Interesting Things

By Ray L. Bellande

Primary tabs

Ocean Springs, Mississippi - 20th Century (1901 - 2000)

 

1900-1910

The period 1900-1910 is marked by the birth of the remarkable Schmidt brothers.  These sons of Frank E. Schmidt (1877-1954) and Antoinette Johnson Schmidt (1880-1956), Dr. Frank O. Schmidt, Dr. Harry J. Schmidt, and Charles E. Schmidt, left an indelible mark on the history of Ocean Springs.  Though seemingly native sons, the Anderson brothers, Peter, Walter (Bob), and James (Mac), who would become leaders in the artistic community for over seven decades, came into the world at New Orleans. 

 

Many of the old guard millionaires from New Orleans, the Midwest, and the Eastern seaboard, whose winter havens dotted the shoreline from Fort Point to Halstead Bayou passed on.  Modern technology in the guise of the telephone, electricity, the automobile, moving pictures, and an ice plant, began to arrive here.  Several new churches were built and the tourist industry was strong with more than ten hotels and many tourist homes in operation primarily on Front Beach, Jackson Avenue, and Washington Avenue.

 

Horticulture, especially citrus and pecan orchards, began to develop east and north of Ocean Springs.  On the negative side, two hurricanes hit town and a small gang of young ruffians who had terrorized the city for several years was broken up when one was killed in a scuffle on Washington Avenue by a gun-slinging, lawman from Vancleave.

 

 

1901

 

Stock raising is to be made a feature of the big Rose Farm as a carload of western horses was received here. Rush H. Field is the gentleman behind the stock venture and is thoroughly capable of making a grand success, having had years of experience. (The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 15, 1901, p. 8)

 

The Gulfport News of Sam Braselton, began publication in July.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, July 28 , 1901, p. 8)

 

The Hurricane of August 15, 1901 came ashore at Pascagoula.  

 

The Peoples Water Works was chartered by Joseph Kotzum (1842-1915, F.J. Lundy (1863-1912), B.F. Joachim (1853-1925), Thomas I. Keys (1861-1931), et al on September 4, 1901, to compete with J.J. Kuhn’s water works company.(JXCO Chancery Court Chattel Deed Bk. 2, pp. 182-187)

 

William B. Schmidt, (1823-1901), the Merchant Prince of New Orleans expired at New Orleans on June 16th.  Schmidt had a large estate on Front Beach and owned the Ocean Springs Hotel from circa 1866 until 1901 with his business partner, Frances M. Ziegler (1818-1901).  He was generous to the people of Ocean Springs giving land for St. John’s Episcopal Church in 1891, and the Marble Springs Park in 1896.

 

The first Fort Bayou Bridge, a steel structure, at Franco’s Ferry on Washington Avenue was built by the George E. King Bridge Company for $9469 in 1901.  It was completed in December 1901.  Leonard Fayard (1847-1923) was the first bridge tender and was remunerated $30 per month for his duties.(Minute Book 4, JXCO Mississippi Board of Supervisors, p. 39, p. 45, p. 108, p. 122, and p. 165)

 

By December, Leo von Rosambeau had replaced Mrs. Terry as operator in the telephone office.  He was backed up by Minnie Powell.(The Pascagoula-Democrat-Star, December 3, 1901, p. 3)

 

Peter Anderson (1901-1984), potter and artisan, was born on December 22, 1901, at New Orleans.

 

Arthur A. Macginnis (1846-1901) Jr., cotton manufacturer of New Orleans, and proprietor of a large estate on Front Beach, died at New York City on December 27, 1901.  His wife, Mary Amelia Tweed (1851-1887), was the daughter of W.M. “Boss” Tweed (1823-1878), leader of Tammany, the Democratic political machine of NYC.

 

1902

The Progress, a local journalwas selected by the Jackson County Board of Supervisors as one of its County printers.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 9.1902, p. 8)

 

The Bowers Bill, created for the conservation of the Mississippi oyster industry, passed in the State Legislature.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 6, 1902, p. 1)

 

The residence of Orion A. Baker (1869-1908) was totally destroyed by fire.  The glow was visible at Biloxi.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 9, 1902, p. 8)

 

In April 1902, Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938) of Milwaukee acquires the Parker Earle (1831-1917) Place on Fort Point from Sarah Deuel Cooke (1839-1904), and commenced development of the park landscape at “Shore Acres” on what became known as Benjamin Point.

 

Joseph Benson Rose (1841-1902) expired on July 3, 1902, in the Savoy Hotel at NYC.  Mr. Rose, an entrepreneur and yachtsman of NYC and Chicago, maintained an estate, “Elk Lodge”, on East Beach.  He gave his name to the Earle Farm, which he acquired in August 1897.

 

Dr. Frank O. Schmidt (1902-1975), dedicated community physician, born at Ocean Springs on November 16, 1902.

 

 

1903

The Scranton State Bank opened a branch here on the northeast corner of Washington and County Road (Government Street).

 

The Public School was headed by H.G. McGowan and he was assisted by teachers: Adele Adams of Ohio; Miss D. Owings of Missouri and sister of Professor Owings, Superintendent of the Biloxi Public Schools; and Florence Morrow.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 10, 1903, p. 6)

 

 Dr. Ethan Allen Riggs (1861-1903) who formerly practiced medicine at Ocean Springs and Biloxi expired at New Orleans on May 28th.  He was educated at the University of Mississippi and Tulane.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, May 29, 1903, p. 1)

 

On June 23, 1903, the Biloxi Electric Street Railway & Power Company acquired the franchise to provide electricity to Ocean Springs by erecting as modern electric light plant. W.K.M. Dukate, E.C. Joullian, and Walter A. White of Biloxi were involved in the project.(City Ordinance No. 139 and The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 5, 1903, p. 1 and June 6, 1903, p. 8)

 

The Jacques Bertuccini (1854-1943) House, now Minerva's Antiques and owned by Courtney Cook Blossman, was erected at present day 619 Washington Avenue.

 

The OS Fire Department held it annual parade on August 19th.  The Biloxi Brass Band played music for the parade and grand ball later.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 19, 1903, p. 6)

 

Arson continued at Ocean Springs as the home of Mrs. M.E. Wilcox of Michigan was torched. Her home was vacant at the time of the fire.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 16, 1903, p. 6)

 

Walter I. “Bob”Anderson (1903-1965), ceramics decorator and watercolorist, was born at New Orleans on September 29, 1903.        

 

 

1904

The Ocean Springs Electric Light and Ice Company began operations south of the L&N Railroad bridge on Biloxi Bay.

 

Ellen Chambers Clark (1843-1915), spouse of Newcomb Clark, former Union office, organized the Ladies Book Exchange at her home.  The society met once a week with each member bringing a new book by their favorite author which she had read and exchange it with another member.(The Daily Picayune, January 24, 1904, p. 19)

 

Judge Thomas W. Grayson (1825-1904) passed on March 4, 1904.  Grayson came here in 1881, from Grangers Landing (Woolmarket) and was elected Mayor of Ocean Springs for the 1897-1898 term.  Eugene W. Illing (1870-1947) was elected Justice of the Peace to succeed Mr. Grayson.

 

In late June 1904, electric street lights operated by the Biloxi Electric Street Railway Company.

 

The Rose Farm was selling its mandarin oranges at Biloxi for between 15 and 30 cents per dozen.  They also had a large crop of Creole oranges.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 4, 1904, p. 5)

 

Robert Walter Lewis (1886-1904), son of the widow of A.E. Lewis, expired on December 4th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 6, 1904, p. 5)

 

Frederick J.V. LeCand (1841-1933) from Natchez, Mississippi acquired 'Audubon Place' at Ocean Springs and moved his family here in December 1904 to start a poultry farm.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 7, 1904, p. 5 and December 28, 1904, p. 5)

 

Frederick Mason Weed 1850-1926), incumbernt, defeated Hiram D. Cudabac for Mayor of Ocean Springs 76 votes to 35 votes.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 14, 1904, p. 5)

 

Jacob C. Tucker (1845-1917) advertised for his Gulf Coast School of Practical Railroad Telegraphy.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 17, 1904, p. 

 

“Iduma” [L-R: (ground)-Jonathan Ramsay (1873-1953); David Ramsay (1873-1947); unknown; Reuben Ramsay; Knox Ramsay: L-R: (on Boat)-Iduma Walker Ramsay and Woody Ramsay.  From Mike Ramsay, Arnaudville, La.]

 

1905

Schooner Iduma built by Jonathan Ramsay (1873-1953)- official number 201722*, 44 feet and 11 tons, built at Ocean Springs in 1905, by John Ramsay for his own use.  It was named for his sister-in-law, Iduma Walker, the spouse of Wesley Knox Ramsay.

 

The Ocean Springs State Bank was organized in January 1905, by Dr. O.L. Bailey (1870-1938) and F.M. Weed (1852-1926), et al.

 

The L&N RR announced that it would build a modern depot at Ocean Springs commencing in June.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 11, 1905, p. 5)

 

Mary McGowan (1839-1905), native of Ireland and mother-in-law of L&N Conductor William Johnson (1861-1922), died in February.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 16, 1905, p. 1)

 

Henry Gottsche (1875-1905), brother of Albert C. Gottshe, took his own life in the barn behind the Davis Brothers Store..(The Biloxi Daily Herald, February 3, 1905, p. 6)

 

The venerable Ocean Springs Hotel on Jackson Avenue was destroyed by fire on May 25, 1905.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 26, 1905, p. 3)

 

George Friar commenced a bucket factory.  Porter B. Hand (1834-1914), master mechanic and son of Miles B. Hand (1804-1880+), the founder of Handsboro, ran the machinery which made staves from pine and native woods at the rate of one bucket each minute.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, December 1, 1905)

 

In August 1905, The Illing House, one of the oldest hotels of Ocean Springs, was demolished by Judge E.W. Illing.  It was located on the northeast corner of Washington Avenue and Porter where Illing would build later his Illing Theatre.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 11,1905)

 

In October, Marcellus “Mike” Reus (1884-1905) was killed in a scuffle by Night Policeman, Henry Taylor(1869-1947), on Washington Avenue.  Officer Taylor, a former deputy sheriff, was brought in from Vancleave to eliminate hoodlum activity in the town. 

