[The Daily Herald, June 2, 1936, p. 1]
In July, the White House, formerly the Artesian House, was demolished by Charles Braun of Biloxi for its heart pine lumber. A.E. “Fred” Lewis (1862-1933) had erected this small hostel on the southwest corner of Jackson and Porter in 1891.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1936, p. 3)
Edward J. Brou (1921-2004) of Ocean Springs placed second in he two-mile marathon swim with a time of 54 minutes and 25 seconds at the Biloxi's Sports carnival held in early July. He also set a record in the one mile swim at the Southern AAU meet in NOLA on August 29th. Margaret Brou, his sister, placed second in the 50-yard dash swim at the Biloxi Sports carnival.(The Daily Herald, July 3, 1936, p. 8 and The Jackson County Times, September 5, 1936, p. 1)
Albert Enos Lee (1874-1936), native of Iowa, and longtime newspaper publisher at Ocean Springs expired in September. Mr. Lee was associated with The Hammond Vindicator (Hammond, Louisiana) and published and edited The Progress, The Ocean Springs News, and The Jackson County Times at Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, September 19, 1936, p. 1)
Schuyler Poitevent (1875-1936) expired at New Orleans in October. Mr. Poitevent was educated at Tulane and the University of Virginia.. He was a scholarly man and wrote several books on Colonial history, which were never published. Poitevent was convinced that Fort Maurepas (1699-1702), the French Beachhead of Louisiana, had been situated on his bay front estate on Lovers Lane.(The Daily Herald, October 16, 1936, p. 6)
Aklis B. Barry (1882-1937+), Methodist minister, spoke at the 5th annual town ecumenical Thanksgiving service held in the Baptist church. Transferred to the State penitentiary in November 1936. Gave Thanksgiving sermon in the Baptist church at Ocean Springs, the 5th annual town ecumenical Thanksgiving service.(The Jackson County Times, November 28, 1936 and p. 1 p. 3)
Colonel Hernando Deveaux Money (1869-1936), a lawyer, soldier, farmer and politician died at Lexington, Holmes County, Mississippi in December. Colonel Money owned the Rose Farm north of Old Fort Bayou for many years.(The Jackson County Times, December 19, 1936)
H.W.F. Vaughn (b. circa 1903) came from Saucier, Harrison County, Mississippi to Ocean Springs as Methodist minister.( The Jackson County Times, November 28, 1936, p. 1)
Iola Y. Davidson (1883-1963), wife of Judge O.D. Davidson (1872-1938), became the first woman elected as an alderman in the city government. She represented Ward 2.
The Hindenberg, a German dirigible, burned at Lakehurst, New Jersey in early May killing thirty-five passengers and crew.(The Daily Herald, May 8, 1937, p. 1)
In August, the Jackson County Board of Supervisors acquired for $20,000, over one-hundred acres of land from W.E. Applegate Jr. in Section 33, T7S-R8W, east of Ocean Springs for a state recreational area, which would become Magnolia State Park.(JXCO Bd. Of Supervisors, Minute Bk. 17, pp. 152-153)
James A. Brodie (1855-1937), native of Scotland and horticulturist at North Biloxi (D'Iberville), expired.
Jackson County built a dredge perfected by Captain Adam Gautier. It began operation in December 1937 as a suction dredge, which proved unsatisfactory. It was then converted into a 'cutter' dredge and was used primarily to provide protection for the seawalls at Pascagoula and Ocean Springs.(The Pascagoula Chronicle-Star, June 17, 1938, p. 1)
In March 1939, the Jackson County dredge started work on the 100-foot wide channel to the mouth of Mill Dam Bayou to be an inner harbor at Ocean Springs. By September 1939, the harbor was essentially completed when Russell Carver (1888-1961), foreman of the Jackson County bridge crew, finished a 200-foot by 10-foot, east-west striking, dock on the north shore of the new harbor.( (The Pascagoula Chronicle-Star, June 17, 1938, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, March 18,1939, p.1 and The Jackson County Times, August 26, 1939, p. 2)
A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967) was elected head of the Ocean Springs Rotary Club succeeding T.W. Milner. He took office on July 1st.(The Jackson County Times, April 9, 1938, p. 1)
The first contingent of Civil Conservation Corps men from Camp No. 5 at New Augusta, Mississippi arrived at their camp east of Ocean Springs on March 26th, to form CCC Company 1437 and commence work on what would become the Magnolia State Park.(The Moss Point Advertiser, March 31, 1938 and The Daily Herald, March 26, 1938, p. 1)
Jack Lloyd, the 'Headline Hunter', peripatetic national and international news reporter, visited Ocean Springs in late March.(The Jackson County Times, April 2, 1938, p. 1)
Dr. Oscar Lee Bailey (1870-1938), pioneer physician and native of Conehatta, Newton County, Mississippi, expired on June 21, 1938.(The Jackson County Times, June 25,1938)
Dr. George C. Jones (1876-1938+), a native of New York, came to Ocean Springs from Biloxi where he had been since January. He opened an office in the Ocean Springs State Bank Building.(The Jackson County Times, July 30, 1938, p. 3)
In October, legendary L&N Railroad engineer, Jefferson Davis Holloway (1861-1938) expired at his Washington Avenue residence. Jeff was known for the punctuality of his train arrivals and departures on the Ocean Springs-New Orleans run.
In November, the Ingalls Shipbuilding Corporation at Pascagoula was incorporated.
In January, the Theo Bechtel home, formerly Mrs. A.E. Holcomb’s, “Hollywood”, was destroyed by fire. Mrs. Charlotte Franco Cochran (1864-1939) expired at her home on Robinson Avenue during the conflagration.(The Jackson County Times, January 14, 1939, p. 1)
The Kersenacs are building a new Snug Harbor where the old one stood [on the NW side of US Highway 90 near the 1930 War Memorial Bridge]. This structure will be one of the most attractive eating houses on the Coast as everyone knows the delicious food that the Kersanacs serve.(The Jackson County Times, March 11, 1939, p. 4)
The first commemoration of Iberville’s Landing of April 1699, was held at Ocean Springs on March 19, 1939. A.P. Moran (1897-1967) portrayed Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’Iberville (1661-1706).
In the spring of 1939, Lt. John Carter Cook (1913-1999), a native of Georgia, arrived in Jackson County, Mississippi with the Civilian Conservation Corps as commander of Company No. 1437, which was stationed at Magnolia State Park, east of Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, May 27, 1939, p. 4)
Alfred P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967), Beat 4 Supervisor, commenced work on the Inner Harbor with the cooperation of Annette McConnell Anderson (1867-1964), Charles E. Clark (1879-1945), the Rehage Dairy, and the R.F.C., owners of the Charles G. Parlin property.(The Jackson County Times, March 18, 1939, p. 1) The 200-foot long dock was built and completed in early September by the county bridge crew of Russell Carver (1888-1961), foreman.(The Jackson County times, August 26, 1939, p. 2, c. 3)
Joe Beaugez (1915-1998) went to Dothan, Alabama to pitch in the Alabama-Florida League.(The Jackson County times, March 25, 1939, p. 4)
Charles J. Steelman (1889-1957), former manager of Viator’s Cash Store, purchased the meat market of Lynn Johnson, the K.C. Meat Market, on Washington Avenue and went into business for himself.(The Jackson County Times, March 25, 1934, p. 4)
The dial telephone system came to Ocean Springs after a new building was erected to house the equipmentwas completed on Government Street adjacent to the Ocean Springs State Bank. Mayor
Charles R. Bennett made the first call on June 20, 1939 followed by A.P. "Fred" Moran. The dial system replace the magneto crank-box.(The Daily Herald, March 13, 1939, p. 7, c. 6 and The Jackson County Times, June 24, 1939, p. 1)
The first commemoration of Iberville’s Landing of April 1699, was held at Ocean Springs on March 19, 1939. A.P. Moran (1897-1967) portrayed Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’Iberville (1661-1706).
Gustav R. Nelson (1896-1970), a native of Upsala, Sweden and 1911 immigrant, grew a 2.75 pound lemon on his 85-acre tract, Nelson’s Tropical Gardens, east of Ocean Springs. The Gus Nelson lemon was larger than that listed as the world’s biggest by Robert Ripley’s “Believe It or Not”(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1939, p. 7)
WW II began on September 9th, when Germany invaded Poland.
Willie F. Dale (1899-1990) acquired the J.J. O’Keefe Home on Porter Street from the Home Owner’s Loan Corporation for $3850, on December 2nd.(JXCO Land Deed Bk. 74, pp. 158-160)
Camille Dick opened the Lamp Light Inn in the Eglin Building on Washington Avenue.(The Jackson County Times, December 9, 1939, p. 4)
WW II and recovery from its widespread destruction and death consumed most of this decade. Americans went back to work in great numbers supplying its military forces and that of its allies on four continents. The war ended in September 1945, after the atomic bomb was dropped on two Japanese metropolitan areas issuing in the Nuclear Age. The Iron Curtain went up in eastern Europe and the Cold War with the Soviet Union began as the decade ended.
At Ocean Springs, many young men went into the military and several didn’t return to its oak and magnolia-shaded lanes, lazy bayous, and quaint cottages of their recent adolescence. For those who served and especially those who gave their lives in North Africa, Europe, and in the South Pacific, we will always be grateful.
The September Storm in 1947 wrought much damage to the waterfront here. Gulf Hills had a new owner and manager in Dick Waters, who came from Florida, and introduced the Dude Ranch concept to the resort. The decade closed on a positive note with the completion of Freedom Field and the Community Center.
The 2nd Landing of Iberville directed by Miss Mary C. O'Keefe was held on the Front Beach in late March.(The Daily Herald, March 29, 1940 and April 1, 1940)
Population of Ocean Springs was 1891 people.(The Jackson County Times, June 22, 1940, p. 1)
The Back Bay of Biloxi froze over on January 27, 1940. This was the first time since February 13, 1899, when the mercury fell to one degree Fahrenheit on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Daily Herald, January 27, 1940, p. 1)
New Blue and Gray sweaters were presented to the following OSHS football players: Orion Baker, Donald Beaugez, Karl Byrd, Barney Dessommes, Lowell Davis, Donald Edwards, Harold Eley, Frank Haviland, Eugene Hill, Bob Hodges, Donald Mohler, Donal Snyder, Richard Steelman, and Jack Williams.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1940, p. 3)
Hiram F. Russell (1858-1940), long time businessman and entrepreneur and once reputed to be the wealthiest man in Jackson County, expired on May 5th. Mr. Russell came to Ocean Springs from Yazoo City in 1881, to work for R.A. VanCleave (1840-1908). He served as postmaster (1885-1889) and then became active in real estate, insurance, and furniture-sewing machine-stationary retailing. His daughter, Ethel Virginia Russell (1899-1957), married A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) in 1923.
The Reverend William James Hewson II (1917-2007), the son of William J. Hewson (1876-1930) and Lydia L. Friar (1895-1968), and believed to have been the first Mississippi native born ordained Roman Catholic priest, said his first solemn high mass at St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church on May 26, 1940. he was ordained in NOLA at the St. Louis Cathedral on May 18, 1940. Reverend Hewson expired at Baton Rouge, Louisiana on August 2, 2007.(The Jackson County Times, June 1, 1940, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, May 29, 1940, p. 2)
In June, Ingalls Shipbuilding Corporation launched a C3 cargo vessel, Exchequer, its first vessel and the first all-welded cargo ship built in America.
In late June, the Jackson County dredge commenced work on the construction of a road protection and beach at Ocean Springs. The plan was to extend the entire length of East Beach. Supervisor A.P. Moran related that the pumping of sand would require several weeks and without unseen interruptions, the project was planned to carry the road protection from the eastern extremity of East Beach to the small strip of seawall at the foot of East Beach road, a distance of about a mile and one-half.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1940, p. 8)
Father Charles Hunter of St. Alphonsus performed the 'Blessing of the Fleet' at the harbor.(The Jackson County Times, August 24, 1940, p. 1)
Postmaster and former Mayor, L. Morris McClure (1884-1940), died in the post office on October 22nd.(The Jackson County Times, October 26, 1940, p. 1)
Magnolia State Park, the last of ten State parks, opened in September.
In November, H. Minor Russell (1892-1940) expired at New London, Connecticut.
In November, Carrie Seymour Ames (1889-1979) was presented with her 20 year gold-diamond studded service pen for her 20 years service with the telephone company.(The Jackson County Times, January 25, 1941, p. 1)
In January, City Hall was moved from the Farmers & Merchant Bank Building to the former National Guard Armory.(The Jackson County Times, January 18, 1941, p. 1)
Frank Marion Mitchell (1922-1941), son of Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Mitchell, was injured near Fernwood, Harrison County, Mississippi in automobile accident. He died in the Gulfport hospital on February 5th.(The Daily Herald, February 6, 1941, p. 1)
Wileminia Booker Beaugez (1900-1941), spouse of Emile Beaugez, died from injuries sustained in an automoblie accident.(The Daily Herald, February 13, 1941, p. 1)
C. Ernest Schmidt opened his new restaurant, the Bay Bridge Tavern, on the east side of the US Highway No. 90 Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bay Bridge on February 15th. Schmidt's slogan was-"Seafood Caught and Cooked".(The Daily Herald, February 14, 1941, p. 2)
A drive was built around the Inner Harbor in February.(The Jackson County Times, February 15, 1941, p. 1)
The E.W. Illing Jr.’s Gulf City Canning Company, formerly the Ocean Springs Packing Company, closed. It had been leased to L.G. Moore of Biloxi who owned a fleet of fishing vessels and had spent time and money to get the plant in operation. Mr. Moore had difficulty getting shuckers to work in the factory. It had been clsoed for several years until Moore's effort to revitalize it. He had brought 600 barrels of oysters to the plant, but could get only 20-24 workers to come to work in a two day span. The local seafood workers had union affiliations and didn't care to work at Moore's plant. He had even secured an agreement with the OSHS to use its siren to notify workers that they were needed at the factory.(The Jackson County Times, February 1, 1941, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, February 3, 1941, p. 4)
Nola Nance Oliver published, The Gulf Coast of Mississippi.
William 'Willie' Dale hired Clarence Kornman of Biloxi to move the O'Keefe residence [on Porter and Jackson] back 32 feet from its former location. The structure will be made into an apartment house with additional space for a restaurant and another business.(The Daily Herald, Marh 3, 1941, p. 6)
In March, Matt Matteson, Gulf Hills golf professional, made a hole in one on No. 3, a 165-yard par three while playing with James D. 'Slugger' Wolf of Chicago. He used a six iron and went on to shoot a round of 69 on the par 70 course.(The Daily Herald, March 6, 1941, p. 9)
Lt. James B. Gaines succeeded Lt. Neil D. Nolen as new company commander of CCC Company 1437 at Ocean Springs. Lt. Gaines came to Ocean Springs from CCC camp at Farmersville, Louisiana. Lt. R.B. Waller was another new officer arriving at this time. He transferred from the Ninth Corps Area Company 5497 at Mason, Nevada. Waller was a school teacher which made him an asset in the camp's educational programs. Both men planned tohave their families relocate to Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, April 12, 1941, p. 7)
Fred Ryan-courtesy of Joseph Lyons, his grandson
Vice-president, Henry A. Wallace (1888-1965), ate stuffed crabs and potato salad at Fred J. Ryan’s (1886-1943) restaurnt and dance hall on Bowen Avenue. Mr. Ryan’s restaurant began as the F&H Bar during the Depression with Fred J. Ryan and Henry Endt as proprietors. It became a restaurant run by his wife, E. Florence Domning (1889-1954).(The Jackson County Times, May 5, 1934)
Byron Patton 'Pat' Harrison (1881-1941) of Gulfport, former Congressman (1911-1919) and US Senator (1919-1941) died in Washington D.C. on the June 22nd.
Two Army fliers were killed when their plane hit a power line over Old Fort Bayou.(The Jackson County Times, July 12, 1941, p. 1)
In September, the Heffner-Cosper-Dale Cottages were erected by Oscar E. Heffner (1893-1988) on the Holcomb-Bechtel tract situated on Porter and Rayburn. Frank Galle was the local building contractor. The cottages were built to alleviate the housing shortage created by Keesler Field at Biloxi.
J.C. Wright (1879-1941), brother-in-law of H.L. Hunt, and founder of the Fort Bayou Dairy, expired on February 21st. The Wright-Hunt tract was once the pecan orchard of Dr. Homer L. Stewart. It now consists of the US Post Office and the Maurepas Landing housing development.
In late October, Warren Jackson (1886-1972) was elected Secretary of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce to replace Anthony V. Ragusin (1902-1997), who had enlisted in the Army Air Corps.(The Daily Herald, October 29, 1941, p. 1)
The Civil Conservation Corp Camp No. 1437, which built Magnolia State Park and is now the site of the Gulf Island National Seashore headquarters, was dissolved in October.(The Jackson County Times, November 1, 1941, p. 1, c. 3)
Annette Saxon O'Keefe (1924-1998), brilliant pianist and honor student, was nominated by the Senior Class to represent OSHS in the Good Citizenship Girl contest sponsored by the DAR.(The Daily Herald, November 21, 1941, p. 6)
In November, James A. Mustard (1906-2000), golf professional, was hired by Gulf Hills for the winter season. Mr. Mustard came to the USA from Scotland in 1928 and had formerly worked at the Biloxi Country Club with Edward Rankin. James A. Mustard spends the summer golf season at Janesville, Wisconsin. Mr. Rankin will join him at Gulf Hills coming from Detroit.(The Daily Herald, November 22, 1941, p. 5)
WW II commenced for the USA when a Japanese naval task force under Admiral Yamamoto bombed Pearl Harbor, H.I. on December 7, 1941. War on Japan was declared on December 8th. Germany and Italy sign an alliance with Japan and enter the war on December 11th.
V.G. Humphrey (1885-1942) expired in January. He was president of the Ocean Springs State Bank and United Poultry Producers at the time of his demise. Grant Humphrey had been principal of the Vancleave High School, Rotarian, and Mason.(The Daily Herald, January 26, 1942, p. 6)
In February, The British War Relief Society met and planned means of raising money to purchase garden seed to be sent to England.(The Jackson County Times, February 21, 1942, p. 4)
Father Dennis O' Sullivan (1877-1942), native of Ireland and acting pastor of St. Alphonsus Catholic Church, died on April 2nd after leaving the confessional.(The Jackson County Times, April 4, 1942, p. 1, The Daily Herald, April 2, 1942, p. 1 and April 3, 1942, p. 1)
John Mitchell (1915-1963) and spouse, Georgia Shell Mitchell, built a concrete house on their Cleveland Avenue lot.(The Jackson County Times, March 21, 1942, p. 4)
In April, distance runner, Donal Snyder, son of Chester A. Snyder, and a student at Oklahoma City University, won the mile, 880-yard run, and 440-yard dash in record time at Wichita, Kansas. Snyder would later set other AAU distance running records.
In May, Merchant Marine Lt. (jg) Harry W. Benedict Jr.(1913-1942), who lived here from 1923-1926, was killed at the mouth of the Mississippi River when his cargo vessel was torpedoed by a German U-Boat. In 1926, his mother, Mrs. Harry W. Benedict had won a $15 gold piece in a contest to rename the Gottsche Store. Her successful appellation was Gottshe’s Thrity-Nifty.(The Jackson County Times, May 23, 1942, p. 1)
The L&N Railroad began using diesel-powered locomotives to pull its passenger trains on the Mississippi coast.(The Jackson County Times, May 23, 1942, p. 1)
Matt Huber (1892-1968) and wife, Myrtle Huber, relocated to Mobile were he became manager of the Albright & Woods Drugstore.(The Jackson County Times, July 25, 1942, p. 4)
In October, A.P. Moran (1897-1967), Hermes F. Gautier (1895-1969), John T. Powers (1887-1971), and Herbert P. Beaugez (1895-1954) organized the Purity Seafood Company and operated a seafood factory at the foot of Jackson Avenue with a lease from Antonio “Toy” Catchot (1868-1948).
The Terry Courts were erected on Front Beach and Martin by Henry J. Terry (1890-1975). They were removed in the 1960s to build the d’Iberville Apartments.
The French Hotel on Front Beach became known as the Edwards House. Mrs. Amelia Edwards (1893-1979) was a kind and excellent hostess and ran the hostel accordingly. The Ocean Springs Rotary Club met here regularly doing the 1940s.
In February, Henrietta Bellew opened a café, Henrietta’s, on Government Street which would last for over fifty-years and become a legendary landmark.
Local dentist, Dr. Anton Hrabe (1882-1943), expired in late May.(The Jackson County Times, May 28, 1943, p. 1)
The Magnolia State Park was used to bivouac British sailors awaiting their ships from Ingalls at Pascagoula during the summer of 1943. Several limeys sparked and courted the local lassies.
Fred B. Ferson and Paul Linde, formerly of Tennessee, have given up their jobs to work full time at Biloxi to produce high quality prisms for use by the military as range finders for tanks, ships and large artillery pieces for the Franklin Arsenal. They are assisted in their shop by J.R. McElroy and J.L. McKenzie. Since 1941, the government has given contracts to amateur lens makers to help eliminate the paucity of roof prism manufacturing in America.(The Daily Herald, August 4, 1943, p. 8)
In September, Robert W. Hamill (1863-1943) passed on at his home in Clarendon Hills, Illinois. Mr. Hamill founded the Hamill Farm at Fontainebleau in the early 1900s, and resided at Belle Fontaine Beach for many years.
In October, Chester A. Snyder purchased the Stokes Laundry.(The Jackson County Times, October 16, 1943, p. 1
On December 7th, ground was broken at the Inner Harbor [Hellmer's Lane] to build the 'Crash Boat Base'. B.L. Knost of Pass Christian, Mississippi was awarded the $14,740 contract to erect pre-fabricated barracks, a mess hall, and lavatory for service men stationed here from Key Field at Meridian, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1943, p. 1)
In December, seventy French sailors were bivouaced at Magnolia State Park awaiting repairs to their ship. Forty of the men were from Martinique and the others from France that went to North Africa when WWII commenced. Lt. Georges LeHot is commanding the sailors at the park which formerly was used as quarters by the CCC men and British sailors.(The Daily Herald, December 11, 1943, p. 3)
In February, K.W. Burnham, president of the Board of Supervisors, conveyed approximately 50 acres of land at Magnolia State Park to the State of Mississippi.(JXCO Land Deed Bk. 88, pp. 431-432)
On February 10th, Geraldine Smith, daughter of Tempy Stuart Smith, made her debut at Carnegie Hall in NYC.
U.S. Army, 3rd Air Force at Gulfport Field, located a Crash and Rescue boat base in the Inner Harbor to monitor bombing ranges in the Gulf of Mexico and assist downed flyers.
Germany surrendered on May 7, 1945.
Edward 'Eddie' E. Lemien (1925-2009), Jehovah Witness of Latimer, stated in Federal Court at Biloxi that he was an ordained minister since childhood and did not believe in war. Lemien had failed to report for induction into military service and claimed that he had filed an appeal which he had never gotten a reply. Judge Sidney C. Mize instructed the jury to find for the defendant.(The Daily Herald, February 21, 1945, p. 1)
Miss Mary C. O’Keefe (1893-1980) resigned from her position as Superintendent of Public Schools. She was replaced by Mr. S.S. Wall who was elected to the position in July 1945 by the local school board. Over 360 pupils were expected to enroll for the fall school session.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1945, p. 1 and September 8, 1945, p. 1)
USMC aviator WW II.-Jeremiah J. 'Jerry' O'Keefe III (b. 1923)
During his first WW II aerial combat mission flown with the 2nd Marine Air Wing over the skies of Okinawa in April 1945, 1st Lieutenant J.J. 'Jerry' O’Keefe III destroyed five Japanese aircraft, which earned him the "ace" designation. Before the Pacific theater hostilities ended in August 1945, Jerry O’Keefe had been credited with two additional kills. For his valiant military service, he was bestowed the Navy Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, Air Medal, and Gold Star. He received these medals on October 14, 1946, at New Orleans. (The Daily Herald, April 25, 1945, p. 1 and October 15, 1946, p. 5)
Lawton Carver (1903-1973), native of Ocean Springs and correspondent for International News Service, interviewed General George S. Patton Jr. (1885-1945) at Nuremburg, Germany in late August.(The Jackson County Times, September 1, 1945, p. 1)
Beat Four Supervisor Fred Moran (1897-1967) warned the public that it was illegal to swim or fish from the Old Fort Bayou Bridge.(The Jackson County Times, September 1, 1945, p. 1)
Japan surrendered to end WW II on September 2, 1945.(The Daily Herald, September 15, 1945, p. )
The OSHS football team beat the Biloxi High 'B' team 18-0 in mid-September.
Purity Seafood packed 1761 barrels of shrimp between August 15th and September 20th. The factory employs 125 local men and women with their payroll averaging between $1500 and $2500 per week.(The Daily Herald, September 24, 1945, p. 4)
Albert “Moochie” McGinnis (1906-1945), longtime deliveryman for Gottsche’s Thrifty-Nifty, expired in November.
A tornado or strong wind event struck East Biloxi and Ocean Springs in early January. The freak storm resulted in about $10,000 in damage. The most severe destruction at Biloxi occurred between First Street and the Beach and Pine and Maple Street. Two rows of tenements houses owned by Mavar on East Beach were damaged loosing roofs, electrical wiring, and trees. At Ocean Springs, principal damage was $500 to the Purity Seafood Company plant operated by Dudley Lang and the Seymour property, both situated at the foot of Jackson Avenue. No one in either community was injured.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1946, p. 1)
Fast passenger service, the L&N Railroad’s Hummingbird, was inaugurated.
David Smith (1856-1946), native of Sydney, Australia, died resulting from an automobile accident on January 2nd. He and his spouse, taught the children of Bayou Puerto [Gulf Hills ] their catechism and they was responsible for the construction of St. Joseph's Chapel. David was killed in an automobile accident at Biloxi, Mississippi on January 2, 1946. His wife died on the day that their last Confirmation class received the sacrament from Bishop R.O. Gerow. His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1946, p. 5)
James B. Smith and Richard A. Waters (d. 1989) acquired Gulf Hills from the Branigar Corporation.(The Jackson County Times, January 11, 1947, p. 1)
After V-J Day on September 2, 1945, activity at the US Army Air Corps crash boat base began to diminishrapidly. The rescue vessels at Ocean Springs were moved to Brookley AFB, Mobile, Alabama. By March 1946, the military facility on Hellmer's Lane was still open, but not operational. It was permanently closed shortly thereafter.(W.H. Yarrow, Hattiesburg, Mississippi, April 10, 1999)
The Gulf Wave, a beauty shop situated next to Lovelace Drug Store, was managed by Mrs. Elmer Barras, beauty operator, Mrs. Adele Thompson, and Mrs. Florence Rebstock.(The Jackson County Times, April 23, 1946, p. 4)
BSA Troop 216
Boy Scout Troop 216 was organized at Ocean Springs in the late summer or early fall of 1946 by Cyril Hopkins (1911-1968) and Joseph ‘Joe Boy’ Ryan (1928-1985). The new scouts met in the Community House and the troop initially consisted of about fifty young men divided into three patrols. Biloxi Knights of Columbus Council No. 1244 sponsored Troop 216 which received its charter in late October 1946. Committee men from the Knights of Columbus were: E.C. Brou (1896-1949), chairman; C.E. Schmidt (1904-1988); Albert Mallard (1901-1982); R.F. Cazaubon (1883-1970); and Fred L. Westbrook (1889-1963). Scoutmaster Cyril Hopkins was a surrogate father for many boys of this generation. In addition to starting Troop 216, he organized the first American Legion baseball team for boys and the Magnolia Stars, a girls’ softball squad. In this image made in the OSHS auditorium and probably taken at an awards ceremony known in scouting as the ‘Court of Honor’ are Ocean Springs boy scouts identified as: [L-R: 1. Donald Catchot; 2. George A. Kiernan Jr. (1934-2009); 3. C. Ferdinand Kiernan (1931-2001); 4. Ronald J. Benezue (1934-2005); 5. Thomas J. Bellman (1935-2007); 6. Kyle R. Fondren Jr. (1933-2003); 7. Robert Cox; 8. V.O. Stevens Jr.; 9. Alfred Duvernay; 10. W.T. Broome; 11. Floyd Brune Jr.; 12. Gene Seymour; 13. Raymond ‘Big Boy’ Beaugez’ 14. Cyril Hopkins (1911-1968); and 15. Joseph Ryan (1928-1985). Image courtesy of Joan Ryan Llado-Biloxi, Mississippi.
Boy Scout Troop 216 received its national charter in late October. Cyril Hopkins (1911-1968) lead the troop with Joseph 'Joe Boy' Ryan (1928-1985) as his able assistant. By the mid-1950s, Fred L. Westbrook Jr. (1919-2001) had become scoutmaster. Troop 216 met in City Hall when it was on Washington Avenue in what is now called the Senior Citizens Building north of the Community Center. Joe Ryan and Kyle Fondren Jr. were still involved in troop functions.(The Jackson County Times, September 14, 1946, p. 1, September 28, 1946, p. 1, and Johnny Norman, former Eagle Scout in Troop 216, at Waldorf, Maryland February 2010)
Circa 1946, Charles M. Carr (1897-1963), a Texan, built Old Shell Landing, a fishing camp, on the north shore of Graveline Lake. He rented fishing skiffs and sold fish bait. During the 1947 Hurricane, he lost one building, most of his pier, and two outboard motors.(The Jackson County Times, September 20, 1947, p. 1)
In January, Captain Antonio J. Catchot (1864-1954) retired from the L&N Railroad after sixty-four years of service.(The Jackson County Times, January 11, 1947, p. 1)
In January, the Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce was organized. A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) of the Ocean Springs Lumber Company was elected the first president. Board members were: Dr. Frank O. Schmidt (1902-1975), L.C. Wiswell, Albert C. Gottsche (1873-1949), Mayor Albert Westbrook (1900-1980), Harry R. Lee (1903-1951), Wendell Palfrey (1896-1956), Henry Girot (1887-1953), and J.K. Lemon (1914-1998).(The Daily Herald, January 28, 1949, p. 3)
In March, the old F.E. Schmidt residence on Washington Avenue owned by H.V. Hayden was damaged by fire. The upper floor and roof were completely destroyed while the lower floor suffered considerable water damage.(The Jackson County Times, March 29, 1947, p. 1)
In August, the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory held its first summer session in the former CCC camp building at Magnolia State Park. Courses were taught in Field Botany and Faunistic Zoology. Dr. R.L. Caylor of Delta State was the first director.(The Jackson County Times, June 28, 1947, p. 1)
Former Mississipppi Governor and US Senator Theodore Gilmore Bilbo (1877-1947) expired at NOLA on August 21st.
The eye of the September Storm of the 18th and 19th passed over New Orleans, but left the Mississippi Gulf Coast in turmoil from its wide destructive path. Winds were measured between 85 and 100 MPH and maximum storm surge measured at 13 feet. At Ocean Springs major damage occurred between the harbor and US 90 Biloxi Bay Bridge. The Seymour Brothers and E.P. Guice Seafood establishments, both located outside the seawall at Jackson Avenue, were hard hit. The Terry Cottages at the foot of Martin Avenue were floated off their foundations. The Community Pier was completely demolished and the L&N RR Bridge was severely damaged. The west end of the Biloxi Bay Bridge was washed out.(The Jackson County Times, September 20, 1947, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, September 23, 1947, p. 1)
The Jackson County Times was sold by Harry R. Lee to Colonel G.R. Johnson and Thomas P. McGuinn.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1947, p. 5)
Peggy Eglin was named 'Miss Ocean Springs'.(The Daily Herald, October 24, 1947, p. 3 and The Jackson County Times, October 18, 1947, p. 1)
Edgar P. Guice (1899-1971) invented a shrimp mould.(The Jackson County Times, November 28, 1947, p. 1)
Judge E.W. Illing (1870-1947), founder of the legendary Illing Theatre, expired.
The Gulf Coast Times-(1947 to 1953). George W. Reagen, editor. On microfilm at Ocean Springs Public Library, and Ms. Dept. of Archives & History. Some original issues at the Jackson County Chancery Court Archives in Pascagoula.
First Mississippi produced tung oil began to flow in late January at the American Tung Oil Mill at the Landon Community, Harrison County, Mississippi situated four miles north of Gulfport and near US Highway No. 49. The plant processed nuts from groves in George, Greene, Harrison, Jackson, Hancock, Harrison, Perry, and Stone Counties in Mississippi and Mobile and Baldwin Counties in Alabama.(The Daily Herald, January 29, 1948, p. 1 and June 2, 1949, Sec. II, p. 1)
Mike LaMacchai (1921-1992) and Betty Eglin (1927-2004), his spouse, rented the former Jackson County Times office on Porter and planned to open an ice cream parlor called 'The Spot'. Later, Buford Myrick acquired this business.(The Daily Herald, April 9, 1948, p. 2)
[L-R: J.C. Dezelle, United Gas; W.E. 'Nub" Williams (1890-1966), night officer; Mayor Albert S. Westbrook (1900-1980); Oscar Mitchell, (1893-1964) alderman-ward 4; C.E. “Ernie” Schmidt (1904-1988), alderman-at-large; John Catchot (1897-1987), alderman; R.C. Miller (1887-1953), police chief and street commissioner; J.U. Scharr (1887-1965) alderman ward 2 ; Sadie Catchot Hodges (1894-1973), city clerk; Clarence Hamilton (1902-1992), alderman ward; and Roscoe L. Fickes, United Gas.[image made 5, December 1947 and courtesy of Bruce K. Mohler-January 2017]
United Gas began natural gas service to Ocean Springs in late June.(The Daily Herald, June 18, 1948, p. 1 and June 23, 1948, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, June 18, p. 1)
A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) was elected President of the JXCO Board of Supervisors.
The Marine Cafeteria building on Lincoln Avenue [Gulfport?] is to go to the Gulf Coast Lab [GCRL] at Magnolia State Park. An application has been made to the State Building Commission for $50,000 to move and re-erect the structure. The lab is under auspices of the Mississippi Academy of Sciences.(The Daily Herald, July 10, 1948, p. 6)
Miss Jessie M. Boyd (1881-1963), native of Summit, Mississippi and long time resident of Ocean Springs and a Red Cross employee, is credited with bringing the Blue Cross Hospital insurance plan to Ocean Springs on a city wide basis. Ocean Springs was the 2nd city in Mississippi to adopt the plan after Magnolia, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, August 7, 1948, p. 2)
The Rotary Club endorsed the proposed Shearwater Crafts Inc. and the $48,000 bond issue to create it from the existing Shearwater Pottery.(The Daily Herald, October 1, 1948, p. 10)
The Fort Bayou Baptist Church was organized in October. Reverend W.R. Storie and most of the Steelman family of Ocean Springs was in attendance.(The Daily Herald, October 6, 1948, p. 10)
Mrs. Hermes Gautier assembled over 100 citizens at the Jackson County Courthouse on October 12th to organize the Jackson County Historic and Preservation Society. H.P. Heidelberg Sr. was named president; Mary Cahill O'Keefe of Ocean Springs was 1st vice-president; Dora Cowan of Moss Point was 2nd vice-president; Inman Ramsay of Vancleave was 3rd vice-president; Mrs. Winston Nolan of Orange Grove-secretarty; Jacob Lockard of Vancleave-treasurer; and Merle Palmer-parlimentarian.(The Daily Herald, October 14, 1948, p. 1)
The Reverend James Mulholland of Handsboro, Mississippi was installed as pastor of the First Presbyterian Church. At this time George Granitz was made an elder and Frank Snyder and Frank Cramer were made deacons.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1948, p. 8)
In October, the Builders Supply Company was commenced by Andy L. Page (1912-1991) at Washington and Reynoir.(The Jackson County Times, October 24, 1948, p. 1)
Professor William R. Allen Jr. (1911-1985) of Tulane University [NOLA] brought his third year architectural design class to the Shearwater Pottery to study the needs of the proposed Shearwater Crafts, Inc.(The Daily Herald, November 15, 1948, p. 5)
1948 Fire Station on Porter
The Volunteer Fire Department Company erected a fire station on Porter. Bernard Beaugez (1909-1969) was the president of the organization and Thomas Galle drew the plans for the structure. It was demolished on June 3, 2003 to build a parking lot for City Hall.(The Jackson County Times, December 10, 1948, p. 1)
Dutchess Club organized to aid in the charitable and civic welfare in and around Ocean Springs.
A Civil Air Patrol unit was established at Ocean Springs in January with Bruce L. Thomas, acting commander, and William T. Dunn, acting executuve officer.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1949, p. 4)
Superintendent S.S. Wall announced that the public school enrollment at Ocean Springs had reached 400 students. 309 pupils were in Grades 1-8 and 91 students were in Grades 9-12.(The Daily Herald, January 11, 1949, p. 4)
Canadian born, Dr. Henry Bradford Powell (1866-1949), founder of the Bayou Inn and long time resident, expired on May 30th.
The County dredge was completing the beach at Magnolia State Park.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 1, 1949, p. 1)
Last issue of The Jackson County Times was published on March 4th, as the local journal became known as The Gulf Coast Times on March 11, 1949.
Albert C. Gottsche (1873-1949) expired in March. Mr. Gottsche worked for the Davis Brothers until 1910, when he went into business for himself. He built a building on the southwest corner of Washington and Desoto in 1912, now owned by Blossman Gas. At this site, A.C. Gottsche ran his legendary grocery store until his demise.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1949, p. 6)
250th Anniversary Celebration of Iberville's Landing
[L-R: George Granitz (1909-1981), Indian chief, and A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967), Iberville)
The 250th Celebration of Iberville's Landing occurred at Ocean Springs on April 3rd. It was sponsored by Biloxi, Ocean Springs, and North Biloxi (now D'Iberville) and was part of a six day festival titled, "250th Biloxi Birthday Celebration". Anthony V. Ragusin of Biloxi was the General Chairman. The pageant for "The Landing" was written and directed by Elinor Wright Scharr (1913-1953), and featured A.P Moran (1897-1967) as Iberville; Paul DeFrank, as Bienville; J.C. Gay, flag bearer; Judlin H. Girot (1912-1970), ensign; Edward Brou Jr., ensign; Lee E. Jordan (1912-1984), major; and H.P. Flateau (1888-1955), priest.(The Daily Herald, March 4, 1949, p. 1)
H.P. Flateau (1888-1955) was elected president of the school board.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 8, 1949, p. 10)
In May, workmen under the supervision of Art Fifield (1881-1962), and Pascagoula building contractor, J.T. Gibson, were well into the construction of the new Community House on Washington Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 6, 1949, p. 1) Fred S. Bradford (1878-1951) and Marshall Keys (1895-1963) were the masons for the project.
In April, Colonel G.R. Johnson sold The Gulf Coast Times to H. Dewitt Smith formerly of Aberdeen, Mississippi.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 15, 1949, p. 1)
In late May, Bob Anderson’s “Folk Tales and Fantasy”, a linoleum block print and wood carving exhibit, was shown at the Brooklyn Museum.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 27, 1949, p. 1)
Cololonel H.T. Bankston, native of Raymond, Mississippi, named head of Gulf Coast Research Lab for summer term.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 3, 1949, p. 1)
Girl Scout Troop 1 was reorganized after a lapse of two years when no leader was available.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 1, 1949, p. 1)
A portion of the East Beach Seawall was constructed in August.
In October, an iron lung was acquired by the city for emergency uses. The device was to be utilized in the event of polio, drowning, electrical shock, and cardiovascular trauma.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1949, p. 4)
On November 4th, the first night football game ever played at Ocean Springs occurred at recently completed Freedom Field. Coach Clay Boyd (1911-1974) led the Greyhounds to a 27-13 win over Pass Christian. The aerial combo of Larry Williams to F. Kiernan was effective for three scores.(The Daily Herald, November 7, 1949, p. 9)
The new St. Alphonsus parochial grade school opened in early September 1949. Bishop Richard O. Gerow dedicated the one-story, four-classroom, structure on December 5th. It cost $35,000-$41,000 and was designed by John T. Collins and built by the Collins Brothers and Mitchell Brothers. Charles Engbarth did the plumbing and heating, and Compton Electric the electrical work. The old school was relocated to the rear of the new school and was to be used as an auditorium.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1949, p. 1, September 3., 1949, p. 10 and The Gulf Coast Times, December 10, 1949, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Fire Department was commenced on December 15, 1949. New fire house erected on East Porter, which was demolished in June 2003. Peter Ryan was the first fire chief.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 4, 1971, p. 7)
Another decade-another war. The US and ROK troops with token UN support engaged North Korean and Chinese military forces, which had invaded South Korea in 1950. Although the Korean War ended in 1953, the two nations remain enemies. The early 1950s saw the birth of Rock and Roll. A relatively unknown, hip-gyrating, singer from Tupelo, named Elvis Presley (1935-1977), spent a summer in the area coming to Gulf Hills for rest and relaxation in 1956.
Also in 1956, after the dredging of Bayou Cassotte in eastern Jackson County, a chemical-industrial complex began along its banks. The Mississippi Chemical Corporation of Yazoo City developed fertilizer, sulfuric acid, and phosphate plants here, while H.K. Porter made refractory bricks. The petroleum refinery of Standard Oil (Ky), now Chevron, came in 1961.