 

The Ocean Springs Packing Company was chartered in November by Daniel J. Gay; L.D. Byrd; J.H. Johnson; and R.M. Davis, all naval stores operators, as well as Louis A. Lundy and Hiram F. Russell of Ocean Springs; and Sydney Anderson of Vancleave.  This enterprise did not come to fruition until 1915.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 20, 1905, p. 1)

 

Dr. Harry J. Schmidt (1905-1997), prominent Biloxi physician, was born at Ocean Springs on December 28, 1905.

 

 

1906

J.J. Kuhn (1848-1925) of New Orleans sold his waterworks operations to the Peoples Water Works for $3180.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, January 5, 1906)

 

Ann Hyde Grayson (1832-1906), widow of Thomas W. Grayson (1825-1904), former Mayor of Ocean Springs, died at Biloxi on January 7th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 8, 1906, p. 4)

 

Chief Justice Melville W. Fuller (1833-1910) of the U.S. Supreme Court on March 5th ruled in favor of Louisiana on the water boundary dispute between Louisiana and Mississippi.  Federal Case called Louisiana v. Mississippi US 58 (1906).(The Biloxi Daily Herald, March 6, 1906, p. 1)

 

Town Marshal Samuel P. Starks resigned and Augustus von Rosambeau (1849-1912) was appointed temporary Marshal until a special election was held.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, April  6, 1906, p. 4)

 

The automobile arrived at Ocean Springs.  Two Canadian born gentlemen, who settled here, Dr. Henry B. Powell (1867-1949) and Orey A. Young (1868-1938), share the honor of owning the first cars in town.(The Pascagoula Democrat Star, April 6, 1906, p. 3, c. 5 and Ocean Springs French Beachhead, 1972, p. 101)  Not far behind were Fred W. Benjamin (1879-ca 1945) and Colonel Newcomb Clark (1836-1913).(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 26, 1906, p. 2, c. 1)

 

Dr. Henry Bradford Powell established a sanitarium on Fort Bayou in the Antonio Franco (1834-1891) home.

 

The Scranton State Bank failed in August 1906.

 

The price of charcoal reached an all time high at Ocean Springs of $240 per train car load.  In past years, a train car load sold for between $60 and $80.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, August 22, 1906, p. 4)

 

On September 26-27, 1906, a Hurricane hit Pascagoula.  There was wide spread damage at Ocean Springs as the 1878 Baptist Church on Church Street and Desoto Avenue was destroyed.  The Knights of Pythias Hall on Washington Avenue was severely marred and later demolished.  The Rose Farm was extensively damaged as well as the Boulevard Farm residency of Mr. C.S. Bell (1842-1925).  The residences of Wilson L. Carter (1867-1942) and Joe Wieder (1879-1931), which were under construction, were demolished by the tempest.  The Firemen’s Hall and the new concrete block store of the Van Cleave Brothers were wrecked.  Many trees and fences on Washington and Jackson Avenue were blown down.  The Horn Island Lighthouse was destroyed and Charles Johnsson, the keeper, his spouse and daughter, were drowned.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, October 5, 1906, The Biloxi Daily Herald, September 28, 1906, p. 2, and the Mississippi Press, October 16?, 1977, p. 13A)

 

In late August, H.F. Russell and family moved into their “new” home, the Dr. Case place on Porter and Washington Avenue.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, August 24, 1906, p. 3)

 

Mrs. Martha Lyon Holcomb (1833-1906) expired at “Hollywood”, her home on the northeast corner of Porter and Rayburn, on November 29,1906.

 

1907

L&N Railroad erected a new depot building east of the former structure.

 

Pioneer citizen, Joseph Bellande, (1813-1907), a native of Marseille, France passed on June 16,1907.  The Bellande Cemetery situated on Dewey Avenue was named for him and his wife, Rosaline LaForce Bellande (1821-1893), the granddaughter of Catherine Bourgeois LaFontaine, the Widow LaFontaine.  Bellande arrived at Ocean Springs in1835.

 

James McConnell Anderson (1907-1998), artist, born on August 9, 1907 at New Orleans.

 

The Hanson-Wilson House, originally called Bay View, now called Shadowlawn, and the bed and breakfast establishment of Bill and Nancy White Wilson on Shearwater Drive, was erected by Christian C. A. Hanson (1845-1914) of New Orleans.

 

Mrs. Julia Egan (1833-1907), fiery red-headed Irish lady, who once ran the post office, a store, and a boarding house, the Egan Cottage, on Jackson Avenue and Front Beach, expired.

 

1908

In early January, Miss Lillie Sutton was arrested by Officer Henry Taylor (1869-1947) while robbing the home of Fred Abbley.  A search of her home revealed over $600 in cash, purses, watches, a locket, necklace, and a diamond ring.  Also among her stolen items was a diamond ring belonging to Mrs. Jenny O'Keefe.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 9, 1908, p. 1)

 

In January, Ocean Springs Hook and Ladder Volunteer Fire Company was preparing to erect a new hall on Washington Avenue.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, January 20, 1908, p. 1)

 

Pioneer citizen and merchant, Robert Adrian Van Cleave (1845-1908), a native of Hinds County, died on September 24, 1908.  His name lives in perpetuity for an area in southwestern Jackson County for which a US Post Office was named in 1870.

 

The Eglin House, a large, comfortable, boarding house, was built on Washington Avenue by Amelia Krohn Eglin (1855-1916). 

 

The F.J. Lundy residence in the rear of his Washington Avenue store was destroyed by fire in early November.  Valiant actions of local citizens, the Hook & Ladder Company and Volunteer Fire Company No. 1,prevented a larger conflagration which might have destroyed the entire business district of Ocean Springs.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, November 9, 1908, p. 2)            

 

Rushton Holmes Field (1838-1908), New York native, Colorado mining operator and resident of East Beach, expired at Ocean Springs on December 29th.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, December 29, 1908, p. 1)

 

1909

Dr. Jasper J. Bland’s Beach Hotel on Front Beach was enlarged by Burr & Bradford.

 

In November, the L&N Railroad commenced installing a long distance telephone system along the Coast to be used for dispatching trains.(The Ocean Springs News, November 20, 1909.

 

1909 Baptist Church-demolished in July 2006.

 

The First Baptist Church built a new sanctuary on the northwest corner of Porter and Bellande in the spring of 1909 and dedicated in early November 1909.  John Burr (1875-1916) and Fred Bradford (1878-1951) were the contractors.  The lot was donated by George W. Davis (1842-1914).(The Ocean Springs News, February 13, 1909, p. 1 and October 9, 1909, p. 5)

 

Maria Torney Shanahan (1832-1909), an 1847 Irish immigrant and wife of John Shanahan (1810-1892), passed on June 10, 1909.  The Shanhans were pioneer settlers of Ocean Springs.  In the 1890s, Mrs. Shanhan founded the Shanahan Hotel.(The Ocean Springs News, June 12, 1909, p. 5)

 

The Seymour Eagles [from D'Iberville] a baseball team composed of Adolph Boney, Terrell Chinn, Emile Fayard, Walter Fayard, J. Jpullian, Jesse Parker, Lazaro Quave, Peter Quave, and Joseph Santa Cruz defeated Ocean Springs 10-1.  J. Ryan and O. Fayard was the battery for Ocean Springs.(The Biloxi Daily Herald, June 20, 1909. p. 4)

 

Construction commences on a new building for the Ocean Springs State Bank in the summer of 1909.

           

1910-1919

The years 1910-1919 were marked by continuous economic and population growth at Ocean Springs.  In addition to pecans, citrus, and other agricultural products, seafood, charcoal, and naval stores production continued with vigor in this section.  World WW I (1914-1918) saw wool prices inflate and shipbuilding at Moss Point bring further prosperity.  The piney-woods, sheep farmers at Latimer, LaRue, and Vancleave profited accordingly shipping or selling their wool at Ocean Springs.  The tourist industry was popular as ever, and a new hotel and several tourist homes were erected. 

 

A large fire on Washington Avenue south of Porter in mid-November 1916, and crop damaging cold in the winter of 1917-1918 devastated the citrus orchards.  Tropical cyclones in 1915 and 1916 were also harmful to the welfare of the region.

 

1910

Population of Ocean Springs 1472 people [1141 white and 331 black].  The Ocean Springs News opined that:"the census taker did he best we have no doubt, but undoubtedly a number of people were missed.  The News believes that the population is over 1700.  At certain seasons of the year Ocean Springs has a population of over 3000."(The Ocean Springs News, April 22, 1911, p. 5)

 

Population of Jackson County 15451 with 9983 white and 5467 black.

 

The Rose Farm, which had recently been acquired in 1909, by the H.D. Money family, an affluent planter clan from Holmes County, Mississippi, was enlarged and improved by manager, Vincent Beyer (1874-1920+).  

 

The new building of the Ocean Springs State Bank designed by William Drago (1871-1920+) of New Orleans, was completed by contractor, Chevally & Fursdon of Gulfport, and accepted by H.F. Russell (1858-1940), building chairman, on January 18, 1910.

 

Pioneer settler, Arnaud Catchot (1834-1910), a native of Mahon, Minorca, passed on April 12, 1910.  His union with Adele Ryan (1842-pre 1880), the daughter of Jerome Ryan and Euphrosine LaFontaine, produced a large family.

 

In the spring, the Mississippi Gulf Coast Country Club at Gulfport was completed.  It later became the Great Southern Country Club.(Black, 1986, p. 48)

 

Judge E.W. Illing opened the Photo-Play Airdome, an open air silent movie theater, on the northeast corner of Porter and Washington, where the Illing House, a tourist home, had once stood.