Several “clean” industries were developed at Ocean Springs, during the decade, among them the Ferson Optical Company and the E.R. Moore Company. The Gulf Coast Research Laboratory expanded and became a permanent facility. Although US 90 by-passed the downtown area in 1954, the economy was generally good as Ingalls Shipbuilding and KAFB provided additional employment opportunities. Ocean Springs nestled snuggly between Pascagoula and Biloxi became known as “a bed room community”. The Anderson brothers of Shearwater Pottery continued their creative activities as two notable murals were generated during the decade by Bob and Mac Anderson.
Population of Ocean Springs 3058 people. The town government drew up an ordinance proclaiming that Ocean Springs is a municipality and that is now classified as a City.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 3, 1951, p. 1)
In January, James H. Edwards (1893-1950) expired at New Orleans while serving as Chief Steward of the Army transport service boat, Short Splice. (The Gulf Coast Times, January 13, 1950, p. 1)
The Walley Construction Co. of Richton, Mississippi was awarded the $78, 888 contract by the Jackson County Board of Supervisors to build the Moore Company plant on Government Street in late February.(The Daily Herald, February 20, 1950, p. 1)
Morgan M. Parker, president of Gulf Coast Manufacturing Company, began building coffins at its plant on Halstead Road.The Gulf Coast Times, February 22, 1951, p. 1)
In March, the Bayou Convalescent Home was opened by Mrs. Ethel Rhodes Scott Shafer in the former Bayou Chateau-Bayou Inn. Mrs. Lea A. Evans, R.N. was named supervisor.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 3, 1950, p. 1)
In April, the Civil Aeronautics Authority allocated funds for construction of an airport for Ocean Springs. J.K. Lemon and Bruce Thomas collected funds from local citizens for the purchase of ten-acres of land from Reinhold W. Schluter (1890-1966). The proposed airport land was once used as a city dump.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 7, 1950, p. 1)
In May, the E.R. Moore Company of Chicago, manufacturers of gym suits and caps and gowns, began operations in early May on the second floor of the Bailey Building (Lovelace Drugs) with ten seamstress. The Community Center was also utilized as a cutting room until the $76,000 plant on Government Street was completed in November 1950, by the Walley Construction Company of Richton.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 2, 1950, p. 1, April 7, 1950, p. 1, April 14, 1950, p. 1, April 28, 1950, p. 1, May 5, 1950, p. 1, November 10, 1950, p. 1)
In May, Alvin Endt hit the first home run at Freedom Field as the Ocean Springs High baseball team lost to Moss Point 14-9.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 19, 1950, p. 1)
The Korean Wear started in June.
In June, Mayor Albert Westbrook (1900-1980) went to the 100th Anniversary of the L&N Railroad at Louisville, Kentucky. He was president of the Veterans Club and spoke briefly about the work of his organization.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 9, 1950, p. 5)
Jackson County dedicated its new $1,000,000 dollar courthouse at Pascagoula in mid-June.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 16, 1950, p. 1)
Gulf Hills saw proprietor, Dick Waters, introduce the “Dude Ranch” resort concept. It was very popular and prompted management to keep the resort operating all year. This plan provided guests a comprehensive rate, which included room and board and all sports and social functions. Spring and winter rates were somewhat more than the summer rate.(The Gulf Coast Times, September 29, 1950, p.1)
Elizabeth Keys, local Black educator, was named president of the Negro Teachers Association.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 26, 1952, p. 1)
In September, Nolan E. Taconi (1910-1971) began his tenure as School Superintendent as S.S. Wall had resigned in April. Coach Clay Boyd (1911-1974) was appointed acting Superintendent until Taconi’s term commenced.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 7, 1950, p. 1)
In October, Duncan Moran (1925-1995) commenced construction of his two-bedroom, home on the corner of Cleveland and Martin. Charles Hoffman was his contractor. The Morans were occupying their new domicile in late January 1951.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 6, 1950, p. 5 and January 26, 1951, p. 5 and The Daily Herald, November 24, 1950, p. 8)
T.W. Miles of Evergreen, Alabama had Frank Galle build two cottages. One faced Porter and the other in the rear was situated on Van Cleave Avenue. Frank and Gussie Galle also built the Galle-Woods home on the southwest corner of Ocean and Washington Avenue at this time.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 13, 1950, p. 7)
The new Ocean Springs Community Center on Washington Avenue was dedicated in late October. Congressman Bill Colmer complimented the citizens of Ocean Springs for their ability to work together to accomplish this feat.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 3, 1950, p. 1)
E.R. Moore, president of the E.R. Moore Company, spoke briefly at his new $90,000 dollar plant dedication on November 10th.(The Daily Herald, November 13, 1950, p. 1)
William Ruddiman (1928-1978), proprietor of the Wisteria House on the Old Spanish Trail [US HIGHWAY 90], at Fontainebleau. opposite Fontainebleau Farms, held an open house on November 11th. Camille M. Ruddiman (1891-1982), his mother, assited him with the lunchon.(The Daily Herald, November 14, 1950, p. 5)
In December, the State building commission awarded $30,000 to the Gulf Coast Marine Research Laboratory to construct its first permanent building, a laboratory.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 22, 1950, p. 1)
Raymond “Big Boy” Beaugez, sophomore running back, led the Greyhounds to a 9-1 record as he scored 142 points-tops in the Mississippi high school ranks.
Willie E. Williams appointed 'Night' Marshall by the Board of Aldermen with a salary of $200 per month.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 5, 1951, p. 1)
The Planters Club sponsored an art exhibit for Walter "Bob" Anderson (1903-1965).(The Gulf Coast Times, January 12, 1951, p. 1)
An OS Police Department sub-station was opened on US Highway 90.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 19, 1951, p. 1)
Roland Lovelace (1889-1967) and Valerie Pickel Lovelace (1910-1977) began their new home on the corner of Martin and Cleveland. Elwin Friar (1910-1970) is still working on his new home on Cleveland.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 26, 1951, p. 5)
S.S. Wall resigned as School Trustee.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 26, 1951, p. 1)
Bob Anderson (1903-1965) painted murals in the new Ocean Springs Community Center for $1.00.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 22, 1951, p. 1)
The County dredge was completing the beach at Magnolia State Park.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 18, 1951, p. 1)
Miss Amy Burkett and Mrs. Georgia Reager, her sister, patented a new posture-bench.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 8, 1951, p. 3)
Ronald Pook (1888-1993) and Charles Marquiss were completing their new edifices on Old Fort Bayou.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 15, 1951, p. 3)
Dr. Percy Haslitt (1880-1969) opened an office in the Young Building on Washington Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 29, 1951, p. 1)
The Chamber of Commerce membership exceeded 100 members for the first time.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 29, 1951, p. 1)
The George W. Anderson family held a barbeque at Shearwater honoring the Lemon family.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 26, 1951, p. 1)
The Jackson Gun Club, a juke joint on U.S. 90, just outside the City limits was raided by the Sheriff who confiscated two slot machines and illicit alcohol from the premises.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 3, 1951, p. 1)
The Reorganized Church of the Latter Day Saints moved into their new building on Magnolia and East Porter. The congregation had been meeting in the city hall. The Victory Church is here in 2003.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1951, p. 8)
The Board of Aldermen declared on May 1st that Ocean Springs was no longer a town, but had become a City based on the 1950 Federal Census.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 1, 1951, p. 1)
In June, the County dredge began building a beach in front of the GCRL to Halstead Road.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 7, 1951, p. 1)
Camp Graveline at Fontainebleau opened on July 2, 1951 through the efforts of Father Herbert Mullin and Father Geoffrey O'Connell. Operated by Missionaries of the Most Holy Trinity from Alabama.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 7, 1951, p. 1, June 28, 1951, p. 1 and August 2, 1951, p. 1)
Ceremonies were held on July 6th for the commencement of construction on the 'new' U.S. 90 from Ocean Springs to the east.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 5, 1951, p. 1)
Curly Butler and Alvin Endt were named to the State's first team interscholastic baseball team.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 5, 1951, p. 1)
Robert I. Ingalls, founder of Ingalls Shipbuilding died on July 12th.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 12, 1951, p. 1)
C.E. 'Ernest' Schmidt (1903-1984) began selling his inventions, the hydrolevel and leveleasy, all over the planet.(The Ocean Springs News, July 11, 1951, p.1)
The Ferson Optical Company, founded by Fred B. Ferson (1899-1969), located in temporary quarters of the second floor of the Bailey Building (Lovelace Drugs).(The Gulf Coast Times, September 27, 1951, p. 1)
A new arkansas-tile, U-shaped building [173 feet by 92 feet] designed by John T. Collins and Associates of Biloxi, was contracted to Currie and Corley of Raleigh, Mississippi for the St. Martin School in Jackson County. The $64,000 stucture was erected to supplement the exisiting building.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1951, p. 3)
Robert Walter Schultz (1931-1951), native of New Britain, Conn. and former KAFB airman, was killed when his car went through the draw on the Biloxi Bay Bridge in the early morning of November 29th.(The Daily Herald, November 29, 1951, p. 1 and November 30, 1951, p. 1)
Major General James F. Powell announced that Coast gambling was off limits to KAFB personnel.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 6, 1951, p. 1)
On January 2nd, the City adopted a zoning ordinance.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 3, 1952, p. 1)
A new $300,000, educational plant for black students was constructed on School Street, which was later named for Elizabeth H. Keys (1892-1976), a long time local educator.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 6, 1952, p. 1)
Four injured as a motor vessel exploded near the Inner Harbor.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 3, 1952, p. 1)
In June 1952, Ocean Springs received its first public telephone booth when Southern Bell Telephone Company erected one on the corner of Washington And Government next to the Hill-Cavanaugh gasoline service station.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 19, 1952, p. 1)
Elizabeth Keys resigned from the Black public school.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 26, 1952, p. 1)
James Durbin announced his TV and Radio Center.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 24, 1952, p. 1 and July 31, 1952, p. 1)
On August 31, 1952, a stone marker was dedicated on Front Beach at the site where in 1910, Robert Rupp (1857-1930) found what is purported to be the corner stone of Fort Maurepas (1699-1702). The corner stone has been at the Louisiana State Museum in New Orleans since May 1937.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1952, p. 1 and The Gulf Coast Times, September 4, 1952, p. 1)
Edwin Snyder named new manager of the United Poultry Producers.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 2, 1952, p. 1)
Mother Jerome O'Brien (1889-1952), native of Scotland, expired at the retirement home of the Missionary Sister of the Sacred Heart on Front Beach.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 13, 1952, p. 1)
In November, a contract was let for the new Ferson Optical plant which would initially employ 75 people.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 20, 1952, p. 1)
New Orleans tailor, Henry Girot (1887-1953), founder of Cherokee Glen, director of the Ocean Springs State Bank, and organizer and manager of the United Poultry Producers, expired in late January.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 29, 1953, p. 1)
Aldermen abolished the elected positions of city clerk and town marshal. (The Gulf Coast Times, February 2, 1953, p. 1)
In early February, Chicago developer, Harvey W. Branigar (1875-1953), a native of Morning Star, Iowa, expired at Gulf Hills which he founded in the late 1920s.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 5, 1953, p. 1)
Boy Scout Troop 210 received their new charter.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 2, 1953, p. 1)
Mayon Johnson was appointed to Alderman Ward to fill the position vacated by Judlin H. Girot.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 12, 1953, p. 1)
Edgar P. Guice invented the dehydrated shrimp bait.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 5, 1953, p. 1)
In March, Ferdinand Kiernan went to Thomasville, Georgia to try out with the St. Louis Browns.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 19, 1953, p. 1)
In April, the Mitchell Brothers erected the Holiday Shore Motel, a 72-unit luxury motor lodge, at Long Beach.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 30, 1953, p, 1)
R.A. 'Gus' Harris had the grand opening for the Sea Breeze Restaurant and Lounge located on U.S. Highway 90 at the Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bridge.(the Daily Herald, May 29, 1953, p. 7)
In June, the aldermen were considering extending the city limits to include Gulf Hills and Halstead Road.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 11, 1953, p. 1)
George Washington Smith (1857-1953), former slave and preacher, expired in mid-June.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 18, 1953, p. 1)
In July, the Korean War ended.
Dr. James H. Waddell (1925-2005), native of Chatom, Alabama, opened an office at 17 West Porter, present day 822 Porter.(The Daily Herald, July , 1953, p. 3 and The Gulf Coast Times, July 9, 1953, p. 1)
Art Fifield’s home on West Porter was destroyed by fire. It was built by Richard Lyons (1867-1929) in the early 1900s.
In July, the Ferson Optical Company held formal opening ceremonies in their new, $85,000 building on Government Street.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 23, 1953, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, July 23, 1953, p. 1)
Durbin’s TV Center opened on Washington Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 23, 1953, p. 1)
Donald Catchot was signed by the St. Louis Cardinals to play minor league baseball.(The Gulf Coast Times, August 20 , 1953. P. 1)
In September, the LeMoyne Lodge was opened on Fort Bayou by Mrs. Clendinen B. Smith, who acquired it from Ethel Shafer.
In October, Wendell Palfrey was constructing the new, $26,000 US Post Office on Washington Avenue at Robinson.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 10, 1953, p. 1_
On October 24th, William Lonnie Entrekin (1938-1953), son of William Louis Entrekin (1896-1945) and Viola Gill, was killed east of Wiggins, Mississippi in a shooting accident while hunting squirrels. Casper C. Mathieu was his hunting companion at the time of the mishaps. Lonnie was president of his eighth grade class in the Ocean Springs Public School. His corporal remains were interred in the Belle Fountain Cemetery in the Belle Fontaine Community.(The Daily Herald, October 26, 1953, p.1)
The Ruskin Oaks Subdivision opened.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 29, 1953, p. 1)
Sadie Catchot Hodges (1894-1973), longtime city clerk, resigned in October. She was replaced by Lloyd “Joe Boy” Ryan (1928-1985).(The Gulf Coast Times, October 29, 1953, p. 1)
Paving began on US Highway 90, which was rerouted from Porter Avenue and Government Street to north of the L&N Railroad.
The Ocean Springs News-(1953? to 1967). Published by Gulf Graphics Publishing Company, James Fraser-editor. Bound copies 1964-1967 in Ocean Springs Library.
The Ocean Springs State Bank merged with the Pascagoula-Moss Point Bank in late January 1954 and it became a branch. Governor Hugh White attended the ceremony. Officers of the Pascagoula-Moss Point Bank were: W.B. Herring, president; H.P. Heidelberg, vice-president and cashier; Wm. McLeod, vice-president; Edward A. Khayat, vice-president.(The Daily Herald, February 2, 1954, Section II)
Paul W. Allman (1918-2000) of Eldon, Iowa commenced Allman’s Restaurant on the old Ocean Springs Seafood Company tract on US 90 near the War Memorial Bridge.
In mid-May, Dr. Edward A. Garnard Jr., dentist from Pass Christian, opened an office at 95 Washington Avenue in the former Lamp Light Inn.
Constable Ernest Floyd 'Red' Beaugez (1919-1954) was killed by an escaped prisoner from California on May 27, 1954.(The Sun Herald, May 19, 2007)
The U.S. Post Office moved from Government Street to the Wendell Palfrey Building, on Washington Avenue and Robinson, which now houses Salmagundi Gifts, at present day 922 Washington.
Former Mayor, and fire chief, Antonio John Catchot (1864-1954), retired from the L&N on January 1, 1947, after sixty-four years of loyal and meritorious service to that organization. He died on August 11, 1954, at Handsboro, Mississippi. Catchot's remains were interred at the Evergreen Cemetery on Fort Bayou.(The Daily Herald, August 11, 1954, p. 6)
On October 15th, the $12 million, US Highway 90 project from Ocean Springs to the Alabama State line was dedicated. Included in the construction was two new bridges, an overpass, and a causeway.(The Daily Herald, October 16, 1954, p, 1)
November 11th was named Alfred E. Duvernay Day at Ocean Springs. Alfred E. Duvernay (1929-1950) was killed in action in the Korean Conflict on December 16, 1950 and his corporal remains interred at this time in the Evergreen Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, November 12, 1954)
Raymond 'Big Boy' Beaugez, OSHS running back, set a State high school scoring record with 51 points in a 66-7 win over Long Beach.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 6, 1954, p. 2)
Colonel Adrian St. John (1891-1955) of Saint's Retreat died on January 12th. In January 1966, the US Army honored his memory by naming a facilty in Utah, the St. John Park Dugway Proving Ground Utah.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 27, 1966, p. 7)
Dick Waters (1908-1989), proprietor of Gulf Hills, was elected president of Master Hosts, an exclusive hotel association, chartered in 1953.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1955, p. 3)
The City Council approved bonds for a $187,000 municipal water works project on May 10th.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1955, p. 1 and May 12, 1955, p. 1)
Porter Street and Dewey Avenue-L-R: A.P. Fred Moran (1899-1967), MC; ; ; ; J.H. Seymour, Alderman; ; Duncan Moran, Alderman (1925-1996)]-Image made May 11, 1955.
The new City Hall was dedicated on May 11th by Judge Leslie Grant (1908-1986), City Attorney from 1932-1948. The 2600 sq.-ft., single story, building was designed by Carl L. Olscher & Associates of NOLA and built by G & K [Gaskins and Krebs] Construction Company of Pascagoula. Their winning bid for the structure was $33,085. In addition to city government a 4500 volume City Library room was located in the structure. A 900 sq.-ft jail was also erected just southwest of the new City Hall. $40,000 in bonds was approved by the city council in July 1954 and the contract for construction signed in October 1954. J.C. Gay, Mayor; Aldermen: J. Duncan Moran, L.E. Ferrell, Walton O. Tardy; J.H. Seymour, and Chester McPhearson. City meetings were held in the fire hall during construction.(City of Ocean Springs, Mississippi 1954-1955 Minute Bk. p. 157 and p. 182 and The Daily Herald, May 12, 1955, p. 1)
Ethel Cates named ‘Harbor Mistress’ of the Inner Harbor.(The Daily Herald, May 9, 1957)
Carolyn Cochran of Lucedale, Miss Mississippi, visited the E.R. Moore Company at Ocean Springs and modeled one of the gym suits manufacture by the plant.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1955, p. 8)
Dr. Gordon P. Gunter (1909-1998), a marine biologist, was named as the third Director of the Gulf Coast Marine Research Laboratory. He held this position until 1971.(The Sun Herald, December 20, 1998, p. A-17)
Elvis Presley (1935-1977) met Eddie Bellman, an Ocean Springs native, at Biloxi. He entertained Presley with deep sea fishing and water skiing trips as Elvis spent much of the summer at Gulf Hills.(Juanico, 1997, p. 82)
Winifred Ver Nooy (1891-1967), retired from her position as reference librarian from the University of Chicago's William Rainey Harper Memorial Library on August 1st. She spent forty-four years on the Midway campus. Miss Ver Nooy planned to teach two library science courses after her retirement.(The Daily Herald, August 10, 1956. p. 7)
A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) was elected president of the Mississippi Association of Supervisors.(The Gulf Coast Times, August 20, 1956, p. 1)
The new building, dry cleaning, and laundry shop of the Fallo Brothers opened on Government Street on September 4th. Joseph Fallo and John Fallo utilized the “Hoffman Jet”, a modern dry cleaning unit.(The Gulf Coast Times, September 6, 1956, p. 1)
Carroll B. Ishee (1921-1982) designed and built a model home at Gulf Hills. From this very conventional beginning, Ishee would develop his own architectural style. One might say that an “Ishee House” is as obvious as a Van Gogh painting, even to an art novice.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 8, 1956, p. 1)
Miss Idelle B. Watson (1856-1957) celebrated her 100th birthday on November 8th. (The Daily Herald, November 9, 1956, p. 23)
In February, the Mitchell Brothers commenced operations of a Shell Oil and Gas Station, which they had erected at the Inner Harbor.(The Ocean Springs News, February 2, 1957, p. 1)
St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church announced that it would build a new church and rectory to cost $175,000.(The Daily Herald, May 21, 1957, p. 1)
Gulf Hills Realty opened Gulf Hills West, a new residential development of 80 waterfront lots and several hundred inland lots. Scott McColl is the sales manager.(The Daily Herald, July 8, 1957, p. 20)
Foundation work on the Singing River Hospital at Pascagoula was underway in August.(The Ocean Springs News, August 8, 1957, p. 1) Mac Anderson’s mural, Singing River, which was sponsored by the American Legion was hung in the lobby in 1959
The Mayor’s salary was set at $100 per month and that of the Aldermen at $50 per month on October 1st.(The Ocean Springs News, June 13, 1957, p. 1)
In early July, Governor J.P. Coleman dedicated the new $14 million dollar Mississippi Power Company electrical generating plant [later named Plant Watson for A.J. Watson Jr. who became company president in 1958] on Lorraine Road at Gulfport. Construction began in 1955 (The Daily Herald, July 8, 1957, p. 1)
The Greyhounds with Bobby Beaugez, Curtis Lloyd, and Oliver Latil carrying the mail crushed Notre Dame at Biloxi to complete an undefeated gridiron season.(The Ocean Springs News, December 5, 1957, p. 1) The 1957 football squad was the first unvanquished eleven since the 1941 team.(The Ocean Springs News, January 16, 1958, p. 1)
In December, Clarence Galle (1912-1986) began demolishing the old Davis Brothers Store on Washington Avenue. Built in 1883, the large mercantile store was a fixture on Washington Avenue until it closed circa 1954. The M&M Supply Company was one of the last tenants of the structure.(The Ocean Springs News, December 5, 1957, p. 1)
Idelle Beaufort Watson (1857-1957) called her new residence on Lovers Lane, Oakroyd. She was born on November 8, 1857 to James and Elizabeth Watson in a covered wagon when the Watson family reached Richmond, Indiana. Miss Watson was educated in the Friends Boarding School, a Quaker institution at Richmond, Indiana, which evolved into Earlham College. She led a diverse life as she applied her education and intelligence as a writer, teacher, and world traveler. She was a member of the League of American Pen Women and among the magazines that she wrote for was The Reader’s Digest. Many of Idelle’s trips to Europe were as a tour guide leading her clients to the various art and cultural sites of the Old World. She was well qualified for this position, as she had resided in Germany for forty years and in Dresden established a finishing school for young women, which was seized during WWI. In addition, Idelle had command of nine languages. Miss Watson was a confidant of Kaiser Wilhelm II (1859-1941) and was provided safe haven while she was domiciled in Germany during the Great War. During her tenure in Europe, Miss Watson had lectured in art museums and galleries in Paris, Athens, and Constantinople, now Istanbul. Mrs. Watson passed in 1957 and her corporal remains were sent to Richmond, Indiana for internment in the Elkhorn Cemetery.(Thompson, 1974, p. 641, The Jackson County Times, December 6, 1924, The Daily Herald, September 25, 1926, p. 2, and The Ocean Springs News, November 15, 1956, p. 4 and The Daily Herald, November 9, 1956, p. 23)
In January, the Newsom Brothers were awarded a $17,000 contract to build the Shearwater Drive Bridge by the JXCO Board of Supervisors.(The Ocean Springs News, January 16, 1958, p. 1)
In February, the E.R. Moore Company completed a 5070 square-foot annex to the existing plant on Government Street.(The Ocean Springs News, February 6, 1958, p. 1)
Dr. Estelle T. Babendreer (1871-1958) expired on March 12th..
Dr. T.N. Ross Jr. (1928-1958), newly arrived local dentist, and Loriee June Ross (1926-1958), his spouse, drowned off Horn Island on May 3rd. Mike Ross (b. 1949), their son, wearing a life jacket, was rescued by the Carville, a passing tugboat.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1958, p. 1 and May 7, 1958, p. 1)
In June 1958, J.P. Starks Contractors of Biloxi started construction on the 29,000 square-foot, Coca Cola Bottling Plant on US 90 at Cox Avenue. PFG Optics occupies the former soda bottling plant today.(The Ocean Springs News, June 5, 1958, p. 1)
In late September, Lt. Commander Phillip Brou (1924-1958) was killed in a helicopter crash near New Orleans while on Naval Reserve duty.(The Ocean Springs news, October 2, 1958, p. 4)
Mary Ann Mobley of Brandon named 1959 Miss America. She visited Ocean Springs and other Coast cities on October 7th.(The Daily Herald, October 8, 1958, p. 1)
[from The Daily Herald, November 5, 1958]
Gulf Park Estates, a 2200-acre real estate development,was commenced east of Ocean Springs.(Down South, July-August 1962, p. 11)
A religious census of Ocean Springs was planned by the Ministerial association. Chairman, Rev. Robert Crumpton, and more than 100 volunteers planned to complete the survey.(The Ocean Springs News, January 8, 1959, p. 1)
Katherine Crane Powers (1891-1961) donated a 1.84 acre tract on the northeast corner of Washington and Calhoun, once the site of the Shanahan Hotel, to the City to be used as a playground for children.
John Francis Pott, PGA professional, and Mary Rose Kettering were married at Biloxi in early June.[The Daily Herald, June 5, 1959, p. 12]
The East Elementary School (now Oak Park Elementary) on Government Street was dedicated on August 22, 1959. The new school cost approximately $175,000. William Allen II, architect, and L.A. Easterling, general contractor.(The Ocean Springs News, February 12, 1959, p. 1 and August 20, 1959, p. 1)
A $25,000 building to house M & M, a dry goods store, for the McPhearson family was built north of the the Lovelane Drug Store on Washington Avenue. Lane Construction of Pascagoula was the contractor.(The Ocean Springs News, August 27, 1959, p. 1)
The $160,000 addition to the Elizabeth H. Keys School was dedicated in late August. It consisted of two new classrooms, a homemaking department, and a combination auditorium-gymnasium-industrial arts workshop. Professor W.L. Herd was principal.(The Ocean Springs News, August 20, 1959, p. 5)
Perry Gautier was elected Jackson County School Superintendent.(The Ocean Springs News, August 27, 1959, p. 2)
Perkinston Junior College planned in September to open an educational center in the O’Keefe-Dale Home on Porter Avenue. It housed Trilby’s Restaurant in May.(The Ocean Springs News, May 27, 1959, p. 1)
In August, Dickie Waters of Gulf Hills won the Men's State Water Ski Championship at Gulf Hills. In the ski jump, he soared 103 feet to set a new State record. David Mattina placed second overall in the Boy's Division.(The Daily Herald, August 17, 1959, p. 11)
Vincent A. Seymour (1918-1949), native of Ocean Springs and resident of Gulfport since 1938, was killed on September 7, 1959, when his single-engine, Taylorcraft, airplane crashed into Mobile Bay near Fort Morgan airfield.(The Daily Herald, September 8, 1959, p. 1)
Fred L. Westbrook Sr. (1889-1963), rural mail carrier, retired from the U.S. Postal System after 43 years and ten months of service.(The Daily Herald, December 2, 1959, p. 2)
Lynda Lee Mead of Natchez named 1960 Miss America.
Much of this decade involved a guerilla war in a former, French colony, Vietnam, situated in southeastern Asia. It would consume our national energy and cost over 50,000 American servicemen their precious lives before our involvement ceased in the early 1970s. The placement of missiles in Cuba by Russia in September 1962, evoked a response from President John F. Kennedy and the American military known as 'The Cuban Missile Crisis'. Civil Rights were also a national issue and public school integration in the South began. In 1964, an English export, the Beatles, brought America and the rest of the planet a look and sound that would influence pop culture for decades. After a sluggish start vis-a-vis the Russian space program, NASA made rapid progress and put men on the lunar surface in July 1969. At this time and later, the Ferson Optical Company of Ocean Springs was an integral part of America’s space program providing optical accouterments for satellites and tracking devices. The assassination of John F. Kennedy (1917-1963), Martin Luther King Jr. (1929-1968), and Robert F. Kennedy (1926-1968) darkened a decade sometimes remembered for the Woodstock weekend and free love.
Economic development in eastern Jackson County continued unabated, as ground was broken for a $125 million dollar petroleum refinery on Bayou Cassotte in November 1961. A $2 million dollar grain elevator at the Port of Pascagoula was also completed in the fall of 1961. Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula began building attack, nuclear submarines for the US Navy in the early 1960s. Ground breaking for a $130 million dollar “shipyard of the future” took place at the Ingalls facility in January 1968. “Mr. Jackson County”, A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967), the man responsible for much of this economic progress expired in October 1967.
At Ocean Springs, new sanctuaries were erected by the congregations of the Roman Catholic, Methodist, Lutheran, and Baptist faiths. Education also went well as Ocean Springs got a new high school plant in 1965, and the Jackson County Junior College opened at Gautier in December 1965. Local architect, W.R. Allen Jr. (1911-1982), designed both facilities. A new hospital and elementary school were also erected at Ocean Spring during this interval. Coach Hugh L. Pepper’s Greyhound gridsters had undefeated seasons in 1963-1964, and went 10-1 in 1965. The public schools were quietly integrated in 1968. In August 1969, Camille literally blew away many of our historical homes, precious trees, other treasures as the decade ended on a sour note for her victims.
Population of Ocean Springs 5025 people.
In January, construction commenced on the $77,000 National Guard Armory on Pine Drive.(The Ocean Springs News, January 21, 1960, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs sewer system and treatment plant which was commenced on November 2, 1959 were deemed about 12% completed in January 1960. Workers for Sullivan, Long, and Hagerty of Bessemer, Alabama, contractor for the Ocean Springs sewer system, went on strike on January 25th. It was settled in a few days and work commenced again. The strike did not affect those laborers of Viking Construction Company of Houston, Texas building the sewer plant.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1960, p. 2 and January 29, 1960. p. 14)
The voters of Beat 4 approved a $190,000 BAWI bond issue for the expansion of the Ferson Optical Company.(The Daily Herald, March 7, 1960, p. 1)
Rosie Ray (b. 1947) through Singing River Publishing Company announced the release of her first recording, "I wish I had a Boy". Miss Ray wrote the song and sung it in both English and Italian.
Professor Marion Carpenter of Biloxi was her manager. Rosie had won numerous talent shows and had made singing appearances at Keesler AFB, the USO, Veterans Administratin Center and at Pascagoula and Hurley, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, October 29, 1960).
Music teacher, Tempy S. Smith (1890-1960), daughter of Alfred Burton Stuart, died at New York City on November 3rd.
Robert 'Big M' Mohler opened a Spud-Nut. The business became known as Tato-Nut and run by David Mohler, his son.
Claude Trahan bought the Gottsche Store at 809 Washington Avenur from Lynn Gottsche.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1960, p. 12)
Johnny Pott won $2000 for his 2nd PGA tournament victory beating Sam Snead at the West Palm Beach Open. in Florida. He won the Dallas Open in September 1959.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1960, p. 23)
A Jitney Jungle food store opened on March 29th, by Carl Griffin of Moss Point. Griffin had operated a Jitney Jungle at Moss Point since 1947. Ocean Springs market will be his second.(The Ocean Springs News, February 19, 1959, p. 1)
A Red & White food store opened on May 18th.
Broome's Store [from The Daily Herald, Centennial Edition, October 7, 1984, p. 17.]
Broome's Food Store opened on Government Street and Vermont [Martin L. King Jr.] on June 7, 1961.
The new St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church and rectory were dedicated on September 26th. Built by Contractor Ralph J. Marion from a Jules K. DeLavergne (NOLA) design for $250,000. The 1874 church was used as a parish hall until July 1971, when it was demolished. C’est dommage.
Recently completed four-lanes of US 90 between Ocean Springs and Gautier were opened to the public on October 26th.
Ground breaking ceremonies for $125 million, 100,000 barrels per day capacity, Standard Oil of Kentucky refinery were held on November 8, 1961 in Pascagoula.(The Ocean Springs News, November 9, 1961, p. 3)
The Ferson Optical Company secured a contract with NASA for lenses and components for four telescopes to be placed in a satellite. Employment was expected to increase from seventy to over one-hundred.(The Ocean Springs News, March 1, 1962, p. 9)
The R.W. Schluter scholarship grants to graduating seniors at OS High School commenced in May.(The Ocean Springs News, April 19, 1962, p. 1)
C. Sam Byrd (1898-1993) resident of 608 Russell Avenue built a "fallout shelter" in his backyard at a cost of $800 to serve as protection from nuclear fallout. The project was inspired by the Cuban Missile Crisis of October 1962.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1980, p. 9)
The citizens of Ocean Springs passed a $635,000 bond issue to construct a new public high school on Holcomb Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs News, May 31, 1962, p. 1)
1962 Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bay Bridge
[image made October 1990 by Ray l. Bellande]
The new $7 million dollar, four-lane, US 90 bridge linking Ocean Springs with Biloxi was dedicated on May 9th. At the time, it was the longest span designed and erected by Miss. Highway Dept. engineers and also the most expensive bridge built with Mississippi State highway financing. George L. Lemon (1908-2006), a native of Ocean Springs, was the bridge engineer for the project.(The Ocean Springs News, May 3, 1962, p. 2 and Down South, July-August 1962, p.11))
Ocean Springs and Biloxi were to get direct long distance dialing in August.(The Daily Herald, May 4, 1962, p. 1)
Gulf Park Estates bought by H.V. Watkins and Forrest Jackson and their investors from Jackson, Mississippi. Harry Del Reeks of Ocean Springs was their general manager.(Down South, July-August 1962, p. 11 and The Ocean Springs News, June 4, 1962, p. 1)
Bradford-O'Keefe erected the Ben O'Keefe funeral parlor on the northwest corner of Government Street and Pine Drive. It served as the public library in 1994-1995 and was dedicated in August 1997 as the New Hope Center, a joint venture between the YMCA and the O'Keefe Foundation.(The Ocean Springs News, August 6, 1964, p. 3 and The Ocean Springs Record, August 7, 1997, p. 1)
Reverend Merlin F. Usner (1902-1995) was installed as pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs on September 9th.(The Daily Herald, September 10, 1962, p. 7)
Blossman Gas Inc. acquired the old A.C. Gottsche store on Washington and Desoto in November.
The $100,000, two-story, educational building of the First Baptist Church was dedicated on December 8th. The structure was began in February 1961. The 1st flooor was opened for use in November 19061 and the 2nd floor in July 1962. Reverend James Haggard has led the church for the past seven years.(The Daily Herald, December 8, 1962, p. 6)
Mary Mills, native of Gulfport and outstanding golfer, was named the first Rookie of the Year by the LPGA.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1962, p. 26)
Construction began on the iconic La Font Inn at Pascagoula. Doug Fontaine led a group of investors to finance the 104-room motel and restaurant. It was demolished in the spring of 2011.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1962, p. 1)
The new sanctuary of St. Paul’s United Methodist Church was dedicated on January 13th. The Reverend J.H. Dilliard was pastor at the time.(The Ocean Springs News, January 17, 1962, p. 1)
E.W. 'Woody' Blossman (1910-1990) was King d"Iberville of the Gulf Coast Carnival Association. He was elected president of that organization for 1964.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1964, p. 1)
Two grand dames of Ocean Springs, Iola Y.F. Davidson (1883-1963) and Miss Annie O. Eglin (1881-1963) expired in March.
Ralph Hodges 'Steve' Marden (1889-1963), former publisher and editor of The Ocean Springs News, expired at Hattiesburg, Mississippi on May 18th.
The Reverend Richard O. Dahlke came to Ocean Springs in June to establish a Lutheran congregation. It was officially organized at Christus Victor Lutheran Church on February 23, 1964. Congregants met at 703 Washington Avenue until a sanctuary was erected in 1967 at 2755 Bienville Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs News, June 13, 1963, p. 1)
In August, Johnny Pott of Gulf Hills won $9,000 and the American Golf Classic at the Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio while vanquishing links legends: Arnold Palmer, Julius Boros (1920-1994), Bob Charles, Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player.(The Ocean Springs News, August 9, 1963, p. 1)
Ernest Tue was appointed City Clerk on September 3rd.(The Ocean Springs News, August 11, 1966, p. 1)
The old span of the 1930 Biloxi-Ocean Springs Bridge was removed on August 19th, placed on barges, and towed to the Escatawpa River. It will replace a span on the bridge that joins Moss Point and Escatawpa, in Jackson County, Mississippi. Gordon Walker of Pascagoula was the contractor.(The Daily Herald, August 19, 1963, p. 2)
In August, Allen Curry was named principal of OS Junior High School and R.L. Ladner was named principal of East Elementary School by N.E. Taconi, Superintendent of OS public schools.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1963, p. 2)
In October, the Mississippi Power Company moved into a modern brick structure at 705 Washington Avenue. The building was built and owned by the Ocean Springs Lumber Company.(The Ocean Springs News, October 24, 1963, p. 1)
Captain Ellis Handy (1891-1963) expired in November. Handy fought in France with the Canadian Army in WWI. A businessman at Ocean Springs, he also in 1949-1950, wrote a column, “Know Your Neighbor”, for The Gulf Coast Times. This series is a very valuable preservation of our local chronology.
Lt. Claire B. Brou USN who joined the service in 1948 was the first woman ever stationed in Iceland for a tour of duty with the USN.(The Daily Herald, November 2, 1963, p. 14)
In late December, possibly the largest snowfall of the 20th Century fell along the Mississippi Gulf Coast. Snowfall measured from 5-8 inches and was spectacular.(The Daily Times-News, January 2, 1964, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Garden Club was founded in 1964. Original members were: Mrs. Walter Koch; Mrs. Sam Levi; Virginia Favre Poitevent; Sadie Catchot Hodges; Camile Morgan Ruddiman; Dolores Davidson 'Bobby' Smith; and Mrs. Harry Elder.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 8, 1973, p. 3)
Richard Hawthorn (1914-1974), proprietor of Gulf Graphics Publications, suspended The Daily Times News in January. This was his attempt to publish a daily newspaper in Ocean Springs. Dick Hawthorn continued to publish The Ocean Springs News, an excellent weekly newspaper and the Gulf Graphics tourist publication. His editorial column was called 'Gulf Gaff'.(The Ocean Springs news, March 5, 1964, p. 2)
Annette McConnell Anderson (1867-1964), founder of Fairhaven, the precursor to the Shearwater Pottery, passed on January 25th.(The Ocean Springs News, January 29, 1964, p. 1)
The Gulf Park Estates airport proposed to erect a new 25-plane hangar. W.S. Dansky was airport manager.(The Ocean Springs News, February 27, 1964, p. 1)
George Bellais and Mrs. Ellzey Burch ruled the Merry Makers carnival ball at the Community Center.(The Ocean Springs News, March 5, 1964, p. 4)
In March, Field, Brackett and Pitts of Jackson and Pascagoula, commenced the Formica World's Fair Housethe first structure in the Seapointe Subdivision on the Fort Point Peninsula.(The Ocean Springs News, March 26, 1964, p. 1)
On July 1st, the Winn-Dixie Store in the Spring Plaza Shopping Center opened for business. L.G. Rawls was named store manager. He had been with the grocery company for 25 years and had opened their stores in Biloxi and Gulfport in 1959.(The Ocean Springs News, July 2, 1964, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, July 1, 1964, p. 9 and September 18, 1964, p. 12)
Chief W.T. Broome (1903-1971) was dismissed as Police Chief in late June 1964 by the Board of Alderman in a 3-2 vote. He was cited as demonstrating "actions not becoming of a gentleman". Chief Broome hired Albert Sidney Johnstone III, a Pascagoula attorney, to represent him in this action, which he labeled as "political" in nature. One week after his brief departure from the OSPD, Chief Broome was restored by the Board of Aldermen to supervise the protection and safety of the citizens of Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1964, p. 1, July 6, 1964, p. 1 and July 8, p. 1)
May Darnell Eleuterius (1946-1964) of Biloxi and Joseph L. Zahra (1943-1964), USAF serviceman from Livonia, Michigan, were shot and killed at Ocean Springs, Mississippi on July 6th.(The Daily Herald, July 7, 1964, p. 1 and July 8, 1964, p. 2)
The Ocean Springs Yacht and Country Club, later called the Treasure Oaks Country Club, was founded in late July on a portion of the Gus Nelson estate under the auspices of Charles G. Rumsey (1923-2007). The 44 members were led by Dr. Robert F. Carter, its first president. Other officers were: Dr. Lewis Kelly, vice. pres.; Dr. Clifton Beckman, sec.; and John Switzer, treas.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1964 and August 24, 1964, p. 16 and The Ocean Springs News, August 20, 1964, p. 3)
Construction began in August on the $418,000 Hickory Hill CC and Golf Course at Gautier. Earl Stone designed the 7100 yards championship links.(The Ocean Springs News, August 27, 1964)
An addition to the Ferson Optics plant on Government Street was under construction in September. Leon C. Mills, contractor of Columbus, Mississippi, was erecting the $205,000 structure which included a 5-story, telescope testing tower. The company estmated that they needed 100 additonal employees to maintain their evolving optical instrumentation enterprise.(The Daily Herald, September 4, 1964, p. 9)
The new administration building at the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory was 80% complete in early September. The $380,000 structure was designed by Charles Proffer, Gulfport achitect, and built by Oden Construction Company of Hattiesburg, Mississippi. Dr. Gunter was officed here.(The Daily Herald, September 4, 1964, p. 11)
On September 22nd, the Eglin House on Washington Avenue was consumed by fire. The elegant old tourist home had housed and boarded visitors, schoolteachers, and others for many decades. James E. Farley (1880-1964) was killed in the conflagration. The Villa Maria is situated on a portion of the former Eglin House site.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1964, p. 1 and p. 23)
In October, voters defeated a $1.25 million bond issue to extend sewer service.(The Ocean Springs News, October 29, 1964, p. 1)
In November 1964, Sheriff Cecil Byrd of Jackson County, Mississippi and Police Chief W.T. Broome of Ocean Springs went to Lakeland, Florida to interrogate an ex-convict from Alabama about the Eleuterius-Zahra slayings in a roadside park at Ocean Springs. He was cleared of any involvement in the July 1964 murders.(The Times-Picayune, November 4, 1964, p. 5)
On November 13th, the Ocean Springs Greyhounds played their last football contest at Freedom Field completing their second consecutive undefeated season under Coach Hugh Pepper. In the fall of 1965 the squad moved to 'Greyhound Field' on Hanley Road. They defeated Notre Dame (Biloxi) 24-6 here on September 3rd, 1965.(The Ocean Springs News, November 19, 1964, p. 1 and September 9, 1965, p. 1)
Hugh Lauren Pepper, OSHS football coach, was named Coach of the Year in the Gulf Coast Conference.(The Ocean Springs News, November 19, 1970, p. 1)
Toxey Hall Luckey (1927-1984), principal of OS High School, announced his retirement.(The Ocean Springs News, November 12, 1964, p. 1)
Betty Boyd [Endt] (1938-1999) was named Miss Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs News, December 31, 1964, p. 1)
Three people from Corpus Christi,Texas and one from New Mexico were killed on Bienville Boulevard [US Highway No. 90] in a fiery collison with a gasoline truck. Four others were injured.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1964, p. 1)
[The Ocean Springs News, January 7, 1965, p.1 ]
W.R. 'Bill' Allen, local architect, won the honor award for outstanding design given by the Association of School Administrators for his work on the new Ocean Springs High School.(The Ocean Springs News, January 28, 1965, p. 1)
The Reverend Francis Deignan (1901-1965), a native of Offaly County, Ireland and pastor of St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church since 1944, passed on February 20th .(The Ocean Springs News, February 25, 1965, p. 1)
Joe E. Saxon and Mrs. Dale Campbell ruled the Merry Makers carnival ball at the Community Center with the theme, 'Hill Billy Holiday'.(The Ocean Springs News, March 4, 1965, p. 1)
William Steene (1887-1965) resident of Gulf Hills and nationally acclaimed portrait artist, expired at Biloxi on March 24, 1965.(The Daily Herald, March 29, 1965, p. 1)
In April, Ferson Optical completed a 12,000 square-foot addition to the optical manufacturing facility, which almost doubled the size of the plant.(The Ocean Springs News, April 8, 1965, p. 1)
Janet Ferson Green and companion competed in the 19th Annual Powder Puff Derby, a 2500 mile air race from southern California to Georgia and ending at Tennessee.(The Ocean Springs News, April 15, 1965, p. 1)
In April the Mississippi Public Service Commission accepted the L&N Railroad’s request to close their Ocean Springs depot.(The Ocean Springs News, April 15, 1965, p. 1)
John Smith Kendall (1874-1965), native of Ocean Springs and the son of John Irwin Kendall (1841-1898) and Mary Elizabeth Smith, was a war correspondent during the Spanish American War, Tulane graduate, Professor of Spanish at Tulane, and became a serious student of history expired at McLean, Virginia on April 20th. Mr. Kendall authored the three volume, The History of New Orleans (1922), and published several essays in The Louisiana Historical Quarterly.