 

In May 1910, Frank H. Bryan (1872-1936), an insurance executive from Missouri, contracted with J.A. Wieder (1877-1960) to erect a large Queen Anne residence on the northeast corner of Jackson Avenue and Ocean.  This lovely home is extant at 406 Jackson Avenue.(The Ocean Springs News, May 14, 1910)

 

Satsuma Camp No. 703 Woodmen of the World had their third annual picnic on May 26th with about 1500 in attendance.  Sporting contests were held in baseball and basketball; sack races; greasy pig capture; and baby contests. Miss Eula Catchot was chosen as the most popular young lady and given a gold watch.(The Daily Herald, May 27, 1910, p. 8)

 

The Fort Maurepas (1699-1702) cornerstone found on the W.B. Schmidt estate by Robert Rupp (1850-1930), the caretaker.

 

1911

When the State Commission increased its tax rate on passenger train tickets in 1911, the L&N Railroad compensated for the small increase by charging an additional penny on its local travel rates.  The fare to Biloxi from Ocean Springs increased from twelve to thirteen cents.(The Ocean Springs News, October 7, 1911, p. 5)

 

Thomas I. Keys (1861-1931), first and only Black postmaster at Ocean Springs, ended his fourteen-year term in office in March.  Charles H. Bransford (1868-1928+) replaced him.(The Ocean Springs News, March 4, 1911, p. 1)

 

Theo Bechtel (1863-1931) donated a flag pole for the school public.(The Ocean Springs News, May 20, 1911)

 

The first Boy Scout battalion [troop] in Ocean Springs was organized by F.M. Dick, J.H. Behrens, and S.H. Webster who were appointed by of the OS Civic Federation.(The Ocean Springs News, May 20, 1911, p. 5)

 

The Boy Scouts were meeting at Ocean Springs with Mark E. Lee (1898-1990) as leader.(The Ocean Springs News, June 24, 1911)

 

Construction of Marshall Park by the Ocean Springs Civic Federation and L&N Railroad was commenced.

 

When the State Commission increased its tax rate on passenger train tickets in 1911, the L&N Railroad compensated for the small increase by charging an additional penny on its local travel rates.  The train fare to Biloxi from Ocean Springs increased from twelve to thirteen cents.(The Ocean Springs News, October 7, 1911, p. 5)

 

Jeremiah J. O’Keefe (1860-1911), expired on November 6, 1911.  He and his wife, Alice Cahill O’Keefe (1864-1921), had continued very successfully the teamster, livery, boarding house, and burial business commenced by his father, Edward O’Keefe (1815-1874).

 

The Fort Bayou Telephone Company, a communications co-operative composed of farmers and landowners, was formed in December.  The officers of this business were: J.H. Behrens, president; R.M. Spaulding, vice-president; and S.C. Spencer, secretary.(The Ocean Springs News, December 23, 1911, p. 5)     

 

1912

Merchant and town marshal (1905-1910), Augustus von Rosambeau (1849-1912), an immigrant from northern Germany, expired.  He may have possessed the first private street lamp in town at his Jackson Avenue residence.

 

Local entrepreneur, F.J. Lundy (1863-1912) passed on.  He was born at Mobile and came to Ocean Springs circa 1889.  Mr. Lundy once owned the Ocean Springs Hotel, a mercantile business on Washington Avenue and an elegant home on LaFontaine and Washington Avenue where the Powers-Latil residential complex is now situated.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1912, p. 8)

 

The Paragon Saloon of G.E. Arndt (1857-1945) was moved west of its Washington Avenue and Robinson location.

 

Albert C. Gottsche (1873-1949) completed his new store building on Washington Avenue at Desoto, the former site of the Thomas I. Keys Store and US Post Office.

 

1913

The Farmers and Merchants State Bank was chartered in February and led by C.E. Pabst (1851-1920), George E. Arndt (1857-1945), and Edwin R. Glasscock (1857-1913+).  A two-story bank building was erected on the former site of the Paragon Saloon diagonally opposite the L&N Depot and on the west side of Washington Avenue opposite the Commercial Hotel.

 

In mid-April, the Ocean Springs State Bank was nearing completion on an annex to house the US Post Office.(The Daily Herald, April 10, 1913)

 

1914

First cement sidewalks were laid from the Commercial Hotel, present day SE/C of Washington and Robinson to the Chinese Laundry, about three hundred feet south.  H.F. Russell (1858-1940) held the contract for the work.(The Ocean Springs News, February 14, 1914, p. 5)

 

In late March, at Paris France, Mary F. Meyers Field, the widow of Colonel Rushton H. Field (1838-1908) became engaged to Chevalier Edward Scovel, a great tenor.(The Ocean Springs News, April 14, 1914, p. 5)

 

The new US Post Office on Government Street at Ocean Springs would remain at this location for another forty years (1914-1954).  The initial lease agreement was signed by A.S. Burleson, Postmaster General of the United States, on April 20, 1914.  The Ocean Springs State Bank rented to the U.S. Post Office a certain room (44 feet x 24 feet inside measurements) on the first floor of the one story brick premises situated on the north side of Old County Road, now Government Street, between Washington Avenue and Bellande Street on Lot 302, Block 56.  The lease was for ten years and the rent $275/month. (JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 40, pp. 333-336) 

 

A new 200 drop switch board was installed for the local Cumberland Telephone & Telegraph Company exchange situated on the second floor of the Ocean Springs State Bank building.  W.T. Ames (1880-1969) was the local manager.(The Ocean Springs News, May 2, 1914, p. 5)

 

Bridgett Shanahan White (1860-1943) took a lease on the New Beach Hotel.(The Ocean Springs news, May 23, 1914, p. 5)

 

The Ocean Springs Country Club was founded in June by Dr. Henry Bradford Powell (1867-1949), Albert E. Lee (1874-1936), and George E. Arndt (1857-1945) on 65-acres leased from the Rose Farm.(The Ocean Springs News, June 20, 1914, p. 8)

 

Fred Davidson (1885-1914+), the son of  Jerome T. Davidson (1845-1918) and Jessie C. Montgomery Davidson (1859-pre 1930), and his associates opened a movie house in the H.F. Russell Building on the east side of Washington Avenue between Bowen and Government.  Manager Davidson, an Illinois native, had acquired good equipment and a contracted for high class motion pictures.(The Ocean Springs News, July 25, 1914, p. 5)

 

In July, Captain Francis O’Neill (1849-1936) acquired the J.J. Kuhn (1848-1925) estate on Front Beach.  O’Neill was the retired general superintendent of the Chicago police force.  He named his place “Glengarriff” for an Irish resort town near his birthplace on Bantry Bay, County Cork.

 

Thomas Eglin (1887-1914), flagman for the L&N Railroad, was murdered by masked bandits when the New York Limited was robbed at Gentilly, east of New Orleans.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1914, p. 1, c. 2)           

P.K. Mayers (1833-1914) [from T.H. Glenn's, The Mexican Gulf Coast Illustrated, 1893, p. 43]

 

Pizarro Kemp "P.K." Mayers (1833-1914) fiery, journalist, publisher, and editor who was born at Winchester, Wayne County. Mississippi, expired on July 28th at Pascagoula, Mississippi.  He founded The Handsboro Democrat and later acquired The Pascagoula Democrat-Star.(The Ocean Springs News, August 1, 1914, p. 1)

 

WW I commenced in Europe when Germany declared war on Russian and France in early August.

 

In October, J.K. Lemon Jr. (1914-1998) was born on Jackson Avenue in a Rosambeau rental cottage, which became the home of Marie Brou Bryan (1879-1957) in 1917.  Mr. Lemon was a lifelong entrepreneur, respected community leader, and local historian.  Has anyone loved Ocean Springs more?

 

In the late fall, the L&N Railroad shipped 35,766 pounds of pecans from Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, November 25, 1915, p. 1)

 

A  local Tent of the Knights of the Maccabees was organized on December 9th in the Knights of Pythias Hall.(The Ocean Springs News, December 3, 1914, p. 1)

 

On December 18, 1914, the home of A.J. Catchot (1864-1954) at present day 703 Porter burned to the ground. Elizabeth Clark Nolan (1839-1914), A.J. Catchot's mother-in-law, was killed in the conflagration.  The inferno was sourced from an exploding oil heater in her room.  The Catchot home was rebuilt in January 1915, and is owned today by John and Sherry Kendall.(The Ocean Springs News, December 24, 1914, p. 1)

           

1915

The Griffin Place on Washington Avenue, which housed the medical office of Dr. O.L. Bailey (1870-1938) was destroyed by fire.  Bailey's Drug Store, now Lovelace Drugs, was erected here in 1926, by Dr. Bailey.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1915, p. 8, also see year 1926 of this chronology)

 

The Mississippi Coast Amateur Baseball League was organized in February with teams from Biloxi, DeLisle, Gulfport, and Ocean Springs participating.  The following officers were elected: James Lynch of Gulfport- president;T.W. Dabney of Ocean Springs-vice president; O.A. Porter of Gulfport-secretary-treasurer.  The Ocean Springs team was manned by: Harry Westbrook, catcher; Bill Horton, catcher; Emile Ladnier, pitcher; Oscar Davis, pitcher; W. Ryan, infielder; Minor Russell, infielder; J. Ryan, infielder; Mark Lee, infielder; R. Mons, outfielder; Everett McKay, outfielder; Dan Van Court, outfielder; F.L. Westbrook, outfielder.  Others: Frank K. Ryan; Aurie Beaugez; Herbert Beaugez; Edward Ladnier; James Colligan; and Alphonse Cox.  In their first game, Ocean Springs lost by a forfeit to Biloxi, when the team left the field in the 7th inning because Biloxi fans would not move away from the sidelines.  Biloxi led 5 to 4.(The Gulfport Advocate, February 20, 1915, p. 4, March 6, 1915, p. 4, and April 10, 1915, p. 7)

 

The Ocean Springs Packing Company, a seafood-agricultural processing and canning plant on Biloxi Bay south of the L&N Railroad, opened for business in March by Louis A. Lundy (1876-1941), L. Morris McClure (1884-1940), and Joseph F. Zaehringer.(1881-1969).  It was severely damaged by a hurricane on September 29th and was rebuilt three times larger.(The Daily Herald, October 30, 1915, p. 1)

 

L. Morris McClure (1884-1940) appointed Postmaster at Ocean Springs in March.(The Ocean Springs News, March 4, 1915, p. 3)  

   

OCEAN SPRINGS BRASS BAND [founded March 1915]

Top Row, L-R: T.J. Ames (1876-1927), Director; George L. Friar; Daniel B. Van Court; Russell Carver; and John Seymour. Middle Row, L-R: Robert Friar; Frank E. Schmidt; George Dick; William T. Ames; Uriah Joachim; and Albert E. Lee. Bottom Row, L-R: Lloyd Netto; Ed Simmons; George Dale; and Bob Tucker.  [Courtesy of Peggy Carver Deshommes]

 

The Ocean Springs Brass Band was organized in late March with the following leadership: George L. Friar (1869-1924), pres.; Russell A. Carver (1888-1961), vice-pres.; George C. Pabst (1881-1949), sec.; Ira W. Simmons (1867-1919), treas.; and Theodore J. Ames (1876-1927), band director.  The group planned concerts in Marshall Park and to perform at local baseball games.(The Ocean Springs News, March 25, 1915, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs News of May 13, 1915, reported that: "J.K. Lemon's bungalow is certainly a beauty.  Mr. Lemon expects to move into it very shortly.  Fred Bradford is the builder."  It is situated at present day 1108 Iberville Drive in the Ames Tract.  Section 19, T7S-R8W.