In May, J.K. Lemon (1914-1998) commenced remodeling of his building on Washington Avenue. Claude Lindsley was the architect and Joseph Collins of Biloxi, the contractor.(The Ocean Springs News, May 13, 1965, p. 3)
Rose Marie Ray of Ocean Springs was named Mississippi State Camellia Queen at Biloxi.
The airport east of Ocean Springs was dedicated in June.(The Ocean Springs News, June 24, 1965, p. 1 and July 1, 1965, p. 2)
A Desegregation Plan for the Ocean Springs Public School System was presented.(The Ocean Springs News, August 12, 1965, p. 3)
The new Ocean Springs High School, a 54,000 sq.-ft structure designed for 500 students, on Holcombe Boulevard was opened to the general public on August 22, 1965. Dedication took place in November 1965. Oden Construction Co., general contractor, and N. Perry Gautier (1926-2009), newly appointed principal.(The Ocean Springs News, January 28, 1965, p. 1, August 19, 1965, p. 1 and November 24, 1965, p. 1)
Fox Gulf Service owned by John H. Fox opened on the northeast corner of Bienville Boulevard and Vermont.(The Ocean Springs News, September 2, 1965, p. 1)
In early September, Hurricane Betsy struck NOLA with full fury.
Major General Francis M. McAlister (1905-1965), USMC retired, expired at Ocean Springs on September 8th. Burial at Arlington Cemetery.(The Ocean Springs News, September 9, 1965, p. 1)
Clarence Williams (1911-1993) was appointed Police Chief in early September.(The Daily Herald, September 21, 1965, p. 1)
Former Governor Hugh Lawson White (1881-1965) expired on September 20th.(The Ocean Springs News, September 21, 1965, p. 1)
The Jackson County Junior College at Gautier and the Jefferson Davis J.C. at Biloxi were dedicated by Governor Paul B. Johnson Jr. (1916-1985) on October 22, 1965.(The Ocean Springs News, October 28, 1965, p. 1)
Walter I. “Bob” Anderson (1903-1965), decorator and watercolorist, resident of Shearwater Pottery and Horn Island, expired on November 30th at NOLA.(The Ocean Springs News, December 9, 1965, p. 3)
The first Civil Defense emergency operations center in the State was dedicated on December 2nd. The new building located on Dewey Avenue cost $50,000 and designed by H.F. Fountain. Glenn Young was and is still the city civil defense director.(The Ocean Springs News, December 2, 1965, p. 1)
Fred Ferson (1897-1969), founder of Ferson Optical and a former insurance man at Biloxi, retired.(The Ocean Springs News, January 6, 1966, p. 1)
Freedom Field was equipped with new lighting.(The Ocean springs Record, June 16, 1966, p. 1)
The new US Post Office on Desoto and Jackson was dedicated on June 19th. Senator James O. Eastland (1904-1986) was present. Orwin J. Scharr (1914-2002) was the Postmaster at this time.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 23, 1966, p. 1)
Captain Glen Ryan announced that the National Guard 135th Transportation Company would conduct part of its summer training on Deer Island.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 23, 1966, p. 1)
In early July, the City did not reappoint Clarence Williams (1911-1993) as Police Chief. Mayor Champ Gay assumed his duties. Chief Williams was rehired by mid-July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 7, 1966, p. 1 and July 21, 1966, p. 1)
Vandalism took place at the Seymour Cemetery on Bayou Talla.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 28, 1966, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Record celebrated its first anniversary in July. Jack W. Seebeck (1917-1982), editor and publisher.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 28, 1966, p. 1)
Marsha Beaugez was selected Miss 16 of America for 1967.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 11, 1966, p. 1)
[Lottie Schoemell from The Ocean Springs News, January 13, 1966, p. 3]
Joseph K. Williams (1945-1969)-USMC
Michael C. Williams (1945-1969) and Joseph K. Williams (1945-1969), twin brothers and decorated Vietnam veterans, were in a horrific automobile accident on Cowan Road at Gulfport on May 29th. Michael, Purple Heart recipient, died in the accident and Joseph, Bronze Star, lived until August 16th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 21, 1969, p. 2.
Charlotte 'Lottie' Moore Schoemell (1895-1966), former world champion endurance swimmer, died at Ocean Springs on August 18th. In October 1926, Lottie swam 165 miles from Albany, New York to NYC in 63 hours and 35 minutes. She once held 21 world swimming records.(The Ocean Springs News, January 13, 1966, p. 3 and August 25, 1966, p. 2)
A court order halted the sale of land on Horn Island.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 22, 1966, p. 1)
In December, a contract for construction of the first hospital at Ocean Springs was made with the Fletcher Construction Company.
The new medical clinic of Dr. Richard T. Furr (1929-2006) opened at 1800 Government Street on January 15th.(The Ocean Springs News, January 5, 1967)
Dr. William Cecil Guyton of Ocean Springs and Lydia Mary Salloum of Gulfport ruled Mardi Gras at Biloxi in February.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1967, p. 1)
Jack W. Seebeck (1917-1982) sold The Record to David S. McFalls (11912-1974) in February 1967. Oscar Jordan, former city attorney, had related to Mr. McFalls of Mr. Seebeck’s desire to vend The Record. His last issue was printed on February 15, 1967.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1967, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Record, August 15, 1985, p. 4)
Samuel Zanca and Mrs. Van Roberts reigned over The Merry Makers Mardi Gras Ball.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1967, p. 1)
Reverend Thomas L. Lundy had Bob Cossey, designer and builder and resident of Vancleave, to add a Colonial facade with three rooms and a bathroom to St. John's Episcopal Rectory at 507 Rayburn. The original house had five rooms.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 23, 1967, p. 1)
By mid-March, The Church of Christ on Washington Avenue valued at $100,000, but was built by parishioners for half that amount, was almost finished.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1967, p. 10)
Barber shop and beauty salon of Roy Baxter opened at 2201 Government Street and called “Los Salones de Espana”.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1967, p. 12)
Clyde Dunnaway (1908-1986) opened “Dunnaway’s Restaurant” in March 1967 on U.S. 90. Hurricane Betsy in September 1965 had destroyed his Biloxi beachfront eatery. Mr. Dunnaway leased his Ocean Springs eatery in 1970 and moved to Wiggins. He returned to Ocean Springs in February 1976 and operated his rerstaurant servinf 'crispy chicken' and 'jo jo' potatoes.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 9, 1967, p. 1 and February 5, 1976)
In April, Clarence Galle (1912-1986) opened a seafood market in a new building at 1315 Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 20, 1967, p. 3)
The Dr. Clifton L. Beckman (1933-1984), graduate of Emory Dental School who arrived here in 1963, opened his dental clinic in the new Dental Building at 936 Porter on the southwest corner of Washington and Porter in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 27, 1967, p. 7)
Fred E. O’ Sullivan (1938-2005) was appointed Police Chief. He was a native of New Orleans and the first Jewish police chief in the history of the States of Mississippi and Louisiana.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 28, 1979, p. 1. and The Sun Herald, February 22, 2005, p. A6)
Chuck Wynn, executive vice president and managing director of Gulf Hills, was elected president of the Mississippi Coast Hotel Association in mid-July.(The Daily Heralf, July 14, 1967, p. 2)
Ruth Honer was the first woman pilot to receive her license at the Gulf Park Estates airport after instructions from Airport Services Inc.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 20, 1967, p. 1)
The old Vancleave Brothers Store on Porter and Washington was demolished in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 29, 1967, p. 2)
914 Desoto-June 2014
Blossman Gas planned a Desoto Avenue addition to their corporate complex.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 10, 1967, p. 10)
On August 6th, inaugural church services were held in the new Christus Victor Lutheran sanctuary by theReverend Billy Fisher Rutrough (1925-2009). Slaughter & Smith designed the $61,000 edifice.(The Jackson County News, August 10, 1967, p. 9)
The Pecan Park Elementary School opened in September. Fifteen acres for school acquired in October 1966.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 13, 1966, p. 1 and September 14, 1967, p. 3)
The New Orleans Saints played their first NFL on September 17th in Tulane's Sugar Bowl Stadium against the Los Angeles Rams losing 27-13..(The Daily Herald, September 18, 1967)
A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967), “Mr. Jackson County”, died on October 19, 1967. Mr. Moran was a member of the JXCO Board of Supervisors for thirty-eight years.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 25, 1967, p. 1)
Ground was broken in January for Litton Industries 130 million dollar "Shipyard of the Future" as Pascagoula.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1968, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs News became The Jackson County News in January. Dick Hathorne (1914-1974) continued as editor and publisher.(The Jackson County Times, January 31, 1968, p. 1)
US Marine Lance Corporal Charles William Eglin III (1947-1968), native of Ocean Springs, and son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Eglin Jr. of Corona, New York, was killed in Vietnam on February 15th.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1968, p. 2)
The first hospital, at Ocean Springs, a thirty-four patient room facility, was dedicated on April 8th. H.F. Fountain was the architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 4, 1968, p. 1)
Aviatrixes, Janet Ferson Green and Janis Hobbs. captured second prize in the Angel Derby race from Nicaragua to Florida.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 2, 1968, p. 1)
In July, Gautier re-filed their petition to incorporate as a City. There were 2097 residents in the area with properties valued at $1,350,000. Vernon Rouse (1926-1980) was the proposed appointed Mayor.(The Jackson County News, July 24, 1968, p. 1)
Inner Harbor (see The Ocean Springs Record, August 1, 1968, p. 1)
In October, local artisan, Harry D. Reek (1920-1982), spoke at the dedication of his “Sam Dale Monument” at Dalesville, Lauderdale, County, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 17, 1968, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Yacht Club, conceived by Dr. R.T. “Dick” Furr, was organized in November in the home of Bache Whitlock on Hellmer’s Lane. Founding members were: W.R. Allen Jr., Bruce Duckett, Dr. Dick Furr, Janet F. Green, A. Russell Moran (1930-1981), and Bache Whitlock (1915-2002). The local sailors were also accepted into the North American Yacht Racing Union the same month.
The First National Bank of Ocean Springs opened for business on November 25th. The $104,500 building was erected by J.O. Collins from a Claude Lindsley design. Hancock Bank occupies this edifice today.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 14, 1968, p. 3)
Cedar Oaks Apartments on the southwest corner of Porter and Washington Aveue were under construction by Jim-Ray Builders owned by James P. Green and Ray Standly. The apartment building was completed in late July 1969.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 30, 1969, p. 3 and July 24, 1969, p. 10)
Fire Chief Bernard P. Beaugez (1909-1969) expired on March 22nd.
Fred B. Ferson-Founder of Ferson Optical in 1951
[Image courtesy of Linda Ellis-Vancleave, Mississippi]
In April, Fred B. Ferson (1897-1969), founder of the Ferson Optical Company expired.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 1, 1969, p. 1)
Donald L. “Pat” Conner (1912-1982) became our first full time mayor.
The new $250,000 sanctuary of the First Baptist Church of Ocean Springs was dedicated on May 11th.
New Fire Chief
[L-R: Chief Leonard Allen; James Murray (kneeling); William 'Bill' Miller; Ken Cole; and Chuck Deal. Image made on Dewey Avenue circa 1969 and courtesy of Maggie Allen]
Leonard Allen (b. 1923) named Fire Chief and Bernard Galle (1919-1978), assistant Fire Chief.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1969, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, May 7, 1969, p. 43)
Rose Marie Ray (b. 1947), OSHS and USM graduate, won the Miss Mississippi pageant at Jackson on May 3rd. She competed in the Miss USA contest at Miami in late May.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1969, p. 19)
Armistead Denning Puryear graduated from the Air Force Academy and was promoted to 2nd Lieutenant USAF on 5 June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 5, 1969, p. 12)
Professor W. Lamar Herd (1922-1998), native of Decatur, Mississippi, left the Ocean Springs Public School System [E.H. Keys] to become principal of the Addison High School at Port Gibson, Mississippi in June 1969. He and his wife, Aline Jeanette McGee Herd, a native of Collins, Mississippi, had taught at Ocean Springs since 1952.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 5, 1969, p. 1)
The Blossman Printing Company with a Heidelberg press was formally opened in June on Desoto.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 26, 1969, p. 3)
KOA on Mississippi Highway No. 57 north of Ocean Springs had grand opening on July 18th. Willis Johnson, proprietor.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 10, 1969, p. 3)
Ronald A. Simnicht, DDS joined his brother in his dental practice on Governemnt Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 24, 1969, p. 9)
The First Federal Savings & Loan at 819 Desoto Avenue opened on August 16, 1969.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 14, 1969, p. 1)
Camille at Ocean Springs
[one day post-Camille looking at Biloxi Bay and US Highway 90 Bridge to the southwest from Porter Street. Courtesy of Jon B. Bombard and Ria Bombard, Saranac Lake, New York]
On August 17th, a tropical cyclone named “Camille” made an overnight visit to the Mississippi Gulf Coast, which will never be forgotten by those who weathered her banshee winds and tidal surge. Glenn Young (1925-2008), Civil Defense director, had a shelter set up in the Junior High School. Other safe havens were: St. Alphonsus Church, St. Paul's Methodist Church, and the 1st Baptist Church. Hurricane Camille severely damaged St. Theresa’s, the convent of the Marianite nuns on Front Beach and Jackson Avenue. Father Gilbert O’Neill (1890-1969), a native of Wedonia, Kentucky and a Roman Catholic priest of the Order of Saint Benedict, drowned during the tempest while attempting to determine the safety of the nuns. Father O’Neill was ordained a priest in May 1923 at St. Bernard College in Cullman, Alabama. He had come to Ocean Springs as chaplain to the Italians nuns after pastorates at Corbin, Kentucky and Sheffield and Tuscumbia, Alabama. Hardest hit areas of town were the Front Beach and the Seapointe Subdivision on Lovers Lane.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1969, p. 10)
William T. Ames (1860-1969), former Mayor of Ocean Springs, expired at Algiers, Louisiana.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 9, 1969, p. 8)
The golf course at St. Andrews opened on November 7, 1969 with Bobby Burch as club professional.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 13, 1969)
Ray J. Hudachek (19-2011)was promoted chief engineer of the Standard Oil refinery at Pascagoula.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 4, 1969, p. 1)
Dedication of new Bernard P. Beaugez fire station [L-R: Cora Seymour Beaugez (1915-1993), widow of Bernard P. Beaugez (1909-1969); Chief Leonard Allen; Asst. Chief Bernard Galle (1919-1978); and ? Courtesy of Maggie Allen]
The Bernard P. Beaugez fire station on Government Street was dedicated on December 7, 1969.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1969, p. 1)
The 1970s were dynamic times. The war in Vietnam ended for America in 1973, but the Arab oil embargo and subsequent energy crisis saw a dramatic increase in petroleum prices. It demonstrated our energy vulnerability to an international oil cartel, OPEC. Watergate and President Nixon’s duplicity led to his resignation in 1974. The nation’s Bicentennial Celebration (1776-1976) was certainly one of the top events of the decade with the Dow-Jones closing over 1000 for the first time.
Locally, Ingalls Shipbuilding was awarded a Navy contract to build the DD-936, Spruance Class destroyer. They launched the first LHA, Tarawa, in November 1973. In 1976, The Sand Hill Crane Refuge was created in western Jackson County.
In 1971, Ocean Springs got its first movie house, The Springs Cinema, since the Illing Theatre closed in the 1950s. In 1976, the Downtown Revitalization and Preservation Committee was formed, and the Historic Preservation Commission commenced functioning in 1979.
In 1973, Connie Moran and Karen Williams advanced to the national finals in talent and beauty contests after winning the State titles of Miss Teen Mississippi and Miss Pre-Teen Mississippi, respectively. Miss Williams was crowned Miss hemisphere at Asbury Park, New Jersey.
On the sporting scene in the late 1970s, young tennis players, Tommy and Steve Carter, Danny, David, and Kim Olesen, Laurie White, and Lance St. Amant, under the tutelage of Treasure Oaks club professional, Jim Cantrelle, began to make waves in State and regional competitions.
Population of Ocean Springs 9580 people.
In February, David McFalls (1912-1974) sold The Ocean Springs Record to Jac Fase Publishing, owned by Dr. Dewey Lane, Dr. Paul Moore, and Wayne Weidie.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 1970, p. 1)
Gulf Hills was named a Bird Sanctuary in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 26, 1970, p. 3)
Frasier Wilkerson (1920-1987) opened a garden supply business on LeMoyne Boulevard in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 5, 1970, p. 20)
Agnes Grinstead Anderson (1907-1992), retired from teaching while at East Elementary on June 5th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1970, p. 1)
Franchesca Spencer Howard (1911-1971) was named OSHS “Teacher of the Year”.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 28, 1970, p. 29) Francesca Spencer Theriot Howard, the daughter of Pennsylvanian, Stewart Courtenay Spencer (1867-1959), and Ethel Griffiths (1871-1945), like her mother, was a native of Louisville, Kentucky. The Spencer family arrived at Ocean Springs circa 1920. Franchesca matriculated to Randolph-Macon College at Lynchburg, Virginia in September 1929.(The Daily Herald, September 16, 1930, p. 2) She began her teaching career at the Ocean Springs Public School in the fall of 1934. Mrs. Howard had taught at the rural Daisy-Vestry school in northwest Jackson County before coming to Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, May 31, 1934, p.3) Franchesca attended summer school at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in the summer of 1936. She came home with Mrs. J.L. Dickey and daughter, Dorothy Dickey.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1936, p. 7) Married Numa Theriot circa 1942. Divorced 1946? One daughter, Francis Spencer King (1942-1963), the wife of Thomas L. King. Francesca Spencer resigned her position at the Ocean Springs Public School in May 1948, to teach English at St. Martin High School. Mrs. Spencer had problems with School Superintendent, S.S. Wall. She had aspired to be named principal of the school. When Mrs. Spencer approached Mr. Wall with this request, she alleged that he rejected it in an “intolerably rude” manner.(The Jackson County Times, May 14, 1948, p. 1)
Jane Dees [married Barry Barq and Jack Gottsche] of Vancleave was crowned OS Miss Hospitality in late May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 28, 1970, p. 9)
In June, Ingalls won a $2.1 billion dollar contract to build thirty US Navy warships, particularly the Spruance Class, DD-963.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 25, 1970, p. 1)
The garage of the Emergency Operations Center was converted to an air-conditioned six-cell jailhouse.
The City approved plans for the Mochella Apartment complex on Holcomb Boulevard near the High School.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 2, 1970)
In late June the A&P Supermarket opened in the Ocean Springs Shopping Center on Bienville Boulevard with V.J. Cannizaro Jr. as store manager. The Ben Franklin store and United Dollar Store opened last month in this new shopping venue.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 2, 1970, p. 1)
The Magnolia Park Elementary school had a ten-class room addition.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 9, 1970, p. 1)
Betty Bradford Milsted (1913-2009) joined The Ocean Springs Record as a news reporter.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 16, 1970, p. 1)
Judlin Girot (1912-1970), former resident, CPA and alderman and with LaPorte, Girot, Sehrt, & Romig in NOLA, expired in the Crescent City on July .(The Ocean Springs Record, July 23, 1970, p. 1)
Bob Ederer, net manufacturer, temporarily situated on Jackson Avenue, planned to be the first to move to the new, ninety-four acre Ocean Springs Industrial Park east of town on Bienville Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 23, 1970, p. 2)
In August, the Chamber of Commerce had a city slogan contest. Harvey D. Speight Jr. won with “City of Discovery”.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 13, 1970, p. 2 and October 15, 1970, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Yacht Club clubhouse on Inner Harbor burned while under construction.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 10, 1970, p. 1)
Open house for the new convent at Jackson Avenue for the Marianite Sisters of the Sacred Heart was held on October 25th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 22, 1970, p. 1)
Hugh Lauren Pepper, OSHS football coach, was named Coach of the Year in the Gulf Coast Conference.(The Ocean Springs News, November 19, 1970, p. 1)
On December 5th, voters rejected a $1.5 million dollar school bond issue. Had it passed, the 1927 Ocean Springs Public School would have been demolished.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1970, p. 1)
Vernon Reinike’s monument to Iberville (1671-1706) was dedicated at Marshall Park in mid-December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1970, p. 1)
Sarah Gardner Brown (1881-1970), the spouse of William Bruce Brown, expired at Tucson, Arizona on December 11th. She was a resident here from 1939 to 1969. Mrs. Brown was a resident of the Deer Park Inn, Lake Forest, Illinois.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1970, p. 6)
In January, Blossman Gas demolished the old Claude Engbarth auto garage on Washington Avenue, to build a flower shop.(The Ocean Spring Record, January 7, 1971, p. 1)
on January 8th, President Richard M. Nixon signed legislation creating Gulf Islands National Seashore.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 1, 1996, p. 3)
Radio station WSOM began broadcasting Southern gospel music on February 19th. Charles M. Cooper and Margaret Cooper of Gulfport were the owners.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1970, p. 1 and February 18, 1971, p. 2, and February 24, 2000, p. 6)
In mid-February, Donald C. Munro (1924-2000) and DeVeaux Walker Munro, his spouse, broke ground for Deedy’s Shopping Village on Thorn Avenue at Bienville Boulevard. Robert Cossey of Vancleave was the project architect and James Neirynck, contractor.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 18, 1971, p. 1)
N.E. Taconi (1910-1971), Superintendent of Public Schools, expired on March 9th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 11, 1971, p. 1) Allan T. Curry, who came to Ocean Springs as Junior High principal in 1962, succeeded Mr. Taconi in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 22, 1971, p. 1)
The 1699 Historical Committee received its State charter in March. Betty Bradford Milsted was president.(The Ocean Springs News, March 11, 1971, p. 1)
Dr. Frank O. Schmidt (1902-1975) retired in March. He began practicing medicine with Dr. O.L. Bailey in 1934.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 1, 1971, p. 1)
In April, the $1.5 million dollar school bond issue failed again.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 15, 1971, p. 1)
A memorial plaque was placed at the Ruskin Oak in late April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1971, p. 13)
Dr. Francis ‘Sonny’ Selman Jr., a Tulane University graduate, began his urology practice with Dr. Robert F. Carter. Dr. Selman retired in 2007.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 15, 1971, p. 1)
The Master Grill on Bienville Boulevard was opened on June 8th by Joe and Beverly Bailey. The building was built by A.L. Turner of Biloxi. In 2008, the Master Grill became the Yellow Mouth Grill.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 10, 1971, p. 7)
John McKay, local politician, began his career at Ocean Springs with the recreation department in June 1971.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 10, 1971, p. 2)
Kay Watson and Mary Anderson Stebly held ‘Indian Day Camp’ at the Shearwater Pottery.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 10, 1971, p. 2)
Ground was broken for the First National Bank of Ocean Springs on June 18th.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 24, 1971, p. 1)
The Springs Cinema, Ocean Springs first movie house since the Illing Theatre closed in the 1950s, was planned by Calvin Grosscup. Slaughter & Smith were architects for the project.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 10, 1971, p.1 )
Mayon Johnson (1919-2014) was installed as Postmaster in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, July1, 1971, p. 1)
Edwin Cooper (b. 1957), son of WOSM radio station proprietors, became the youngest licensed radio announcer in Mississippi after passing his FCC broadcast examination.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1971, p. 1)
Clarence Galle (1912-1986) began demolition of the 19th Century St. Alphonsis Church in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1971, p. 1)
The old New Beach Hotel and Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart retirement home on Front Beach Drive was demolished in July by Clarence Galle (1912-1986).(The Ocean Springs Record, July 22, 1971, p. 2)
Wylie T. Broome (1903-1971), retired police chief, expired in August.
Vito J. Canizaro Jr. donated the first pint of blood to the Ocean Springs Blood Bank at the Ocean Springs Hospital in August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 20, 1971, p. 1)
Dr. C.W. Ball
Dr. C.W. Ball (1941-1996) entered private dental practice with Dr. Cecil Guyton at the Dental Arts Center, 922 Porter. Dr. Ball was a 1965 University of Tennessee graduate and had worked in the Canal Zone, Panama, Vietnam and the Biloxi VA Hospital before joining Dr. Guyton.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 20, 1971, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Nursing Center, a 19,000 square-foot facility, developed by George J. Sliman (1934-1997) on the Ocean Springs-Vancleave Road was scheduled to open in January 1972.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 26, 1971, p. 8)
The third house at the Children's Home of Grace in Vancleave was dedicated in August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 26, 1971, p. 11)
In September, Broome's Food Store planned a major renovation. H.F. Fountain Jr., AIA(The Ocean Springs record, September 20, 1971, p. 7)
The Gallery Up, an art gallery in the Farmer's and Merchants State Bank Building, was opened in early September by William R. Allen Jr. (1911-1985).(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1971, p. 1 and September 16, 1971, p. 10)
In October, First Development Corporation of Ocean Springs, E.W. Blossman, president, received a SBA loan of $142,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 21, 1971, p. 1)
Sue McClamroch, psychiatric, social worker was named Woman of the Year by the Ocean Springs Business Professional Woman. She was the fourth annual honoree.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 21, 1971, p. 1)
St. Alphonsus Catholic Church broke ground for a new 6000 square-foot, parish hall in October. H.F. Fountain Jr., AIA and James Neirynck (1929-2014), general contractor.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 21, 1971, p. 5)
The Villa Maria considered the Coast’s first skyscraper and still one of the tallest buildings on the Mississippi Coast is located on West Porter Street in Ocean Springs. This 198 unit, 13-story, $2.5 million dollar, apartment complex was erected by the Catholic Charities Housing Association commencing in April 1970 and being completed in September 1971. The ribbon cutting was held on November 28, 1971. Structures along Washington Avenue and West Porter Street were demolished to erect the structure.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 24, 1971, p. 1 and December 2, 1971, p. 1)
On Christmas Day, the Gulf Hills Dude Ranch main building burned to the ground.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 30, 1971, p. 1 and p. 6)
The Springs Cinema on Bienville Boulevard opened early 1972.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 6, 1972, p. 3)
The Banker’s Trust Building on Bienville was completed in 1972.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 6, 1972, p. 3)
Dr. Gordon P. Gunter (1909-1998) of the GCRL was named president-elect of the World Mariculture Society at St. Petersburg, Florida.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 10, 1972, p. 1)
Dr. Harold Howse was named Director of the GCRL, which he joined in 1967. PhD in Anatomy from Tulane University.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 2, 1972, Sec. II, p.3)
Bourn's TV opened in a new building at 2321 Government Street, which was built by Robert Bell.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 2, 1972, p.2)
The Gulf Coast Research Lab opened its Environmental Education Center in a metal building at Point Cadet in Biloxi.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1972, p. 1)
In March, the Societe des Arbres was formed to protect and catalog trees.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1972, p. 1)
In late April, the Secretary of the Interior, Roger Morton (1914-1979), dedicated GINS.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 27, 1972, p. 1)
In April, Moran Hall, a women's dormitory, at MGCCC Perkinston was dedicated in honor of A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967).(THe Ocean Springs Record, July 13, 1972, p. 5)
The Fort Bayou Apartments were under construction.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 18, 1972, p. 1)
On May 28th, the Ocean Springs Nursing Center on the OS-Vancleave Road opened for business. George Sliman was the developer.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 25, 1972, p. 1)
Stanley C. Ramsay (1928-2007), local realtor, was named to head 'The Ramsay Clan' association.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 15, 1972, p. 3)
A marina was to built at Gulf Park Estates.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 6, 1972, p. 2)
Aldermen adopt a comprehensive zoning ordinance for the City of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 27, 1972, p. 1)
Moschella Enterprises proposed a 77-unit condominium, Gulf Oaks, on Front Beach Drive.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 20, 1972, p. 1)
In July 1972, WOSM began broadcasting from its new building on Brown Road, east of Ms. Highway No. 57.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 27, 1972)
In August, Fletcher Construction Company was awarded a $1 million dollar contract for an addition to theOcean Springs Hospital.(The Ocean Springs record, August 10, 1972, p. 1)
J.O. Collins construction of Biloxi awarded $144,223 contract to erect library on Dewey Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 10, 1972, p. 2)
Bayou Chateau Apartments on Bienville Boulevard announced that completion expected by June 1973.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 28, 1972)
Bank of Mississippi commenced construction in September.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 21, 1972, p. 1)
In late September, Dr. Broussard’s Ocean Springs Health & Spa Club opened on Bienville Boulevard (now part of YMCA).(The Ocean Springs Record, September 28, 1972, p. 7)
In October, the Ocean Springs Arts Association commenced its Fall Art Show, which continues to the present.
Trent Lott was elected to Congress for the first time in November replacing William Colmer.
Lt. Colonel Horace M. Gladney received the Bronze Star in Vietnam.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 7, 1972, p. 3)
The $1.5 million dollar school bond issue passed on December 12th.
Former Mayor, Charles E. Schmidt (1904-1988), published “Ocean Springs French Beachhead”, an excellent chronology of the city from 1699 to WW II.
The aldermen reduced the Mayor’s salary to $250 per month.(The Ocean Springs News, January 18, 1973, p. 1)
E.W. Blossman and the 1st Ocean Springs Development Corp. were building on Government Street, the Marmin Studio or Marmin Aquatic Center (now the YMCA), the finest swim facility in the State.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 1, 1973, p. 1)
Coast Federal Savings & Loan opened for business on Bienville and Church St. on February 22nd.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1973)
Gayden Green and James Goodwin Jr. of Ocean Springs ruled the Mardi Gras at Biloxi on March 6th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 8, 1973, p. 1)
In March, the Gulf Coast Research Lab’s educational facility building was dedicated to Dr. Richard L. Caylor. Dr. Gordon Gunter (1909-1998), the third director of the lab, was recognized by having the main library, situated on the ground floor of the Caylor Building, named for him.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 15, 1973, p. 1)
The Coastal Medical Center was founded by Dr. Maurice A. Taquino, Dr. Harry Clark, and Robert W. Bell.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 1973, p. 1)
E. Watson Wood memorial gardens dedicated at the Coast Convalescent Center on East Beach Boulevardat Biloxi on April 15th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1973, p. 2 and April 19, 1973, p. 8)
The Fort Bayou Apartments formally opened in late April.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 3, 1973, p. 5)
In May, Connie Marie Moran named Miss Mississippi Teen-Ager. Connie went to Atlanta in September and place in the top 15 in the national contest.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1973, Sec. 2-p. 12 and September 6, 1973, p. 2)
The new Ocean Springs Library on Dewey Avenue was dedicated on June 24th. It was built by J.O. Collins from a W.R. Allen Jr. design.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 1973, p. 1)
The Gulf Oaks Condominiums, built by Charles Moschella Enterprises, opened their four models units on July 15th.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 1973, p. 6)
An Elks Club was founded at Ocean Springs on July 10th at Dale's Lounge on Porter Street. Founding officers were: William Cooper, chairman; Louis Ramon, co-chairman; Charles Duffie, sec.-treasurer.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 19, 1973, p. 4)
In July, archaeologists from the MDAH began a detailed search for the site of Fort Maurepas (1699-1702) on the Fort Point peninsula (Lovers Lane). The six-month survey investigated the Connor, Palfrey Estate, Callan, and at least one other tract on “the Lane”.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 19, 1973, p. 1 and December 6, 1973, p. 1)
Elizabeth Keys, local educator, was honored by the District Grand Household of Ruth at its annual convention for her forty years of service to DGHR No. 14.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 19, 1973, p. 4)
Pleasant’s Restaurant and Lounge owned by John C. Pleasant Jr. (1938-1998) opened in August on US 90 East.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 30, 1973, p. 1)
In October, Grant's Plaza shopping center opened on Bienville Boulevard. Anchor stores were Grants City, owned by the W.T. Grant and Company, and the National Food Store.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 11, 1973, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, October 13, 1973, p. 5)
Coast Federal Savings & Loan announced construction of new building on Bienville and Church Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 11, 1973, p. 7)
Margarita Weyerstall Metzger, formerly of Ocean Springs and foreign language professor at Youngstown State University, was awarded her PhD from Jaime Balmes University at Guadalajara, Mexico in October.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 18, 1973, p. 18)
Aurine Gallaher, career educator, named outstanding career woman by Ocean Springs Business & Professional Club.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 25, 1973, p. 1)
First Presbyterian Church dedicated the church gardens in honor of General L.J. Stewart and Henry Brooks.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 22, 1973, p. 3)
In November, Ferson Optics planned a $4.1 million dollar, 56,000 square-foot addition to their existing facility on Government Street. The work force was expected to increase to four hundred-fifty people.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 22, 1973, p. 1)
Residents of Lover's Lane blocked archaeologists's search for Fort Maurepas.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 6, 1973, p. 1)
The Marsh Islands Golf Course, a Pete Dye-Johnny Pott design, was dedicated on January 5-6, 1973.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 3, 1974, p. 1.
On January 19th, the Gulf Oaks Condominiums on Front Beach opened for public sale. Units ranged in area from 1700 to 2000 square-feet in area and priceed from $43,000 to $60,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 23, 1974, p. 6)
John R. Blossman (1943-2009)
John R. Blossman (1943-2009), King d'Iberville and Laurie James Turnbough, Queen Ixolob ruled the Gulf Coast Carnival Association Mardi Grad at Biloxi on 1974.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 28, 1974, p. 1)
275th Anniversary celebration of Iberville's Landing [L-R: Frank T. Pickel (1912-1982), Bienville; Orey Alson Young (1892-1986), Iberville; and Marby R. Penton (1922-1995), Commandant Sauvolle.
On April 7th, the 275th Celebration of the Landing of Iberville was held on Front Beach Drive. Orey A. Young (1892-1986) portrayed French Canadian hero, Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’ Iberville (1671-1706), in the local pageant.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 11, 1974, p. 3)
Brigadier General Leroy J. Stewart (1900-1983) received the Jackson Dawson Medal from the Massachusetts Horticultural Society for his work on dogwoods and other woody plants.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 25, 1974, p. 3)
The Ocean Springs Art Association was incorporated on May 10th.
Doctor David L. Dugger, native of Memphis, opened his pediatrics medical practice on the OS-Vancleave Road in Ocean Springs in late July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 25, 1974, p. 1)
David S. McFalls, founder of The Whistle Stop and former editor-publisher, retired from the Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce in August 1974 and expired at Ocean Springs in early September 1974. Ruth Joseph McFalls died in September 1986 at Ocean Springs. (The Ocean Springs Record, August 15, 1974, p. 1, September 12, 1974, p. 1 and September 18, 1986, p. 3)
Clay Boyd Recreational Park in east Ocean Springs was dedicated in the memory of former OSHS principal and athletic coach, Vernon Clay Boyd (1911-1974), on November 2nd. Coach Boyd died on December 12th. (The Ocean Springs Record, October 31, 1974, p. 12 and December 12, 1974, p. 2)
In December, the Ocean Springs Junior High School erected on Government Street by W.F. Mosley from a design by Pascagoula architects, Slaughter & Smith, was opened for classroom work.(The Ocean Springs News, December 2, 1974, p. 1)
Former Greyhound coach, Clay Boyd (1911-1974), expired in mid-December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 12, 1974, p. 2)
On December 7th, John Fahnstock launched Alpha Optics.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 9, 1981, p. 1)
1974 OS Debutantes presented were: Patricia Carter, Vickie Fulton, Leslie Jo Grace, Josette E. Hand, Letitia Lee Little, Connie Marie Moran, and Deveaux Corrine Munro.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 12, 1974, p. 2)
On December 31st, Chancellor L.C. Corban (1901-1989) retired after fifty years in the legal profession. Sixteen of those years were on the chancery and circuit court benches.(The Ocean Springs News, December 19, 1974, p. 2)
Elks Lodge No. 2501 of Ocean Springs received its charter with a membership of one hundred.
The Friends of Walter Anderson, Inc. had their inaugural meeting in the Ocean Springs Community House on February 15th. Stewart J. Gilchrist of Laurel was elected president of the organization.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 13, 1975, p. 1)
Pianist Gigi Reeks was selected as guest artist to the NOLA Symphony during its 1975-1976 season.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 3, 1975, p. 3)
In March, Harry Reeks (1920-1982), Ocean Springs sculptor, and Mayor Jerry O'Keefe (b. 1923), presented his proposal for 'The Golden Fisherman', a welded, 12 foot, bronze statue to be electroplated with 14 carat gold, to the Biloxi Planning Commission and Urban Renewal Commission. The project was expected to cost between $30,000 and $35,000. Reeks was commissioned to create the Golden Fisherman in mid-April for $34,000. The sundial was to be replaced by the Golden Fisherman.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1975, p. A2 and April 18, 1975)
On April 6th, the 276th Celebration of the Landing of Iberville was held on Front Beach Drive. W.F. 'Willy' Dale (1899-1990) portrayed French Canadian hero, Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’ Iberville (1671-1706), in the local pageant.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 10, 1975, p. 2)
Dr. John Kirk Drake, orthopedic surgeon, opened his office.(The Ocean springs Record, July 2, 1981, p. 10)
Former Mayor and businessman, J.C. “Champ” Gay (1909-1975) expired in mid-July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 24, 1975, p. 1)
Alpha Optical Systems was organized by John Fahnestock.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 9, 1981, p. 1 and September 1, 1983, p. 11)
The Davis Bayou Unit of GINS opened.
Land purchased for Sandhill Crane Refuge.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 18, 1975, p. 2)
Chamber of Commerce directors oppose Sandhill Crane habitat.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 9, 1975, p. 1)
Marmin Pool on Government Street opened its drive for a non-profit corporation.(The Ocean Spring Record, October 16, 1975, p. 1)
The cypress log from which Peter W. Toth carved Crooked Feather was donated by Lum Cumbest, Jackson County, Mississippi Board of Supervisor, and his brothers. The log weighed ten tons and was eight feet wide at its base.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1975, p. B-1)
In December the Mississippi Gulf Coast YMCA planned for its initial membership drive.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1975, p. 1.)
Clarence Hamilton Sr. (1902-1992) was named Outstanding Citizen of the Year by the OS Volunteer Fire Department.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 15, 1976, p. 3.)
Lloyd “Hap” A. Glaudi (1912-1989), legendary sportscaster for WWL Channel 4 of NOLA, had lunch at the Lagniappe and predicted that if legalized gambling came to the Mississippi Gulf Coast, in ten years it would be as prominent as Las Vegas.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 22, 1976, p. 10)
Nancy Longnecker was named new Chamber of Commerce manager and Donna Matheny, her assistant.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 22, 1976, p. 1)
Long time educator, Elizabeth H. Keys (1892-1976), expired on February 2nd.