 

W.B. Hollingsworth of South Bend, Indiana opened a Ford and Buick agency and garage in the Horton Building in late March.(The Ocean Springs News, April 8, 1915, p. 1)

 

The automobile population of Ocean Springs reached forty-five as the O'Keefe family acquired a Studebaker in May.  The O'Keefe's had the first Ford motor car in Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs News, May 13, 1915, p. 3)

 

The Ocean Springs Citrus Growers Association, a unit of the Gulf Coast Citrus Exchange, was formed in May.  Ralph P. Barnhardt (1875-1925) was elected president; Dr. H.B. Powell (1867-1949), vice president; and Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970) secretary-treasurer.  The purpose of the organization was to advertise and market the huge, local Satsuma crop from the three million trees under cultivation.(The Ocean Springs News, May 13, 1915, p. 1)

 

In late April 1915, D.B. Lemon, an experienced mill man, planned to harvest timber from Cat Island.  Estimated reserves at 3,500,000 board feet.  Mill could process 7,000 board feet each day.  Lumber shipped to Gulfport for domestic and export utilization.(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1915, p. 7)

 

Captain F.P. Barry arrived in Biloxi from Tampa to take charge of the Deer Island Ferry service.(The Daily Herald, May 15, 1915, p. 2, May 24, 1915, p. 2, and May 30, 1915, p. 4)

 

In June, A.B. Lemons of Gulfport commenced his sawmill on Cat Island and planned to cut 10000 board-feet per day.  The lumber has been sold to a NOLA interest.  Estimates are that he will cut 4 million board feet in 400 working days.(The Gulfport Advocate, June 5, 1915, p. 4)

 

The Deer Island Island Development Company formally dedicated their Deer Island amusement center on June 23rd.  Meyer Eiseman of the DIDC;  George W. Grayson of the Biloxi Commercial Club; Mayor Glennan of Biloxi; Mayor Foote of Gulfport; and Mayor Saucier of Pass Christian spoke at the ceremony.  Ocean Springs beat Biloxi 5-2 in the baseball game.(The Gulfport Advocate, June 26, 1915, p. 1)

 

Dr. L.T. McMurphy, a recent dental school graduate of Vanderbilt, planned to open his practice in the Ocean Springs State Bank building.(The Ocean Springs News, July 15, 1915, p. 1)  

 

Alfred Bonnabel 1840-1921) andLaura Brockenbaugh Bonnabel (1845-1919), his spouse of New Orleans, made a donation of palms, ferns, and potted plants from the Metairie Ridge Nursery to the Ocean Springs Civic Federation.  The plants were sold at a soiree' to benefit the civic improvement local organization.  The Bonnabels had acquired in July 1911, the Egan-Hudachek Cottage at present day 314 Jackson Avenue from the O’Keefe family.(The Ocean Springs News, July 25, 1915, p. 5 and JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 37, p. 871) 

 

The L&N Creosote plant at Gautier caught fire on August 13, 1915.(The Daily Herald, August 13, 1915, p.1)

 

Ernest A. Morris (1860-1946), an English immigrant and a retired candy manufacturer from Chicago, erected the Pines Hotel on the southwest corner of Washington Avenue and Ocean.  It opened for business in October 1915.(The Jackson County Times,

 

A hurricane struck Ocean Springs and the Mississippi Gulf Coast on September 29th.

 

Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970), acquired The Ocean Springs News from A.E. Lee.  He also published “Ocean Springs: Land Where Dreams Come True”.  Mr. Dabney was in the dynamiting business and owner of the Boscobel Dairy prior to his advent into the local newspaper business.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1947, p. 5)

 

Edward A. Bellande (1897-1976), Ocean Springs’ first native aviator became a student pilot of Glenn Curtiss at Buffalo, New York. 

 

Albert Enos Lee (1874-1936), a native of Iowa,acquired the The Ocean Springs News from Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970) and renamed the publication The Jackson County Times.(The Jackson County Times, August 3, 1927, p.1)

 

The L&N Railroad shipped 38,344 pounds of pecans from Ocean Springs between October 15th and November 20th.(The Daily Herald, November 25, 1915, p. 1)

 

The Big Ridge Union Church, two and one-half miles north of Ocean Springs, was near completion.  The trustees of the church were: C.W. Rownds, W.H. Hults, Mrs. E. Balthrop (sic), and W.D. Price.(The Ocean Springs News, December 1915)

 

1916

Albert Gottsche (1873-1949) began auto delivery service from his grocery store replacing two horse teams.(The Ocean Springs News, January 6, 1916, p. 5)

 

Franklin S. Earle (1856-1929), formerly of Ocean Springs, shipped the first refrigerated car of fresh produce: tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, and grapefruit from his plantation near Herradura, Cuba to Chicago via Florida in January.(The Ocean Springs News, January 13, 1916, p. 5)

 

Theodore G. Bilbo (1877-1947) began his first term as Governor in January.

 

A record over 200,000 pecan trees ranging from 3 to 25 feet and valued over $75,000 were shipped from Ocean Springs nurseries via rail express from December 1915 to February 1916.  In addition, L.E. Chase sent 20,000 pounds of pecans to New York.  Anticipated pecan shipments for the season is expected to exceed 100,000 pounds.(The Ocean Springs News, February 3, 1916, p. 1)

 

Two railcars of local wool weighing over 22,000 pounds were shipped to Savannah, Georgia from Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs News, June 15, 1916, p. 1)

 

Ocean Springs beat the Norton Club of NOLA 7-2 in a baseball game in Ocean Springs.  Davis and Murraywere the battery for the locals.(The Daily Herald, June 27, 1916, p. 2)

 

Shortly after the 4th of July, a category three hurricane hit between Pascagoula and Ocean Springs.  The Black Baptist church was fatally damaged and the pecan-citrus orchards of the Rose-Money Farm and C.E. Pabst (1851-1920) were severely shaken.

 

In July, Thomas E. Dabney (1885-1970) closed The Ocean Springs News and relocated to Pensacola.  In the1930s, he was employed by The Times Picayune.

 

Albert E. Lee (1874-1936) published the first issue of The Jackson County Times in late July 1916.  He had previously published The Progress (1897-1903) and The Ocean Springs News (1905-1915).   In September1936,Harry R. Lee (1903-1951), his son, became publisher and editor until the paper was sold in 1947.  Copies available 1916, 1917, 1920-1927 and 1929 in bound books at the Jackson County Chancery Court Archives at Pascagoula.  March 1943 to January 1947? on microfilm at the Ocean Springs Public Library.  Mississippi Department of Archives and History has (1918-29, 1933, 1936, 1949, 1951-1953) on microfilm.(The Jackson County Times, July 29, 1916, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, September 29, 1947, p. 5)

 

Mrs. Carrie Johnson Garrard (1886-1968) hired local contractor, J.A. Wieder (1877-1960), to erect a rental cottage on the northwest corner of Washington Avenue and Ocean.(The Jackson County Times, September 23, 1916, p. 1)  In March 1943, Mark Oscar Joachim acquired the house from Mrs. Carrie G. Everhart.

 

In October 1916, Halstead Road was completed from County Road (Government Street) to the Beach.(The Jackson County Times, October 14, 1916)

 

On November 15, 1916, one of the most destructive fires in the history of Ocean Springs, known as “The Big Fire”, commenced in the J.P. VanCleave building on the southeast corner of Washington and Porter.  It consumed several buildings and cottages on Washington Avenue between Calhoun and Porter.  Among the casualties of this conflagration were the fire hall of Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1 and the Vahle House, a hostel, on the northwest corner of Washington and Calhoun.(The Jackson County Times, November 18, 1916, p. 1)

 

H.F. Russell (1858-1940), local entrepreneur, reported that the orange crop for 1916 was only about one-third that of 1915 due to the Hurricane of September 1915.  The crop amounted to about two train car loads.  The sweet potato and sugar cane crops were also down.  Sweet potatoes were selling for one dollar per bushel.  Mr. Russell stated that this is the highest price for this commodity since he arrived here in 1881.  Syrup sold for $.75 per gallon.(The Daily Herald, December 14, 1916, p. 2)

 

In December 1916, Governor Theodore Bilbo (1877-1947) and son came to the Bechtel nurseries and orchards on Holcomb Boulevard to consult with Mr. Bechtel about pecan stock for his farm at Poplarville, Mississippi. Bilbo was impressed with the quality of Bechtel’s plants and acquired young pecan trees for his Pearl River, County plantation.(The Daily Herald, January 2, 1917, p. 3) 

 

1917

Parker Earle (1831-1917) died on January 12, at Pasadena, California.  Mr. Earle , native of Vermont, was a horticulturist and entrepreneur.  His enterprises at Ocean Springs from 1887-1892, included the development of a large farm north of Fort Bayou, which would become known as The Rose Farm; the founding of the Winter Park Land Improvement and Livestock Company; operating a ferry across Fort Bayou; and the erection of a large home on Fort Point which would become the Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938) Place in 1902. 

 

Miss Eliza Ames (1842-1917) expired on January 23, 1917.  The Ames family came to America from Ireland in 1835.  Miss Ames and her brothers nursed the sick and buried the dead in the Great Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1878.(The Jackson Count Times, January 26, 1917, p. 1, c. 3)

 

Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938) of Milwaukee donated $500 towards the construction of a new fire hall on Washington Avenue.(The Jackson County Times, March 17, 1917, p. 5)

 

On April 6th, the United States entered WWI, which was raging in Western Europe.

 

The Builder's Supply Company, John D. Minor, and George L. Friar were shipping between $3000 and $5000 of lumber each month from the L&N Depot.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1917)

 

In October, Sidney J. Anderson (1867-1917), entrepreneur from New Orleans, who was active in the hotel, shipping, and mercantile business at Ocean Springs and Vancleave, died at Hot Springs, Arkansas.(The Jackson County Times, October 6, 1917, p. 5, c. 3)

 

The von Rosambeau cottage on Jackson Avenue was destroyed by fire.(The Jackson County Times, November 17, 1917, p. 1)

 

Captain John A. O’Keefe (1891-1985), field artillery, and 1st Lt. V.G. Humphreys (1885-1942) were commissioned officers in the US Army at Leon Springs, Texas.(The Jackson County Times, December 1, 1917, p. 1, c. 5)

 

In October, Sidney J. Anderson (1867-1917), entrepreneur from New Orleans, who was active in the hotel, shipping, and mercantile business at Ocean Springs and Vancleave, died at Hot Springs, Arkansas.(The Jackson County Times, October 6, 1917, p. 5)

 

The von Rosambeau cottage on Jackson Avenue was destroyed by fire.(The Jackson County Times, November 17, 1917, p. 1)

 

1918

In January 1918, the new fire hall on Washington Avenue, of Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1, was dedicated.  Built by contractor, Fred S. Bradford (1878-1951), the Spanish mission-style structure now serves the community as the senior citizens center.

 

The new ferry over the Pascagoula River between the new causeway and bridge has been completed.(The Daily Herald, February 18, 1918, p. 3)

 

Annette McConnell Anderson (1867-1964) acquired the “DePass” place on Biloxi Bay from George Ashman in May, commencing the residency of the George W. Anderson family of New Orleans here.

 

In June, the inactive New Beach Hotel was acquired by a New Orleans syndicate.  Proprietor, Dr. Jasper J. Bland (1850-1932), had relocated to Vinton, Louisiana.

 

In the summer of 1918, local contractor, Fred Bradford (1878-1951) built a large, Dutch Colonial Revival home for John B. Honor (1856-1929) and Margaret Soden Honor (1860-1932) at "Many Oaks".  This architectural masterpiece is now owned by Mary Zala Jensen at 315 Front Beach Drive.

 

In October, Emile Ladnier Jr. (1894-1918) gave his life for this nation on a battlefield in France.  American Legion Post No. 42 was named in his memory.

 

World War I ends in November 1918.

 

1919

Judge Paul Myron W. Linebarger (1871-1939) and family, who resided at Hollingsworth Point on Davis Bayou from 1916 until 1919, left for Shanghai, China to resume working for Chinese revolutionary, Sun Yat-sen (1866-1925).(The Jackson County Times, May 3, 1919, p,. 5)

 

J.B. Lemon (1862-1919), former proprietor of Lemon's Drug Store in Biloxi expired on August 6th at Ocean Springs where he had been in the pharmacy business since March 1918.  Pansy Belle Robarts (d. 1943), his widow, was the sister of  Adele Robarts Arndt (1875-1945), the wife of George E. Arndt (1857-1945), prominent Ocean Springs businessman.(The Daily Herald, August 7, 1919, p. 4)

 

Captain June Poitevent (1837-1919) died at Ocean Springs.  He came here in 1877, from Hancock County and built “Bay Home” on Lovers Lane.  Poitevent was an entrepreneur with land holdings in Mexico, Florida, and Texas.  He operated the Pearl Rivers, a steam packet, from Mississippi “lake” ports to New Orleans commencing in 1878.

 

The Shanahan Hotel on Washington Avenue and Calhoun burns on Christmas Eve, 1919.(The Jackson County Times, December 27, 1919)

 

J.K. Lemon Sr. (1870-1929) elected to the JXCO Board of Supervisors.

 

The Prohibition Era (1919-1933) begins.

 

1920-1929

The years between 1920 and 1929 were generally prosperous at Ocean Springs, but the decade closed on a disastrous tone for the entire nation with the Stock Market Crash in October 1929.  Seafood, agriculture, and the L&N Railroad continued to be the main source of local employment.  Citrus production began to decline, but pecans and horticulture in general did well. 

 

The speculative land boom in Florida spilled over to the Mississippi coast as developers erected modern hotels at Biloxi and Gulfport, the Buena Vista, Edgewater, and Tivoli.  Ocean Springs was the site of Gulf Hills, a final destination resort, which offered golf and water sports in a magnificent sylvan setting.  The town continued to be popular with local tourist, primarily New Orleans “excursionists”, and “snow-birds” from the Midwest.  With the progressive leadership of Beat Four Supervisor, J.K. Lemon (1870-1929), construction in the form of modern roads, bridges, and a seawall saw the infrastructure of the western Jackson County area improve dramatically.

 

“Miracle worker”, Brother Isaiah (1847-1934), who was born John Cudney in Ontario Province, Canada, arrived in Jackson County.  He and his disciples resided in the St. Martin community.  Brother Isaiah left the area and eventually settled near Oroville, California, where he expired at “New Jerusalem”.

 

This decade also saw the commencement of the political career of A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967), who would become a large influence in the political arena of Jackson County in the next thirty years.  Mr. Moran served the people of Beat Four as their supervisor from 1929 until his retirement in 1967.

 

An institution, which has brought much laud and tourism to our town, the Shearwater Pottery, was commenced by Peter Anderson (1901-1984) in January 1928.  Peter’s pottery also laid the foundation for Mrs. George Walter Anderson’s aspiration that her three sons would become successful artists.

 

In August 1929, the United Poultry Producers, primarily an egg co-operative, was organized by John W. Wright, R.W. Taylor, Henry Girot and others.  It was situated on the NE/C of Washington Avenue and DeSoto.

 

 

1920

Population of Ocean Springs 1732 people.[Bellande counted 1734 people with 1371 white and 363 black].(The Jackson County Times, August 14, 1920, p. 3)

 

Lee M. Russell (1875-1943) began his term as Governor in January.

 

The name of County Road, an east-west thoroughfare, was changed to Government Street in February 1920, by the Mayor and Board of Aldermen.  A petition presented by a group of citizens requesting the name change.  The city government, headed by Mayor A.J. Catchot (1864-1954), deemed this request appropriate.(The Jackson County Times,January 24, 1920 and March 6, 1920, p. 5)            

 

The D.A.R. dedicated a monument on April 8th on the shore of Back Bay in North Biloxi commemorating the landing of Iberville in 1699.(The Daily Herald, April 9, 1920, p. 1)

 

Former Mayor, oyster commissioner, contractor, and civic leader, John Duncan Minor (1863-1920) expired at Ocean Springs on May 8, 1920.

 

Pecan pioneer and German immigrant, Charles E. Pabst (1851-1920), expired on June 30,1920.

 

Matt Huber opened his drugstore in the Farmers & Merchants Bank Building in August.  A pharmacy was previously run here by J.B. Lemon (1862-1919) of Biloxi.

 

In August, the population of Ocean Springs was officially given by the US Census Bureau as 1732, a gain of about 300 over 1910.(The Jackson County Times, August 14, 1920, p. 3)

 

The Commercial Hotel, built in 1880 as The Van Cleave Hotel, was destroyed by fire on October 26, 1920.  It was situated opposite the L&N Depot on the southeast corner of Washington Avenue and Robinson.  H.F. Russell (1858-1940) was the proprietor at the time of the conflagration.(The Jackson County Times, October 30, 1920)

 

1921

Corsican immigrant, Antoine Bertuccini (1844-1921), who founded the French Hotel, expired in March.         

 

Scot immigrant, James H. Edwards (1893-1950), acquired the French Hotel from Marie G. Bertuccini (1863-1930) in June.

 

In June, Charles Dryden (1880-1931), prominent sportswriter for many national journals, suffered a paralytic stroke at Chicago, and came to Ocean Springs in the fall to recover.  He stayed in the Rosambeau cottage on Calhoun Avenue where his sister, Louise D. Davenport, cared for him for the next ten years.

 

1922

In January, the Ocean Springs Improvement League was formed to promote tourism and better the community

 

Brother Isaiah (1847-1934) and entourage arrived in Jackson County to preach and administer to the sick and afflicted.(The Daily Herald, June 10, 1922, p. 3)

 

In May, the Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1 acquired a motorized chemical fire engine.(The Jackson County Times, May 13, 1922, p. 5) 

 

In July, the Volunteer Hook & Ladder Company No. 1 agreed to consolidate with the Ocean Springs Fire Company No. 1.(The Jackson County Times, July 29, 1922, p. 5)

 

Harry R. Lee (1903-1951) joined The Jackson County Time in a mechanical and reportorial capacity after attending the Nashville School of Typography and interning at Joplin, Missouri.(The Jackson County Times, July 8, 1922, p. 5)

 

Caspar Vahle (1869-1922), former liveryman and ice dealer, expired at Gulfport in late July.(The Daily Herald, July 24, 1922, p. 4)

 

Jackson County’s first woman attorney, Elinore S. Babendreer (1901-1984+), of Ocean Springs was admitted to the bar in August.  She married Walter D. Moore in 1941, at Pinewood at present day 601 Pine Hills Road, the home of her mother, Dr. Estelle Turner Babendreer (1871-1958).(Jackson County Times, August 12, 1922, p. 1)  Her brother, Eric Babdendreer (1903-1975), also practiced law here before relocating to Memphis.           