Peter W. Toth and Crooked Feather [L-R: Toth sculpting in 1975 and completed memorial in March 1997]
In February, Governor Cliff Finch spoke at the dedication of Peter W. Toth’s Indian Monument, “Crooked Feather”, in Davidson Park on US Highway 90. It was Toth’s seventeenth memorial to the American Indian in his “Whispering Giants” series. He planned one for every State. Lum Cumbest, Jackson County, Mississippi Supervisor, donated a ten-ton, cypress log for the project.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 5, 1976, p. 1, February 19, 1976, p. 1 and February 19, 1976, p. 8) In February 1978, Toth (b. 1947) was working on memorial number twenty-six, at Desert Hot Springs, California.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1978, p. B-1)
Elks Lodge No. 2501 held its first Mardi Gras Ball with Robert A. Carter, King Fidelity I, and Odean St. Andrie, Queen Charity I. The theme was 'The Deep South'.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 1976, p. 12)
OS Yacht Club agreed to sell property to the State of Mississippi for Fort Maurepas replica.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 19, 1976, p. 1)
Neal Ballard (1920-1984) opened his Pewter Shop at 1110 Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 1, 1976, p. 10)
Ocean Springs Seafood was remodeled by the Fayard family.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 15, 1976, p. 12)
Heber Ladner (1902-1989), Secretary of State of Mississippi, was Iberville.
The Sauvolle marker, a French Colonial Historical plaque, was dedicated on Front Beach Drive on April 25th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1976, p. 5)
The E.R. Moore Company on Government Street was renovated in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1976, p. 3)
The Champ Oak, a Live Oak, at the L&N Depot was dedicated to the memory of John Champlin Gay (1909-1975), former Mayor and civic leader.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 27, 1976, p. 2)
Mamie Coles Hanshaw (1910-1976), author, artist, musician, and poet expired on May 21, 1976.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 27, 1976, p. 3)
A McDonald’s and a Sonic Drive Inn, both on US 90, opened in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 3, 1976, p. 12 and July 1, 1976, p. 5)
The Gulf Coast YMCA received its charter at Black Mountain, North Carolina.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1976, p. 1)
Keebler's Auto Body Shop at 702 Cox Avenue was badly damaged by fire.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 15, 1976, p. 2)
On July 31st, the Jaycees buried two time capsules at City Hall. One is to be opened in 2026 and the other in 2076.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 22, 1976, p. 1)
Daniel Bernard 'Ram' Vancourt Jr. (1910-1976), Bronze Star winner in WWII and former Commander of 138th Transportation Battalion-MNG, expired in late July. Nellie McElroy Vancourt (1912-2003), his wife, died on April 14, 2003.(The Daily Herald, July 27, 1976, p. A2 and The Sun Herald, April 16, 2003, p. A6)
Gayden's Small World, a children's clothing store, opened in late July. It was owned by Hervey and Gayden Purcell and situated in Deedy's Shopping Village on US Highway 90.(The Daily Herald, July 28, 1976, p. B9)
Bishop Richard O. Gerow (1895-1976), native of Mobile and retired Catholic Bishop of Natchez from 1924 to 1966, died at Jackson, Mississippi in December.
In January, the Board of Aldermen proposed a $400,000 Community Center on Hanley Road which was rejected by voters in March.(The Ocean Springs News, January 20, 1977, p. 1 and March 10, 1977, p. 10)
Elks Lodge No. 2501 held its first Mardi Gras Parade rolling on the streets of Ocean Springs. Bill Bosarge was King Fidelity II, and Ollie Mae Gallagher, Queen Charity II. The Grand Marshal was Bo Causey.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 3, 1977, p. 1 and p. 2 and February 10, 1977, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Record was acquired by the Mississippi Publishing Corporation of Jackson, Mississippi effective May 1, 1977. Wayne W. Weidie had purchased The Record in April 1977 from Dr. Dewey Lane and Dr. Paul H. Moore, his business partners since February 1970. Mr. Weidie then conveyed the journal to The Ocean Springs Record, Inc., the subsidiary company of the Mississippi Publishing Corporation.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 28, 1977, p. 1 and JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 588, p. 168 and Bk. 589, p. 264)
The Roman Catholic Diocese of Biloxi was created June 6, 1977 and led by Bishop Joseph L. Howze.(The Daily Herald, June 2, 1984, p. A12)
Don Green was named president of PFG Precision Optics, a local subsidiary of Precision Optics of Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, which initiated operations here in 1977.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 30, 1977, p. 3)
An interim visitors contact station opened at Gulf Islands National Seashore in July.(The Ocean Springs News, July 21, 1977, p. 1)
In July, a pistol range for the police department was completed on Hanshaw and Old Spanish Trail. The Middle School would be erected here in 1995.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 28, 1977, p. 1)
In August, Neirynck Construction Company drove pilings for the new Ocean Springs Yacht Club at the foot of the OS-Biloxi Bridge.
Elvis Aron Presley (1935-1977), The King and the most widely recognized entertainer of the 20th Century, expired at Memphis, Tennessee on August 16th.
In September, the Enrichment Program commenced at the four, public elementary school plants.(The Ocean Springs News, September 29, 1977, p. 1)
Popeye’s Famous Fried Chicken opened on Bienville Boulevard on September 2, 1977.
“The Islander”, a Mississippi ETV documentary on the life of Bob Anderson (1903-1965), was broadcast on September 26th. In June 1978, it won an award from the Southern Educational Communications Association for the Most Creative Production. This recognition followed kudos from the Virgin Islands International Film Festival; International Film & Television Festival of New York; and the Gabriel Awards.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 22, 1977, p. 1, and June 22, 1978, p. 2)
Wilda F. Mayfield was recognized by the congregation of the Macedonia Baptist Church for her thirty-eight years of secretarial service.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 15, 1977, p. 13)
The new Ocean Springs Yacht Club on Front Beach was dedicated on December 12th.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 8, 1977, p. 4)
Raymond Matthew 'Ray' Thompson (1898-1977), native of Lee Township, Fayette County, Ohio expired at Gulfport, Mississippi on Christmas Day. In 1940, Mr. Thompson with Ellen Ursula 'Sue' Thompson, his spouse, came South, probably from Youngstown, Ohio where he was the proprietor of an advertising agency. They resided initially at New Orleans where he began to write about history and travel. In the early 1950s, they relocated to Biloxi, Mississippi where Ray wrote for Down South, a regional magazine. In March 1956, he began a long running weekly series of journal articles, Know Your Coast and Know Your State, which were published in The Daily Herald, The Jackson DailyNews, and The Clarion-Ledger. Ray M. Thompson also authored: New Orleans From A to Z, The Land of Lafitte the Pirate, and The Confederate Shrine Beauvoir, the Last Home of Jefferson Davis (1957). In 1962, he was editor of theJefferson Parish, Louisiana Yearly Review.(from biographical information provided by Yvonne Arnold of the McCain Archives, University of Southern Mississippi)
Captain Marvin Olson, USAF, flew into his 109th tropical cyclone setting a Hurricane Hunter record.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 16, 1978, p. 20)
The EPA warned the city that its wastewater treatment plant had deficiencies to be corrected and that it was understaffed.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 1978, p. 1)
Robert Mohler renovated his Tato-Nut which had been in business since 1960.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1978, p. 1)
A convenience store was approved by the Board of Aldermen on Porter near Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 15, 1978, p. 1)
In August, The Ocean Springs Record office on Cox Avenue was renovated and a new structure added behind the existing building.(The Ocean Springs record, August 10, 1978, p. 1)
In October, the Shearwater Pottery celebrated its 50th anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 26, 1978, p. 1)
In December, ground was broken for the Singing River Mall at Gautier, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 7, 1978, p. 5)
The Twin Oaks at Gulf Hills, believed to be over 500 years old and weighing 20 tons, fell.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1979, p. 20)
Wendy’s opened on January 29, 1979.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 1979, p. 2)
Elks Mardi Gras-King Fidelity IV [image by Suzanne Deuel Weidie, February 1979]
The 4th Annual Elks Mardi Gras Parade with the 'Star Wars' theme was held on February 10th with Don F. Davis (b. 1929), King Fidelity IV, and Lois J. Switzer (1918-1998), Queen Charity IV, on the throne. Mike Davis also on this float was a page for his Don F. Davis, his father.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1979, p. 11)
Lynda Levi (b. 1946), native of Marks, Mississippi and spouse of Dempsey Levi, was named a finalist in the first Mrs. Mississippi contest.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1979, p. A8)
The Mississippi Jaycees named John Blossman (b. 1943) one of the three most outstanding men in the State. Last Ocean Springs man named since Dr. Ray Wesson in 1971.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1979, p.1 and The Sun Herald, February 21, 1979, p. B4)
James E. 'Jim' Cantrell, (1929-2006) tennis professional at Treasure Oaks, was named 1979 Professional of the Year in the USPTA.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1979, p. 16)
Matt Cox, Police Chief, resigned in mid-February.(The Daily Herald, February 21, 1979, p. 1 and February 27, 1979, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1979, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Historic Preservation Commission was formed in March.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 8, 1979, p. 1)
N.E. Taconi School will become 6th grade complex.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1979, p. 1)
50 private rooms at the Ocean Springs Hospital were added in June for a cost of $6 million dollars. The radiology department also acquired a CAT scanner.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 7, 1979, p. 1 and p. 6)
In June, the Chamber of Commerce acquired the L&N Depot.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1979, p. 3)
Fred O’Sullivan named police chief in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 28, 1979, p. 1.)
Construction began on the Ocean Springs Medical Park behind the hospital.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 5, 1979, p. 10)
On August 3, 1979, The Ocean Springs Record office opened at 715 Cox Avenue. In late July 1979, The Ocean Springs Record office had relocated from the L&N Depot on Washington Avenue to 715 Cox Avenue. On August 3, 1979, The Record celebrated their 14th anniversary as well as the opening of their new quarters for business. William R. Allen Jr. (1911-1985) had managed the building’s refurbishment as the journal’s architect-contractor.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 2, 1979, p. 1 and August 2, 1979, p. 1)
The JXCO Board of Supervisors voted to lease property on Washington Avenue to the Friends of Walter Anderson, Inc.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 6, 1979, p. 1)
Hurricane Frederic hit on September 12th. The eye passed over Pascagoula. Glenn Young, OS Civil Defense Director, believed that the damage from this tempest, was more severe than previous storms to strike the city.
Cheryl Prewitt of Ackerman was named 1980 Miss America.
Gay-Lemon Park was under construction in September.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 13, 1979, p. 10)
The first annual Fine Arts Festival was held in early November. In 1985, it became the Peter Anderson Festival. Original director, Margaret Hollingsworth Anderson , continues in this capacity today.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 25, 1979, p. 1)
In December, the slate roof on the L&N Depot [Chamber of Commerce] was replaced with a $50,000 composition roof after Hurricane Frederic's fury increased the leakiness of the old slate covering rendering it not repairable.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 13, 1979, p. 3)
Regina B. Hines Ellison (1938-2005), published, “Ocean Springs, 1892”.
The decade started out on a sour note with the Iran Hostage Crisis and failed rescue. Also in 1980, a geological, cataclysmic event of the first magnitude occurred in Washington State when Mt. St. Helens blew. Ronald Reagan ascended to the Presidency, and the American hostages were returned from Tehran in January 1981. After 132 years of possession, the USA lost the America’s Cup to Australia in 1983.
In 1986, the Chernobyl Power Station at Kiev in the Ukraine, became the worst nuclear accident ever when its reactor melted down. By 1987, Bill Gates (b. 1955) of Microsoft became the first billionaire in the high tech world of microcomputers.
US Naval ship construction at Ingalls continued, and two WW II battleships, Iowa (BB 61) and Wisconsin (BB 64), were refurbished. Hurricane Elena in September 1985 brought countywide devastation.
The 1980 US Federal Census place the population of Ocean Springs at 14,000, an increase of 48% since the 1970 census. The World population had reached 5 billion people at this time. The geographic center of the city began moving eastward as the Sea Shores Plaza with a Delchamps grocery, Wal-Mart, the Civic Center, and the Parkside Square Shopping Center were constructed on the east side of town. Several historical districts and individual historical sites were accepted into the National Historical Register of Historic Places.
Population of Ocean Springs 14504 people.
Patrolman Robert Germany (b. 1948) was named patrolman of the year by Police Chief Fred O'Sullivan. A.J. Hogan and Doug Daams were cited for their lifesaving efforts in early December in administering CPR to an elderly man who had suffered an apparent heart attack.(The Daily Herald, January 22, 1980, p. A2)
Construction began on a $98,000 fire station on Deena Road by Gulf South Construction Company from a design by H.F. Fountain, architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 24, 1980, p.1)
In late February, the Ocean Springs Garden Club planted two live oaks at the White Oaks Inn [O'Keefe-Dale property] on West Porter in memory of W.F. 'Willy' Dale (1899-1990) and W.F. Dale Jr. (1926-1979). Miss Florence Morrow (1868-1934), a pioneer public school teacher, was also honored with an oak tree at the N.E. Taconi School on Magnolia Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 6, 1980, p.7)
The Singing River Mall at Gautier, Mississippi had its grand opening on March 9th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 13, 1980, p. 3)
On February 8th, the Ocean Springs Police Officers Association led by Kevin V. Alves Sr. became affiliated with the AFL-CIO as Local 121 of the Inter Union of Police Associations.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 13, 1980, p. 1)
Dr. Ray Wesson (1937-1980) and his wife, Delores Ann Gill Wesson (1942-1980), were killed on March 14th, when their Polish airliner crashed south of Warsaw, Poland. Dr. Wesson was physician for the national boxing team.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 20, 1980, p. 1)
The new L&N Railroad, a concrete structure, opened for rail and boat traffic in early May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1980, p. 1)
Dr. Gordon Gunter (1909-1998) of the GCRL was honored with induction as a Fellow in the Louisiana Academy of Sciences.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1980, p. 5)
In May, voters rejected a $400,000 bond issue for a new recreation building.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 22, 1980, p. 1)
Mayor Pat Connor (1912-1982) disagreed with the Federal Census count at Ocean Springs arguing that it should be 15,644 people as opposed to the preliminary figure of 14,188 people suggested by the census bureau.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 31, 1980, p. 1)
Former Mayor Charles Ernest Schmidt filed suit against the City challenging the salary of the Mayor.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 7, 1980, p. 2)
A contract was approved by the legislature for the construction of the Fort Maurepas replica on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, September , 1980, p. )
Former Mayor Albert S. Westbrook (1900-1980) expired on October 9th.
In January, Jackson based developer, Mrs. Loris Bridges, began negotiations to acquire Gulf Hills Inn. She acquired majority ownership of the property in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 8, 1981, p. 1 and July 30, 1980, p. 1)
Carter & Mullins Inc. of Columbia, Mississippi commenced construction of the Fort Maurepas replica on the former site of Dr. J.J. Bland’s New Beach Hotel.(The Ocean Springs News, January 22, 1981, p. 1)
King Jerry Wicks and Queen Gini Robinson ruled the Elks Mardi Gras Parade on February 21st.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 5, 1981, p. 12)
In March, the Singing River Mall opened in Gautier.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 1, 1981, p. 1)
Hubert de Germiny, press attache' to the Consul General of France at New Orleans was chosen as Iberville for the Landing ceremony.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1981, p. 1 and April 30, 1981, p. 3)
Dr. James H. Waddell opened an office to treat for the control of chronic pain.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1981, p. 18)
In June, fiscal conservative, Chester McPhearson (1924-2006) was chosen Mayor, as the electorate voted out all incumbents. The Reverend Jesse L. Trotter Sr. became the first black alderman in the city’s eighty-nine years of municipal government.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 4, 1981, p. 1)
In late June, the City aldermen awarded a $126,395 construction contract to Gulf South Construction Company to erect the Alice Street Recreation Center. The City's amended budget for 1981 was $4,410,021.(The Daily Herald, June 24, 1981)
Dr. Lionel N. Eleuterius, GCRL, published Tidal Marsh Plants, a field guide, in August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 27, 1981, p. 7)
In September, the Sea Shores Plaza shopping center with Woolco and Delchamps as anchor stores opened on US 90.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 16, 1981, p. 3, July 16, 1981, p. 3, September 17, 1981, p. 1, and September 23, 1981, p. 3)
The Mississippi Repertory Theater founded in 1978, presented “The Rainmaker” at the JXCO Jr. College. Marco St. John produced and starred in the production.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 24, 1981, p. 10)
In October, Hugh L. Pepper was named athletic director at Ocean Springs High School replacing Tommy Glass. Coach, Pepper had 149 victories and 12 Gulf Coast Conference Championships in his nineteen-year tenure as head football coach. He was replace in January 1982, by Kenny Lyons.(The Ocean Springs News, October 29, 1981, p. 1 and January 14, 1982, p. 1)
The School Board requested a feasibility study for a US Army Jr. ROTC program for the high school.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 15, 1981, p. 1)
In November, Wometco Plastics planned to renovate and equip the former Coca Cola plant, which had moved to its new facility on Highway 57 in the early 1970s. They would manufacture 2 liter disposable, plastic bottles.(The Ocean Springs News, November 5, 1981, p. 1)
Dr. William Pontius of Ocean Springs was elected Chief of Staff of the Biloxi Regional Medical Center in December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1981, p. 3)
Fred Wagner, project architect, announced that Phase I of the Fort Maurepas replica was competed. It represented 20% of the total construction.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1981, p. 1)
CARROLL B. ISHEE
[attorney-building contractor and designer of 'The Ishee House']
Former attorney, home designer and building contractor, Carroll Ishee (1921-1982), expired.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 21, 1982, p. 1)
On March 2nd, one hundred Ocean Springs educators went to Jackson to lobby State legislators for a 15% pay increase.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 18, 1982, p. 1)
In early April, the Gannet Company, agreed to purchase The Ocean Springs Record and eight other journals from the Jackson based Hederman family. Among these were the Hattiesburg American, The Jackson Clarion-Ledger, and The Jackson Daily News.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 8, 1982, p. 1)
Former Mayor, Donald L. “Pat” Connor (1912-1982), expired on April 30th.
The Ocean Springs Greyhounds baseball team beat Meridian 17-12 to win the State Championship.(The Ocean Springs Record, Souvenir Edition of May 27, 1982, p. 3)
In July, the Gulf Hills Development Corporation filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 8, 1982, p. 1)
Pizza Hut began home delivery service in September.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 23, 1982, p. 11)
Benjamin G. Pott (1907-1982), golf professional at Gulf Hills for many years, expired at Gulf Hills on October 23rd. He was playing golf at the time.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 28, 1982, p. 8)
Freddie Weldy, superintendent of the Water Department, was recognized on his 30th anniversary as a city employee.(The Ocean Springs News, November , 1982, p. )
In December, City fathers with the urging of Betty Bradford Milsted (1913-2009) saved the present Senior Citizens building on Washington Avenue from demolition.(The Ocean Springs record, December 9. 1982, p. 1)
Jocelyn’s Restaurant on US 90 opened for business in December.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 8, 1984, p. 6)
A settlement was reached for land claims on Mississippi barrier islands.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 9, 1982, p. 8)
Bob Winans, son of famed Louisiana photographer Fonville Winans (1911-1992), opened a photographic studio at Ocean Springs called "de Fonville", son of Fonville.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 9, 1982, p. 9)
On December 31, 1982, the corporate entity known as the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company was officially merged into the Seaboard System Railroad, ending the L&N's 132-year existence under a single name. The Seaboard System quickly lost its own corporate identity as it and the Chessie System became CSX Transportation in 1986.
State funds for the completion of the Fort Maurepas replica on Front Beach were frozen.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 13, 1983, p. 1)
Brigadier General Leroy J. Stewart (1900-1983) expired at Keesler AFB at Biloxi, Mississippi on January 13th. General L.J. Stewart was known at Ocean Springs for his gardens and landscaping abilities.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 27, 1983, p. 2)
The Elks Mardi Gras Parade was held on February 5th with Queen Charity VIII Caroline F. Davis (1934-2006) and King Fidelity VIII Al Auge ruling the streets of "World of Lil' Abner".
In February, the Gulf Hills Inn was purchased by Windham Properties of Pensacola, Florida. Renamed Royal Gulf Hills.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 17, 1983, p. 1)
Haroll D. Castle of Ocean Springs and Melissa Jaynell Schloegel of Gulfport [now Mrs. Andrew Marion of Ocean Springs] ruled the 57th Biloxi Mardi Gras.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 17, 1983, p. 1)
Henrietta’s Restaurant celebrated its 40th anniversary in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 24, 1983, p. 1)
Ground broken for Inner Harbor Park in March.
The EPA ordered an inspection of all public schools to determine if friable asbestos was utilized in their construction.(The Ocean Springs News, March 17, 1983, p. 1)
John Bell Williams (1918-1983), Governor of Mississippi from 1968-1972, expired at Brandon, Mississippi on March 25th.
The W.R. Colmer Visitor’s Center at the GINS-Davis Bayou Unit was dedicated on April 1st .(The Ocean Springs Record, March 31, 1983, p. 2)
Charles J. Lippian (1916-1997), State Representative from Pascagoula, and Louis Fortenberry, State Senator from Pascagoula, were Iberville and Bienville respectively on April 24th. Mayor Chester McPhearson (1924-2006) was Commandant Sauvolle.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 21, 1983, p. 1)
Dr. John R. Broussard (1925-1983), an Ocean Springs veterinarian, was killed by Jerry L. Davis on May 6, 1983 while attending the Jazz and Heritage Festival at New Orleans. Dr. Broussard and spouse, Betty Broussard, were preparing to camp at a site on the Chef Menteur Highway in east New orleans when robbed by Mr. Davis. Davis was convicted of 1st degree murder and sentenced to life for his crime. His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, February 1, 1984, p. A-1)
In September, the Mississippi Department of Archives and History approved the proposed historic districts of Ocean Springs for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 22, 1983, p. 1)
The Benezue family closed their Fort Bayou Fish Camp operated by Donald J. Benezue due to eminent domain litigation for the construction of a new span across Fort Bayou. They were given $72,500 for their land and buildings.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 20, 1983. p. 1)
Freddie Williams selected to head Ocean Springs Recreation Department.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 20, 1983, p. 14)
Janet Ferson Green, president of PFG Precision Optics, was named Career Woman of the Year by the Business and Professional Women's Club.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 27, 1983, p. 2)
The new St. Martin High School was dedicated on October 23rd. Representative C. Trent Lott was the guest of honor.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 27, 1983, p. 2 and November 17, 1983, p. 13)
The Greyhound football team was winless for the first time in the history of the school. Coach Kenny Lyons resigned after compiling a 1-18 record. Athletic director, Hugh L. Pepper, returned to the helm in 1984.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 17, 1983, p. 1)
Alan Bond, of the Royal Perth Yacht Club, defeated Liberty at Newport, Rhode Island to become the first challenger in 132 years to win the America's Cup.
Mary 'Willie' Willena Nixon (1920-1984), the first local employee of the E.R. Moore Company at Ocean Springs, died in early February. Willie Nixon retired in July 1983 after 33 years with the company as its bookkeeper and office manager. She joined the organization in 1950.(The Daily Herald, February 6, 1984, p. A2 and The Mississippi Press, July 13, 1983)
Nealand H. Ballard (1920-1984)
Nealand 'Neil' H. Ballard (1920-1984), native of Minneapolis, Minnesota and pewter craftsman, died on February 20th. Neil owned The Bugle B at 1110 Government Street. He opened his shop in April 1976.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 1, 1976, p. 10)
Anne Auge and Ralph Dickens ruled the Elks Mardi Gras Parade.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 1, 1984, p. 1)
Dr. Deanne Stephens Nuwer was named 'outstanding history teacher'.(The Mississippi Press, March 15, 1984, p. 9A)
In March, the Oak Cove town homes were built on Fort Bayou by the Richards Joint Venture Company. Maria C. Bargas was the architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 1984, p. 5)
Senator Thad Cochran dedicated the $154,00, Inner Harbor Park built on Kensington and Pine on April 7, 1984.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1984, p. 1)
Colonel (ret.) Stuart Allan Roosa (1933-1994), command module pilot of Apollo 14, was chosen as Ibervillefor the April 1699 Landing held on April 29th. Aubrey Rozzell of the Bureau of Recreation and Parks, Department of Natural resources, was Bienville.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 26, 1984, p. 1.)
Paul Kilpatrick announced that Ocean Lanes, a 24-alley bowling facility, would open in the fall.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 3, 1984, p. 1)
The Senior Citizens Building on Washington Avenue refurbishment commenced in late May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1984, p. 1)
Major General Romulus W. Puryear (1911-1984), native of Hartsville, Tennessee and former Commander of KAFB [retired July 1967] and one of the founders of Metropolitan National Bank, expired at Ocean Springs in mid-June.His corporal remains were interred at Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia. Alice Denning Puryear (1914-2010), his spouse, died on May 8, 2010 at Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, June 18, 1984, p. A2 and The Ocean Springs Record, July 27, 1967, p. 1)
Retired Mississippi Power Company executive and civic leader, Lee E. Jordan (1912-1884), expired on August 13th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 16, 1984, p. 1)
Linda Noble Lee Brokl, principal of East Elementary, was selected as one of the most distinguished elementary school principals in America.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 6, 1984, p. 1)
A 300-acre, industrial park was announced for Ocean Springs on Ms. Highway No. 57. It would later be called the Sunplex.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 13, 1984, p. 1)
In December, Shearwater Pottery founder, Peter Anderson (1901-1984) expired on the 20th. Before his demise, he was the oldest working master potter in the country.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 27, 1984, p. 1)
Jerry St. Pe'
Jerry St. Pe’ was named president of Ingalls Shipbuilding.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 24, 1985, p. 1)
Elmer Williams (1898-1985), one of the founders of the DeJean Packing Company, expired on January 29, 1985.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 31, 1985, p. 6)
Dick Molpus was selected to portray Iberville at the annual 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Daily Herald, March 19, 1985, p. A3)
After years of delay, the Senior Citizens Building on Washington Avenue was ready for use.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 18, 1985, p. 12)
The Ocean Springs High School golf team won its first State Championship in May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 16, 1985, p. 1)
Hurricane Elena struck with fury on September 2nd.(The Ocean Springs News, September 5, 1985, p. 1)
Jocelyn Seymour Mayfield of Joecelyn’s Restaurant was featured on Mississippi ETV in mid-October.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 10, 1985, p. 1)
The First Presbyterian Church commenced their 100th anniversary year on October 19th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 24, 1985, p. 1)
The new $7.73 million Ft. Bayou bridge opened in early November.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 9, 1985, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Record raised the price of a single copy of its journal to $.50.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 2, 1986, p. 1)
Lawrence 'Larry' Simpson Stewart (1950-2013) was named Commodore of the OSYC.(The Sun Herald, April 30, 2013, p. A6)
Robert E. 'Bob' Williams and Toni Rae Catchot Blackmon were King and Queen of the Elks Mardi Grasparade on January 25th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 30th, 1986, p. 1)
Ronald A. Pook (1888-1993), thirty three year resident of Ocean Springs (1950-1993) wrote Murder in Mississippi and Other Stories. Mr. Pook expired at Allentown, Pennsylvania on February 25, 1993.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 13, 1986, p. 2)
Local teens, Eric Zala and Chris Stomolos, remade the movie, “The Raiders of the Lost Ark”, at the Zala home on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 10, 1986, p. 6)
In May, Craig Claiborne, food critic for The New York Times ate at Trilby’s Restaurant.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1987, p. 7)
In June, James Reeves Construction Company of Laurel, Mississippi began work on the Samaritan House on Jackson Avenue..(The Ocean Springs Record, July 3, 1986, p. 1)
In June, Mrs. Alice T. Martin donated some land of the 12.5 acres tract selected on US 90 for a community center.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 12, 1986, p. 1) The JXCO Board of Supervisors pledged to give $400,000 to erect the structure.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 26, 1986, p. 1)
J.J. O’Keefe III (b. 1923) acquired the 1906 O’Keefe family home at 911 Porter from Willie Dale (1899-1990). It had been out of the family for forty-eight years.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 3, 1986, p. 2 and July 10. 1986, p. 2)
Mary Alice Fairbank Miner produced a 60 minute video tape titled 'Water Fun', which in a step-by-step approach demonstrated the techniques that she had used in educating 30,000 youngsters to swim. Mrs. Miner is the author of Dolly Dolphin's Do's and Dont's (1975); Sing a Song of Swimming (1975); Lustige Wasserratten [Funny Water Rats] (1980); and Water Fun (1985). The last two books were publsihed by Prentice Hall.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1986, p. B1)
An attempt to have the Fort Maurepas replica incorporated into the Gulf Islands National Seashore was rejected by the National Park Service.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 28, 1986, p. 1)
Ralph and Betsy Codianne were operating The Old Blue House Restaurant in the Kiernan House on Washington Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 4, 1986, p. 4)
Dr. Sam Levi (1911-1986), a radiologist and native of Winnipeg, Canada, expired on October 8 th.(The Ocean Springs record, October 16, 1986, p. 3)
The annual Ocean Springs Arts Festival sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce was renamed the Peter Anderson Arts Festival.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 16, 1986, p. 1)
On October 29th, the new $724,000 US Post Office opened on US 90. Andrew Samuel Mason (b. 1939) was postmaster.(The Ocean Springs Record, 30, 1986, p. 1)
A 9-foot metal sculpture by Thomas Schomberg, an American artist, was dedicated at the Museum of Sports and Tourism in Warsaw, Poland, to the memory of twenty-two members of the US Amateur Boxing Team and Dr. Ray Wesson, team physician, and spouse, Ann Wesson, of Ocean Springs, who were killed with sixty-three other passengers in the crash of a Polish jet airliner near Warsaw, Poland in March 1980. An identical monument was placed at the US Olympic training center at Colorado Springs, Colorado.(The Ocean Springs News, November 20, 1986, p. 1)
In December, construction commenced on The Doll House of Arthemise Blossman. Located on Bienville Boulevard, the Victorian replica was designed by architect Bruce Tolar.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1986, p. 1)
Clyde 'Buddy' Gunn begin the restoration of the Halstead House on East Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1986, p. 8)
Brad Lemon was appointed to the Harbor Commission.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 18, 1986, p. 2)
On December 31, 1982, the corporate entity known as the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company was officially merged into the Seaboard System Railroad, ending the L&N's 132-year existence under a single name. The Seaboard System quickly lost its own corporate identity as it and the Chessie System became CSX Transportation in 1986.
Mike Henary, King Fidelity XXII and Donna Surwill, Queen Charity XXII, ruled the Elks Mardi Gras parade, which rolled through Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 1987, p. 1)
In April, Peter Toth returned to town to restore “Crooked Feather” which had been toppled by Elena in September 1985.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1987, 2)
Craig Claiborne (1920-2000), food critic for The New York Times, dined at Trilby’s.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1987, p. 7)
Walter Ryan became the first heart transplant recipient from Ocean Springs in June. The Ochsner Foundation Hospital at NOLA performed the operation.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 18, 1987, p. 1)
The Samaritan House and Mrs. Blossman’s Doll House opened in late June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 25, 1987, p. 1 and July 2, 1987, p. 1)
On July 30th, the Trojan Carrie exploded and burned at the Fort Bayou Apartments Marina resulting in the burning deaths of Edward Clohessy (1956-1987), Eleanor Clohessy (1933-1987) and Heidi Clohessy Cottom (1963-1987). Five children were rescued from the burning vessel.(The Ocean Springs Record,September 3, 1930)
In August, the Coca Cola building on US HIGHWAY 90 was sold to PFG Precision Optics.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 27, 1987, p. 1)
Biloxi attorney, Vincent J. Sherry (1929-1987) and Margaret Sherry, (19-1987) his spouse, were murdered at Biloxi on September 14th.(The Sun Herald, September 17, 1987, p. 1)
Blossman Inc. acquired the former US Post Office on Desoto and Jackson and planned to renovate it for their printing operations. Plans were to move into the structure in the springs of 1988.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 15, 1987)
Alice Duckett, Chairperson of the Historic Preservation Commission, announced that the National Trust had accepted two historical districts and 12 individual properties in Ocean Springs to its Register of Historical Places.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 5, 1987, p. 1)
In November, Bausch & Lomb sold its Ferson Optics division to Cambridge Instruments of England.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 12, 1987, p. 1)
The 1909 J.J. O’Keefe home on Porter was opened in early December, after a $1 million dollar restoration. The edifice became the funeral parlor for Bradford-O’Keefe.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 3, 1987, p. 1)
A tree ordinance to protect oak, magnolia, cypress, sycamore, and cedar was passed by the City government in mid-December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1987, p. 1)
St. Elizabeth Seton Catholic Church was dedicated on January 3rd. The $480,000 dollar sanctuary was designed by Gerald Hopkins, Biloxi architect, and erected by Polk Construction Company of Columbia, Mississippi. Father Fannon, founded the parish in 1975. They used a multi-purpose parish hall until the new church was completed. Father Fannon was transfered to Waveland and replaced by Father George Kitchin in March 1988.(The Sun Herald, February 20, 1988)
C. Ernest Schmidt (1904-1988), former Mayor, engineer-inventor, businessman, and local historian expired in January.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 21, 1988, p. 1)
The historic Farmers and Merchants State Bank Building in downtown Ocean Springs will undergo a major exterior restoration. The 75 year old building, built in 1913, which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places, housed the second bank built in Ocean Springs. The structure is architecturally significant because it represents the introduction of Neo-classical formality into a turn-of-century business district of small, simple brick and frame structures.(The Sun Herald March 12,1988 p.E1)
The Reverend George Kitchin was welcomed to St. Elizabeth Seton Catholic Church.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 31, 1988, p. 6)
A pilot program in computer instruction was commenced at Pecan Park Elementary School.(The Ocean Springs News April 14, 1988, p. 1 and May 5, 1988, p. 1)
In May, the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory became a part of USM.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 26, 1988, p. 1)
In August, HOSA (Historic Ocean Springs Association) was organized by local vendors and concerned citizens to revitalize and beautify downtown Ocean Springs. It was incorporated on November 18, 1988 by Bruce B. Tolar, Sharon McQuilken, and Wynn S. Seaman.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 1, 1988, p. 1)
Kay White Casson (1916-1988), local journalist and antiquities dealer who founded the Silver Knight Antiques on Porter Avenue, expired on September 29th. In 1974, Mrs. Casson was a major player in establishing the street fair associated with the Landing of Iberville annual celebration. She was honored on April 25, 1987, when Kay Casson day was proclaimed citywide.(The Ocean Springs News, April 16, 1987 and October 6, 1988, p. 2)
The West Jackson County governmental services complex at 6904 North Washington Avenue was dedicated on November 4th.(The Ocean Springs News, November 10, 1988, p. 1)
Wal-Mart closed a deal to construct a retail store in east Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs record, 17, 1988, p. 1)
The $1.3 million dollar, Civic Center on US 90 was 40% complete in early December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 8, 1988, p. 1)
J.J. O’Keefe III chaired a $1 million dollar fund raising campaign for the Walter Anderson Museum of Art.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 19, 1989, p. 1)
James McConnell Anderson was selected to design a mosaic mural for the new Civic Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 19, 1989, p. 1)
Coors Ceramics of Golden, Colorado acquired Alpha Optical Systems which now had sixty employees.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 26, 1989, p. 1)
In March, Christus Victor, local Lutheran parish, planned for a new parish hall and sanctuary. Bruce Tolar, architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1989, p. 10)
Judge Lawrence C. Corban (1900-1989), native of Fayette, Mississippi and former OS City attorney from 1953-1959, Circuit Court Judge (1939-1953), Jackson County Chancery Court Judge (1959-1975) and outstanding Coast citizen and Mason, expired on April 3rd.
Mike Moore was Iberville, John Snuggs was Bienville, and Ronnie Shows was Sauvolle at the 1699 Landing of Iberville on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs record, April 20, 1989, p. 1 and May 4, 1989, p. 1)
In June, police chief, Kevin V. Alves Sr., became the first Republican mayor of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 22, 1989, p. 1)
The former Marshall Park Bandstand was donated to HOSA by Carl Lizana and Ronnie Hamilton, proprietors of Aunt Jenny’s Restaurant, and removed from the old Bayou Inn property of Dr. H.B. Powell on Fort Bayou to Marshall Park for restoration.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 9, 1989, p. 1 and June 8, 1989, p. 13)
Ocean Springs Civic Center [image made October 6, 2009]
The Ocean Springs Civic Center on Bienville Boulevard was dedicated on June 23rd. A surprise retirement party was given for Mayor Chester McPhearson. The gala opening was held on July 28-29. (The Ocean Springs Record, June 29, 1989, p. 1 and July 27, 1989, p. 1)
Walter Anderson’s “The Magic Carpet and other tales” was broadcast statewide by Mississippi ETV on September 7th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 24, 1989, p. 1)
Historic Preservation Ordinance passed in September.
Democrat Gene Taylor, successful candidate for the 5th District seat in Congress, received 69% of the Ocean Springs vote on October 17th.
Carolyn Frayser became the first woman municipal police chief in Mississippi when she replaced mayor elect, Kevin Alves, in late October.(The Ocean Springs Record, 26, 1989, p. 1)
Wal-Mart under construction, 90,899 sq. ft. structure, built by Tilley Construction of Gulfport. Wal-Martopened on October 31st.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 16, 1989, p. 14 and The Ocean Springs Record, October 26, 1989, p. 1)
Sav-A-Center Supermarket planned for Parkside Square Shopping Center in east Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 9, 1989, p. 1)
A new Veterans Memorial was dedicated on November 11, 1989 at the Ocean Springs Civic Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 16, 1989, p. 1)
In December, the loss of the Swingster Company to another city was avoided when Mayor Alves and other civic leaders resolved differences with the Reverend Jesse Trotter and the Concerned Citizens Committee. The Trotter group opposed a zoning change, which would have allowed expansion for Swingster and Alpha Optical Systems into a residential area. In exchange for desisting litigation, the Mayor and Board of Aldermen agreed to recommend that the companies hire additional minority workers; rename Vermont Avenue Park and a section of Vermont Avenue in memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. (1929-1968); and clean certain city right of ways.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 9, 1989, p. 1 and December 7, 1989, p. 1)
In mid-December, James M. Owens was found guilty of possessing destructive devises. OS Police and Federal ATF agents found a pipe bomb in his apartment at El Madrid on Front Beach and five bombs in the trunk of his car.(The Sun Herald, December 14, 1989)
Richard A. Waters (1908-1989) former owner of Gulf Hills expired in California on December 16, 1989.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 11, 1990, p. 3)
The 1990s saw the balance of economic and military power on the planet shift dramatically to the United States. By 1992, The Cold War with the Soviet Union abated as that nation approached a more democratic form of government with the free election of Boris N. Yeltsin, as the first president, of the Russian Republic in 1991. With the dissolution of the Warsaw Pact military alliance, the Iron Curtain in Eastern Europe was lowered. In addition, the Baltic Republics, the Ukraine, and other former Soviet puppet states became independent. The Yugoslavian Federation shattered in January 1992.
During this decade, America took on the role of global moral enforcer, particularly after Iraq invaded Kuwait in August of 1990. This transgression precipitated the Persian Gulf War, which ended in April 1991. In an offensive campaign called Desert Storm, the US and its allies drove the Iraqi forces of Saddam Hussein out of Kuwait in only one hundred hours of combined combat. Included among the 532,000 US forces in the Gulf War were the men of the Mississippi National Guard’s 1355th Quartermaster unit based at Ocean Springs. The group was recognized for its meritorious service during the campaign, and two members, John McKay and Randal Turner, were awarded the Bronze Star. Other American military forces were sent to quell domestic turmoil in Panama, Haiti, Somalia, and the former Yugoslavian states of Bosnia-Herzegovinia and Kosovo. There was an aberration in this foreign policy as genocide in several southern African nations was ignored.
Domestically, in 1992 the Nation elected a Democrat president, W.J. Clinton, who by 1995, had to deal with a Republican majority in congress. America discovered how vulnerable it was to domestic terrorist attacks with the World Trade Center bombing in 1993, and the total destruction of the A.P. Murrah Federal Building at Oklahoma City in 1995. The Judge Clarence Thomas Supreme Court hearings, Clinton-Lewinsky capers and subsequent impeachment, Simpson-Goldman murder trial, and tobacco settlements kept TV ratings competitive with the soap operas.
During this decade Ocean Springs experienced an exponential period of growth associated with gambling and industrial activities at Biloxi and east Jackson County. Commercial and residential construction was in the hundreds of millions of dollars. The commercial district in Old Ocean Springs saw a revival commencing in 1991, with the erection of Centennial Square east of the L&N Depot and the restoration of the L&N Depot in 1997. Government Street was also the scene of a renaissance as the Richard Furr family completed Magnolia Square, a professional office complex in 1994. This was followed closely by their refurbishment of the Young-Shanteau Garage, called Palmetto Place (1995), and the old Steelman Grocery (1997). The Little Children’s Park was refurbished with new playground equipment (1997), a walking bridge (1997), and pavilion (1998). The golden glow in the city’s construction palette was the Walter Anderson Museum of Art on Washington Avenue in 1990. It increased tourism and complimented the Shearwater Pottery after its opening in May 1991. Other notable architectural improvements in the city were the 1996 Middle School on Handshaw Road, the addition of the new Presbyterian Church on Ocean Avenue in 1995, and the July 1999 completion of the Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church on Weed Avenue.