 

1923

In late January, the I.H. Bass Nursery Company, one of the largest growers in the State and nation, closed it local nursery.  Charles Maxwell (1891-1967), its manager here, returned with his family to the companies headquarters at Lumberton, Mississippi.(The Jackson County Times, February 3, 1923, p. 5)

 

J.A. Witty (1852-1933), of Los Angeles and former resident, donated $1000 to the McLeod Masonic Lodge building fund.(The Jackson County Times, February 24, 1923, p. 4)

 

Walter S. Lindsay (1888-1975), the son-in-law of Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin, acquired the old Staples place on Lovers Lane and refurbished it.  J.K. Lemon (1914-1998) and Eleanora B. Lemon acquired it in 1971, from Mr. Lindsay of Milwaukee.  Mr. Lemon was permitted by Lindsay to use the name “Shore Acres” which had been the designation of the Ocean Springs estate of Lindsay’s mother-in-law, Annie L. Benjamin (1848-1938).

 

Jeremiah J. O’Keefe was born on July 12th at the O’Keefe home on Porter Avenue.  During WW II, he was a Marine fighter pilot in the South Pacific Theater and gained “ace” status for destroying seven Japanese aircraft while flying combat missions.(The History of Jackson County, Mississippi, 1989, p. 302)

 

The Bradford Company of Biloxi, well known funeral directors and embalmers, opened a branch in Ocean Springs in the McFarland bungalow at present day 317 Washington Avenue.(The Jackson County Times, July 14, 1923, p. 5)

 

mid-October tropical storm brought high wind and water, which subsequently damaged piers and bath houses on the front beach at Ocean Springs.  Water reached the hill at Washington Avenue and flooded the first block of Jackson Avenue.  Before it quick recession at daylight on October 16th, Old Fort Bayou was a mile wide.(The Jackson County Times, October 20, 1923, p. 5)

 

1924

The Louisa B. Bartlett-F.E. Lee home at present day 212 Washington Avenue (now the Redmann-Shipman House) was destroyed by fire.  Noted American writer, George Washington Cable (1844-1925), her son-in-law, owned the cottage from 1876 until 1890.  Mrs. Bartlett (1823-1889) of New Orleans organized the Presbyterian Church here in the1880s, as well as The Ladies Village Improvement Society.  Her civic improvement group fenced the Evergreen Cemetery in 1878.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, March 29, 1878, p. 3)

 

Louis H. Sullivan (1850-1924), American architect called “the father of the skyscraper”, and former part-time, resident of East Beach expired on April 24th.

 

Gustav R. Nelson (1896-1970), a Swedish immigrant horticulturist, residing east of Ocean Springs developed the concept of protecting fruit trees by “freezing” them as the air temperature dropped below 32 degrees Fahrenheit.(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1939, p. 7)

 

The Ocean Springs Rotary Club was formally organized on May 14, 1924 at the Pines Hotel on Washington Avenue.  Frank E. Schmidt (1877-1954) was elected the inaugural president of the organization.(The Jackson County Times, May 17, 1924, p. 1)

 

In late June, the bungalow home of A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967) at present day 501 Washington Avenuewas nearing completion.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 1924, p. 5)

 

The Buena Vista Hotel at Biloxi opened on July 10th.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 5, 1924, p. 5)

 

Concrete paving of US 90 between Ocean Springs and Pascagoula had reached as far as Mrs. W.R. Stuarts place (Government and M.L. King Jr.) by August 1924.(The Jackson County Times, August 16, 1924, p. 5)

 

Rt. Rev. Richard Oliver Gerow was consecrated Bishop of Natchez at Mobile on October 11th.(The Jackson County Times, October 15, 1924, p. 4)

 

Ruth Kimball Gardiner (1872-1924), a frequent visitor to Ocean Springs expired on November 19, 1924 at Washington D.C.  She was the widow of Cornelius Gardner (b. 1861), Chicago Post correspondent at Washington D.C..  Mrs. Gardiner wrote music, short stories, and magazine fiction.(The Jackson County Times, December 6, 1924, p. 5)

 

Some of Mrs. Gardner's literary efforts include:  In Happy Far-Away Lands;

 

In November W.E. Wilson closed his lunch and confectionery business, which he had operated on Washington Avenue for fifteen years and opened a cash and carry store at present day 1011 Desoto Avenue in December.(The Jackson County Times, November 1, 1924, p. 4 and December 20, 1924, p. 5.

 

1925

The Illinois Central acquired the three hundred seven miles of track of the Gulf & Ship Island Railroad in South Mississippi for $5,000,000.(Black, 1986, p. 73)

 

B.F. Joachim (1853-1925), produce retailer and founder of the Builder’s Supply Company in 1905, expired at New Orleans.(The Jackson County Times, January 17, 1925)

 

Elizabeth McCauley Stuart (1840-1925) and her former slave and later faithful servant and companion, Tempy Burton (1821-1925), expired in January and March respectively.  Aunt Tempy Burton was the oldest person in Jackson County at the time of her demise.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1925, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, March 7, 1925, p. 5)

 

Gideon N. Tillman (1872-1925) prominent building contractor expired in April.(The Jackson County Times, April 4, 1925)

 

The new ferry across the Pascagoula River commenced operations on March 18th.(The Jackson County Times, April 11, 1925, p. 1)

 

Frank Galle & Son commenced their contracting business in April.(The Jackson County Times, April 11, 1925, p. 3)

 

The Old Spanish Trail between Ocean Springs and Pascagoula was open for vehicular traffic in late April, with the exception of the underpass on the L&N Railroad at Hilda, west of Gautier.(The Daily Herald, May 2, 1925, p. 1)

 

Lucretia Money, Roger Holloway, James Garrard, and John Edwards, local students, graduated from Biloxi High School.(The Jackson County Times, May 30, 1925)

 

Elias S. Davis (1859-1925), long time Washington Avenue merchant expired in June.(The Jackson County Times, June 13, 1925)

 

Gulf Hills, a family resort featuring golf and marine recreational activities situated north of Ocean Springs, was chartered by: Allan B. Crowder, William E. Applegate, Ralph R. Root, H.W. Branigar, and Clarence W. Gormly.(The Jackson County Times, September 19, 1925, p. 2)

 

The Community Center-American Legion Hall at Marble Springs Park on Iberville, completed in the Fall of 1925.  It was demolished in September 1996, after years of litigation and demolition by neglect.

 

Author and former summer resident, George Washington Cable (1844-1925), expired at Northhampton, Massachusetts.

 

Western Union planned to open an office in a new building on Washington Avenue to be erected by H.F. Russell & Son.  The Russells planed to build adjacent to the O’Keefe Brothers service station and real estate office on the corner of Washington and Robinson.(The Daily Herald, October 27, 1925, p. 1)  Sanborn Maps indicate that the Russell Building here was never built!

 

Fred E. Lee (1874-1932) commenced construction of “Casa Flores” on Davis Bayou and Old Spanish Trail.  This Spanish colonial home is now called “Delcastle”.  It was built by the Jensen Brothers from a Gordon Hite design.(The Jackson County Times, November 21, 1925, p. 5)

 

 

1926

Mayor William E. Dever (1862-1929) of Chicago was a guest of the Branigar Brothers at Gulf Hills.  Mayor Dever sailed aboard the Fairy Queen from the BYC to Gulf Hills.(The Jackson County Times, January 30, 1926, p. 4)

 

In February, Standard Oil commenced construction of a gas station on the southeast corner of Washington and Government, formerly Lundy’s Corner.  The total investment cost $30,000.  Zanca later owned the property.(The Jackson County Times, February 13, 1926)

 

First street paving program proposed with Washington Avenue and portions of Porter, Jackson, Cleveland, Government, and Front Beach, included.(The Jackson County Times, March 6, 1926, p. 5 and The Daily Herald, May 25, 1926, p. 3))

 

The Branigar Brothers hosted a buffet luncheon in the dining room at the new Gulf Hills Country Club on the Old Spanish Trail between Biloxi and Ocean Springs. They wanted to express their appreciation of the hearty support that their fellow realtors, and particulary the Biloxi Real Estate Board, had in the growth of the new $15,000,000 residential park and playground on Biloxi Bay. (The Sun Herald March 13,1926  p.7)

 

Mississippi Power Company planned a forty-six mile power line from the Miss.-Ala. state line to Gulfportwhere a large step-down transforming station will be built.  Power for the line will come from hydro-electric plants on the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers in Alabama.  With no difficulties, hydro-electric power should be available on the Mississippi Gulf Coast by January 1, 1927.(The Biloxi News, March 28, 1926, p. 19)

 

The F.J. Lundy (1863-1912) House, called Haven-on-the-Hill, on Washington and LaFontaine, was destroyed by fire in mid-April.  Mrs. Mignon C. Lundy (1877-1957) had relocated to Townshend, Vermont and the house was abandoned.(The Jackson County Times, April 17, 1926, p. 1)

 

Forest Hills Subdivision was created on the former site of Colonel W.R. Stuart property by Daniel J. Gay(1870-1949) and Associates.(The Jackson County Times, April 26, 1926, p. 1)

 

Henry L. Girot (1887-1953), native of  NOLA, opened a new subdivision, Cherokee Glen.  It was situated in Section 24, T7S-R9W, on the west side of Ocean Springs.  In May 1926, he received approval from the Board of Aldermen of his sixty-acre platting, which was bounded on the north by Old Fort Bayou, on the east by the land that was adversely possessed by O.D. Davidson (1872-1938) and would become the Davidson Hills Subdivision in March 1956, on the south by Porter, and on the west by Lovers Lane.( The Jackson County Times, May 22, 1926, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, May 25, 1926, p. 3)

 

Edgar Pipes Guice (1898-1970), Ocean Springs resident and manager of the Mississippi Ice and Utilities,opened a drive-in retail ice dispensing system at the companies two Biloxi outlets on Lameuse and Railroad and Porter and Howard,  Another drive-in ice station is planned for East Biloxi.(The Biloxi News, June 27, 1926, p. 13)

 

Moore Construction Company of Biloxi was awarded the contract to pave the road, now called North Washington and LeMoyne Boulevard, from the Fort Bayou Bridge to the Harrison County line in July.  The bid was $132,000.  F.H. McGowen, civil engineer, for Jackson County will inspect the work.(The Jackson County Times, July 10, 1926, p. 1)

 

The Vancleave Store, located on the east side of Washington Avenue between Robinson and Desoto, was erected in April 1894 north of the residence of former proprietor, R.A. VanCleave (1840-1908).  It burned on October 11, 1926. While in the possession of H.F. Russell (1858-1940).(The Jackson County Times, October 16, 1926, p. 1)

 

The Bailey Building was completed by Kean & Company of Gulfport for Dr. O.L. Bailey (1870-1938) in late July.  Dr. Bailey operated his drug store and medical practice from the new structure on Washington Avenue.  Realtor, F.E. Lee (1874-1932), rented an office space in the building.  We know this edifice today as Lovelace Drugs owned by the McCall family.(The Jackson County Times, July 24, 1926, p. 5 and October 2, 1912)

 

The Town of Ocean Springs acquired the Peoples Water Works for $6500.(The Jackson County Times, December 8, 1926, p. 1)

In early December, Frederick Mason Weed (1850-1926), “the Yankee Mayor” of Ocean Springs (1899-1912) and a native of Hinesburg,Vermont, died.  Mayor Weed also co-founded the Ocean Springs State Bank.  His remains were interred at Milton, Vermont.(The Jackson County Times, December 4, 1926, p. 5)

 

Nine holes were opened for play at the Gulf Hills golf course in mid-December.  Eddie Murphy of Chicago was in charge of the golf program.(The Daily Herald, December 9, 1926, p. 8)

 

Daniel Newcomb (1906-1967), Morris McClure “Babe” Baker (1907-1994) and Louis A. “Lucky Lou” Lundy Jr. (1908-1992) were superior Ocean Springs athletes, on the Biloxi High School football team that played the Sunflower County Agricultural High School of Moorhead at Greenville, Mississippi in early December 1926 for the high school championship of Mississippi.  The Biloxi gridsters were outweighed by the Aggies 24 pounds per man, but fought the larger, less fleet farmers to a 7-7 stalemate. Biloxi had won ten of eleven games scoring 249 points to their oppositions 15 points.  They beat the St. Stanislaus Reserves 125-0.(The Daily Herald, December 3, 1926 and The Jackson County Times, December 41926, p. 5)

 

1927

In January, Hartmann & Clark Brothers of Peoria, Illinois won a contract for $57,630 to pave several streets in downtown Ocean Springs.  Those chosen were: Washington Avenue from the Beach to Old Fort Bayou; Jackson Avenue from Porter Street to the Beach; Porter Street from Dewey to Martin Avenue; and Beach Drive from Jackson Avenue to Washington Avenue.  Paving beagn in mid-February 1927.(The Daily Herald, February 2, 1927, p. 5 and The Jackson County Times, January 8, 1927, p. 1) 

 

In mid-January, the 18-hole golf course designed by Jack Daray, of the Olympic Fields golf course at Chicago, opened at Gulf Hills.(The Daily Herald, January 14, 1927)

 

In February, Jackson Avenue was paved with concrete from Porter Street to Front Beach Drive.(The Jackson County Times, February 27, 1927)

 

The Moore Construction Company of Biloxi was awarded another paving contract in April to pave Martin Avenue, a portion of Porter, Middle Avenue, and a part of Magnolia Street.(The Jackson County Times, April 16, 1927, p. 1)

 

Edward P. Guice (1899-1971) erected a new ice plant on Jackson Avenue commencing in February.  Architect Bruce Tolar owned and occupied this structure in the 1990s and early 2000s.  Andrew Marion acquired this historic building in 2008?

 

The paved highway between Biloxi and Ocean Springs [north Washington Avenue and LeMoyne Boulevard] was completed in late March.(The Jackson County Times, March 19, 1927, p. 2)

 

On June 2nd, voters approved a $600,000 bond issue to build seawalls at Ocean Springs and Pascagoula.  The Pascagoula seawall project was commenced after the Pruden Company of Toledo, Ohio acquired $300,000 of the five percent bonds issued by the Jackson County Board of Supervisors.(The Jackson County Times, August 6, 1927, p. 1)

 

H. Minor Russell (1892-1940) erected a large Mediterranean style home on Front Beach and the west side of Martin Avenue.  It was designed by Shaw & Woleben of Gulfport and built by    J.A. Wieder at a cost of $40,000.(The Jackson County Times, April 9, 1927, p. 5)  The H.M. Russell home burned in August 1937.(The Jackson County Times, August 28, 1937, p. 2)

 

In late August, the Biloxi to Isle of Caprice Marathon Race was won by 'Mobile' Bill Jackson (b. 1903), a professional swimmer from Mobile.  Herbert P. Beaugez (1895-1954) of Ocean Springs swam in the event as an amateur and awarded a medal.(The Daily Herald, August 24, p. 1 and August 25, 1927, p. 1)

 

In September, the new school Public School, situated on Government Street, commenced classes.  It was built on land donated to the Town of Ocean Springs by Daniel J. Gay (1870-1949), and named the Mary C. O’Keefe Center of Culture and Arts in December 1998.  William T. Nolan of NOLA was the architect.

 

Black public school was also erected on the 3.7-acre lot donated by Gus Nelson  on present day School Street.

 

OSHS sports teams were called "The Panthers".(The Daily Herald, November 17, p. 7)

 

1928

Theodore G. Bilbo (1877-1947) began his second term as Governor of Mississippi in January.

 

Shearwater Pottery commenced by Peter Anderson (1901-1884) in January.(The Jackson County Times, January 21, 1928, p. 3)

 

First contract to commence work on new Fort Bayou bridge was let in February to the Allen Dredging Company of Pascagoula to build a road from the old span to Mechain Hill on the north side of the bayou.  Work was also started for molding concrete pilings for the new seawall at Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1928, p. 8)

 

The Pascagoula River Bridge and Escatawpa River Bridge in Jackson County were dedicated on April 14th.  The completion of the Pascagoula River Bridge completed the last gap of the Old Spanish Trail [US Highway 90] on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1928, p. 1)

 

The Fort Bayou Telephone Company commenced improving its rural Jackson County service by metalizing its circuits.  Work commenced on Fontainebleau Point and at Fontainebleau.(The Pascagoula Democrat-Star, May 5, 1928, p. 3)      

 

Johnny Weissmuller (1904-1984), Olympic champion swimmer and later the movie "Tarzan", and Ulise J. 'Pete' Desjardins (1907-1985), Olympic diving champion, were invited to thHarrison County seawall dedication held on May 10th.  It cost $3.4 million dollars and was designed by Hobart D. Shaw (1908-1973) of Gulfport.(The Daily Herald, May 11, 1928, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, May 5, 1928, p. 1)

 

McLeod Lodge No. 424 F.&A.M. Masonic Temple on Government Street and Bellande was dedicated on June 6, 1928.

 

In July, test pilings were driven by the Fuller Construction Company of Memphis for the $750,000 War Memorial Bridge connecting Ocean Springs with Biloxi.

 

Camp McClellan, a National Guard encampment north of Ocean Springs, had a flag raising ceremony in late July.(The Jackson County times, August 4, 1928, p. 3)

 

Jitney Jungle, first “modern” meat market and store opened in the north half of the Bailey Building (now known as the Lovelace Drugstore) in the space vacated by the Ocean Springs State Bank.(The Jackson County Times, August 11, 1928 and August 18, 1928, p. 3)

 

Alfred B. Stuart (1860-1928), dairyman and cattle breeder, expired at New Orleans in October.(The Jackson County Times, October 4, 1928, p. 3)

 

Alfred E. Smith (1873-1944), Governor of New York and 1928 Democratic presidential candidate who lost to Herbert Hoover (1874-1964), was in Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, November 24, 1928, p. 2)

 

The H. Minor Russell (1892-1942) home and cottage, on Jackson Avenue were destroyed in a daylight conflagration on Jackson Avenue.  The large fire also claimed the homes of Mrs. Carrie E. Dancer and C.E. Bennett.  Mr. Russell’s cottage was occupied by John Tue.  Had the Biloxi Fire Department not come to the scene, the entire block might have been destroyed.(The Jackson County Times, December 15, 1928, p. 1)

 

1929

 

Miller & Hutchinson, seawall contractor, was awarded the contract to build a timber bulkhead through the Fort Bayou marsh connecting Gulf Hills and Ocean Springs.  Upon completion, the bulkhead was to be filled with dirt in preparation to complete a road.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1929, p. 2)

 

The Mississippi Coast Amateur [baseball] League was organized in February.(The Daily Herald, February 16, 1929, p. 3)

 

Seawall on Front Beach completed by the Miller-Hutchinson Company of Lake Charles, Louisiana.

 

A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) elected to his first term as Beat 4 Supervisor in May 1929, succeeding the late J.K. Lemon (1870-1929).  He defeated W.S. VanCleave (1871-1938), F.E. Schmidt (1877-1954), and Jerry Oliver.(The Jackson County Times, June 1, 1929, p. 1)

 

John Koester of NOLA, an air mail pilot, crashed landed his bi-plane on Marsh Point in late July.  The plane valued at $10,000 was placed on a barge and towed to Gulf Hills were it was dismantled and sent to NOLA.  Pilot Koester was slightly injured and soon returned to his mail route between NOLA and Atlanta.(The Jackson County Times, August 3, 1929, p. 1)

 

Pilots, Edward A. Bellande (1897-1976), a native of Ocean Springs, and Charles A. Lindbergh (1902-1974), flew the first TWA passenger airplane from Los Angeles to New York.

 

[The Daily Herald, September 3, 1929, p. 4]

 

The Reverend Lowndes A. Darsey (1849-1929) of the Methodist church expired in late October.(The Daily Herald, October 28, 1929, p. 1)

 

October 1929, Stock market crash.

 

New bridge erected across Fort Bayou by the Miller-Hutchinson Company of Lake Charles, Louisiana.  It was opened for public use on October 26, 1929.(The Jackson County Times, October 26, 1929, p. 2)

 

1930-1939

For the majority of Americans, this decade may have been the most economically miserable of the Twentieth Century.  The period beginning with the stock market crash in October 1929, until the commencement of WW II in late 1939, was dismal at best. These hard times became known as “The Depression”.  In 1933, President-elect, Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882-1945) and Congress created legislation to provide relief from this economic calamity through programs of agriculture and business regulation, inflation, price stabilization, and public works.  Some of the more familiar New Deal programs were: the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC); the Public Works Administration; Tennessee Valley Authority; the Works Progress Administration, the Social Security System; the Federal Communications Commission; and the Security and Exchange Commission. 