The city also witnessed a culinary explosion during the decade. Mike Salvetti, a gregarious Italian-American from Syracuse, rolled the dice and successfully brought fine dining to lower Washington Avenue, which complimented the in place Martha’s Tearoom, an upscale luncheon. Among the other new comers in the local restaurant business this decade were: Anthony’s Under the Oaks, Le Croissant, China Wok, China Garden, El Saltillo, Bay View Gourmet, Fishermen’s Wharf, Catch of the Day, Que Pasa, The Porter House, Lagniappe, La Palmita, Cornerstone Deli, and Phoenicia. Does anyone remember when Aunt Jenny’s, BB’s, Germaine’s, Henrietta’s, Jocelyn’s, Pleasant’s BBQ, and Troy’s Steakhouse were our only local restaurants?
Population of Ocean Springs 14650 people [13327 white and 907 black].(The Sun Herald, March 9, 2001, p. A10)
In January, Wayne Weidie, editor-publisher, left The Ocean Springs Record to join the staff of Representative Gene Taylor in Washington D.C. James Ricketts came on board as publisher and editor in March.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 4, 1990, p. 1 and March 29, 1990, p. 1)
Joshua Joseph retired from the Ocean Springs Police Reserves after 20 years of service.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1990)
Oliver Bass of Moss Point, Mississippi was hired as the first director of community development and planning for the City of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1990, p. 1 and January 25, 1990, p. 1)
The restoration of the OS High School murals of Walter Anderson commenced.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1990, p. 9)
H.L. Robertson and Pat Harrington ruled the Elks Parade Mardi Gras with Arnold Blackmon as Grand Marshal of the parade.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 1, 1990, p. 1)
Mayor Alves had the water tower on Washington Avenue painted royal blue.(The Sun Herald, February 10, 1990, p. C3)
Dr. Dewey L. Herring of Columbia, Mississippi was named the new Ocean Springs Public School Superintendent replacing the retiring Allen Curry.(The Sun Herald, February 14, 1990, p. C2 and The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1990, p. 1)
Longtime philanthropist and businessman, E.W. “Woody” Blossman (1913-1990) expired on February 26th at NOLA.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 1, 1990, p. 1)
A Walter Anderson exhibit was shown at Perkinston Jr. College.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 1990, p. 2)
James R. Ricketts, Gulf Coast bureau chief for The Clarion Ledger was named editor-publisher of The Ocean Springs Record.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 29, 1990, p. 1)
The new Christus Victor Lutheran Church on Bienville Boulevard was dedicated on April 8th. It was designed by architect Bruce Tolar and erected by McClendon Building Service for $468,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 5,, 1990, p. 1)
Ground was broken for the Walter Anderson Museum of Art (WAMA) in early April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1990, p. 1)
U.S. Senator Thad Cochran (Rep.-Ms) was Iberville and Joe Martin was Bienville at the annual landing commemoration held on April 29th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 19, 1990, p. 1 and May 3, 1990, p. 1)
The City contemplated leasing Fort Maurepas.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 17, 1990, p. 1)
The Marianite Sisters of the Holy Cross left St. Alphonsus and Ocean Springs for Bangalore, India.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1990, p. 1 and p. 11)
Allen Curry, OS School Superintendent, retired after nineteen years.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 31, 1990, p. 1)
Robert L. McGhee (1939-1990), a National Park Service ranger, was killed by two jail escapees from Floridaat the Gulf Islands National Seashore-Davis Bayou Unit.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 31, 1990, p. 1)
St. Martin Community Center and Public Library were dedicated on May 27th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1990, p. 8)
In July, Ocean Springs was accepted into the Main Street program.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 5, 1990, p. 1 )
The Ocean Springs Record celebrated its 25th anniversary in early August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 9 , 1990, pp. 10-11 )
In October, city government passed amended 9-1989 Historic Preservation Ordinance.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 31, 1991, p. 1)
On December 4th, 62% of the citizens of Jackson County who voted in a countywide referendum were against dockside gambling.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 6, 1990, p. 1)
East Elementary was renamed Oak Park by the Ocean Springs School Board.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 1, 1991, p. 1)
Myrtle Keys (1922-2005) closed her dry cleaning establishment on Cash Alley, but remained to accommodate clients for clothes alterations.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 22, 1990, p. 1)
In December, James M. Owens was found guilty of possessing destructive devises. OS Police and Federal ATF agents found a pipe bomb in his apartment at El Madrid on Front Beach on December 14, 1989 and five bombs in the trunk of his car.(The Sun Herald, December 1, 1990)
Concerned citizens protested the removal of the clock from the Ocean Springs State Bank Building. It was to be placed on the Hancock Bank Building across the street.(The Ocean Springs News, December 13, 1990, p. 1)
The 1355th Mississippi National Guard unit at Ocean Springs a Service and Support Company departed Fort Benning, Georgia for Saudi Arabia to participate in The Gulf War and Operation Desert Storm. They were bivouacked in Saudi Arabia for seven months.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 10, 1991, p. 1 and December 26, 1991, p. 1)
The Library Board recommended that the 1927 Public School be refurbished as the new municipal library.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 10, 1991, p. 1)
The Elks Mardi Gras parade rolled on January 19th with King Fidelity XVI Chuck Kiesling and Marge Ferguson, as his Queen.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 10, 1991, p. 6)
Vermont Street between US Higway 90 and Government Street was renamed ‘Martin Luther King’ on January 13th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 17, 1991, p. 1)
The Library Board recommended that the 1927 Public School be refurbished as the new municipal library.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 10, 1991, p. 1)
The Reverend Jesse Trotter (1925-2010) dedicated on January 13,1991, that portion of the former Vermont Avenue between US Highway 90 (Bienville Boulevard) and Government Street as M.L. King Boulevard.(The Sun Herald, January 17, 1991)
Chris Poss, ten year employee, four as managing editor of The Ocean Springs Record, and creator of ‘Trifles’retired in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 21, 1991, p. 4)
Johnny Revolta (1911-1991), former winter golf teaching professional at Gulf Hills and Edgewater Gulf, expired on March 3rd at Palm Springs, California.
Curbside recycling commenced in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 4 , 1991, p. 1)
The $1.3 million dollar, Walter Anderson Museum of Art (WAMA) opened on May 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 9, 1991, p. 1)
Margaret Miller was named executive director of the Chamber of Commerce after Nancy Loper Martinresigned.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 25, 1991, p. 1 and May 23, 1991, p. 1)
In a bloodless coup, the City of Ocean Springs took possession of the Fort Maurepas replica from the State of Mississippi in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 25, 1991, p. 1)
The 1355th Quartermaster Company returned from the Persian Gulf War. These veterans of Desert Storm were honored with a parade on August 17th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 15, p. 1 and August 22, 1991, p. 1)
Agnes “Sissy” G. Anderson (1909-1991), spouse of Bob Anderson, and author of Approaching the Magic Hour (1989), expired on August 14th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 22, 1991, p. 1)
The Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church celebrated its 100th anniversary in November.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 21, 1991, p. 1)
Governor elect, Daniel Kirkwood 'Kirk' Fordice Jr. (1934-2004) began his first term on January 14th.
In March, Don Hinton replaced Hugh L. Pepper as athletic director and head football coach at Ocean Springs High School. In his 29 years at the high school with 27 years as head coach, Coach Pepper’s gridsters compiled a record of 189 wins, 81 losses, and 3 ties. Twelve Gulf Coast Championships were also won.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 14, 1992, p. 11)
Henrietta Savage, proprietor of Henrietta’s Restaurant, was honored by loyal patrons with a downtown parade and reception at the Community Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 2, 1992, p. 1)
Clarence Hamilton (1902-1992) was Iberville and Clarence Hamilton II, Bienville, for the 1699 Landing on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1992, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Education Foundation was approved by the School Board in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 11, 1992, p. 1)
Charter member meeting of the Fort Maurepas Society held on July 8, 1992.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 2, 1992, p. 2)
On August 1st, dockside gambling commenced at Biloxi when two riverboat casinos from Iowa, the Diamond Lady and the Emerald Lady, opened for business as The Isle of Capri Casino.(The Biloxi-d’Iberville Press, July 22, 1992, p. 1 and The Sun Herald, July 29, 2007, p. G1)
On September 9th, Ocean Springs celebrated its 100th year of incorporation. Steve Robinson did an outstanding job in chairing the Centennial Commission.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 10, 1992, p. 1)
In October, aldermen agreed to expand the municipal library rather than renovate the 1927 Public School on Government.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 8, 1992, p. 1)
W.J. "Bill" Clinton lost the “presidential election” at Tato-Nut to George Bush 110 votes to 52 votes. Does this indicate that eating Tato-Nuts improves ones political IQ? Maybe they should be shipped to Washington D.C. daily!(The Ocean Springs Record, November 5, 1992, p. 1)
Bill and Rosemary McWhirter acquired the Ocean Springs airport.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1992, p. 1 )
Cosco Inc. completes Centennial Square, a retail and office complex, east of the L&N Depot. Ground was broken in March 1991.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 7, 1991, p. 2)
The St. John’s Episcopal Church on Rayburn Avenue was erected one hundred years ago.
Hugo J. Rungo (1909-1993) founder of Hugo's, the Coast's first pizza parlor, at Biloxi expired on the 9th.
Mart Calhoun and Robby Taylor ruled the Elks Parade Mardi Gras with Charles E. Duffie as Grand Marshal of the parade.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 11, 1993, p. 1)
George W. Cook became postmaster in early March.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 4, 1993, p. 1)
Commander Larry Kryske and David Fausnaugh were Iberville and Bienville respectively at the 1699 Landing Celebration in late April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1993, p. 1)
“Sous Les Chenes”, a column devoted to local history and culture, commenced in the Ocean Springs Record on May 13th.
The first all Republican Board of Aldermen and Mayor in the history of Ocean Springs took their municipal offices on July 1st.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1993, p. 1)
Jackson County Archives opened on July 6th with Betty Clark Rogers and Lois Castigliola as archivists.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 26, 1996, p. 23)
Oak Shade, Ocean Springs, first bed and breakfast opened by Chris Vinsonhaler and Marian Wingo on LaFontaine and Dewey.(The Mississippi Press, August 1, 1993, p. B-1 and The Sun Herald, October 2, 1993, p. 1)
The Reverend Paul Aultman (1930-1993) charismatic leader of the First Baptist of Ocean Springs expired on September 3, 1993.(The Ocean Springs News, September 9, 1993, p. 6 and September 23, 1993, p. 1)
Wood-blasted landmark signs posted around Ocean Springs. Made by Millie McGinty Lipps.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1993, p. 8)
Members and supporters of The Gay and Lesbian Task Force paraded through downtown Ocean Springs on September 18, 1993. The Old Fort Bayou Bridge mysteriously malfunctioned prohibiting many marchers from joining the public display.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1993, p. 1 September 16, 1993, p. 1 and September 23, 1993, p. 1)
In September, a landscape ordinance was approved by the city government.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 23, 1993, p. 1)
Glenn Miller painted a mural on the “Who-Zat” Fishing Camp on Washington Avenue, north of Old Fort Bayou.(The Sun Herald, October 28, 1993, p. D-1)
In December, Ocean Springs annexed 2.4 square miles and 600 unhappy people on the northeast perimeter of the city.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 9, 1993, p. 1)
Old home on Dewey which had house “Main Street” was demolished for more library parking.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1993)
Two Ocean Springs police officers reported seeing an UFO hovering over the US Highway 90 and Vermont [Martin Luther King Jr.] intersection on the eve of October 16th. Other UFO sightings were reported to police in Biloxi.(The Sun Herald, October 17, 1973, p. 2)
Clarence L. Williams (1911-1993), former Police Chief, expired on October 24th.(The Sun Herald, October 26, 1993, p. A2)
A new bridge spanning Davis Bayou was completed in November. Cost $180,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, November , 1993, p. )
Ethelyn S. Connor, our “Tree Lady”, received the Mississippi Urban and Community Forestry award in late December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 30, 1993, p. 9)
Chuck Ferguson was King Fidelity and Diana Hill, Queen Charity of the Elks Parade "By the Sea" held on January 29th. H.L. Robertson was Grand Marshal.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 27, 1994, p. 1 and p. 7)
The municipal library on Dewey Avenue was closed on February 14th , for an $835,000 expansion. It reopened in the former O’Keefe Funeral Parlor, temporary quarters, on Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 10, 1994, p. 3)
Moo-licious, an ice cream parlor, moved from Washington Avenue to Thorn Avenue.(The Sun Herald, February 19,1994)
Frank Bertucci and Lorrie Catherine Blossman
Lorrie Catherine Blossman (b. 1971) and Frank D. Bertucci ruled the Gulf Coast Carnival Association at Biloxi.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 24, 1994, p. 10)
New Heron Bayou Bridge opened in March. Cost $106,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 17, 1994, p. 1)
Ray L. Bellande named “Historian of the Year” for Ocean Springs.(The Mississippi Press, April 3, 1994)
1699 Landing-April 1994 [L-R: Carroll Clifford, Iberville and Kevin Alves, Bienville]
Supervisor Beat Five Carroll Clifford, Iberville, and Mayor Kevin Alves, Bienville, at the 1699 Landing Commemoration in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 14, 1994, p. 1)
Thomas McIlwain, Director GCRL, announced his retirement in June. Twenty-nine years at GCRL and director since 1989.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 30, 1994, p. 1 and September 22, 1994, p. 1)
Glenn Miller painted a mural on the Bayou Sporting Goods building on Bienville Boulevard.(The Sun Herald, July 23, 1994).
The Seaman’s Memorial on Front Beach was dedicated on September 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 8, 1994, p. 1 and The Mississippi Press, September 5, 1994, p. 1 and p. 8)
In September, voters approved a $9.95 million dollar bond issue to expand and repair existing school facilities.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 1, 1994, p. 1)
Michel and Mike Hale of The Secret Garden Nursery were the first winners of what has become an annual October event, The Scarecrow Decorating Contest, for commercial enterprises. It is sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce and judged by noted horticulturist, Felder Rushing of Jackson.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 20, 1994, p. 1)
WOSM radio station recognized as the No. 2 Gospel radio station in the South.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 1, 1994, p. 1)
In mid-January, Marby Penton (1923-1995), local attorney and State representative from 1964-1976, expired.(The Sun Herald, January 13, 1995, p. B-2)
King Fidelity Jack Willse and Queen Charity Kennon Robertson ruled the Elks Mardi Gras parade on February 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record February 9, 1995, p. 1)
In February, the City borrowed $650,000 to alleviate immediate city-wide drainage problems estimated to be cost in excess of $6 million dollars.(The Ocean Springs Record February 9, 1995, p. 1)
Stanley Partridge, Principal OSHS, announced his retirement.(The Ocean Springs Record February 16, 1995, p. 1)
In March, the School Board awarded a $497,000 contract to Starks Construction Company to renovate the Taconi and Pecan Park schools.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1995, p. 1)
Governor Daniel Kirkwood 'Kirk' Fordice Jr. (1934-2004) and State Representative Alvin Endt were Iberville and Bienville at the 1699 Landing on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 20, 1995, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Public Library, situated on Dewey Avenue, reopened for public use with its refurbished and expanded space in early May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 11, 1995, p. 1)
In May, Henrietta’s Café on Government Street closed its doors after fifty-two years of being in the food service business.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 25, 19995, p. 1)
On May 28th, the McLeod Lodge F&AM No. 424 celebrated its 100th anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 1, 1995, p. 1)
Joe Batson celebrated his 40th year with Hancock Bank.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 8, 1995, p. 5)
[Donated to the City by CSX for a railroad museum, but never utilized. Remained in the City Hall parking lot on Dewey Avenue until moved to Davidson Park near 'Crooked Feather' in May 2001. Image by Ray L. Bellande]
David Sullivan named new principal at OSHS.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 8, 1995, p. 1)
James Allen Sadler (1936-1995), local attorney, passed on July 31, 1995.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 3, 1995, p. 1)
On August 20th, the First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs dedicated its new sanctuary on Ocean Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 17, 1995, p. 3 and The Mississippi Press, August 18-19-1995)
The Reverend Merlin F. Usner (1902-1995), native of NOLA and pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs from 1962-1971, died at Katy, Harris County, Texas on September 20th.(SSDI)
Businessman and civic leader, John Duncan Moran (1925-1995), expired on August 26th.(The Sun Herald, August 27, 1995, p. B-2)
Taconi Gymnasium refurbishment completed in September for $34,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 21, 1995, p. 1)
Shannon Suarez, Biloxi native and former football coach at OSHS, was inducted into the Louisiana High School Athletics Assoc. Coaches Hall of Fame in early January. He was head coach at Sulphur High School from 1966-1983 and compiled a record of 144-47-4 while guiding the Golden Tors.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 14, 1995, p. 15)
Elks Mardi Gras parade 'Arabian Nights", led by King Chuck Tobias and Queen Lin Calhoun.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1996, p. 1 and February 1, 1996, p. 20)
In February, the 1355th Quartermaster National Guard unit was deactivated and members integrated into the 155th Armored unit.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 29, 1996, pp. 1-3)
In March, Mayor Alves’s white elephant, “the little caboose that no one wanted”, was exiled to the parking lot east of City Hall.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 28, 1996, p. 1)
1699 Landing of Iberville on Front Beach with U.S. Representative Gene Taylor, as Iberville and Walter Brown, radio personality, as Bienville.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 28, 1996, p. 1)
$4 million dollar emergency medicine complex opened at the Ocean Springs Hospital in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 18, 1996, p. 3)
Dr. Claude W. Ball DDS died on June 10th.(The Sun Herald, June 12, 1996, p. A2)
On July 7th, Gautier, Mississippi celebrated its 10th Anniversary as an incorporated town.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 4, 1996, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Middle School opened on Handshaw Road in August.(The Ocean Springs Record, , 1996, p. )
The O’Keefe Foundation, a philanthropic association created by J.J. O’Keefe III, was commenced in August.(Susan O’Keefe Snyder)
American Legion-Jaycee Hut on Iberville Drive was demolished on September 17, 1996.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 19, 1996, p. 3)
The reconfiguration of Le Moyne Boulevard in St. Martin to five lanes was completed in November 1996.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints broke ground on Big Ridge Road in November.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 28, 1996, p. 3)
In December, the L&N Depot restoration contract was awarded to J.O. Collins Contractors of Biloxi. C. Germany Architects of Ocean Springs were consultants on the project.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 5, 1996, p. 12)
The Ocean Springs Rotary Club sponsored a book by Elizabeth L. Roberts and J.K. Lemon, Ocean Springs: The Way We Were 1900-1950, a history of Ocean Springs as told through postal cards.
Dan Schroeder, King Fidelity XXII, and Raylene Reynolds, Queen Charity XXII, ruled the Elks Mardi Grasparade on January 18th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 23, p. 9)
In January, HOSA funded the construction of a wooden bridge designed by Henry Moore for Little Children Park. It was built by McPhearson Construction Company and dedicated in March)(The Mississippi Press, January 13, 1997, p. 8-A, The Ocean Springs Record, January , p. and March 20 , 1997, p. 1)
Construction of the controversial Indian Head Motel at Davidson Park on US 90 began in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 13, 1997, p. 1)
The $4.2 million dollar Women and Childrens’ Floor was dedicated at Ocean Springs Hospital.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 20,1997)
John F. Vallor Jr. portrayed Iberville and Johnny Beck was Bienville at the 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Ocean Springs record, April 24, 1997, p. 1)
Mississippi Vietnam Memorial
[images by Ray L. Bellande on May 31, 1997 and interior on October 2009]
The Mississippi Vietnam Memorial was dedicated on May 31st. Designed by Farrol D. Holloman and Mark S. Vaughn of Jackson and erected by GMR Construction Co., Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 5, 1997, p. 1)
The New Hope Center, a partnership between the YMCA and the O’Keefe Foundation, was commenced to help integrate handicapped and non-handicapped children in the fields of scouting and athletic activities.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 7, 1997, p. 1)
Civic and cultural leader, Dolores “Bobby” Davidson Smith (1916-1997) expired on September 6, 1997.(The Sun Herald, September 9, 1997, and The Ocean Springs Record, September 11, 1997, p. 5)
The Gulf Coast Research Laboratory celebrated its 50th birthday on October 5th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 2, 1997 and October 9,1997, p. 1)
The Mississippi Department of Health issued fines in November to the Gulf Park Water Company in the amount of $2.1 million dollars for non-compliance of its order to upgrade their potable water system.(The Ocean Springs Record, November , 1997, p. )
Marine archaeologists surveyed the wreck of 17th or 18th Century vessel in the shallow water of Biloxi Bay, north of the CSX RR bridge.(The Ocean Springs Record, November , 1997, p. )
Professor W. Lamar Herd (1922-1998), former teacher and principal of the Elizabeth Keys Colored School, expired at Jackson, Mississippi, on January 25, 1998.(SS death index)
Janet Ferson Green retired from PFG Optics.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 23, 1998, p. 3)
The Elks Mardi Gras parade was led by King Steve Barbknecht and Queen Mary Thurbo with the theme'Best of the West'.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 7, 1998)
Robert and Virginia Myer of Gulf Hills donated $100,000 to the Historic Ocean Springs Association(HOSA). The investment earnings from this endowment are presented to a person or business in the community that has made significant aesthetic improvements to their property or business. The Porter House, a restaurant at 604 Porter, was the initial Meyer award winner. It was owned by E. Stephen "Jake" Jacobs and Janet Cole Jacobs.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 5, 1998, p. 1)
The Mississippi Historical Society selected Dr. John Ray Skates, Professor Emeritus of the University of Southern Mississippi, as its 1998 recipient of the Dunbar Rowland Award for his life long contribution to Mississippi's history.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 19, 1998, p. 14)
James McConnell Anderson (1907-1998), last of the artistic Anderson Brothers of the Shearwater Pottery, passed on April 3rd.(The Sun Herald, April 6, 1998, p. A-7)
Lt. Governor Ronnie Musgrove was Iberville and Pete Pope, Jackson County Sheriff was Bienville at the annual 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1998, p. 1)
Annette Saxon O'Keefe (1924-1998), wife of J.J. O'Keefe III (b. 1923), native of Augusta, Georgia, anoutstanding pianist and 1942 valedictorian and honor graduate of OSHS, mother of thirteen children, civic leader, supporter of the arts, and philanthropist, died on May 16, 1998.(The Sun Herald, May 18, 1998, p. A7 and The History of Jackson Co., Mississippi 1989, pp. 303)
Mike Ezell named new Police Chief in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 23, 1998, p. 1)
In July, local financial consultant, Douglas Gulley was indicted on thirty-five counts of embezzlement for allegedly taking $3.3 million dollars from his investors.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 16, 1998, p. 1)
In August, Lynn Presley, former Chancery Clerk of Jackson County, was incarcerated for ten years for mishandling public funds. Presley was released in the summer of 2006.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 20, 1998, p. 1)
Waning hours of Hurricane Georges on Front Beach Drive
The eye of Hurricane Georges, a category one tempest, passed over Ocean Springs on September 29th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 1, 1998, p. 1)
Entrepreneur, civic leader, and historian, James K. Lemon (1914-1998), “Mr. Ocean Springs”, expired in early October.(The Sun Herald, October 6, 1998, p. A-9)
The Mississippi Heritage Trust named the 1927 Ocean Springs Public School to its list of the ten most endangered historical buildings in Mississippi.(The Mississippi Press, November 29, 1998, p. 8-A)
Brother Jerome Lepre (1927-1998), Gulf Coast genealogist, author and historian, expired at NOLA on September 19, 1998. He was named a Fullbright Scholar in May 1968 to the Univeristy of Sophia at Tokyo, Japan.(The Daily Herald, May 13, 1968, p. 5)
Marine biologist and former director of the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, Dr. Gordon P. Gunter (1909-1998), expired on December 19th. The ‘Relentless’, a former Naval submarine hunter, now a research vessel owned by NOAA, was renamed ‘NOAA Gordon Gunter [R336]’ and commissioned August 28, 1998.(The Sun Herald, December 20, 1998, p. A-17 and The Ocean Springs Record, September 3, 1998, p. 1)
The Board of Aldermen approved the purchase of 123-acres of land in east Ocean Springs for a recreation complex. Cost $370,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 5, 1998, p. 1)
J.O. Collins Contractors of Biloxi were awarded a $571,000 contract to erect the Alternative School on Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1998, p. 1)
Mark Hare was appointed Fire Chief.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 28, 1999, p. 1)
King Fidelity XXIV, Donald Smith, ruled the Elks Parade with his Queen, Cheryl Noble. Gene Taylor, U.S. Representative was Grand Marshall.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 28, 1999, p. 1)
In February, James and Cindy Ricketts left The Ocean Springs Record, to manage The Jackson County Floridian at Marianna, Florida.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 4, 1999, p. 1)
In February Christopher I. Stebly was awarded a grant to paint a large mural on the corner of Washington Avenue and Bowen.(The Sun Herald, February 24, 1999, p. A-7)
William Cecil Guyton (1927-1999), dentist and humanitarian, expired on February 27th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 4, 1999, p. 1)
Friends of the M.C. O’Keefe Cultural Center formed to preserve the1927 Ocean Springs Public School on Government Street.
Gloria S. Moran (1924-1999), Gulf Coast genealogist, French Colonial historian, and longtime supporter of the Fort Maurepas replica, expired on April 3rd.(The Sun Herald, April 6, 1999, p. A-5 and April 7, 1999, p. A-9)
Graham Somerville, Chevron refinery manager, portrayed Iberville and Jeff Lawson, WLOX TV anchorman, was Bienville at the 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 22, 1999, p. 1)
Friends of the Sandhill Crane refuge was organized in May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 20, 1999, p. 2)
Site preparation for a Super Wal-Mart on US 90, commenced in June. (Observation)
The Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church held services in its new sanctuary on July 18, 1999. Formal dedication of the sanctuary occurred on August 15, 1999.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 22, 1999, p. 1)
Population of Ocean Springs 17225 people [15113 white and 1211 black].(The Sun Herald, March 9, 2001, p. A10)
Ronald Musgrove (b. 1957), Democrat, was declared Governor of Mississippi on January 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 6, 2000, p. 1)
The Art House, a co-op of local artists commenced in a house on Cash Alley on January 11th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 14, 2010, p. 3)
William Ackert and Lois Barbknecht were King Fidelity and Queen Charity of the Elks Mardi Gras parade on February 12th.(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, February 17, 2000, p. 1)
Jacob 'Jake' Valentine (1917-2000), "father of the Mississippi Sandhill Crane Refuge" expired at Lafayette, Louisiana on February 4, 2000.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 17, 2000, p. 9)
Super Wal-Mart opened on US Highway 90.
Southern Traditions, an upscale restaurant opened on Washington Avenue.
Germaine's Restaurant, formerly Trilby's on Bienville Boulevard, and owned by Jack and Jane Dees Gottsche celebrated its 10th anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, March 2, 2000, p. 5)
In March, Gilda Marie Seymour Catchot was named Mrs. Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, March 16, 2000, p. 1)
Jeff Hugh O'Keefe was Iberville at the 1699 Landing Celebration..(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, April 27, 2000, p. 1)
"New Crooked Feather" [L-R: May 2000 and May 2001. Images by Ray L. Bellande]
Peter Wolf Toth’s 1976 “Crooked Feather” was replaced for $20,000 by local sculpture, Thomas King.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, April 4, 2000, p. 1 and June 22, 2000, p. 1)
Ocean Springs Lumber Company celebrated its 75th Anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, May 4, 2000, p. 1)
Police Chief Mike Ezell resigned in April.(The Mississippi Press, April 23, 2000 and April 28, 2000)
Kerry Belk named Chief of the OSPD.
Walter Anderson's Community Center Murals were insured for $8 million dollars by the City of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, September 28, 2000, p. 1)
The USS Cole returned to Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula where she was built for repairs following the terrorist's attacked at Aden, Yemen on October 12th.
Donovan Scruggs began his tenure as Community Development and City Planner on July 17th.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, August 31, 2000, p. 1)
Shell Landing, a Davis Love III, designed golf course opened in November at Gautier.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 28, 2000 p. 1)
Acadian Ambulance replaced American Medical Response after twenty six years as local ambulance operator.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, November 16, 2000, p. 1)
Arthemise Alsina Blossman (1914-2000), widow of E.W. 'Woody' Blossman (1913-1990), expired on December 6th.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, December 14, 2000, p. 1)
The USS Cole returned to Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula on December 13th for repairs following the Muslim terrorist's attack at Aden, Yemen on October 12th. USS Cole had been built at Ingalls.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, December 21, 2000, p. 1)
Ocean Springs, Mississippi - 21st Century (2001 - 2023+)Ocean Springs, Mississippi - 21st Century (2001 - 2023+) ray Wed, 04/21/2010 - 13:57
The Reverend Howard B. Kishpaugh (1926-2001), former rector of St. John's Episcopal Church, expired on January 11th at Hershey, Pennsylvania.
The O’Keefe Foundation’s New Hope Center on Government Street was named as “The Facility of the Year” by the Mississippi Recreation and Parks Association. This organization works within the local school and community recreation programs to ensure the full inclusion of individuals with disabilities and to promote disability awareness.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 25, 2001, p. 6)
The Elks Mardi Gras Parade was ruled by King and Queen Marge Holmes Gum (1947-2013) .(The Ocean Springs Record, 2001, p. A and The Sun Herald, February 17, 2013, p. A13)
The Ocean Springs Carnival Association held its annual Mardi Gras night parade on February 8, 2013. The theme was Red, White and Blue. (The Sun Herald, February 9, 2013, p. A3)
William Paul Shelton (1910-2001), local jeweler, who opened his first store at Biloxi in 1945 and Ocean Springs in 1972 expired on February 16, 2001.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 1, 2001, p. 3)
James David Sullivan (b. 1945) , principal of OS High School, announced his resignation effected June 30th. He came to OS in 1995, as principal. Eventually replaced by Robert Hirsch.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 2001, p. 1)
E.R. Moore Company, now American Identity, plans to close at the end of the year.(still open in 2004!)
The Manhattan Grill and Steakhouse opened on Washington Avenue.
Big year for the medical industry of Ocean Springs as medical offices for Dr. Zayed, cardiologist and Dr. Franklin Rawls, Gulf Coast Eye Center, under construction on US 90, Carl Germany, AIA. Also new Endoscopy Center Building west of the original structure for Dr. McNair and the Ocean Springs Hospital Endoscopy and outpatient surgery clinic east of hospital near walking track.
US 90-Bienville Blvd. lane widening project between M.L. King-Vermont to Washington Avenue commenced in the spring.
[L-R: original donated CSX Caboose June 1996; moving day on Porter Avenue and relocation at Davidson Park in May 2001. Images by Ray L. Bellande]
The Red Caboose, which was YELLOW, when donated to the City by the CSX Railroad in June 1995, was placed in the City Hall parking lot on Dewey Avenue. It was moved in May 2001 from Dewey Avenue to Davidson Park near 'Crooked Feather' on Bienville Boulevard.
Municipal elections held in June. Seren Ainsworth wins mayoral race in a landslide.
Cingular Wireless comes to town. Will utilize old Wal-Mart building on Bienville Boulevard and hire 500-700 people. Building remodeled in May-July.
June-July: Brad Lemon continues remodeling of the Lemon Building on Washington Avenue with Paul Campbell, contractor.
New Ocean Springs Public School District building commenced construction on Government Street and Holcombe Boulevard in July 2001.
Dr. William Lobrano began building a large domicile on Lovers Lane in the Seapointe Subdivision.
In August, Salvetti Brothers moved from Washington Avenue to their new building on US 90 east of the Super Wal-Mart. Carl Germany, AIA designed the structure and Danny Jalanivich, was the general contractor. Opened for business on August 22, 2001. Salvetti's closed its doors in the spring of 2007.(The Mississippi Press, August 20, 2001, p. 1-A)
James and Cindy Ricketts acquired The Ocean Springs Record from Gannett on September 19th.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 20, 2001, p. 1)
Construction started on the new Fisherman’s Wharf Restaurant on Old Fort Bayou and Bienville Boulevard.
In October, Al Fresco restaurant opened on Washington Avenue in the space vacated by Salvetti’s.
On November 11, 2001, ground was broken on the East Campus of St. Paul’s United Methodist Church.(The Mississippi Press, November 12, 2001, p. 6-A)
Margaret Virginia Seymour Norman (1908-2001) expired on November 24, 2001.
New shopping center on the west side of the Super Wal-Mart commenced construction in December.
Two fires in January. 322 Lovers Lane, an Ishee cottage, burned on January 2, 2002, with damage estimated at $45,000. Six units at The Ocean Pointe Apartments at Martin and Front Beach were destroyed by fire on January 10, 2002.
Mel Hornback and Ilene Dubose ruled the Elks Mardi Gras parade in January. Jeffrey H. O'Keefe was the Grand Marshal.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 17, 2002, p. A3)
On February 2nd, Father Henry McInerney replaced Father Farrell at St. Alphonsus Catholic Church. Father Henry celebrated his 25th year as a priest in June 2002.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 2002 and June 13, 2002, p. B3)
Napoleon 'Nap' Cassibry II (1918-2002), Gulfport native and attorney and historian and genealogist, died at Bay St. Louis on March 21st. Mr. Cassibry wrote The Ladner Odyssey (1987) and Early Settlers and Land Grants at Biloxi (1986).(The Sun Herald, March 23, 2002)
“New” Fisherman’s Wharf opened on Bienvile Boulevard in April.
The Landing of Iberville was cancelled for the first time since its inception in the 1970s for lack of interest.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 18, 2002, p. A-1)
In early May first “Trade Days” weekend held on Washington Avenue. Featured antiques. Organized by Wilson of The Very Thing, a local gift shop.
In May 2002, new McDonald’s construction on Bienville Boulevard begins and opens for business in late July.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 1, 2002, p. A-3)
First Renaissance Fair held by St. John’s Episcopal Church in Marshall Park in May or June.
The City's elected official agreed to purchase the utilities situated at the Sunplex on Mississippi Highway 57 on the eastern perimeter of the city.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 20, 2002, p. 1)
In July, Fletcher Construction commenced work on the $1.7 million, Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Centerrenovation-addition. Official ground breaking, August 6th, 2002, Senators Lott and Cochran in attendance.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 8, 2002, p. 1)
Old McDonald’s Restaurant on Bienville Boulevard torn down to build a new one further west on same thoroughfare.
Former US Postmaster and School Board member, Orwin J. Scharr (1914-2002), expired on August 7, 2002.(The Sun Herald, August 8, 2002, p. A-6)
In September, Deedy Baxter Munro, widow of Donald Munro, commences first new home construction on Front Beach in several decades. Replaced the John Cook home at 212? Front Beach Drive. Carl Germany, architect, and Dan Resch, contractor.
Tropical Storm Isidore struck east of New Orleans and unleashed heavy rain and beach erosion at Ocean Springs on September 25, 2002.
In September, construction began on Robinson Street for a new restaurant. Bay View Gourmet of Mary Ratliff will relocate here from Government Street. Restaurant created from the old house situated at Robinson.
In early November, Dr. Jon Spiers, cardiovascular surgeon, performed the first heart by-pass surgery at the Ocean Springs Hospital. John Hedman Jr. was the patient receiving a double by-pass.(The Sun Herald, November 8, 2002)
An Indian Motorcycle Company dealership opened on Bienville Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 26, 2002, p. A1)
The Elks Mardi Parade was ruled by King Phil Quigley and Queen Carolyn McMullen on February 1st.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 30, 2003, p. A3)
Bay View Gourmet opened on Robinson Street opposite the L&N Depot.
Henry 'Hank' Zuber III, State Representative District 113, was Iberville and Ellis Branch, local realtor, was Bienville at the Landing of Iberville Commemoration in late April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 24, 2003, p. A-1)
On May 11th, St. Paul’s United Methodist Church has first services in new Family Living Center on US 90. Old sanctuary on Porter continues for parishioners who want to remain.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 2003, p. A-1)
New upscale condominium developments on Old Fort Bayou, Camilla Pointe of Dr. Bahrat Sagani and Walter “Buzzy” Bolton’s Iberville Landing, in planning stages.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 2003, p. A-1)
On June 15th, the new facility of St. Paul’s United Methodist Church on US 90 near Ms Highway 57 was dedicated.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 19, 2003, p. )
In July, Chile Poblano, a southwestern food restaurant opened on Government Street in the Furr Building formerly occupied by Bay View Gourmet.
In August, McElroy’s Harbor House of Biloxi took over the operation of The Fisherman’s Wharf in Ocean Springs on Bienville Boulevard.
The M.C. O’Keefe Center for Art and Education formally opened on September 5, 2003.
New restaurant, “Dinner is Served”, opened on Government Street in September 2003.
The Homunculus, a locally filmed and produced silent movie, starring local potter, Shane Sekul, was shown at the M.C. O’Keefe Center on September 19, 2003.
In September, an outdoor patio was built for Al Fresco restaurant on Washington Avenue. Designed by H.H. Furr, AIA.
Shearwater Bridge opened in October, after a two-year closure.
Bello Bakery building on Government Street, refurbishment-construction began in November by Fred Moran.
Henry H. Furr and spouse acquired from Gary Tompkins, aka Gary Thompkins, on October 8th, the southeast corner of Washington and Government, familiarly known as the Zanca Oil Station. They immediately sold it toSEFCO, a Mississippi LLC.(JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 1320, p. 240 and p. 252)
J. Boyce Holleman (1924-2003), native of Wiggins, Mississippi, and Gulfport attorney, thespian, and bon vivant, expired at Houston, Texas on November 21st.
A small fire occurred on December 5th on 12th floor of the Villa Maria on Porter Street injuring one tenant.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 2003, p. A1)
In January, Burger Burger, a Biloxi hamburger phenomena replicating the food of Biloxi’s Abbey’s Little Diner of the 1950-1960s, opened on Washington Avenue in the Moran building formerly housing Southern Traditions, a failed restaurant.
In January, Jack Gottsche sold “Germaine’s”, his fine dining establishment, on Bienville Boulevard to Wayne and Vikki McElhose. Name changed to Chandler’s Fine Dining, the name of her father.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 15, 2004, p. A1)
The Mississippi Sandhill Crane National Wildlife Refuge was named as one of the US globally important birding areas.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 8, 2004, p. A1)
The Reverend Andrew Wells, First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs, left for the Covenant Presbyterian Church in Jackson.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 22, 2004, p. A8)
The Ocean Springs Recreation Department commenced construction of a new walking track at the Civic Center. This 1/3 mile path will replace the one near the Ocean Springs Hospital. The hospital donated $100,000 for its construction.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 2004, p. A1)
Harbor Landing LLC Dry Stack Marina
Construction permitted February 20, 2004 at 1709 Harbor Drive by Harbor Landing LLC and built by Anchor Realty Company. Demolished November-December 2013.[L-R: April 2004 and July 2004 by Ray L. Bellande]
Percy T. Miller (1931-2003), former hospital administrator, was honored in March with the naming of a boat landing and park on Old Fort Bayou.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 31, 2004, p. 3-A)
The Fountain at the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center dedicated to Bob Meyer and Virginia Meyer on March 20, 2004. Robert E. Meyer (1921-2009) was a philanthropist who gave $100,000 to HOSA, which funds town improvements.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 25, 2004, p. A1)
Sybil G. Sauls acquired the Young Building at 630Washington Avenue from Glen and Eleanor Young in March.(JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 1336, p. 412)
1st Baptist of Ocean Springs demolished the old F.E. Schmidt Bakery shop on Washington Avenue on April 2, 2004.
Adrian G. Lee (1929-2004), local businessman and zealot Republican politician, expired on June 6th. He was a native of Pinola, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, June 8, 2004, p. A?)
Beatles Tribute held at the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center on July 10th to raise funds. Music by the “Un “Beatle” bles” led by Scharr brothers, Alex and Travis.
Ocean Springs Hospital gets permission to expand to sixty beds.(The O Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center ceanMary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center Springs Record, August 12, 2004, p. A1)
Former Governor Daniel Kirkwood 'Kirk' Fordice Jr. (1934-2004) expired on September 7th.
HOSA dedicated its new meeting room in the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center on September 3, 2004.(The Mississippi Press, “The Ocean Springs Press”, September 15, 2004, p. 1)
First Whataburger, a Texas chain, in Ocean Springs opened in September on Bienville Boulevard, just west of the SuperWalmart.
Category 3, Hurricane Ivan, strikes Gulf Shores, Alabama on September 16, 2004. Minimal storm damage at Ocean Springs.
1st Ocean Springs Film Festival held September 24-26, 2004 at the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center.
The Fresh Market opened at Desoto and Cash Alley on September 25, 2004.(The Sun Herald, September 6, 2004, p. A8)
Albert B. Duckett (1907-1974) Memorial Art Museum opened in the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center, formerly the 1927 Ocean Springs Public School, on October 24, 2004. This was the second room in the structure to be completed with local money.
Jamie Sablich and Alfred R. "Fred" Moran win Bob and Virginia Meyer award of $4000 from HOSA for his creation of La Bella Cortile, the courtyard of the Al Fresco Restaurant on Washington Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 25, 2004, p. A1)
Sunset Beach Apartments, which were built in 1967 by Virginia Shiell, at the foot of Jackson Avenue were demolished in late November by Tom Reynolds Sr. They will be replaced by ten red brick townhouses.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 11, 1967, p. 3 and The Sun Herald, December 1, 2004, p. A-4)
The Ocean Springs High School football squad lost 39-18 to South Panola in the 5-A Mississippi High School Football Championship played at Jackson on December 3 2004.(The Sun Herald, December 4, 2004, p. 1-A)
The auditorium in the M.C. O’Keefe Cultural Center was named for US Senator Trent Lott.(The Ocean Springs Record,
Sleet fell on Christmas Day and stayed on the ground for several days, as temperatures were very cold.
On December 26th, a 9.1-9.3 temblor occurred in the Indian Ocean that created a tsunami condition resulting in the deaths of over 230,000 people in Indonesia [primarily Sumatra], Sri Lanka, India and Thailand.
In late December, the First Baptist Church of Ocean Springs demolished the old Step-and Style Building of Marie Hudson and Fred Moran tore down an auto repair garage on Government on the old Zanca filling station property on the southeast corner of Washington and Government.
Charlie Carr withdrew his 12-acre Bienville Boulevard property from its pending sale to the City of Ocean Springs due to the petition circulating to have a referendum on the bond issue to finance the $1.2MM purchase. The City needs recreational facilities for its soccer and other athletic programs due to the eight-year fiasco at its Highway 57 and US 90 property. On January 4, 2005, the aldermen voted to have a vote on the Carr property purchase bond issue.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 6, 2005, p. A1)
Bernard Savario “Buddy” Dileberto Jr. (1932-2005), longtime New Orleans sports personality expired on January 6, 2005 in New Orleans.
Ron Yanik was King Fidelity and Val Brennan, Queen Charity, at the Elks Mardi Gras parade on January 15th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 13, 2005, p. A1)
In early January, the Ocean Springs Harbor Commission acquired the Tom Reynolds Jr. home at 1310 Harbor Drive for about $250,000 to utilize as it office to oversee functions at the small craft facility. Harbormaster Johnny Hughes moved his office from the Tax Collector's Office on North Washington to the Inner Harbor. It was destroyed by Hurricane Katrina in August 2005.(The Bay Press, January 19, 2005 and The Ocean Springs Record, January 20, 2005, p. 8B)
In early January, Tom Reynolds Sr. commenced construction on eight Dutch Colonial style town homes on Front Beach and the west side of Jackson Avenue.
In mid-January, two water towers were removed. The downtown water tower near City Hall, which was a landmark, and the one near the Ocean Springs hospital.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 20, 2005, p. A8)
First Baptist Church of Ocean Springs broke ground for an education building at 602 Washington Avenue in mid-February.(The Mississippi Press, “OS Press”, February 16, 2005, p. 1 and p. 3)
Harbor Landing, a dry boat storage facility on the west side of the small craft harbor, almost completed.(The Mississippi Press, “OS Press”, February 16, 2005, p. )
Efraim 'Fred' E. O'Sullivan
[courtesy of Arieh O'Sullivan]
Efraim 'Fred' E. O’Sullivan (1938-2005), former Police Chief from 1979-1983, expired on February 20, 2005. Under Fred O’Sullivan’s leadership, the OSPD recruited the town’s first black officer and also appointed, Carolyn Wilkerson Frayser, who went on to become Police Chief from 1989-1997. When he was named Chief of Police, Fred O’Sullivan made history as being the first ever Jewish Police Chief in the State of Mississippi.(Arieh O'Sullivan, June 2011 and The Sun Herald, February 22, 2005, p A6)
Myrtle E. Jackson Keys (1922-2005), popular Black businesswoman, who resided on Government Street expired on March 29, 2005.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 31, 2005, p. A3)
On April 18, 2005, the Fontainebleau Nature Trail, east of the Ocean Springs Middle School was dedicated.
On April 20, 2005, Ethelyn M. S. Connor was recognized by the Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce-Main Street for her contribution to the preservation and planting of trees in the community. An honor, The Ethelyn and D.L. Connor Keep Ocean Springs Beautiful Award, will be presented annually to the citizens who have “gone beyond the call of duty” to protect the trees of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 14, 2005, p. A4, April 28, 2005, p. A1 and The Sun Herald, April 21, 2005, p. A4)
State Senator Thomas Gollott, was Iberville, Terry Miller, JXCO Chancery Clerk, portrayed Bienville, andJerry Munro, Biloxi businessman was Sauvolle in the 1699 Landing Ceremony on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 21, 2005, p. A1 and April 28, 2005, p. A1)
Tato-Nut, local coffee shop on Government Street operated by David Mohler was selected by Travelocity as one of the ten “Local secrets, Big Finds” in Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, April 29, 2005, p. A2)
Government Street Grocery, a new restaurant, opened in early May.
Regina Del Buono Hines Ellison (1938-2005), long time journalist, genealogist, and local historian, expired on May 16, 2005. She was a native of Norristown, Pennsylvania and the spouse of Raymond O. Hines (1936-1977) and Bernard J. Ellison (b. 1932).(The Sun Herald, May 16, 2005, p. A 5? and The Sun Herald, May 19, 2005, p. A10 )
In May, Al Young (b. 1939), Ocean Springs native and son of Albert James Young and Mary Nettie Campbell Bell Young, was named Poet Laureate of California for 2005-2007, by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger.(The Sun Herald, May 31, 2005, p. A6)
Ethelyn MacKenzie Shaffner Connor (1916-2013) was recognized with the Life Time Achievement Awardpresented to her by the Mississippi Urban Forest Council and the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality for her commitment and work to protect and plant trees at Ocean Springs over a period of thirty years.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 2, 2005, p. A1)
Connie Marie Moran (b. 1956) was elected Mayor of Ocean Springs on June 7, 2005 defeating Travis Norman (b. 1943) in a close race 1893 votes to Moran and 1814 votes for Norman. She is the first woman Mayor of Ocean Springs and the first Democratic mayor elect since Chester McPhearson (1924-2006) retired from office in 1989. Julia Weaver, also a Democrat, was elected Alderman-at-Large. She is the first woman to hold this position. The 2005 Ocean Springs municipal elections resulted in two women elected to office for the first time in the history of the town. Iola Yvonne Faibvre Davidson (1883-1963) was the first elected woman alderman serving Ward 2 for three consecutive terms from 1937-1942. The only women to serve as an alderman in the municipal government at Ocean Springs was Mary Gough Joachim (1902-1978) who represented the citizens of Ward 4 from 1965-1969 and Helen O’Neal, Ward 6 alderman from 1981-1985.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 9, 2005, p. 1)
An $11 million bond issue for public safety and recreational improvements on the June 7th ballot failed when 57% of the electorate voted against it.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 9, 2005, p. 1)
Designed by Henry Hansel Furr, local architect, this tower situated on the southeast corner of Washington Avenue and U.S. Highway No. 90, Bienville Boulevard, was commenced by Starks Contractors of Biloxi in the summer of 2005 and completed in December 2005. Its erection was funded by HOSA, the City of Ocean Springs, the Jackson County Board of Supervisors and the Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce. The tower serves the citizens of Ocean Springs as its gateway signpost leading one to the Central Business District, City Hall, the public library, WAMA, Fort Maurepas Park, and the Railroad and Old Ocean Springs Historical Districts. As an events kiosk, cultural and social gatherings sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce, Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center, WAMA and others are advertised to those traveling Bienville Boulevard and Washington Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 3, 2005, p. 1)
Swingster, formerly the E.R. Moore Company, closed after fifty-four years in business on Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record,
The 1926 Standard Oil Station, commonly known as the Zanca Station and situated on the southeast corner of Washington Avenue and Government, was demolished on June 11th by the owner, Fred Moran. Roofing tiles were saved for a new structure to be erected here in the future.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 16, 2005, p. 1)
The first Ocean Springs Music Fest was held June 17-19. The event was organized by the Scharr brothers, Travis Scharr and Alex Scharr, Bradley Dale, and Daniel Lorrain. These young musicians known as the “Un-Beatle-Bles” have toiled to raise funds to complete and equip the music room situated in the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 16, 2005, p. B4)
Kathleen Ellis Schwartz (1908-2005) expired at Ocean Springs on June 23, 2005. She was active in the local real estate market and social and cultural activities on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Sun Herald, June 26, 2005, p. A9)
Shelby Foote (1916-2005), novelist and historian, expired at Memphis, Tennessee on June 27, 2005.(The Sun Herald, June 29, 2005, p. A4)
Hurricane Dennis came ashore east of Pensacola on the afternoon of July 10, 2005, as a category three tempest.
Patricia Connor Joachim (b. 1942) was named associate provost at USM-Gulf Coast. She had retired as assistant School Superintendent of the Ocean Springs School District in May.(The Sun Herald, August 18, 2005, p. A2 and The Ocean Springs Record, August 18, 2005, p. A1)
Hurricane Katrina struck the Mississippi Gulf Coast near Waveland on the morning of August 29th as a Category 4 tempest. The ensuing storm surge destroyed or damaged the structures and infrastructure on or near the shoreline of the entire Mississippi coastline. The death toll in Mississippi approached two hundred while nearly a thousand died in southeast Louisiana. Much of the city of New Orleans was inundated by water from a breach in the 17th Street Canal. The casino industry at Biloxi and Gulfport was virtually destroyed.
In mid-October The Mississippi Renewal Forum, a team of national architects, planners, and public officialsmet in Biloxi with their local counterparts, to “redesign” the severely damaged and partially destroyed Mississippi Gulf Coast. Andres Duany and James Barksdale oversaw the meetings at the Isle of Capri Hotel and Resort. Mayor Connie Marie Moran and her board with local architects, Henry Hansell Furr and Dennis Cowart, were an integral part of these planning sessions.(The Sun Herald, October 17, 2005, p. A1)(The Sun Herald, October 17, 2005, p. A1)
HOSA did not give its Meyer Award in 2005.(Larry Cosper, December 8, 2009)
Gayle Petty-Johnson replaced Marilyn Lyons as director of WAMA in November. She comes to WAMA from the National D-Day Museum in NOLA.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 24, 2005, p. B4)
Alfred F. "Alf" Dantzler (1915-2005), Jackson County industrialist, expired on November 30th at his home in Pascagoula, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, December 2, 2005, p. A7 and p. A9)
After Katrina damaged the local Memorial to Submarine Veterans of WWII, plans to replace the commemorative stone were made in December at a cost of $9000. This site on the Civic Center grounds pays homage to the USS Tullibee (SS-284). A Mark 14 torpedo has been located and will become a part of the display.(The Sun Herald, December 12, 2005, p. A2)
Mayor Connie M. Moran received Keys to the City of Islamorada, Florida on January 8th. Islamorada held a community benefit to raise funds for Katrina Relief for the citizens of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 12, 2006, p. A1)
Alberti's, a Biloxi restaurant destroyed by Katrina, relocated to Ocean Springs in the old Trilby's-Germaine's site at 1203 Bienville Boulevard. It opened for business on January 12th.(The Sun Herald, January 12, 2006, p. C12)
Jim Franks (b. 1942) was named the 2005 Conservationist of the Year by the Mississippi Wildlife Federation. Mr. Franks has been a marine biologist with the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory since 1968. He will be presented the award on February 25th at Jackson.(The Sun Herald, January 22, 2006, p. A11)
Anna Hurt, Ocean Springs School Superintendent, announced that she would retire on June 30th. The OS School Board scheduled a special call meeting on February 7th to begin the search for a replacement for Mrs. Hurt.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 26, 2006, p. A1)
Demolition of Katrina damaged homes began on Front Beach Drive and feeder streets in late January.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 26, 2006, p. A1)
"Katrina Cottage", born from the October 2005 Mississippi Renewal Forum, was displayed on Washington Avenue and Government in early February. Mary Ann Cusato, a Manhattan based architect, designed the attractive, 300 square-foot structure, as an alternate to a FEMA trailer as temporary quarters for victims of the late August 2005 tempest. The Katrina Cottage was given to the City of Ocean Springs in late August 2006 by the Governor's Commission.(The Sun Herald, January 18, 2006, p. F1 and The Ocean Springs Record, August 24, 2006, p. A1)
Elks Mardi Gras parade held on February 4th with King Robert Reynolds and Queen Constance Ackeretruling. Kerry Belk, Police Chief, was the Grand Marshal.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 2006, p. A5)
WOSM, the 50,000 watt 'Gospel Giant', celebrated its 35th anniversary on February 12th.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 9, 2006, p. A1)
President George W. Bush (b. 1946) and Laura Welch Bush (b. 1946), our First Lady, made a very brief visit to Ocean Springs on March 8, 2006, to view progress of the restoration of East Jackson County from Hurricane Katrina.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 9, 2006, p. A1)
The Gulf Coast Gators, an Ocean Springs Lacrosse team, played on March 25, 2006, at Freedom Field, the first organized Lacrosse game in Mississippi. The Gators defeated Christian Brothers Middle School of NOLA in two contests by scores of 9-3 and 11-2 respectively. Coaches for the Gator squad are: Mark Rocco and Charles Reichel.(Charles Reichel, March 28, 2006-email to Ray L. Bellande and The Ocean Springs Record, April 13, 2006, p. B3)
Jan Galaspy Walker was awarded the Ethelyn and D.L. "Pat" Connor Tree Canopy Award for her work with the Live Oak Rescue Mission, an effort to save Live Oak trees along the Mississippi Gulf Coast that were damaged by the tidal surge created by Hurricane Katrina in August 2005.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 30, 2006, p. A1)
Colonel James O. Poss (b. 1960), USAF, was promoted to Brigadier General. He is a 1978 graduate of OSHS.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 6, 2006, p. A1)
George Lemasson Lemon (1907-2006), former State Bridge Engineer and long time MDOT civil and highway engineer, expired at Jackson, Mississippi on April 11, 2006.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 20, 2006, p. A5)
Dr. Richard T. Furr closed his medical practice effective July 1, 2006, after nearly fifty years at Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 20, 2006, p. A5)
The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians announced plans to investigate building a casino on Mississippi Highway 57 at Ocean Springs. Their approximately 100-acre parcel must be put into a land trust by by the US Department of the Interior as reservation land before a casino could be effected.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 11, 2006, p. A1 and May 18, 2006, p. A1)
A four day Charette was concluded on May 25th under the auspices of Dover, Kohl and Partners of south Florida. These architects, planners, and zoning consultants focused on potential areas of "smart code" development on Front Beach, the Inner Harbor, and Shearwater Drive.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 1, 2006, p. A3)
Ethelyn Connor (1916-2013) was given the Mississippi Urban Forest Council Lifetime Achievement Award for her many years of toil in protecting and preserving the Live Oak trees of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 8, 2006, p. A10)
First Baptist Church of Ocean Springs dedicated their new education building on Washington Avenue on June 25, 2006.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 22, 2006, p. A1)
First Baptist Church of Ocean Springs demolished their 1909 sanctuary on the northeast corner of Porter and Bellande on July 11 and July 12. The empty lot was paved with asphalt and utilized as a parking lot.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 13, 2006, p. A1).
E.R. Moore Company Building Murals
[l-r: work of Cory Griffith; Matthew Stebly; and Vince Palmer]
In June 2006, Matthew Stebly, Corey Griffith, and Vince Palmer commenced the first of what may be severalmurals on the facade of the old E.R. Moore Company Building at 1515 Government Street. The building has been a salient part of the Katrina Recovery, serving as a depot for food, water, clothing and other essential goods in the months after the tempest. Christus Victor Lutheran Church took over the structure and have utilized it to house volunteers working to help Katrina victims and as a site to continue assisting people from the Coastal counties in their slow but determined recovery form the wrath of this incredulous tropical cyclone. The building is now called Camp Victor.(The Sun Herald, July 23, 2006, p. A2)
J.K. Lemon and Eleanor Bradford Lemon Woodcarving and Sculpture Room was dedicated at the Mary C. O'Keefe Center For Art and Culture on July 14, 2006 with family and friends in attendance.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 20, 2006, p. B7)
Cottage Square [2151 Government Street]
[images made October 2, 2006 by Ray L. Bellande]
Cottage Square, aka Katrina Village [a poor man's Seaside?] began construction in early July 2006, at 2151 Government Street. Local architects, Bruce Tolar, Mike LeBatard and George Denmark, plan to potentially erect as many as twenty, small starter homes on their 2-3 acre tract. Cottage Village is seen as a experiment in New Urbanism, a concept, that is being promoted here with SmartCode. The "Katrina Cottage" located on Washington at Government was moved to Cottage Village in late August 2006, after it was donated to the City by the Governor's Commission. Mayor Moran said that she would like to see it become a center for city design and rebuilding projects.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 20, 2006, p. A1 and August 24, 2006, p. A1, and The Sun Herald, July 31, 2008, p. A5)
Chester Marvin McPhearson Jr. (1924-2006), former Mayor and businessman, died on August 3rd.(The Ocean Springs Record, August , 2006, p. A1)
The Gulf Coast Research Lab broke ground for its new marine aquaculture center on August 17th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 24, 2006, p. A1)
Fort Maurepas Park broke ground on August 29th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 31, 2006, p. A1)
Maria Mavar (b. 1937) donated two-acres to the Mississippi Coastal Plains Land Trust consisting of five contiguous lots in the Braemar Subdivision for a neighborhood park to be called the Christopher Stephen Butirich Memorial Park. The Braemar Corporation had already given the City of Ocean Springs adjacent lands for a "green zone sanctuary."(The Ocean Springs Record, September 7, 2006, p. A3)
Curmis Broome (1928-2006)
Curmis Broome (1928-2006) expired on September 16, 2006 in Ocean Springs. Curmis worked his way from bagboy to butcher and later owner of several grocery stores in Ocean Springs. He was an honorable man noted for his philanthropy and love of community.(The Sun Herald, September 17, 2006, p. A4 and September 18, 2006, p. A4)
Fallo's Dry Cleaners on Government Street closed down their business after fifty years in Ocean Springs. Their original building was designed by Caroll Ishee (1921-1982) and has been enlarged three times. The business commenced in Biloxi on Back Bay in 1951.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 28, 2006, p. A1)
'new' Annex and new' Showroom under construction both by Jason Stebley and Patrick Ashley
In late September, the Shearwater Pottery folks returned to their new annex building on the pottery grounds on Biloxi Bay after renting work and storage space in the Marcy C. O'Keefe Cultural Center, formerly the 1927 OS Public School building. Jason Stebly and Patrick Ashley, grandsons of Walter I. Anderson and Peter Anderson respectively, built the new annex replacing the one destroyed by Hurricane Katrina in late August 2005.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 5, 2006, p. B7)
Benjamin Edsel Ruddiman (1917-2006), owner of the Louis Sullivan designed Charnley House on East Beach and long time WAMA volunteer, expired on September 30, 2006. In Edsel's memory, WAMA will open its door free to the public from October 5th through October 9th.(The Sun Herald, October 4, 2006, p. A6 and The Ocean Springs Record, October 5, 2006, p. B7)
Robert E. "Chubby" Beaugez (1927-2006), long time City building inspector and lounge owner, expired on October 1, 2006.(The Sun Herald, October 3, 2006, p. A4)
Dr. Richard Theron Furr Sr., (1929-2006) passed on October 19, 2006 at Ocean Springs. He was a native of Aberdeen, Mississippi and practiced medicine at Ocean Springs from 1958 until his retirement in July 2006.(The Sun Herald, October 22, 2006, p. A14)
Elaine Ryan Miller (1930-2006) longtime Ryan-Seymour family genealogist and local historian expired on November 2, 2006. Elaine and Virgil Dean Miller, her spouse, created a working index for The Ladner Odyssey(1989), the 'magus opus' of Mississippi Gulf Coast family genealogy by Nap Cassibry II of Gulfport, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 9, 2006, p. A1)
Sam Sabagh claimed the Bob and Virginia Meyer award from HOSA for his improvement to Phoenicia, his excellent restaurant on Government Street.(Larry Cosper, December 8, 2009)
In late November, a 'wind event' touched down randomly in a southwest-northeast direction from the OSYC of Front Beach Drive and damaged homes, trees, telephone poles, and the Taconi School on Magnolia. Mohler's Texaco on Washington and Porter lost a portion of the roof of its gasoline pump site.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 23, 2006, p. A1)
James E. "Jim" Cantrell (1929-2006) well-known tennis player, teacher and coach at Ocean Springs expired on December 8, 2006. Jim was a member of the U.S. Professional Tennis Association for over thirty years and former pro at Treasure Oaks. He was ranked No. 1 in every age division in Mississippi in both singles and doubles.(The Sun Herald, December 11, 2006, p. A4)
Gerald R. Ford (1913-2006), 38th American President, died on December 26th.
The City hired David Minkler, a certified arborist, to care for trees on public property. His salary was set at $36,861 per year. Alderman Curtis Lloyd, the only dissenter to hiring Mr. Minkler said that, "......this [hiring] is a waste of public funds."(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 2007, p. A8)
Donnie Gum (1947-2013), King Fidelity XXXII, and Queen Charity Billie Everhart ruled the Elks Mardi Gras parade on January 27th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 25, 2007, p. A1 and The Sun Herald, February 17, 2013, p. A13)
January 2007 New Construction and Status
US 90 Biloxi Bay Bridge
FRONT BEACH DRIVE
314 Jackson Avenue 204 Washington Avenue
Harbor Landing Restaurant
[demolished in December 2013]
Jimmy's Place New Showroom
Sissy's Place Bob's Place
Carolyn's Tent Billy's Place
Leif's Place Del's Place
112 Shearwater-Sherri Arndt
Shearwater Drive-John Oakes
East Beach Drive
401 - Dempsey Levi 409 - Martin and Lisa Waggoner
517 - Charles Shaffer
200 Dewey Avenue
[l-r: image made January 1992 by Ray L. Bellande; demolition images by Gara Gillentine, Oxford, Mississippi on February 20, 2007)
On the last weekend in the month of February, the Snyder Home at 200 Dewey Avenue was demolished for new construction.
On February 23rd, Laura Welch Bush (b. 1946) , First Lady of America, visited Cottage Square to observe the Katrina cottage.(The Mississippi Press, February 23, 2007, p. 2-A and The Ocean Springs Record, March 1, 2007, p. A1)
The Federal bribery trial of Paul S. Minor, local attorney, commenced in Jackson, Mississippi on February 26th.(The Sun Herald, February 27, 2007, p. 3A)
Judith 'Judy' Toups (1930-2007), native of Magnolia, a village in Glouster, Massachusetts and longtime avian advocate and nature writer for The Sun Herald and 'the mother of bird watching in Mississippi" expired at Decatur, Morgan County, Alabama on February 27th.(The Sun Herald February 28, 2007, p. A5)
Sara Lemon Anderson (1910-2007), beloved wife of James 'Mac' McConnell Anderson (1907-1998) passed on March 3rd at Arlington, Texas.(The Sun Herald,
The Shearwater Pottery reopened post-Katrina on March 17th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 15, 2007, p. A1 and B7)
Del Castle 'THE END-Thanks Bruce'
(north elevation-image made September 2004 by Ray L. Bellande and March 29, 2007-image by Terry Dickson)
Del Castle, the Lee-Legate home on Davis Bayou, which was erected by Frederick E. Lee (1874-1932) in 1925 was demolished on March 29th by Bruce Legate. Mr. Lee called his home 'Casa Flores'.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 5, 2007, p. A1)
The Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality issued a permit to develop 53 acres of the 120 acres that the City acquired near Highway 57 for a recreation complex. 67 acres of the tract were placed in 'preservation' status as wetlands. Final approval of the City's mitigation plan by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is anticipated.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 2007, p. A1)
Kenny Ward's, a fine dining establishment opened in early April, at 1504 Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 2007, p. A4)
First May Fest held on Government Street on May 5th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 3, 2007, p. A1 and May 10, 2007, p. A1)
Irene Nelson Endt Powers (1916-2007), former beautian, native of Hattiesburg and resident of seventy years, expired on May 16th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 2007, p. A5)
Two lanes of the new U.S. Highway 90 Bay St. Louis Bridge opened in May 2007.
In late May, the turf at Greyhound Field was replaced with a new synthetic surface made by Evergreen at a cost of about $600,000. The field will be utilized primarily for football and soccer games, but Don Hinton OSHS Athletic Director said that the baseball and softball squads could practice on the field when their grass surfaces are wet. The OSHS Band also will practice on the new surface. Biloxi High School was the first to install an artificial stadium sports turf on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. OSHS was the second.(The Sun Herald, May 28, 2007, p. D4)
Two construction workers were killed on June 14, 2007 while working on the new U.S. Highway 90 Bay St. Louis Bridge.(The Sun Herald, June 15 and June 16, 2007, p. A1)
George Mulvaney, deputy chief OSPD, retired in late June after thirty-three years on the police force.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 2007, p. A1)
Lionel Cothern, native of Biloxi and a twenty-one year veteran of the OSPD, was named police chief in late June.(The Sun Herald, June 29, 2007, p. A3)
Mark Hare, OSFD chief since 1998 and twenty nine year year veteran of the OSPD retired on June 29th to become a bridge tender for the CSX Railroad.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 28, 2007, p. A1 and The Sun Herald, July 1, 2007, p. A4)
Wieder Garage-1019 Government
[L-R: images made March 1993 and January 2007 by Ray L. Bellande]
Built in 1926 by Philip J. Wieder (1887-1985) as a service station. Demolition began in June 2006 by Dr. Jeff Sauls and completed in June 2007 by Alfred R. 'Fred' Moran.
PAPOS [Public Art Project of Ocean Springs] presented its first art purchase to the public at the Mary Cahill O'Keefe Cultural Center on June 27th. James 'Trailer' McQuilkin, local artist and copper flower sculptor, was honored by PAPOS when they acquired his 'Pine Lily' for permanent display in the Mary Cahill O'Keefe edifice.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 28, 2007, p. B5)
[view SSW from Lameuse Street. image made July 11, 2007 by Ray L. Bellande]
The Hard Rock Casino opened at Biloxi on June 30th.(The Sun Herald, June 29, 2007, p. A1 and July 1, 2007, p. A2)
Chief Philip Martin of the Mississippi Band of Choctaws was defeated by Beasley Denson for the leadership of the tribe on July 3rd. Chief elect Denson will take office on July 10th.(The Sun Herald, July 7, 2007, p. A7)
In late June or early July, Ocean Springs was awarded a statewide "Celebration of Trees" award byMississippi Urban Forest Council in accord with the Mississippi Forestry Commission and the U.S. Forestry Service.(The Bay Press, July 6, 2007, p. 5)
The Ocean Springs Record, with a circulation of 3200, was sold to Bay Newspapers Inc. on July 16th. James and Cindy Ricketts, former proprietors of the local journal, had acquired the business in September 2001 from Gannett Corporation. Mr. Ricketts had joined The Ocean Springs Record as publisher in April 1990, after being associated with The Clarion Ledger. The business moved from Cox Avenue to 1308 Bienville Boulevard and Patti Guider named Editor.(The Sun Herald, July 24, 2007, p. C8, James Ricketts, July 24, 2007, and The Ocean Springs Record, August 2, 2007, p. A1)
2007 Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bay Bridge
[image made July 2007]
The Ocean Springs Little League All-Stars won the Mississippi Little League State Championship at Hattiesburg, but lost at the Southwest Regional Championship in Blytheville, Arkansas.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 2, 2007, p. A1 and p. B3 and August 9, 2007, p. A)
The Reverend Williams James Hewson (1917-2007), native of Ocean Springs and probably the first Catholic priest ordained from Ocean Springs, died at Baton Rouge, Louisiana on August 2nd.(The [Baton Rouge] Advocate, 5, 2007)
Pat Williams, interim Fire Chief, was named Chief of Fire and Civil Defense at Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 9, 2007, p. A1)
'Clay Bodies', the gallery and studio of Jan Bailey and her daughters, Annette B. Blockers and Kim C. Businelle, opened in August in the former Solar Control building at 2020 Bienville Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 9, 2007, p. B4)
Martha's Tea Room
Government Street [image made October 2007]
Martha's Tea Room relocated from Washington Avenue to the Gryder Commercial Office Complex at 2113 Government Street in early September. Ribbon cutting on October 11, 2007.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 18, 2007, p. A6)
Paul Minor (b. 1946), Ocean Springs' super-attorney, was sentenced to eleven years in Federal prison and fined $2.75 million and order to pay $1.5 million in restitution. He is to report for incarceration by December 27th. Sylvia Fleming Minor (1947-2009), his spouse, expired on April 13, 2009.(The Sun Herald, September 8, 2007, p. A1, April 15, 2009, and April 16, 2009, p. A4)
The Jackson County Cab Company was issued a license to operate in Ocean Springs, St. Martin, and Latimer. First local taxi service in thirty years. In mid-November the Yellow Cab Company was approved to operate in the City as well.(The Mississippi Press, September 19, 2007, p. 1A and The Ocean Springs Record, December 6, 2007, p. A1)
First Baptist Church of Ocean Springs protesting Choctaw Casino proposal
Chief Beasley Denson, Miko of the Mississippi Band of Choctaws, offered the Jackson County Board of Supervisors 4% of the gross gaming revenues to local governments from their proposed casino resort.(The Sun Herald, September 28, 2007, p. A1)
Paving Porter Street
[822 Porter-October 2007]
In mid-October, Porter Street was repaved from Washington Avenue to Front Beach for 2007 Bridge dedication.
On October 30th, Mary Anderson Pickard signed copies of Form and Fantasy-The Block Prints of Walter Anderson (2007), at WAMA. This recently released book was co-authored with Patricia Pinson and Christopher Mauer.
[image made October 28, 2007 and November 1, 2007]
[L-R: Mayor Connie Moran addressing the dedication audience at Biloxi; the bridge; and ribbon tying ceremony]
The new Biloxi Bay Bridge was dedicated on November 1st. Only the west bound Ocean Springs-Biloxi spanwas open for traffic. The other span and walking-bicycle lane will be completed by April 2008.
Laura Bush, First Lady of America, was at the J.L. Scott Marine Education at Ocean Springs on November 2nd.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 8, 2007, p. A1)
The Mississippi Band of Choctaw's casino referendum was defeated in Jackson County by a vote of 18,435 to 12,183. The Choctaws plan to continue to pursue their goal of building a casino resort on Mississippi Highway 57 in the City limits of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 8, 2007, p. A1 and The Sun Herald, November 8, 2007, p. A10)
Shearwater Pottery won the Bob and Virginia Meyer award from HOSA for their re-building post-Katrina.(Larry Cosper, December 8, 2009)
Shelly Ferguson was appointed new city clerk on November 21st.(The Sun Herald, November 22, 2007, p. A12)
Chester Trent Lott (R-Mississippi) announced his retirement from the US Senate on November 26th. Senator Lott has served Mississippi for thirty-five years in the House and Senate. U.S. Representative Roger Wicker (R. Ms.) was appointed to replace Senator Lott by Governor Barber until the November 2008 Election.(The Sun Herald, November 27, 2007, p. A1 and January 1, 2008, p. A1)
Richard 'Dickie' Scruggs, prominent attorney of Pascagoula and Oxford, and three other defendants pleaded not guilty on federal charges of fraud and conspiracy to bribe a North Mississippi judge with $50,000 cash. A December 15th fund raiser for Hillary Clinton at the Oxford home of Scruggs was subsequently cancelled. Mr. Scruggs alsowithdrew his law firm from the Scruggs Katrina Group (SKA), which was representing about 500 law suits in litigation with insurance companies over Hurricane Katrina related storm damages.(The Sun Herald, November 30, 2007, p. A1 and p. A8 and December 5, 2007, p. A1)
Jeremiah J. 'Jody' O'Keefe IV (1946-2007), former State representative and president of the O'Keefe Foundation, expired at Ocean Springs on December 3rd. His widow, Helen Granberry Lewis O'Keefe (1957-2011), died at Ocean Springs on November 18, 2011.(The Sun Herald, December 5, 2007, p. A4 and p. A8, December 6, 2007, p. A8 and November 20, 2011, p. A13)
The Gem-Elks Mardi Gras parade on January 19, 2008
The City acquired a GEM (global electric motor) vehicle to be used by City employees. It was the first all electric car to be purchased.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 6, 2007, p. A8)
A 2% food and beverage tax on restaurants to fund a public safety building and recreation was passed by the electorate on December 11th with 66% approval of the over 2500 votes cast.(The Sun Herald, December 12, 2007, p. A1)
On January 4th, the Bureau of Indian Affairs rejected the application of the Mississippi Band of Choctaws to erect a casino on Mississippi Highway 57 at Ocean Springs. The U.S. Department of Interior's bureau determined that the proposed Choctaw project was situated to far from its reservation in Neshoba County, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, January 8, 2007, p. A1)
Elks Mardi Gras Parade-Janet Hamilton, Queen Charity XXXIII and Paul Fox, King Fidelity XXXIII
[on Porter Street near Jackson Avenue]
Mardi Gras season on the Mississippi Gulf Coast kicked off on a wet, cold and windy January 19th with the Elks Parade. Attendance was limited due to the adverse weather, but those hardy souls in attendance enjoyed their chilly selves!
George Craig Jr. was named Postmaster at Ocean Springs on June 9, 2007. He replaced George Cook and assumed his official duties on January 22, 2008.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 31, 2008, p. A1)
Lesley Hamm (b. 1981) was appointed OS Harbor Master, the second woman, to hold this position. The harbor now has 178 boat slips.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 7, 2008, p. A1)
Retired Senator Trent Lott was feted on February 6th at a County wide reception, "Trent Lott Appreciation Day", held at the Pascagoula Civic Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 14, 2008, p. A5)
William F. Buckley Jr. (1925-2008), author, editor, television host, and one of America's most important public intellectuals — died in his home February 27th. Buckley shaped the modern conservative movement into a force in American politics, and he so did with equal measure of charm and intellectual rigor.
Howard LeRoy Hobbs (1935-2008), former Harrison County Sheriff expired on March 3rd.(The Sun Herald, March 4, 2008, p. A1 and March 5, 2008, p. A10)
Brett Favre (b. 1970), former USM and Green Bay Packer football star quarterback, announced his retirement from the NFL on March 4th after seventeen successful seasons.(The Sun Herald, March 5, 2008, p. A1 and p. B1 and March 7, 2008, p. C1)
Ethelyn M. Schaffner Connor (b. 1916), our 'Tree Lady', was honored March 3rd on her 92nd natal anniversary with a surprise celebration in Marble Springs Park sponsored by the Ocean Springs Garden Club, HOSA, and her family. Mayor Moran presented her with a Key to the City .(The Sun Herald, March 4, 2008, p. A2 and The Ocean Springs Record, March 6, 2008, p. A1)
Super-attorney, Richard 'Dickie' Scruggs, pleaded guilty to judicial bribery charges on March 14th. He reported to minimum federal prison at Ashland, Kentucky on August 4th to begin a five year incarceration for judicial bribery.(The Sun Herald, March 15, 2008, p. A1 and p. A11 and August 5, 2009, p. A8)
Monsignor James Joseph Hannon (1920-2008), native of Galway County, Ireland, died at Ocean Springs on March 16th.(The Sun Herald, March 18, 2008, p. A2 and P. A4).
Dr. William 'Bill' Hawkins was appointed director of the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, the seventh in the Lab's history.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 27, 2008, p. A7)
April 18, 2008
Guyton Place, a 21-unit condominium began construction on March 26th at 918 Porter Street, by RW Development LLC. House moved to City Hall before construction commenced.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 3, 2008, p. A3 and May 1, 2008, p. A1)
On March 29, 2008 Marlin Miller, a wood sculptor domiciled at Fort Walton Beach, Florida carved a motherdolphin with her young utilizing a chainsaw on a pecan tree in Little Children's Park on Washington Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 3, 2008, p. A1)
Thomas J. Rodi, Bishop Diocese of Biloxi, was named Archbishop of Mobile.(The Sun Herald, April 3, 2008, p. A1)
The pedestrian walkway across the new Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bay Bridge opened on April 3rd and all road traffic lanes opened on April 7th.(The Sun Herald, April 3, 2008, p. A2)
William Carey University broke ground on its new Gulf Coast Campus at Traditions in Harrison County on April 7th.(The Sun Herald, April 7, 2008, p. A1 and April 8, 2008, p. A2)
On April 27th, Dr. Strawford Hale Dees, as Iberville, and Dr. William W. Walker, as Bienville, lead the first 'Landing of Iberville' celebration since Hurricane Katrina in August 2005.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 24, 2008, p. A1)
The art of Chris Stebly, Ching Walters, Susie Ranager and Patt Odom was chosen to be used in a four-panel, tile mosaic by Elizabeliath Veglia on the Ocean Springs end of the new Biloxi Bay Bridge(The Sun Herald, April 11, 2008, p. A8)
Walter Bolton and Associates, architects, were hired by the City on April 23rd to design the new $6 million dollar emergency management and safety building on Bienville Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 1, 2008, p. A1)
The Ocean Springs School Board of Trustees set September 9th as the day for the special election for the School Bond issue to fund a new OSHS on the extreme east perimeter of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 2008, p. A1)
In May, the OSHS baseball team beat Tupelo two out of three games to win the 2008 Class 5A, Mississippi State Championship in Jackson.(The Sun Herald, May 21, 2008, p. D1)
The Ocean Springs Hospital celebrated its 40th anniversary in May, although it opened on April 10, 1968.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 22, 2008, p. A1)
Betty Sinclair Magee, executive director of the Mary Cahill O'Keefe Cultural Center resigned on May 20th. She was hired in July by the City to be the liaison between the Board of Aldermen and the Mary Cahill O'Keefe Cultural Center and to develop cultural programs for the OS Parks and Leisure Service Department.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 22, 2008, p. A1 and July 3, 2008, p. A7)
Jeanne-Elise Stebly named 'Shrimp Queen' of the 79th annual Blessing of the Fleet at Biloxi on May 31st.(The Biloxi-D'Iberville Press, June 5, 2008, p. A12)
Beauvoir opened on June 3rd, the 200th natal anniversary of Jefferson Davis (1808-2008), the first and only president of the CSA.(The Sun Herald, June 4, 2008, p.A1)
The $777,000 OS Harbor Pier was commenced in early June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 12, 2008, p. A1)
OSYC [image made September 2008]
The Ocean Springs Yacht Club broke ground for their new 4000 sq-ft. edifice on June on June 14th. The structure will cost about $1.8 million dollars.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 19, 2008, p. A1)
BYC [image made September 2008]
The Biloxi Yacht Club broke ground for their new 12,400 sq-ft. edifice on June on June 22nd. The structure will cost about $4 million dollars.(The Sun Herald, June 21, 2008, p. C1)
Tyler Conn, former OSHS star athlete, was named a Pro-Line First Team All-American. Conn set a season record at USM and Conference USA for game saves in his role as a relief pitcher.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 19, 2008, p. B1)
MGCCC [Gautier] dedicated a bell tower and carillon in memory of Alfred F. Dantzler II and Vallie Hughes Dantzler on June 18th.(The Sun Herald, June 19, 2008, p.A4)
Captain Chris’ Paradise Bar & Grill plan to open on Robinson Street in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 19, 2008, p. A1)
Phoenicia Gourmet’s Essam Sabagh planned a Gulfport restaurant in the Holiday Inn on U.S. Highway 90 to open in July.(The Sun Herald, June 25, 2008, p. B10)
Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr. (1928-2006), Biloxi physician and civil rights activists, was honored by having a section of U.S. Highway 90 named the 'Dr. Gilbert R. Mason Sr. Memorial Highway', between Porter Avenue and Rodenberg Avenue.(The Bilozi-D'Iberville Press, June 26, 2008, p. A1)
On July 1st, the Army Corps of Engineers gave Ocean Springs a ‘404 wetlands permit’ to build soccer, football, baseball, and softball fields on 35 acres of the 120 acres off of Ms. Highway 57. City gave the Land Trust for Mississippi Coastal Plain, $175,000 to manage the wetlands mitigation plan and conveyed a conservation easement to them on the wetlands at the sports complex, 169 acres on the Broken Arrow Farms in the Hurley area and 2.7 acres on Old Fort Bayou.(The Sun Herald, July 2, 2008, p. A2)
JXCO Circuit Court rules for City-Harbor Landing in zoning controversy at Inner Harbor with A. Bruce Duckett et al.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 10, 2008, p. A1)
The Promenade, a 700,000 sq.-ft. power shopping center broke ground in D'Iberville.(The Biloxi-D' Iberville Press, July 17, 2008, p. A3)
Glenn Young Sr. (1925-2008), former Civil Defense Director and city alderman, expired on July 16th. Eleanor Hamel Young (1927-2011), Glenn's wife of 59 years, died on August 5, 2011.(The Sun Herald, July 18, 2008, p. A4 and August 7, 2011, p. A13)
Buford Daniel Myrick (1917-2008), native of Jones County and well-known and loved businessman, local historian and former dairyman, died on July 17th. Florence Williams (1909-2009) followed him in death on April 25, 2009. (The Sun Herald, July 18, 2008, p. A4, July 19, 2008, p. A, July 20, 2008, p. A12, and April 27, 2009, p. A4)
Errick Smith (b. 1992) of Ocean Springs set new Guiness World Book Records on July 21th at DeKalb Peachtree Airport in Atlanta, Georgia. He flew solo in a Cessna 172SP-G1000 and a Schweizer 300 CBi helicopter on the same day.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 24, 2008, p. A1)
The Hancock Bank clock on Washington and Desoto was hit by a large truck on July 22nd and sustained considerable damage.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 24, 2008, p. A1)
Hurricane Gustav, a category II cyclone, struck the coast of Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana on Labor Day,September 1st.(The Sun Herald, September 2, 2008, p. A1)
The Mary Cahill O'Keefe Cultural Center celebrated its fifth anniversary on September 5th and Eric Zala was hired as the new executive director September 3rd replacing Betty McGee.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 11, 2008, p. B1)
On September 9th, 64% of the voters approved the $37 million bond issue to find improvements to public education.(The Sun Herald, September 10, 2008, p. A1 and The Ocean Springs Record, September 11, 2008, p. A1)
Hurricane Ike, a category II tempest, struck the Upper Texas Coast near Galveston on September 13th causing catastrophic damage in the billions of dollars.
Jeffrey S. Guice was elected District 114 State Representative on September 23rd in a special election to fill the seat of Representative Daniel Guice who resigned the office to accept a position on the State Parole Board. He was sworn into office on October 2nd.(The Sun Herald, October 3, 2008, p. A6)
Steve Wilson (b. 1970), native of Hattiesburg and resident of Ocean Springs, won the U.S. Mid-Amateur Golf Championship and the Robert T. Jones trophy at the Milwaukee Country Club in River Hills, Wisconsin in September. He was invited to the April 2009 Master's at Augusta National. He did not make the cut.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 18, 2008, p. B6 and April 9, 2009, p. 1 and The Sun Herald, April 1, 2009, p. A1)
The Dow Jones Industrial average fell 778 points to 10,3645 on September 29th.(The Sun Herald, September 30, 2008, p. A1)
Ground was broke for the $1.2 billion dollar LNG terminal at Pascagoula on October 15th.(The Sun Herald, October 16, 2008, p. B10)
Mohler's Texaco on Washington Avenue closed on October 20th. Gorenflo's opened here in November 2008.
Biloxi Bay Bridge Murals
Elizabeth Veglia, artist and project director for the 2008 Biloxi Bay Bridge murals, installed two panels in late October. The completed four-panel work was dedicated on May 15, 2009.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 30, 2008, p. A3 and April 30, 2009, p. 4 and and The Sun Herald, December 7, 2008, p. F1, and May 16, 2009, p. A5)
Barack H. Obama (b. 1961) was elected the 44th American president on November 4th.(The Sun Herald, November 5, 2008, p. A1)
PAPOS [Public Art Project of Ocean Springs] dedicated its second annual art gift to the community with'Galaxy', an outdoor sculpture by Anthony Rowe of Orcas Island, Washington, in Little Children's Park on November 7th.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 13, 2008, p. A6)
First Lady Laura Bush designated Ocean Springs as a Preserve America Community in November.(The Sun Herald, November 13, 2008, p. A9)
Leo W. Seal II (1924-2008), Mississippi Gulf Coast banker and philanthropist, expired on November 18th.(The Sun Herald, November 18, 2008, p. A1, p. A4, p. A9)
St. John's Episcopal Day School on Rayburn awarded Bob and Virginia Meyer award from HOSA.(Larry Cosper, December 8, 2009)
Cara Chapman (b. 1988), young ballet dancer reared on Washington Avenue, danced in The Metropolitan Opera production of "Thais' in December.(The Sun Herald, December 14, 2008, p. F1)
The first OS Harbor Christmas boat parade was held on December 13, 2008. The Pete and Sharon won honors for Santa's Best of Fleet.(The Sun Herald, December 7, 2008, p. A4, The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 2008, p. B1, and The Ocean Springs Record, December 18, 2008, p. A1)
Joseph B. Garrard II sold the Cash Alley property of Myrtle Jackson Keys (1922-2005) to the City for parking. Mr. Garrard donated $120,000 of the $136,000 purchase price to St. Alphonsus and St. Peter the Apostle Catholic Church [Pascagoula] as requested by Mrs. Keys. The parking lot and appurtenances designed by Bruce Tolar will be called Keys Municipal Park.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 18, 2008, p. A1 and The Sun Herald, December 22, 2008, p. A2)
Elaine Young Miheve (1922-2008) expired on December 28th.
The Reverend Robert R. Wilson (1921-2009) native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and a 1951 graduate of the Western Theological Seminary at Pittsburgh, died on J anuary 8, 2009. Reverend Wilson retired as a Lt. Colonel and Chaplian in the USAF on November 1, 1971 and became Pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs in early February 1971. He replaced the Reverend Merlin Usner. Reverend Wilson retired from his religious duties at Ocean Springs circa 1987.(The Daily Herald November 11, 1971, p. 2 and The Sun Herald, January , 2009)
Murville Alleman was hired as city arborist in January.(The Sun Herald, February 8, 2009, p. A6)
The new OS Harbor Pier costing $775,000 was opened in January.(The Sun Herald, January 18, 2009, p. A3 and The Ocean Springs Record, January 22, 2009, p. A3)
Earl Fayard, local seafood processor, indicted for and pleads guilty.(The Ocean Springs Record, , January 2009, p. 1)
Lt. Governor Phil Bryant was in Ocean Springs on January 30th to star at a fund raiser of wealthy politicians and doctors supporting Scott Walker, Mayoral candidate.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 22, 2009, p. A3)
On February 5th, Mayor Moran debated political opponents, John McKay and Scott Walker, at the Mary C. O'Keffe Cultural Center.(The Sun Herald, February 6, 2009, p. A1 and The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 2009, p. A1)
The Elks Mardi Gras Parade rolled on February 7th with Queen Reva Gaynor and King Mike Polaski ruling over 'That 70's Show". Rene Patout was Grand Marshall.(The Sun Herald, February 8, 2009, p. A2)
Dickie Scruggs, Pascagoula-Oxford attorney, pleaded guilty to mail fraud.(The Sun Herald, February 11, 2009, p. A1)
The new 5000-sq.-ft. Ocean Springs Yacht Club had a soft opening on February 11th. Steve Sloan is Commodore and the structure was erected by Encore Construction with architectural guidance from Dennis Cowart. The club opened officially on February 28th with Mayor Moran declaring the "OSYC the official gateway to our City".(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 2009, p. A1 and The Sun Herald, March 1, 2009, p. A13)
The first night Mardi Gras Parade organized by the Ocean Springs Carnival Association rolled at 7 p.m. on February 20th. There was no king or queen.(The Sun Herald, February 18, 2009, p. A2)
John Ray Skates (1934-2009), long time resident of Ocean Springs and retired historian and former Chair of the USM Department of History and author of The Invasion of Japan: Alternatives to the Bomb (1994), as well as numerous books on Mississippi's history, expired on February 18th.(Miss. History Newsletter, May 2009, p. 2)
Joel Richard 'Rick' Carter Sr. of Gulfport and Dewey Elise Brashier of Biloxi ruled the Biloxi Carnival Association's Mardi Gras on February 24th.(The Sun Herald, February 22, 2009, p. F1)
Ground was broken on March 3rd for eight tennis courts USTA regulation at the Halstead Road tennis courts. Cal-Mar Construction, Jackson, Mississippi was awarded the $754,800 contract.(The Sun Herald, February 23, 2009, p. A8)
Paul Harvey Aurandt (1918-2009), national news commentator and talk-radio innovator, died on February 28th.(The Sun Herald, March 1, 2009, p. C1)
[L-R: images 1-2 made March 12, 2009; images 3-4 made April 23, 2009; image 5 made July 13, 2009; image 6 made July 22, 2009; images 7 and 8 made September 28, 2009]
Construction on Maurepas Parc began in early March by Orocon Construction of Biloxi.
The Popps Ferry Bridge was hit by a barge on March 20th dropping a sixty-foot span into Biloxi Bay. No injuries occurred.(The Sun Herald, March 21, 2009, p. A1)
The $750,000 Chester M. McPhearson Jr. Community Pier on Front Beach opposite Maurepas Parc was dedicated on March 21st..(The Ocean Springs Record, March 19, 2009, p. 4, April 2, 2009, p. 13 and The Sun Herald, March 21, 2009, p. A1)
John Richard Blossman (1943-2009), businessman and philanthropist, expired on March 30th.(The Sun Herald, March 31, 2009, p. A4, April 1, 2009, p. A4, and The Ocean Springs Record, April 2, 2009, p. A1)
Reverend Billy Fisher Rutrough (1925-2009), retired pastor of Christus Victor Lutheran Church, expired on March 31st.(The Sun Herald, April 3, 2009, p. A4)
Newton Perry Gautier (1926-2009), former OSHS teacher [1949-1966], OSHS principal [1954-1959 and 1965-1966] and Jackson Co. Superintendent of Education [1960-1964], died on April 1st.(The Sun Herald, April 3, 2009, p. A4)
The Ocean Springs Medical Park, an imaging center, oncology center, cardiac surgery and cardiac rehabilitation facility, at 3535 Bienville Boulevard was dedicated on April 1st.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 9, 2009, p. )
Robert E. Meyer (1921-2009), 'Mr. Gulf Hills' and local philanthropist and art collector, expired on April 19, 2009.(The Sun Herald, April 21, 2009, p. A4)
The Highway 57 sports complex ground breaking occurred on April 20th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 2009, p. 5)
Alwyn H. Luckey and Dennis 'Den' Knecht were respectively the dynamic duo, Pierre LeMoyne [Iberville] and Jean-Baptiste LeMoyne [Bienille] at the April 26th '1699 Landing of Iberville Celebration' on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 2009, p. 1 and p. 4 and The Sun Herald, April 27, 2009, p. A1)
"Raiders of the Lost Ark: The Adaptation" made by OSHS students Eric Zala, Chris Strompolos, and Jayson Lamb was shown at Vue Entertainment's flagship theatre in Leicester Square, London, England on April 28th. Mr. Zala, director of the Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural center attended the viewing in England. The Zala adaptation was shown again at the Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural center on June 27th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 2009, p. 1 and June 18, 2009, p. 1)
The new OS Public Safety complex at 3732 Bienville Boulevard broke ground on May 27th. Situated just east of the Civic Center this bi-complex of 38,500 sq. ft. will house a police station, jail and city court complex, fire station and an emergency operations center. Architects are Bolton, Lack, and Furr, PLLC. This municipal facility is financed by a CBG, titled Katrina Community Revitalization Grant, and the 2% tax levied on food and beverages within the City limits. $2.6 million contract to erect the Fire and Emergency Center awarded to GM&R Construction [Bay St. Louis] and a $3.9 million contract to Gulf Construction [Gulfport] the Police Department-Jail-Court Complex.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 4, 2009, p. 1, June 11, 2009, p. 3, December 3, 2009, p. 1)
Mayor Connie Marie Moran was re-elected leader of Ocean Springs with a close victory over Scott Walker in the General Election held on June 2nd. Final Mayoral results after a recount on June 4th were: Moran 2509 votes and Walker 2413. Other elected officials were: Alderman-at-Large: Troy Ross beat incumbent Julia Weaver 2833 to 2042 votes; Alderman Ward I-John Gill won unopposed; Alderman Ward II-Matt McDonnell, the incumbent, overwhelmed Jeff Glouner 626 to 407; Alderman Ward III-Chic Cody beat Susan Mueller 375 to 276;Alderman Ward IV-Greg Denyer, incumbent, unopposed; Alderman Ward V-Jerry Dalgo, incumbent, unopposed ; Alderman Ward VI-James Hagan defeated Carol Jones 411 to 193.(The Sun Herald, June 3, 2009, p. A1, June 4, 2009, p. A1, June 5, 2009, p. A1, June 6, 2009, p. A1 and June 10, 2009, p. A2 and The Ocean Springs Record, June 4, 2009, p. 1 and June 11, 2009, p. 3)
The new Hurricane Shelter and Community Center on Ms. Highway No. 57 in the Fontainebleau communitybroke ground on June 10th.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 25, 2009, p. 4)
Ted 'Pontiac' Patterson (1926-2009), resident of Gulf Hills and former Biloxi automobile dealer and longtime volunteer at 'The Lord is my Help' in Ocean Springs, expired at Gulf Hills on June 11th.(The Sun Herald, June 13, 2009, p. A4)
Ray Mabus, former Governor, was formally sworn in as the 75th Secretary of the Navy at the Washington Navy Yard on June 18th. Mabus was Governor from 1988-1992 and ambassador to Saudi Arabia from 1994-1996.(The Sun Herald, June 19, 2009, p. A7)
Patrick Williams, OS Fire Chief, announced his retirement effective June 30th. Deputy Chief Jeffrey Ponson replaced Chief Williams effective July 21st.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 11, 2009, p. 3 and The Sun Herald, July 23, 2009, p. A3)
Memorial services for Charles Stephen 'Bubba' Bond (1977-2009) were held on June 20th at the 1st Baptist Church of Ocean Springs. Stephen was employed by the OSPD as a policeman. He disappeared from a capsized 21-foot boat off Horn Island on May 17th. Four members of his party were rescued, but his skeletal remains were found in January 2010 on Chandeleur Island by fishermen. (The Sun Herald, June 18, 2009, p. A5 and June 21, 2009, p. A1, March 12, 2010, p. A1, march 21, 2010, p. A8 and The Ocean Springs Record, June 25, 2009, p. 1)
Ed McMahon (1923-2009), national TV personality and celebrity, expired on June 23rd.
Farrah Fawcett (1947-2009), actress, and Michael Jackson (1959-2009), mega-rock star, both died on June 25th.
Sister Mary William Hewson, MSC (1919-2009), native of Ocean Springs died on July 3rd at Opelousas, Louisiana.
Walter Cronkite (1916-2009), longtime CBS news anchor, died at Manhattan on July 17, 2009.(The Sun Herald, July 18, 2009, p. B1)
Mathilda Elizabeth 'Betty' Bradford Milsted (1913-2009), first president of the 1699 Historical Committee, former journalist and local historian, expired on July 22nd.(The Sun Herald, July 24, 2009, p. A4 and July 29, 2009, p. A4)
Katie Thurber, OSHS student, was named Mississippi's Junior Miss on July 25th.(The Sun Herald, July 27, 2009, p. A2 and July 28, 2009. p. A2)
On August 15th, PAPOS dedicated their third public art sculpture at the Ocean Springs Public Library at 525 Dewey Avenue. Madeline Wiener of Denver, Colorado was the artist of 'Wise One'. Gia Catchot Weiner, formerly of Ocean Springs, is the daughter-in-law of Mrs. Wiener.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 13, 2009, p. 10 and The Ocean Springs Gazette, August 19, 2009, p. 9)
The Ocean Springs Gazette, the first new weekly newspaper at Ocean Springs since 1965, published its first issue on August 19th.(The Sun Herald, August 23, 2009, p. A7 and The Ocean Springs Gazette, August 19, 2009, p. 1)
The new $14 million William Carey University campus at the Tradition was dedicated on August 19th. Seven hundred students enrolled.(The Sun Herald, August 20, 2009, p. A2)
The Mississippi Coast Convention Center $68 million expansion was nearly complete in mid-August.(The Sun Herald, August 20, 2009, p. A1)
On August 22nd, the Shed BBQ and Blues Joint won the 'Ultimate Hometown Grill Off' with its pulled pork sandwich on the 'Live with Regis and Kelly' TV program in NYC.(The Sun Herald, August 19, 2009, p. A9 and August 20, 2009, p. A1)
Jacob Davis Guice (1915-2009), Coast attorney, expired at his Lover's Lane residence on August 24th. Joelean Ann Hornsby Guice (1927-2010), daughter of Andrew Reese Hornsby and Sadie Virginia Hornsby and his spouse of sixty-three years, died on November 21, 2010.(The Sun Herald, August 25, 2009, p. A4 and November 23, 2010, p. A4)
Grover W. Graham Jr. (1913-2009), Coast businessman and Sunkist Country Club charter member, died on August 24th.(The Sun Herald, August 25, 2009, p. A4)
Edward Moore 'Ted' Kennedy (1932-2009), Massachusetts Senator from 1962-2009, died on August 26th.(The Sun Herald, August 27, 2009, p. A1)
Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce parking lot being rebuilt in September.
Portal Live Oak tree on SE/C of Bienville and Washington Avenue removed on September 3, 2009. Tree harmed by Katrina.(The Sun Herald, September 4, 2009, p. A2)
The Old Fort Bayou Blueway, a 13-mile, kayak-canoe, water path in Old Fort Bayou from Gulf Hills to the upper reaches of this perennial stream, was dedicated on September 19th.(The OS Gazette, September 24, 2009, p. 1 and the Sun Herald, September 20, 2009, p. A2)
[L-R: Ray L. Bellande, Iberville, Mayor Moran, Marlene Hilton Moore, sculptor.]
[L-R: Mayor Moran, Father McIrnerny, Ray L. Bellande]
Fort Maurepas Park was dedicated on October 24, 2009.(The Gazette, October 21, 2009, p. 1, The Ocean Springs Record, October 22, 2009, p. 1, The Sun Herald, October 20, 2009, p. A1)
All-China Youth Federation,which is one of China's organizations led by the Communist Party of China, visited Ocean Springs City Hall on Friday. The core group is touring several areas along the Coast to learn about economic development, culture, the response to banking and financial crisis, and a general exchange of ideas.(Ocean Springs Gazette October 28,2009 p.14)
Ground broken on October 28, 2009 for new Ocean Springs High School on Old Spanish Trail and Hamill Farm Road.(The Gazette, October 28, 2009, p. 1, The Ocean Springs Record, October 29, 2009, p. 1, The Sun Herald, October 29, 2009, p. A2)
Edward 'Eddie' Bellman (1920-2009), Biloxi entrepreneur who befriended Elvis Presley, while nascent star vacationed at Gulf Hills and Biloxi in the early 1950s, expired on November 6, 2009.(The Sun Herald, November 8, 2009, p. A12 and p. A 13)
In November, Alfred R. 'Fred' Moran was given the Bob and Virginia Meyer Award by HOSA for his re-modeling and improving the facade and streetscape of the Young Building on Washington Avenue.(Larry Cosper, December 8, 2009)
The $9 million Coastal Research Center at the Grand Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve in East Jackson County, Mississippi opened on December 7th. The reserve is 18,000 acres of marsh and pine savannah. The center has offices, dormitories, classrooms, and research and interpretive areas.(The Sun Herald, December 8, 2009, p. A5)
TV Evangelist Oral Roberts (1918-2009), native of Oklahoma, died at Newport Beach, California in mid-December.(The Sun Herald, December 16, 2009, p. C1)
Clarence A. Hamilton Jr. (1930-2009), Alderman Ward III from 1981-1989, expired at Ocean Springs on December 14th.(The Sun Herald, December 16, 2009, p. A4 and December 17, 2009, p. A6)
Sunshine Whole Foods opened on December 14th at 918 Bechtel Boulevard with James P. Borden III on staff.
On December 15th, the Ocean Springs Board of Aldermen voted unanimously to annex 11.6 square miles of land on the east side of Ocean Springs and north and south of US Highway 90 and west of Ms. Highway 57.(The Gazette, December 16, 2009, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 2009, p. 1)
Elmer 'Eddie' Lemien (1925-2009), native of Deer Island, local historian, and long time Latimer resident, expired on December 16th.(The Sun Herald, December 20, 2009, p. A12)
The Mississippi Court of Appeals ruled that the City of Ocean Springs erred in allowing the Harbor Landing Bar and Grill to operate in a C-4B zoned district.(The Gazette, December 23, 2009, p. 1)
The 2nd annual Christmas Boat Parade at the Inner Harbor was held on December 19th.(The Gazette, December 23, 2009, p. 1)
Umar Farouk Abdulmutalab, Nigerian national, attempted to destroy NorthWest Airline Flight 253-Amsterdam to Detroit, on Christmas Day.
Progressing city development early 2010
[L-R: 1-3, "Contrail" [Connie's Trail] construction Front Beach Drive; 4-5, crosswalk improvements at Washington and Robinson and Washington and Porter; 6-7, 'mall' on West Porter, and Fred Moran's new building on Government and Washington. Images made December 2009 and January 2010 by Ray L. Bellande]
On January 10th, St. John's Episcopal Church dedicated their new $1.8 million, 11, 000 square-foot parish hall.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 14, 2010, p. 1.
James Samuel Phillips (1933-2010), Joeanne H. O'Bryant Phillips (1934-2010) and Samuel Joseph 'Sammy' Phillips (1962-2010) residents of 6504 Shore Drive in Gulf Hills were found dead on January 11th.(The Gazette, January 13, 2010, p. 1)
The Art House situated on Cash Alley celebrated its tenth anniversary on January 11th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 14, 2010, p. 3)
On January 12th, Haiti was severely damaged by a mega-earthquake resulting in catastrophic destruction and loss of over 100,000 lives.
Charles McKellar began his tenure as Editor-Publisher of The Ocean Springs Record on January 14th. He will also write Inside Politics & More for the local journal.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 14, 2010, p. 2)
Denita Beaugez and Jim Cupps were crowned Queen Charity XXXV and King Fidelity XXXV respectively, for the annual Elks Parade held on January 30th. Don Davis, Grand Marshal, led the procession that celebrated with the theme 'Life is a Cirkus'.(The Gazette, January 6, 2010, p. 8 and February 3, 2010. p. 14 and The Sun Herald, February 1, 2010, p. A2)
The second annual Ocean Springs Carnival Association Mardi Gras Parade was held on February 12th.(The Gazette, December 30, 2009, p. 1)
Eldridge 'Tiger' Woods, professional golfer, reported to be admitted to a sex addition clinic at Hattiesburg, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, January 16, 2010, p. A2)
The Secret World of Walter Anderson (2009) authored by Hester Bass, formerly of Ocean Springs, won the 2010 Annual Orbis Pictus award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children presented by the National Council of Teachers of English.(The Sun Herald, January 23, 2010, p. A9)
Harbor Landing Bar and Grill owned by David Harris applied to the City for a license to operate as a private yacht club after the Board of Alderman rescinded on January 19th, their 2007 decision to allow his business operate with special restrictions on the Inner Harbor.(The Sun Herald, January 20, 2010, p. A7 and The Gazette, January 20, 2010, p. 1)
The trailer park at 2209 Government was being removed in mid-January to build 'Cottages at Oak Park", a an Eco-cottage development.(The Gazette, January 20, 2010, p. 1)
The New Orleans Saints won the NFC Championship in the Superdome on January 24th with a 31-28 victory over the Minnesota Vikings in overtime. They will meet Indianapolis in Super Bowl XLIV  at Miami on February 7th.(The Sun Herald, January 25, 2010, p. A1)
Phillip Martin (1927-2010) former leader of the Mississippi Band of Choctaws expired on February 4th.(The Sun Herald, February 5, 2010, February 8, 2010, and February 10, 2010, p. A16)
William 'Billy' Burdin Jr. (1928-2010), "unofficial town historian of Pass Christian, Mississippi", expired there on February 5th.(The Sun Herald, February 7, 2010, p. A16 and p. A17)
The New Orleans Saints won the 44th Super Bowl XLIV on February 7th at Miami with a 31-17 victory over the Indianapolis Colts. QB Drew Brews named MVP.(The Sun Herald, February 8, 2010, p. A1)
OSCA 2010 doubloon
The Ocean Springs Carnival Association's 2nd Annual parade with the theme, 'Mystics of Discovery', rolled on the eve of February 12th before a small but very cold crowd of Mardi Gras zealots.
IP Casino/Viking Culinary Arts Café situated in the Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center, formerly the 1927 Ocean Springs Public School, opened on February 26, 2010. This former room was converted into a working kitchen and culinary classroom with the generous financial aid of the IP Casino of Biloxi and the Viking Range Corporation of Greenwood, Mississippi. Anita Nobles Arguelles was named director of the culinary school.(The Gazette, February 24, 2010, p. 6)
Joseph ‘Joe’ F. Tinney Jr. (1930-2010), long time HOSA member and community volunteer, expired on March 4th.(The Sun Herald, March 5, 2010, p. A4)
In early March, Margaret Mitchell Migues, long-time Hancock Bank employee, was charged by Federal authorities on one count of felony embezzlement. She entered into a plea bargain agreement with Federal authorities and pleaded guilty on May 26th. Co-conspirator, Willie Doris Burney, pleaded guilty on June 24th.(The Sun Herald, March 6, 2010, p. A1, March 18, 2010, p. A1, May 26, 2010. p. A2, May 27, 2010, p. A1 and June 25, 2010, p. A1)
Mark M. Seymour, Sr. (1935-2010)
Mark Mathias Seymour, Sr. (1935-2010), former Ocean Springs City engineer, civil engineering consultant and D'Iberville casino promoter, expired on March 7th.(The Sun Herald, March 8, 2010, p. A4, March 10, 2010, p. 4A, and March 10, 2010, p. A6)
Bellande and Sullivan recognized by Mississippi Historical Society
On March 6th, the Mississippi Historical Society, at its annual meeting held in Gulfport, Mississippi, awarded Ray L. Bellande of Ocean Springs its Award of Merit for his contribution to the history of Ocean Springs. Charles L. Sullivan, emeritus history professor from MGCCC Perkinston, was awarded the prestigious Dunbar Rowland Award for his lifelong contributions to the preservation, study and interpretation of Mississippi history.(The Sun Herald, March 7, 2010, p. A 8)Lt. Governor Phil Bryant and Keith Crosby were chosen as Iberville and Bienville respectively for the April 2010 'Landing of Iberville' at Ocean Springs on April 25th.(The Sun Herald, March 12, 2010, p. A2 and April 26, 2010, p. A4)
1000 Government Street
[installing clock at 1:15 P.M. on March 16, 2010. image by Ray L. Bellande]
The clock was installed in the new Moran Building at 1000 Government Street on March 16th.(Observation by Ray L. Bellande and The Gazette, March 16, 2010, p. )
Merrit 'Pic' Sylvar Fermin (1940-2010), retired executive editor of The Sun Herald died at Biloxi on March 27th.(The Sun Herald, March 28, 2010, p. A1
Bridge Park [image by Ray L. Bellande-April 2010]
Alfred R. 'Fred' Moran was awarded the 2009 Robert and Virginia Meyer Award for his renovation of the Young Building at 630 Washington Avenue.(The Ocean Springs gazette, March 31, 2010)
The Ocean Expo Learning Center chose to locate its $75 million dollar complex in D'Iberville.(The Sun Herald, April 1, 2010, p. A1)
British Petroleum No. 1 OCS Mississippi Canyon Block 252, Macondo Prospect, an 18,000 foot exploratory well blew out in 5000 feet of water on April 20th. The rig burned and sank andsubsequently oil began flowing into the Gulf of Mexico creating a massive oil seep which seriously threatened the environment from Louisiana to Florida.
Sue Mitchell Ray (1938-2010), long time secretary to the Mayors of Ocean Springs, died on April 23rd.
Work on the new OSHS is expected to begin in late May. $37.25 million contract for the 320,000 square-foot structure was awarded to White-Spunner Construction Company on April 30th.(The Sun Herald, May 21, 2010, p. A10)
On June 1st, Steven Palazzo of Biloxi defeated Joe Tegerdine of Petal in the Republican primary for US Representative. Palazzo will face Gene Taylor, incumbent, in November.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 3, 2010, p. A1)
Installation of Oil absorbent fencing on Front Beach at Ocean Springs to capture any oil from the BP blowout No. 1 OCS Mississippi Canyon Block No. 252 began on June 2nd.(The Sun Herald, June 3, 2010, p. A7 and The Ocean Springs Record, June 3, 2010, p. 1, The Gazette, June 9, 2010, p. 1)
John Wooden (1910-2010), the Wizard of Westwood and UCLA's immensely successful basketball mentor, died at Los Angeles on June 4th.
The Halstead Road Tennis Center after an $800,000 upgrade reopened on June 10th.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 17, 2010, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Museum of History, the first historical museum in the city's history, opened on June 17th in the Mary Cahill O'Keefe Cultural Center on Government Street.(The Gazette, June 9, 2010, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Record, June 24, 2010, p. 1.)
Doris Burney, former Hancock Bank employee, pleaded guilty in the $2.3 M bank embezzlement scheme. She and co-conspirator, Margaret Mitchell Migues, are scheduled to be sentenced on August 24th.(The Sun Herald, June 25, 2010, p. A1)
X-TEX fencing installed on Front Beach to protect environmentally sensitive areas from crude oil emanating from the British Petroleum OCS No. 1 Mississippi Canyon 252 wild well in the Gulf of Mexico which blew out on April 20th.[Image by Ray L. Bellande-June 2010]
Joseph Augustus 'Joe' Bosco (1948-2010), author, writer and college professor, died July 8th in Beijing, China. Joe was born at Biloxi, Mississippi on August 30, 1948 to Frank A. Bosco (1919-1975) and Wilma Annetta Snyder Bosco (1926-2006). He graduated with the 1966 class of Ocean Springs High School and left this forward in The Greyhound, the school annual: "Beware! I may yet do something sensational." Joe matriculated to USM and UNO where he earned Fine Arts degrees in 1972 and 1976 respectively. His published works were: The Boys Who Would be Cubs: A Year in the Heart of Baseball's Minor Leagues" (1990); Blood Will Tell: A True Story of Deadly Lust in New Orleans (1993); and A Problem of Evidence: How the Prosecution Freed O.J. Simpson (1996). Joe Bosco resided in New Orleans and Los Angeles before his demise in China. While in Los Angeles, he reported on the ludicrous, O.J. Simpson Trial for Penthouse Magazine. He had also written of the murder of Ennis Cosby (1969-1997), son of Bill Cosby, comedian and actor, as "In the Face of Death" for Nation magazine (June 2, 1997). Joseph A. Bosco, a favorite son and friend of Ocean Springs, is survived by Linda Pajwebo Bosco, a former wife, Joseph A Bosco II, a son, and Sylvia A. Bosco, his sister and a special education teacher at OSHS.[Ray L. Bellande, August 7, 2010]
Irma Hoffman celebrated the 100th anniversary of her birth on July 4th with family and friends at St. John's Episcopal Church.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 8, 2010, p. 1)
Phase II of the City's Street Scape project began in mid-July with construction and improvements slated on Government Street from Washington Avenue east to M.L. King Jr. [formerly Vermont Avenue] and on M.L. King Jr. north to South Railroad Street.(The Sun Herald, July 17, 2010, p. A6 and The Gazette, August 4, 2010, p. 1)
Recreational fishing halted in the Mississippi Sound by the BP exploration well blow-out in Mississippi Canyon Block 252 resumed on July 20th. Commercial fishing was opened on August 6th in State waters. Oyster and crab fishing remained closed in selected areas affected by the oil flow.(The Sun Herald, July 20, 2010, p. A1, August 1, 2010, p. A2, and August 7, 2010, p. A1)
Renovations to begin at Mary C. O'Keefe Center. Funding for the project is part of nearly $1 million in grant funding provided by a Community Development Block Grant and Mississippi Archives and History Hurricane Katrina Relief Grant.(Ocean Springs Record June 16,2011 p.2)
DR. JESSE L. TROTTER SR. STREET
Mayor Connie Moran addresses members of the Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church congregation, as well as interested citizens on our newest street, the ‘Dr. Jesse L. Trotter Sr. Street’, which was dedicated on Sunday afternoon, November 20th. Mayor Moran and Matt McDonnell, Ward II Alderman, both addressed the audience at the corner of Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue and Reverend Jessie L. Trotter Sr. Street opposite the church. Both speakers recognized Dr. Trotter for his many accomplishments as a Christian minister and civil rights activist. Two of Dr. Trotter’s children also spoke at the ceremony.(The Gazette, November 23, 2011)
James Hagan (b. 1974), Ward 6 Alderman, was arrested on November 29th at his office at Moss Point, Mississippi. Mr. Hagan was charged with touching a child for lustful purposes and imbezzlement. He bonded out of jail in Pascagoula on November 30th. Alderman Hagan was fired on November 4, 2010 from his position as a code enforcement officer with the City of Pascagoula for damaging his hotel room and five others at the Ameristar Casino Hotel at Vicksburg, Mississippi. Moss Point Mayor Aneice Liddell suspened Hagan with pay pending the results on the ongoing investigation into the alleged crimes of Mr. Hagan. Alderman Hagan was again arrested by the Sheriff of Jackson County on December 6, 2011 and charged with having a pornographic video that had a child in it on his City-issued, laptop computer.(The Sun Herald, November 31, 2011, p. A1, December 1, 2011, p. A1 and December 7, 2011, p. A2)
Clark Levi announced that he and partner had sold Lovelace Drug Store to Fred's Inc., owners of Fred's Super Dollar discount stores of Coldwater, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 1, 2011, p. 1)
The Ocean Springs Central Fire Station and Emergency Operations Center at 3820 Bienville Boulevard was dedicated on December 2nd. The structures were designed by Henry H. Furr, and cost about $4 million, which was funded from Federal Katrina dollars and $350,000 from the City. Past OSFD Chiefs, James Murray, Mark Hare, and Pat Williams were recognized for their service to the City.(The Sun Herald, December 3, 2011, p. A2)
The USS MISSISSIPPI, SSN-782 and a $2 billion, Virginia-Class, fast attack, nuclear submarine, was christened at the General Dynamics Electric Boat yard in Groton, Connecticut on December 3rd. The vessel will be commissioned at Gulfport, Mississippi in June 2012. Later changed to Pascagoula, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, December 3, 2011, p. A1)
Phase I of Ocean Expo, D'Iberville's marine mammal institute, broke ground on December 9th.(The Sun Herald, December 10, 2011, p. A2)
Diane Claughton, founder of the OS Fresh Market  and former librarian, was awarded the annual Robert and Virginia Meyer award from HOSA for her contributions to the quality of life here. Mrs. Claughton received $5000 and a bronze plaque. She planned to use her pecuniary reward for the Fresh Market and Real Food Gulf Coast, which she also co-founded.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 8, 2011, p. 1 and The OS Gazette, December 14, 2011, p. 3)
The US Justice Department began investigating whether the City of Ocean Springs violated the American's Disability Act in denying Psycamore LLC a medical clinic permit for 1101 Iberville Drive.(The OS Gazette, December 21, 2011, p. 3)
Richey Building-NEW CONSTRUCTION CBD-January 2012
[L-R: 626-628 Washington Avenue and 1019 Government Street]
The $4 million OS Small Craft Harbor bulkhead renovation program began in January.(The Ocean Springs Gazette, January 27, 2012, p. 1 and The OS Record, February 3, 2012, p. 3)
The new OSPD-Jail and Municipal Court at 3810 Bienville Boulevard was dedicated on February 3rd as part of the $4 million Public Safety Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 2012, p. 1)
The Elks Mardi Gras Krewe rolled on February 4th with Elise Fox, as Queen and Mike Gaynor, her King, and Jack Willse as Marshal.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 2012, p. 1 and February 16, 2012, p. 1)
Robert 'Bobby' Cox, 'I won't debate her', was elected Alderman-at-Large on February 7th replacing Troy Ross. He defeated Melanie Allen, an exceptionally, well-qualified individual who has proven her love and devotion to the City. Results 1303 votes to 777 votes. Good ole boys 1-Mayor Moran and the denizens 0.(The Sun Herald, February 8, 2012, p. A2)
The Shed BBQ and Blues Joint on Mississippi Highway No. 57 burned to the ground on February 12th. With the assistance of Big Hoss BBQ, Blow Fly Inn, Half Shell Oyster House and F.E.B. Distributers Inc., Brooke Orrison Lewis and Brad Orrison, co-owners of the popular eatery, opened for business on February 17th with a festival-style setup and with food served from portable buildings.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 16, 2012, p. 1 and The Sun Herald, February 13, 2012, p. A1, February 14, 2012, p. A2, February 15, 2012, p. A2, and February 18, 2012, p. A2)
Eric Meyers, City Planner, resigned from his position to take his expertise and skills to Gautier, Mississippi. Eric was an outstanding City employee and will be missed by many who appreciated his character and integrity.(The Sun Herald, February 17, 2012, p. A7)
The Ocean Springs Carnival Association rolled for the fourth time on February 17th under mild weather and with its largest turnout ever.(The Sun Herald, February 18, 2012, p. A2)
Christina Ann Carter and Mark Donlon Mavar ruled as Queen Ixolib and King d'Iberville on February 21st as The Gulf Coast Carnival Association celebrated Mardi Gras in Biloxi.(The Sun Herald, February 19, 2012, p. F1)
Curtis Lee Davis Sr. (1927-2012), native of Vancleave, Mississippi and first dean of the Jackson County Campus of the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College [1964-1991] and long time Mississippi junior college educator [1950-1991], died on March 23rd. Mr. Davis also coached junior college tennis and won many awards for his success in this endeavor. His corporal remains were interred in the Ramsay Cemetery at Vancleave.(The Sun Herald, March 26, 2012, p. A6)
1699 Celebration-April 2012
1699 Marker returns to Ocean Springs Iberville returns on April 28th.
CHARLES F. MCKELLAR (1935-2012)
Charles Fortson McKellar Jr. (1935-2012) was born on October 15, 1935 at Columbus, Mississippi. He graduated from Mississippi State University in 1958 and has acquired much experience in journalism, media and political promotions, and politics in his plus fifty year career. Charles was press secretary for a Governor of Mississippi; the first National Media Manager of Billy Beer, a promotion of Billy Carter (1937-1988), brother of President Jimmy Carter (b. 1924).; first Promotion Director for The Daily Herald ; executive producer for Nashville on the Road, a 1975-1981 television show starring Jerry Clower (1926-1998), Mississippi comedian; executive editor of Proud to Call Mississippi Home (2006) and author of The Candidate Conspiracy (2011). Certainly not the acme of his career, Charles McKellar led the unsuccessful mayoral campaign of Scott Walker, a Republican, in 2010 to unseat Connie Marie Moran, incumbent Mayor of Ocean Springs, Mississippi. Mr. McKellar left the Ocean Springs Record to promote his book and continue his writing.
Charlie Fortson McKellar, Jr. passed away Thursday, June 7, 2012 in Gulfport at the age of 76. An avid sportsman, McKellar relinquished the day-to-day editorial control of The Ocean Springs Record last year to devote full time to the re-publication of the book, Proud to Call Mississippi Home. McKellar had recently completed his first work of fiction, The Candidate Conspiracy, due out this month in hardcover and online, and was preparing a book tour to promote the novel set in Mississippi and Washington D.C. when he became ill.(The Sun Herald, June 9, 2012)
Marie Wicks-Miss Mississippi
[At dedication of WAMA expansion on July 6, 2012]
Marie Wicks, an Ole Miss co-ed and 2007 OSHS graduate and valedictorian was named Miss Mississippi on June 27th at the state competiton in Vicksburg, Mississippi. She will compete for Miss America in January 2013 at Las Vegas. Miss Wicks won titles as Miss Dixie in 2012 and was the Biloxi Lions Club's 2007 Camellia Queen.(The Sun Herald, June 30, 2012 and July 1, 2012 and January 12, 2013, P. A1.)
The Ocean Springs Municipal Airport owned by Bill McWhirter closed in late April. McWhirter acquired the 26.2 acre site in 1992.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 19, 2012, p. 1)
Bonita Coleman-Potter was named Superintendent of the Ocean Springs School District in mid-June. She came to Ocean Springs from the Prince George County, Maryland where she was assistance superintendent in a large school district which had 215 schools and 123,000 students. Ocean Springs has about 6000 students. Mrs. Coleman-Potter is an alumnae of Jackson State University and a Mississippi native. She commenced her duties in Ocean Springs on July 2nd.(The Sun Herald, June 12, 2012, June 15, 2012, July 1, 2012, and July 5, 2012, p. A1 and p. A7)
GROUND BREAKING CEREMONY-July 6th
[L-R: Morris Strickland; Connie Moran; Thad Cochran; John McKay; Troy Ross; and Linda Bloom]
WAMA broke ground on July 6th for a 1770 square-foot expansion to the existing museum structure. A new entry way and two small galleries will be built financed by a 700,000 HUD grant. Senator Thad Cochran (Rep.-Ms) spoke at the occasion and Marie Wicks, Miss Mississippi was in attendance. Dennis Cowart is the architect and Orocon Construction was selected as General Contractor for the project.(The Sun Herald, July 6, 2012, p. A1 and July 7, 2012, p. A1)
Donald Muir Bradburn (1925-2012), patholigist, accomplished photographer and author, expired on July 4th. He was awarded the National Sierrra's Club's prestigious Ansel Adams Award for Conservation Photography in 1971. In 1975, Donald was named Conservation Communicator of the Year by the Mississippi Wildlife Federation. In 2011, the University of Mississippi Press published Bradburn's Last Barriers: Photographs of Wilderness in the Gulf Islands National Seashore.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 26, 2012, pp. 506.
In mid-July 2012, Linda Bloom announced her resignation as WAMA director and to be effective August 16, 2012. She related that health issues of her father-in-law, domiciled in Hilton Head, South Carolina, as the salient reason for her departure. Linda came to WAMA in 2009 as a museum consultant and was name director by 2010. Morris Strickland, WAMA board chairman, lauded Mrs. Bloom for her accomplishments while leading the WAMA family. Dorothy Shaw was named a chiar of the search committee to acquire a replacement for Mrs. Bloom.(The Sun Herald, July 13, 2012, p. A2)
Matt Stebly, local artist, wins Biloxi Seafood Festival poster contest for second consecutive year.(The Sun Herald, July 19, 2012, p. A1)
HOSA broke ground on July 25th on the John R. Blossman Garden at Shearweater Park.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 9, 2012, p. 1)
Community welcomes new O.S. Superintendent, Dr. Bonita Coleman-Potter.(The Sun Herald August 2,2012 p.3A)
YMCA will host a kickoff event on August 28, 2012 to announce a brick fundraising campaign. The Building Strength Capital Campaign will start fundraising efforts for the expansion of the Ocean Springs YMCA. (The Sun Herald, August 14, 2012 p.A2)
Walter Anderson Museum, WAMA, paid tribute to one of the original Museum founders, Dr.Donald Muir Bradburn who passed away on July 4 at the age of 87. (The Sun Herald, August 14, 2012 p. A2)
The original Broome's Grocery is closing and receiving an extreme makeover. The building dates back to 1948, became Broome's Grocery in 1961. Architect Henry Furr, principal of H.H. Furr Architecture & Development in Ocean Springs, designed the renovation. (The Sun Herald August 20,2012 p.1A)
Renovations raise the roof at WAMA. A ceremony marked the highest point of construction in the museum's expansion project.(The Sun Herald September 19, 2012 p.2A)
Margaret Miller, Director of Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce, was inducted into the Mississippi Tourism Hall of Fame in late September, 2012 in Tunica, Mississippi. (The Sun Herald, October 5, 2012, pg D6)
WWII memorial at Freedom Field gets new light, fresh pine straw fix up. The memorial stands about four feet tall, has a bronze plaque and sits at the corner of Porter and General Pershing Avenue. It has been there since 1949 and lists three of the city's sons who died in the war.(The Sun Herald October 7, 2012 p.3A)
Singing River Hospital System marks opening of Neuroscience Center. The 30,726 square-foot facility includes all outpatient neurosurgery, neurology, pain management, sleep center, spinal rehabilitation, neurological rehabilitation, vesibular rehabilitation and pediatric rehabilitation services.(Ocean Springs Gazette October 11, 2012 p.2)
Cottage saves bait shop. Mayor Connie Moran arranged for MEMA to donate a surplus cottage to the city, when they then declared it surplus property and donated it to YADA-Youth Alternative Development Activities - which will lease it to Kenny DiNero, who operates a bait shop at Ocean Springs Harbor.(Ocean Springs Gazette October 18,2012 p.1)
Jackson County Grand Jury found insufficient evidence to indict Ocean Springs alderman James Hagan on embezzlement charge.(The Mississippi Press November 18,2012 p.1)
Eric Powell, recently appointed head of the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, is interested in rebuilding and maintaining the oyster habitat of carbonate reefs.(The Mississippi Press November 18,2012 p.2)
Charges dropped against Alderman James Hagan in Ocean Springs. The District Attorney's Office dismissed a charge of child exploitation against Ocean Springs Alderman James Hagan.(The Sun Herald December 1,2012 p.1A)
Blunt Force, an action movie directed by Daniel Zirilli, filmed on Front Beach on December 11th. Mr. Zirilli was impressed by the cooperation and coordination of the government in Ocean Springs leading him to say: "Ocean Springs is the new film-making capital in Mississippi."(The Ocean Springs Gazette, December 13, 2012, p. 1)
Dr. Alfred E. McNair Jr., Ocean Springs physician and founder of the Digestive Health Center and chief of staff of the Biloxi Regional Medical Center, was awarded the Felix H. Dunn Award by the Gulfport Branch of the NAACP for his many contributions to the Coast community. In 2011, Dr. McNair opened the Mississippi Center for Autism and Related Developmental Disabilities in D'Iberville, Mississippi.(The Sun Herald, December 17, 2012, p. A7)
Ocean Springs Alderman James Hagan says Sheriff Mike Byrd has issued orders directing agents with the Narcotics Task Force of Jackson County to target members of the board for arrest. That information, he said, has been turned over to the Jackson County District Attorney's Office. (The Sun Herald December 20,2012 p.1A)
Ocean Springs was one of seven cities selected as one of the 2012 America's Crown Communities. Penton's American City & County magazine presents the awards annually in recognition of outstanding leadership in local government.(The Sun Herald December 28,2012 p.2A)
Dr. William Walker, Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of Marine Resources, was suspended without pay by his Board of Directors on December 29th. Dr. Walker was appointed head of DMR in 2002 by Governor Ronnie Musgrove. He has come under scrutiny in recent months in regards to spending DMR funds on land purchases and other items, such as boats, etc.(The Mississippi Press, December 30, 2012, p. 1M)
Ocean Springs was named as one of seven American cities, "America's Crown Communitites" by Penton's American City and County Magazine-an award presented annually in recognition of outstanding leadership in local government. The City was also recognized by the Mississippi Municipal League as "Best Overall City". Both awards resukted from Ocean Springs' planning, construction, and opening of the Public safety Complex on Bienville Boulevard in 2012.(The Mississippi Press, December 30, 2012, p. 3M)
The Ocean Springs and Pascagoula police departments received recognition for earning state accreditation based on their ability to successfully follow the best law enforcement practices on a state and national level.(The Sun Herald January 16,2013 p.6A)
The board unanimously accepted a bid from the city's current solid waste contractor, Waste Pro, which promises to cut garbage costs to city and residents.(Ocean Springs Gazette January 17, 2013 p.1)
James Webster Wilson
James Webster Wilson (1940-2013) attorney and businessman, expired on January 5th. Jim was a native of Meridian, Mississippi and his early education was overseas, as his father was in the US Foreign Service. He graduated from high school at Havana, Cuba in 1959 when Fidel Castro was becoming leader of this island nation. Jim graduated from Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service in 1963, and then served in the USN from 1963-1968. He received his Juris Doctor degree from Ole Miss in 1972. After law school, Jim and his family settled in Ocean Springs, where he served as City Attorney from 1977-1980, and then founded boutique law firms in Biloxi and New Orleans. After years of practicing many areas of law, Jim felt his greatest passion was helping seniors, those with disabilities, and their families. He founded Wilson Elder Law Center with the vision of creating not just a law firm but an invaluable resource and support center for families at a critical phase of life. Jim served on the Board of Directors for the Gulf Hills Civic Association and was a past president. He also served on the Board of Directors for the ARC of Mississippi. He was an annual participant in the DREAM Program's golf tournament, and a supporter of the Special Olympics of Mississippi, the Gulf Coast Down's Syndrome Society, the American Heart Association, and the Alzheimer's Association.(The Sun Herald, January 6, 2013, p. A )
Psycamore loss to be appealed. The city will ask the State Supreme Court to reverse a district court's ruling that aldermen were wrong to deny a mental health clinic permission to open on Iberville Drive. After being denied by Ocean Springs, Psycamore opened a clinic in Biloxi.(Ocean Springs Gazette January 17,2013 p.1)
Mayor Connie Moran delivered her annual State of the City address. Her presentation included photos of the new pocket park between the bridge and Yacht Club, the Front Beach walkway, the Sports Complex, tennis pavilion and the award winning public safety complex. Ocean Springs was also named one of the America's Crown Communities by Penton's American City & County magazine. The general fund was $3.1 million; about the same as 2011. Sales tax revenues were also steady.(The Sun Herald January 18,2013 p.7A)
Ocean Springs Alderman James Hagan plans to file a lawsuit against the county and the Sheriff's Department, claiming he was falsely arrested and maliciously prosecuted on child pornography, molestation and embezzlement chares.(The Sun Herald January 19,2013 p.1A)
Crooked Letter Brewing Company [image made February 2013]
Crooked Letter Brewing Company, 1805 Government Street, opened its doors for guided tours and samples on January 12, 2013. Paul and Wanda Blacksmith, proprietors, are brewing: Mystery Romp, a porter-stout; Gipsy India pale ale; Crooked Hefeweizen; and Stabello, an Italian-style larger. (The Sun Herald, January 15, 2013, p. A9 and Ocean Springs Gazette, January 24, 2013, p. 3)
The 38th Elk's Mardi Parade rolled on January 26th with Queen Charity Janan Holland and King Fidelity Paul Auge ruling the streets of Ocean Springs.(The Gazette, Jauary 24, 2013, p. 1)
Ocean Springs' own Marie Wicks reflects on Miss America memories. Wicks, the reigning Miss Mississippi represented her home state in the national pageant. She did not finish amongst the 16 finalists - although her roomate during the pageant week, Miss New York was ultimately crowned Miss America. (The Mississippi Press January 25,2013 p.4)
Rosemary Roosa was named executive director of WAMA on January 30th.(The Sun Herald, February 1, 2013, p. A5)
Open house set at the new $3 million Vancleave hurricane shelter (The Sun Herald February 5,2013 p.4A)
Judge William Harbin Myers (1941-2013), native of Jackson, Mississippi and University of Mississippi graduate attorney and Chancellor 16th District Chancery Court from July 1992 until until he was appointed to the Mississippi Court of Appeals in June 2000. Judge Myers was relected to the Court and served as presiding judge from November 2005 until his retirement in December 2011.(The Sun Herald, February 9, 2013, p. A6)
The Ocean Springs Carnival Association rolled through the streets of Ocean Springs on February 8th with its 5th Annual Mardi Gras parade.(The Ocean Springs Gazette, February 14, 2013, p. 1)
The OSHS cheerleaders competed in the UCA Nationals Cheer Competition at Orlando, Florida and won the World Championship division and placed second in the USA competition.(The Gazette, February 14, 2013, p. 1)
WAMA ADDITION [February 2013]
WAMA's new $750,000 facade and gallery edition were dedicated on February 15th.(The Mississippi Press, February 17, 2013, p. M1 and The Sun Herald, February 17, 2013, p. F1)
The City of D'Iberville celebrated its 25th incorporation anniversary [February 10, 1988] on February 19th.(The Sun Herald, February 16, 2013, p. A2)
Ken Rainer and Nick Rainer, father and son, were drowned while kayaking in Biloxi Bay on February 27th. Their bodies were found on February 28th and March 8th respectively.(The Sun Herald, March 10, 2013, p. A2)
Ronald 'Bo' Hall (1940-2013), well-known and loved in Ocean Springs and Vancleave, expired on February 27, 2013. Bo was a dental lab technician and owner of Hall's Dental Laboratory from 1975 until his retirement in 2011. He was vice preident of the Singing River Electric Power board and an avid collector of fishing lures.(The Sun Herald, March 1, 2013, p. A4)
The Ocean Springs Hospital-Singing River Health System was cited by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Mississippi as a Blue Distinction Center of Excellence for knee and hip replacement and spinal surgery.(The Sun Herald, March 23, 2013, p. B6)
Charles E. Voivedich
Charles E. Voivedich (1938-2013), 'Charley V.', died on April 2nd at Ocean Springs, Mississippi. Charley V. was one of the Coast's better known musicians and its ambassador singing our 'Coast National Anthem'-"Cherry Pie"!(The Sun Herald, April 7, 2013]
Lyman Paul Bradford
Lyman Paul Bradford Sr. (1935-2013), former USMC Captain and long time Ocean Springs public activist serving as chairman of the Planning Commission, member of the Harbor Commission and president of the Chamber of Commerce, expired on April 9th. Paul and Linda Dalgo Bradford, his wfie, resided on Lovers Lane before their move to Biloxi. Mr. Bradford was a Deacon at Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church in Biloxi. His corporal remains were interred in the Evergreen Cemetery at Ocean Springs.(The Sun Herald, April 12, 2013, p. A4)
City Hall-Porter Street-April 30, 2013.
Ocean Springs was one of three communities in the nation chosen as a 2013 Great American Main Street Awards winner.(The Sun Herald, April 15, 2013, p. A1)
GINS , which includes Horn, Petit Bois and Ship Island, was ranked 9th in visitors for 2012 with 4.97 million folks coming to the Ocean Springs facility of the National Park system.(The Sun Herald, April 11, 2013, p. A2)
Michael Impey IIdefeats James Hagan in runoff vote for Ward VI Alderman. (Ocean Springs Gazette May 23,2013 p.1)
World Champions The Shed BBQ & Blues Joint brings home the bacon.(Ocean Springs Record May 23,2013 p.8)
A. Fred Moran Jr., as Iberville, and Henry Hansell Furr, as Bienville, led the cast of faux animators at the 1699 almost annual landing on Front Beach on April 27th.(The Sun Herald, April 28, 2013, p. A6 and The Gazette, May 2013, p. )
[image made April 29, 2013 by Ray L. Bellande]
Public Arts Project of Ocean Springs [PAPOS] unveiled their lastest outdoor sculpture on April 26th at the Myrtle Keys Park on Cash Alley. Donated to the public for their aesthetic appeal, this free standing statue by Vicki Banks of Los Angeles is titled "Crow and the Pitcher" . UPDATE: The sculpture on display at Keys Municipal Park on Cash Alley has been vandalized. The crow has been taken from the top of the bronze and granite sculpture, entitled "The Crow and the Pitcher. (The Ocean Springs Record, April 25, 2013, p. 1 and The Sun Herald May 14, 2013, p.2 A)
Salmagundi Gift Shopcelebrates 50 years in Ocean Springs. Current owner, Jeannie Stevenson, is the third owner of the business that was opened 50 years ago by Ralph and Lois Raum. Stevenson bought the business from Bob and Mary Costa 21 years ago.(The Sun Herald May 2, 2013, p. 6B)
St. Paul United Methodist East Campus celebrates 10 years. (The Sun Herald May 4, 2013, p. 3A)
Community grieves at memorial for two Pascagoula High School football players. Caleb Sweeten andBrandon Rich were killed May 5, 2013 in a water skiing accident on the Pascagoula River. (The Sun Herald May 9, 2013, p. 1A)
USM's Gulf Coast Research Labready to cut ribbon on it's "cool" new building, the Field Studies Building. State, local and educational leaders are celebrating the opening of the building, a first for the lad since Katrina devastated its campuses.(The Sun Herald May 28, 2013 p. 1A)
Ocean Springs High School held graduation for the class of 2013. This year's graduating class received more than $700 million in scholarships. Valedictorian Mikayla Wheeler, Salutatorian Olivia Day and Class Orator Piyush Borse. (Ocean Springs Record May 30, 2013 p.1 A)
HOSA dedicates John Blossman Memorial Garden located near the harbor on Shearwater Drive.(The Ocean Springs Record May 30, 2013 p.1A)
Local artist Matt Stebly (the great-grandson of Walter Anderson) is the latest of the Anderson family to gain national accolades, and this time it's a 16 page feature in the pages of the national publication Tattoo Review.(Ocean Springs Record May 30,2013 p. 1A)
[mage made june 5, 2013]
Sakura Restaurant & Sushi Bar, NE/C Government Street and ML King Jr. Avenue, opened in the newly remodeled Broome Building on May 22nd.(The Mississippi Press, June 2, 2013, p. 7M)
Sun Herald Editorial board recommends to re-elect Connie Moran, mayor of Ocean Springs; as well as Les Fillingame of Bay St. Louis; A.J. Holloway of Biloxi; and Leo "Chipper" Mcdermott of Pass Christian. Independent John Fletcher is recommended for Diamondhead.(The Sun Herald June 2,2013 p.2C)
Connie Moran and Steve Phillips-June 4, 2013
[interview at Mayor's victory party on June 4, 2013]
Mayor Connie Moran was re-elected on June 4th defeating John McKay. Moran garnered 2527 votes to McKay's 1539(The Sun Herald, June 5, 2013, p. A1 and The Ocean Springs Record, June 6, 2013, p. 1)
Architect Carl D. Germany (1951-2013) died at NOLA on June 9th. Mr. Germany, a Pascagoula, Mississippi native and a 1969 graduate of Ocean Springs High School and family, moved here from Fort Worth, Texas, where he was active as a design architect. He married to Nancy Louise Ruspino (b. 1951), a native of Oakland, California. Carl D. Germany matriculated to Auburn University and received degrees in Environmental Design (1978) and Architecture (1979). Since arriving here, he has designed the Villa Maria walking path, Centennial Square Phase One addition (1995), Guay Residence (1994), Baxter Residence (1995), Irene Powers Residence (1995), the major L&N Depot restoration (1997), Little Children's Park bridge and picnic shelter (1998 ), the Senior Citizens Center refurbishment (1998), and the new Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church (1999). In 2000, Carl began working with the Friends of the Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural Center for Arts and Education in regards to the 1927 Public School restoration.
Other notable projects that Mr. Germany was associated were: Germany Home on Belle Fountain Road; Lynne Dudley House on Kensington Drive; Ray and Maureen Hudachek House-post Katrina on Jackson Avenue; Latil House on LaFontaine Avenue-post Katrina; and the Holy Spirit Catholic Church at 6705 Jim Ramsay Road in Vancleave. Carl D. Germany left Ocean Springs after Hurricane Katrina and worked for several engineering and architectural firms at Panama City, Florida and in New Orleans, Louisiana. Carl D. Germany expired at New Orleans on June 9, 2013.(The Sun Herald, June 27, 2013, p. A4 )
Eli Troutman, son of Brad and Angie Troutman, was named 2013 Gatorade Mississippi Boys Soccer Player of the Year. Eli has accepted an athletic scholarship to William Carey College at Hattiesburg where he will join Cameron Troutman, his older brother, on the soccer team.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 13, 2013, p. 1)
Former Ocean Springs Ward VI alderman, James Hagan, filed a $30 million dollar lawsuit against Sheriff Mike Byrd, Jackson County, et al alleging that his civil rights were violated among other charges relating to Hagan's alleged acts of child molestation, child pornography, and embezzlement of City property.(The Sun Herald, June 26, 2013, p. A1)
Ward IV-Alderman Greg Denyer and family
Recently elected and re-elected City officials were sworn in at the Community Center on Washibngton Avenue on July 1st.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 4, 2013, p. 1)
Life after restoration set for historic home. Charnley-Norwood house on East Beach designed in 1890 by renowned architect Louis Sullivan of Chicago, the father of the skyscraper, and his young draftsman, Frank Lloyd Wright. (Ocean Springs Gazette July 4,2013 p.1)
The recently restored Charnley-Norwood House on East Beach is considered an architectural rarity and many groups were in town last week to discuss possible uses for the property and building(Ocean Springs Record July 4,2013 p.1)
Sea turtle nest discovered. Researchers from the Institute for Marine Mammal Studies have cornered off the area around the year's first documented loggerhead sea turtle nest on South Mississippi beaches. Sea turtles are a federally protected species and tampering with a nest could result in fines or jail time. (The Sun Herald July 5,2013 p.2A)
Richard 'Dickie' A. Waters (1935-2013), son of longtime Gulf Hills owners, Richard "Dick' and Gladys Waters, died on July 4th. Dickie was an awarding winning artist, musician, inventor and horticulturists.(The Sun Herald, July 7, 2013, p. A13)
The Shed gets TV series on Food Network. Starting August 5, 2013. (The Sun Herald July 10,2013 p.1A)
Moran Realty celebrated its 125th anniversary in July. Hiram Fisher Russell (1858-1940) came to Ocean Springs from Yazoo City, Mississippi in 1888 and commenced the enterprises that morphed into Moran Realty.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 11, 2013, p. 1)
City Clerk Shelly Ferguson drew names for the lottery that gave the order for applicants to purchase cemetery plots at Evergreen Cemetery. (Ocean Springs Gazette July 17, 2013 p.1)
Ethelyn Lucille MacKenzie Schaffner Connor (1916-2013), Ocean Springs 'Tree Lady" and longtime advocate for historic preservation, the Live Oak and greenscapes and gardening expired on July 21st. She was the spouse of our first full-time Mayor Pat Connor.(The Sun Herald, july 23, 2013, p. A4 and July 24, 2013, p. A1 and A4)
Aldermen Fred "Chic" Cody and Matt McDonnell were inducted into the Mississippi Municipal League (MML) Hall of Fame for surpassing 20 years as elected officials. (Ocean Springs Record July 25,2013 p.1)
Jackson County Supervisors voted to fire another architectural firm, The Goldberg Group, in connection with the design of the new multi-million dollar county jail, stating that the latest firm took actions that were not authorized by the Board of Supervisors in connection with the bid process. They also voted to throw out all the bids on the jail the county received from contractors on July 1. The county received a low bid of about $27 million. (The Sun Herald July 30,2013 p.1A)
New Ward 6 Alderman Mike Impey held his first ward meeting. Among other things he told the group that he would not support a smoking ban for restaurants and businesses in the city.(The Sun Herald July 30,2013 p.2A)
Speakers at a public hearing want to designate 750 miles of beaches from North Carolina to Mississippi as being critical habitat for endangered loggerhead sea turtles. But some warned the designation by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service could restrict communities from rebuilding the very beaches where loggerheads nest. (The Sun Herald August 8, 2013 p.5A)
Ocean Springs High School places 22nd in its MaxPreps Cup Top 25. An esteemed national ranking of high school athletics programs. (Ocean Springs Record August 8,2014 p.1)
Andre Kaufman, OS Public Works Director, was suspended for three days without pay and ordered to attend an anger management class. Kaufman was accused of criticizing an alderman via e-mail.(The Sun Herald, August 15, 2013, p. A1)
Public Works Director Andre Kaufman suspended for three days, ordered to enroll in an anger management class and put him on six months’ probation. (Ocean Springs Gazette August 15,2013 p.1A)
Ocean Springs School District's enrollment at the opening of the 2013-2014 school year is up by more than 200 students. For the first time, parents or guardians were required to register in person in July at their children's schools(Ocean Springs Gazette August 15, 2013 p.1A)
Neighbors want blight addressed. Residents who live near 420 Jackson would like to see action taken on the vacant home and overgrown property. The house has been abandoned since Katrina and has been used by a prostitute as a place of work.(Ocean Springs Record August 22, 2013 p.1)
420 Jackson Street property receives attention from owner to bring property up to city standards. (Ocean Springs Record September 5, 2013 p.1)
Property owners want to build house where trees stand, asking to remove two live oaks on Lovers Lane. The city said no to cutting them down.(The Sun Herald August 25, 2013 p. A1)
'The Gospel Giant', WOSM-FM radio station, owned by Charles and Margaret Cooper have reached an agreement with SuperTalk Mississippi Network, a subsidiary of TelSouth, to sell WOSM for $1,5 million.(GulfLive, June 27, 2013 and The Mississippi Press, August 28, 2013, p. 2M)
Shelter-gym and boutique hotel on Government Street both shelved by the Board of Alderman. City can't afford cost of maintaining shelter.(Ocean Springs Gazette September 5, 2013 p.1)
Ocean Springs School Districtis one of only 18 districts statewide to boast an overall A rating.(The Mississippi Press September 13, 2013 p.1)
Jocelyn's Restaurant to close at end of year. Jocelyn Mayfield will be closing her popular Ocean Springs restaurant in January after 31 years. (The Sun Herald September 17, 2013 p.1A)
Jocelyn Seymour Mayfield
[from The Sun Herald, October 20, 2013]
Historic Ocean Springs house makes a comeback; agencies ponder future for Charnley-Norwood House. The most architecturally significant house on the Coast, after Beauvoir, with it's historical importance. Two famous architects claim it - Louis Sullivan, who designed Chicago skyscrapers, and his draftsman Frank Lloyd Wright, who would later take design elements of the house and run with them in his own renown style. (The Sun Herald October 1, 2013 p. 1A)
Shearwater Pottery celebrates 85 years. It is one of the city's longstanding businesses.(Ocean Springs Record October 3,2013 p.1)
Thomas H. Creekmore is one of 11 World War II veterans who were honored in Jackson on September 24, 2013. Creekmore was a sergeant, 315th Infantry Regiment, 79th Division during WWII. He was presented with the National Legion of Honor.(Ocean Springs Record October 3,2013 p.1)
10 bids received for demolition of controversial Ocean Springs Harbor buildings. Bids DMR received range from approximately $119,000 to $433,000.(The Sun Herald October 9, 2013 p.10A)
"Raiders" biography optioned by "Napoleon" director, Jeremy Coon. (Ocean Springs Record October 17, 2013 p.1)
Ingalls celebrates 75 years as an economic cornerstone.(The Sun Herald October 20, 2013 p.1A)
The Mississippi Gulf Coast Attractions Association awarded Jocelyn Seymour Mayfield their 3rd annual Don Jacob's Tourism Achievement Award on October 21st at the Biloxi Visitor's Center.(The Sun Herald, October 20, 2013, p. A15)
Ocean Springs Art Association holds 42nd Fall Art Show and Sale.(Sun Herald November 3, 2013 p.F1)
Five defendants plead not guilty to public corruption charges. Former DMR executive director Bill Walker, his son Scott Walter and three others pleaded not guilty to multiple charges.(The Sun Herald November 14, 2014 p.1A)
Dr. Albert Dantzler Jr.
The Reverend Dr. Alfred Dantzler Jr. (1948-2013), pastor of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church passed on November 19, 2013. He replaced the Reverend Doctor Jesse Trotter (1925-2010) in September 2012.(The Sun Herald, November 24, 2013, p. A. )
Boat Shed and Harbor Landing Restaurant at Inner Harbor
Both structures built by I. David Harris Jr. (1939-2014) were demolished by Department of Marine Resources in November 2013.[L-R: Boat Shed-November 20, 2013 and Harbor Landing-November 24, 2013]
The State Department of Marine Resources has awarded the bid to tear down and haul off the boat storage shed and restaurant it owns at the Ocean Springs Harbor. Southern Recycling and Demolition Inc. of D'Iberville got the job with a low bid of $118,545. The highest of the 10 bids was $433,000.The demolition project officially starts Wednesday and the company has until Feb. 4 to complete the work.The state agency bought the storage shed, large enough to hold 167 boats, and the elevated restaurant called Harbor Landing from former Blossman YMCA Director David Harris and his family for $3.6 million, using Coastal Impact Assistance Program money, when the property was on the Jackson County tax rolls at a value of $1.3 million. A 2012 federal audit questioned the purchase partly because Harris and then-DMR Director Bill Walker were friends.(The Sun Herald, November 4, 2013)
Gary Demaree (1936-2013), native of Hattiesburg, Vietnam veteran and former Captain of the OSPD with 35 years of service, died on December 6th.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 12, 2013, p. 7)
Historic home could be artistic haven. A group of historic preservationists is working to keep Twelve Oaks, a historic property in Gautier and more than 100 years old, intact by turning it into a haven for scholars, researchers, academics and practitioners. (The Sun Herald p.1A)
Kenneth 'Tree Daddy' McClain (1939-2014), native of Belzoni, Mississippi and local tree cutter and town character, died on January 7th.(The Sun Herald, January 9 , 2014, p. A )
In January, Father Bernard Farrell retired from the priesthood while pastor of St. Elizabeth Seton Catholic Church. He served the people of St. Elizabeth Seton for twelve years. Father Henry McInerney of St. Alphonsus was transferred to Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church in Biloxi.(The Ocean Springs Gazette, January 16, 2014, p. 1)
Susan L. McClamroch (b. 1955) was named Director of the Mary Cahill O'Keefe Cultural Center in January. Susan replaced Bryant Wheelan who resigned in September 2013. She is a 1973 graduate of OSHS and was educated at Springhill College in Mobile, the University of Mississippia and Tulane. Ms. McClamroch's interests are in Southern Studies, art and architecture She comes to Ocean Springs from Slidell, Louisiana where she was Main Street manager for Slidell, Louisiana.(The Ocean Springs Gazette, January 16, 2014, p. 1)
Salmagundi Gifts, which was founded circa 1963 by Lois Marye Robertson Raum (1926-1967) and Pam Smith of Pascagoula in the Farmers and Merchants Bank Building on Washington Avenue, closed its doors in February. The business moved across the street in the old US Post Office on the southeast corner of Robinson and Washington. Jeannie Steveson, the present proprietor, acquired the business from Mary and Bob Costa circa 1991.(The Ocean Springs Gazette, January 16, 2014, p. 1)
Demolition of the Singing River Mall at Gautier, Mississippi commenced on February 26th. It opened in March 1981.(The Sun Herald, April 5, 2014, p. A-1 and The Ocean Springs Record, January 1, 1981, p. 1)
On March 7th, the Blossman YMCA broke ground for a $3 million expansion and renovation of the facility. John and Mary Alice Minor who built the original natatorium which became the YMCA were present for the event.(The Sun Herald, March 8 2014, p. A-2)
Samuel A. Cvitanovich
Samuel ‘Sammy’ Amos Cvitanovich (1927-2014) was born March 31, 1927 at Biloxi and died on Sunday, March 16, 2014 at Ocean Springs. Sammy was lifelong resident of Ocean Springs and was the former owner of Henriettas Café in Ocean Springs for 52 years. His many interests were the love of his family, riding the horn and having his whiskey cocktail. He was also a longtime member of St. Alphonsus Catholic Church and the Slavic Benevolent Society.(The Sun Herald, March 19, 2014)
Ocean Springs Mayor Connie Moran confirmed she is engaged to Jack Rosen of Mobile. Did anyone ask Jack? (The Sun Herald, April 3, 2014, p. 5-A and April 4, 2014, p. 2-A)
Sears and Sears Auto Center, which closed in October 2013, was demolished in late May. The site will become the Gautier Town Commons and a Super Wal-Mart. Demolition of the 390,000 sq.-ft., Singing River Mall at Gautier commenced in February 2014.(The Sun Herald, May 23, 2014, p. A-7)
James H. “Jim” Neirynck (1928-2014), native of Bloomington, Illinois, passed on June 2, 2014 in Biloxi. He graduated from Quincy College in Quincy, Illinois, then served as a Staff Sergeant in the United States Air Force during the Korean War. He was a longtime general contractor who built numerous homes and businesses on the Gulf Coast. Jim was a member of the Biloxi Yacht Club for more than 35 years where he was an avid sailor and served as Commodore for 2 years. Jim was also a member of the Mississippi Home Builders Association, Ocean Springs Rotary and St. Alphonsus Catholic Church.(The Sun Herald, June 11, 2014, p. A-4)
Donald R. Green (1926-2014)
Donald Rupert 'Don' Green (1926-2014), native of Sherwood, North Dakota and Coast resident since 1952, expired at Ocean Springs, Mississippi on July 19, 2014. Don was a veteran of the USAF and graduate of Michigan Technical University. He joined Ferson Optical at Ocean Springs after completing his military service and became president of the company in 1962. In 1976, Don and Janet Swan Ferson Green, his spouse, founded PFG Optics, and he retired in 1996. Mr. Green was active in civic affairs at both Biloxi and Ocean Springs. He was a director of the Hancock Bank and the Jackson and George County Salvation Army. Don was a fine athlete and participated in ball room dancing, tennis, golf, and skiing. He won a national ski event, gold medal in 2012 claiming the giant slalom title in his age group. Mr. Green was an aviator and had flown in Canada, Mexico, the Bahamas and Central America.(The Sun Herald, July 22, 2014, p. A-6 and July 23, 2014, p. A-8)
1820 Government Street-July 23, 2014 YMCA Fire
[see The Ocean Springs Gazette, July 24, 2014, p. 1 and July 31, 2014, p. 1; The Sun Herald, July 24, 2014, p. A-7-middle image by Joey Han Conwill others Ray L. Bellande)
Margaret Miller, executive director of the OS Chamber of Commerce-Main Street Tourism Bureau, was honored for her more than 25 years of leadership within the Ocean Springs community.(The Ocean Springs Gazette, July 31, 2014, p. 1)
In late July, Lovelace Drugs was sold to CVS by Fred's Discount Drugs who has a lease on the building and operated a pharmacy. Clark Levi owner of the building said that Fred's has several years remaining on its five year lease. Future use of the building is unknown.(The Sun Herald, July 26, 2014, p. A-4 and The Ocean Sptings Gazette, July 31, 2004, p. 1)
Lawrence C. 'Larry' Corban (1929-2014), age 85 years, life-long Biloxi resident and son of Judge Lawrence C. Corbanand Gene Sulivan Corban, died on August 4th. Larry was an attorney educated at the University of Mississippi. He was a former City Attorney for the City of Ocean Springs.(The Sun Herald, August 6, 2014, p. A-)
Kenneth 'Ken' Snider (1949-2014), retired USCG veteran and local contractor, died on August 5th. Ken was a born in Michigan to J. Martin Snider (1921-1984) and Jane Snider (1922-2005). He was a student and disciple of Carroll Benton Ishee and continued to build Isheesque homes in the area. Ken built his retirement home at the Gulf Park-OS Airport and worked at the airport for 15 years.(The Sun Herald, August 9, 2014)
Chancery Clerk Terry Miller announced that he would retire in 2015.(The Sun Herald, August 12, 2014, p. A-4)
Danny Jalanivich, former Alderman-at Large and OS Harbor Commissioner, was hired by Jackson County as OS Harbor Master in mid-August. His salary was approximately $50,000 annually.(The Sun Herald, August 15, 2014, p. A-5)
The new $16.5 million expansion and renovation of the Ocean Springs Hospital was dedicated on August 14th.(The Sun Herald, August 14, 2014, p. A-2)
Repairing Front Beach Promenade-September 10, 2014
Landmark Contracting Inc. was hired to repair and replace a section of the Front Beach walkway that was caved in due to erosion beneath its foundation. Department of Marine Resources Tidelands Grants are funding the project.(The Sun Herald, August 30, 2014, p. A-5)
Mayor Connie Marie Moran announced her wedding to Jack Rosen on October 11, 2014 . Nuptials to be held at the Grand Hotel at Point Clear, Alabama.(The Sun Herald, September 14, 2014, p. A-1)
I. David Harris Jr. (1939-2014) expired on September 30, 2014. David was the long time director of the Blossman YMCA and the founder of the Boat Shed and Harbor Landing Restaurant.
Ground breaking for the Thomas D. McIlwain Harbor Green on November 7, 2014.[L-R: Mayor Connie Marie Moran; Kristen Smith-U.S. Fish & Wildlife, Jennifer Wagner-DMR; Hank Zuber-State Representative; Jamie Miller-DMR; Danny Jalanivich-Harbor Master; Alderman Greg Denyer; Jackson County Supervisors John McKay and Troy Ross; Stacey McIlwain Randall; Janet McIlwain; and Alderman John Gill] (from The Ocean Springs Gazette, November 13, 2014, p. 1-image courtesy of James Ricketts)
Paul Morris Campbell (1955-2014), master craftsman and building contractor, died on November 22, 2014. Paul operated a construction company building many fine homes along the coast and renovating and restoring several historic homes.(The Sun Herald, November 25, 2014)
On December 1st, Scott Walker, former OS Mayoral candidate, reported to a minimum security Federal prison at Pensacola to began an 18-month incarceration for corruption involving the DMR of which his father, William Walker, was the executuve director.(The Sun Herald, December 3, 2014, p. A-1)
Mike Ezell, former OS Police Chief, was elected Sheriff of Jackson County, Mississippi on December 2nd.(The Sun Herald, December 3, 2014)
Little Free Library-Ocean Springs now has a Little Free Library thanks to Lake M. Andrews at 319 Washington Avenue. The Little Free Library operates with the motto-“take a book, leave a book”. Inspired by industrialist-philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919), whose foundation built 2510 libraries throughout America, the LFL movement began in 2009 in Wisconsin and now has over 23,000 members worldwide. Mississippi has 14 registrations from Southaven to Waveland. Mrs. Andrews designed her “library” and it ‘opened’ for public use last week.
John M. Fahnestock Jr. (1935-2015)
JOHN MORRIS FAHNESTOCK JR.-(1935-2015)-Born at Colon, Panama on January 4, 1935, the son of John M. Fahnestock (1900-1980) and Mae Cassibry (1902-1984). Married Marion Phillips at New York in January 1956. He was educated in engineering at the Merchant Marine Academy and the University of Virginia. Mr. Fahnestock joined the Ferson Optics Company at Ocean Springs in 1964.
John M. Fahnestock with several key personnel from the Ferson engineering group founded Alpha Optical Systems in January 1975. The company began their business of designing and manufacturing optical systems for the aerospace industry at its Ocean Springs facility in the old Greer’s grocery mart at present day 1611 Government Street. In November 1977, Alpha Optical Systems acquired the structure on Government Street west of Denny from Florence C. Easterling and had it refurbished.
Under the leadership of John M. Fahenestock, Gay G. Martin, Ron Pownall, and Dick Weaver, AOS was very successful in its field of endeavor and was awarded honors by the USSBA and the State of Mississippi for its achievements. In January 1989, Coors Ceramics Company, a subsidiary of the Adolph Coors Company of Golden, Colorado acquired Alpha Optical Systems and its sixty employees. Coors suspended operations at Alpha Optical System and closed its plant at Ocean Springs in the mid-1990s. John M. Fahnestock et al retired from the precision optical business after the Coors shut down. John expired at Ocean Springs on December 23, 2015.
The Twisted Anchor, art gallery and tatoo parlor of Matthew Stebley, opened on April 21st on the former site of the Myrtle Keys residence at Government Street which was demolished to erect this structure. Maugh Construction Company was the contractor and was ably assisted by Jason Stebley, Matt's uncle.(The Sun Herald, April 18, 2016)
Alvin Endt (1933-2016) expired on June 20, 2016. He was an outstanding athlete and civic leader. Mr. Endt was elected alderman in 1965, and served two terms before being elected to the Mississippi House of Representatives in 1983 where he was a member for sixteen years retiring in 1999. He also taught school at St. Martin High School and was a geology major at USM. (Alvin Endt, September 22, 2003 and The Sun Herald, June 23, 2016)
Maryalice Fairbank Miner
She met Eleanor Roosevelt at the White House when she was a teenager and it made a big impression on her. It was one of the stories Maryalice Miner liked to tell customers at her Miner’s Big Stuff Doll & Toy Store, at the entrance to downtown Ocean Springs for decades.
Maryalice was with her parents at a While House ceremony, and being young, was prepared to snicker because the first lady was homely, but she paused when she told the story because what happened was not a childish snicker. She was totally captivated by Eleanor, when the first lady looked deep into her eyes.
Maryalice later married John Miner, who was at the White House that day too, and together they ran one of the most consistently successful small businesses in the city.
Maryalice Miner died Thursday morning, December . She was 92 years young.
As they grew up, her husband became a naval architect on the team that developed unmanned vertical-launch missiles. She developed her own style of swim lessons and early-childhood development classes.
They were lauded in 2015 for 60 years of service on the Coast with the Chamber of Commerce community events, for building the Aquatic Club in Pascagoula in 1964 that later moved to Ocean Springs, for the work they did in organizing the Gulf Coast YMCA and especially for efforts in swimming and water safety, which was her specialty.
John Miner died in February at the age of 91.
The Miners are most-known for the toy store they started when they were in their 60s. They ran it for almost 30 years.
When they turned 90 together in 2015, the city threw a birthday party for them.
At the time, Maryalice told the Sun Herald, “I’m half excited and half embarrassed,” but she had her dress picked out, one that was dynamite blue. She knew how to have fun at a party.
About her work, Maryalice Miner said, toys are a way to interact with people, to develop relationships. They are key to a child’s learning process.
Just two years ago, Maryalice was working six days a week, attending morning Chamber gatherings and other events at night.
She inspired other downtown business owners.
Paige Riley, with Hillyer House, told the Sun Herald, “Some mornings I come in to open, wondering how I’m going to make it, and I look across and see her at the front of her shop sweeping, in her blue linen suit with her lipstick on. It gets me going.”
Maryalice Miner had known her husband since the 7th grade, and as a couple, they were almost inseparable.
Her daughter, Merileigh Miner Furr, said, “It was the most beautiful love story. They were holding hands (when he died), even with her stroke. Up until the end he was the ultimate gentleman, professing his love and that he would see her later.”
Her son Steve Miner said his mother passed away in her sleep, with no pain. She had had a stroke, but was gracious, even being paralyzed for more than a year.
“We’ll all miss her joy and her enthusiasm,” he said. “She lived a great life and touched a lot of people’s lives.”
“She had a good time raising three boys and a daughter — all taller than her — but she kept us all in line.”
Furr said her mother died peacefully in the morning hours and when asked yesterday if she had a happy heart, she nodded yes.[The Sun Herald, December 28, 2017]
Effective 2 January 2018, The Ocean Springs Record merged with The Ocean Springs Gazette. The new journal became The Ocean Springs Gazette & Record. Bay Corporation, owner of The Ocean Springs Record and The Biloxi-D'Iberville Press, sold these journals to Campbell Newspapers, LLC, owned by Tommy and Dee Ann Campbell. The Campbells, owners of The Choctaw Sun-Advocate in Butler, Alabama, also acquired The Ocean Springs Gazette from James and Cindy Ricketts.[The Ocean Springs Record, December 28, 2017, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Gazette & Record, January 4, 2018, p. 4]
MARK ARTHUR HARE
FIRE CHIEF [1999-2007]
Mark Arthur Hare, age 66, of Ocean Springs, MS passed away on August 16, 2023 at his residence.
He was born on July 28, 1957 at Biloxi Keesler AFB to John Arthur Hare and Alberta Wilson Hare. He was a twelve-year Ocean Springs student and attended MGCCC. He started working as the Fort Bayou bridge tender, in 1971, at the young age of 14. He was a Harbormaster from 1985 to 1993 and worked beach maintenance from 1993-1998. His career was with the Fire Service from 1978 to 2007 serving many levels and capacities. He was the Ocean Springs Fire Chief from 1999 to retirement in 2007. He served in the Civil Defense in 1999.
His second career was with CSX Railroad working the bridges at Rigolets, Pascagoula Draw, and Biloxi Bay until he returned to Beach Maintenance for Jackson County as a part-time job with an effort to help his community shine. Mark’s favorite past time was being on the water. He loved to fish but couldn’t catch. He collected antique outboard motors, loved history, and genuinely loved talking to people.
Mark was preceded in death by his parents, John and Alberta Hare.
He is survived by his wife, Eleanor “Cissy” Hare; sister, Sandy Hare; brother-in-law, Bo Hamilton; nephew, Woody (Morgan) Peterson and their children, Elliot Peterson and Soren Peterson.
A funeral service will be held at 12:00pm on Tuesday, August 22, 2023 at Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home, Ocean Springs, MS. Friends may visit from 10:00am until service time. Burial will follow at Evergreen Cemetery, Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
Bradford-O’Keefe Funeral Home, Ocean Springs is honored to serve the family of Mark Arthur Hare.