 

Locally, the community benefited from several of these government induced economic programs.  In 1933, the Civil Works Administration had over two hundred men employed in mosquito control, oyster planting, and street and public building beatification.  In 1933, the Anderson brothers of Shearwater Pottery were selected by Chairman Elsworth Woodward of the Region Six Public Works of Art Project, to create murals for the Ocean Springs Public School.  In 1938, A CCC camp was erected east of town, which built the Magnolia State Park.  In 1939, sewing rooms were established by the Works Progress Administration, which employed nine women at Ocean Springs making garments, quilts, and rugs.

 

On the negative side, the Farmers & Merchants State Bank failed in 1933.  T.W. Milner was appointed the receiver of this financial institution.  Also the tourist trade slackened and demolition, bankruptcy, and fire reduced the town to only one hotel, the French Hotel of J.H. Edwards.  In 1932, Dr. Powell’s Bayou Inn, became the Fort Bayou estate of Emma M. Logan of Shreveport, Louisiana.

 

Lurline Shrieber Hall who grew up in Ocean Springs on East Porter during the Depression remembers these difficult times well.  Her recollection follows:   In 1929, came the crash although we did not feel it until later.  I remember going uptown, probably to Gottsche’s Store for Mama and coming home with the news that the Farmers and Merchants Bank had closed.  I wanted to know if we had lost our money and she said our money (what little we had) was in the other bank (Ocean Springs State Bank).  In 1930, the truth began to come out.  They were called the “Troubled Thirties”, and “Brother, can you spare a dime?” was the password.  Mr. Gottsche put a sign in his front window-“NRA-We Do Our Part”.  Those fortunate to own a radio listened to Amos n’ Andy”, Kate Smith, Walter Winchell, Eddie Cantor, and Rudy Vallee.  We read cartoons such as, “Little Orphan Annie”, “Gasoline Alley”, and “Dick Tracy”.  When our folks could “spare a dime”, we went to the picture show to see the Marx Brothers, Bella Lugosi, as Count Dracula, and the giant gorilla, King Kong, and any and all musicals.  Then came the New Deal when Roosevelt was elected.  The Civil Works Administration (CWA) hit Ocean Springs and later the Works Progress Administration (WPA).  That perked the town up enough to tide us over until WW II.(Lurline Schrieber Hall, letter dated June 11 ,1999 from Letohatchie, Alabama)

 

The decade saw a major technological advance in 1939, when a German made the first rocket powered flight and the jet propulsion engine to power an aircraft was developed by an American.

 

1930

Population of Ocean Springs 1663 people.[Bellande counts 1638 with 1280 white and 358 black].(The Jackson County Times, June 22, 1940, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs City government set annual water rates for 1930 as follows: one faucet-$9; 2nd faucet-$2; each additional faucet-$.75.  Each yard faucet cost $1.  Rate increased by $.50 over old rate.(The Daily Herald, December 30, 1930, p. 7)

 

The War Memorial Bridge across the Bay of Biloxi connecting Ocean Springs with Biloxi via US 90 (The Old Spanish Trail), was dedicated in June. 

 

Eugene Rodriguez (1898-1969) was named motorcycle officer for Beat 4  Jackson County.  He also patrols the new Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bridge.(The Daily Herald, June 21, 1930)

 

In August, Mrs. Marie Gouax Bertuccini Vance (1863-1930), French immigrant and co-founder of the French Hotel, passed on at her Jackson Avenue residence.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1930, p. 2)

 

In August, the Texas Company (ChevronTexaco) awarded a contract to Bradford & Carver for the erection of a gasoline service station on the southeast corner of Washington Avenue and Porter.  Today, the Robert Mohler family is operating a gasoline service station, deli, and quick stop market at the same location and vending Texaco gasoline.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1930, p. 2)

 

1931

Dorothy Dix (1861-1951), nom de plume of Elizabeth Meriwether Gilmer, who was the highest paid and most widely read journalist at the time of her demise, visited Holmecliffe, the Lovers Lane resident of Robert H. Holmes (1869-1949).(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1931, p. 2)

 

J.P. Edwards was re-elected vice president of the Biloxi Hospital board.(The Daily Herald, January 20,1931, p. 2)

 

Narcisse Seymour (1849-1931), fish and oyster businessman, expired on January 20th.(The Daily Herald, January 20,1931, p. 2)

 

Theo Bechtel (1863-1931) died on January 17th  at the Bechtel home on Porter Avenue.  He was a native of Stauton, Illinois and pecan pioneer.  Becthel developed the Success Pecan and experimented with other varieties.  He was a former president of the Southern Pecan Growers’ Association, chairman of the South Central Pecan Marketing Association, and prominent in the Coast Pecan Marketing Association.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1931, p. 1)   

 

 

       

Charles Dryden          

On St. Valentine’s Day, Charles Dryden (1860-1931) died on Calhoun Avenue in the Rosambeau cottage.  Mr. Dryden was a national personality and baseball sportswriter for many major journals.  He vacationed here during the off-season enjoying the spectacular local fishing.  He also wrote several works of fiction.  Dryden’s corporal remains were sent to his birthplace, Monmouth, Illinois, for burial.

 

The younger set enjoyed another of its series of informal dances at the Community House on Saturday night.  Present were: Bobby Anderson; Frank Beuhler; Elinor Coates; Carl Dick;  John Edwards; Elwin Friar; Judlin Girot and Sallie Girot; Flossie Heath; Brown Honor; Jesse Johnson; Margaret Lewis Lemon and Sara Lemon; Henry Parlin; Roy Riviere; Elizabeth Ryan and Inez Ryan; Joseph Taixes; Walton Tardy; Horace Watson; Andrew Westbrook; and Elinor Wright.  Misses Amy Quick and Elizabeth Barbee were chaperones.(The Daily Herald, January 19, 1931, p. 2)

 

In the summer, Henry Oliviere (1890-1930+), a native of Malta, had a seedling peach tree that bore fruit measuring four inches in diameter and weighing 17 1/2 ounces.  These measurements were verified by Horace Gladney of the Mississippi State Plant Board.(The Daily Herald, January 9, 1932, p. 2)

 

Sir Thomas Johnstone Lipton (1845-1931), Scottish entrepreneur and yachtsman, died on October 2nd.  He lost five challenges to win the America's Cup between 1899 and 1930.

 

1932

Mike Connor was inaugurated Governor of Mississippi on January 19th.(The Daily Herald, January 18, 1932, p. 1)

 

The Pines Hotel on Washington Avenue at Ocean, burned on May 5, 1932.  It was owned by Mrs. Victor Levy at the time of its destruction.

 

Dr. Jasper J. Bland, founder of the Beach Hotel, expired at Beaumont, Texas on March 30, 1932.

 

Katherina R. Hottinger (1850-1932) expired at her East Beach home on March 30, 1932.  Her corporal remians were sent to Chicago for internment.  Katherina was survived by four daughters: Mrs. E. Holbeck; Mrs. R. Zimmerman; Mrs. L. Peterson; and Mrs. W.T. Veazue; and two sons, Arnold Hottinger and Adolph Hottinger.  All the Hottinger children were residents of the Windy City.(The Daily Herald, March 31, 1932, p. 5)

 

Barbara Irene Wittenburg Gallagher Berthaud (1882-1932), called Rena and the widow of Micahel A. Gallagher (1877-1903), and the spouse of Edgar Berthaut (1869-1939) died at Algiers, Louisiana in mid-November.(The Daily Herald, November 12, 1932, p. 2)

 

1933

The Dr. Don C. Case-H.F. Russell (1858-1940) home on the southwest corner of Washington and Porter was badly damaged in a fire on February 11, 1933.  It was subsequently demolished.(see JXCO, Ms. Chancery Court Cause No. 5606-December 1934)

 

Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882-1945) became President on March 4th.

 

The Farmers and Merchants State Bank was put into liquidation with T.W. Milner as receiver.

 

Father Peter J. Ahern (1869-1933), a native of Wakefield, Massachusetts expired on September 25th.  Father Ahern came to Ocean Springs circa 1929 to be the chaplain for the Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart, an Italian Holy Order.(The Daily Herald, September 26, 1933, p. 1)

 

In late September, Al Pesses, proprietor of the Biloxi Music Company and former bandmaster at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy at New London, Connecticut, met with OSHS students to organize a school band of about twenty musicians.  Miss Eulalie Seymour was named band manager.(The Daily Herald, September 28, 1933, p. 2)  

 

The Federal government repealed Prohibition on December 5th by the passage of the 21st Amendment.

 

Coach LaCroix, teacher and coach, at the Public School resigned to take a job to work in the research department of the Standard Oil Company at Baton Rouge, Louisiana.(The Jackson County Times, December 9, 1933, p. 3)

 

More than two hundred men were at work in Ocean Springs on various Civil Works Administration activities.  Mosquito control projects supervised by Horace Gladney (1894-1975) utilized more than half of the labor force.  Others were involved in planting oyster shells, refurbishing the public school grounds, or working on streets.(The Jackson County Times, December 16, 1933, p. 1)

 

Mary C. O'Keefe, principal of OSHS, was notified that the Southern Association of Schools had dropped OSHS from its accreditation list because the school failed for two years to have at least 175 days of class room instruction.(The Daily Herald, December 23, 1933, p. 3)

 

1934

Ocean Springs first park commission met on January 3rd with three members in attendance, Dr. Anton HrabeE.S. Dick, and Mrs. H.L. Girot.(The Jackson County Times, January 6, 1934)

 

The Ocean Springs High School girls basketball team won the Mississippi Gulf Coast Championship defeating Escatawpa 49-32.  Team members were: Vertalee Bradford Van Cleave, (The Daily Herald,  February 26, 1934, p. 2)

 

On February 29thbeer and wine were legal to vend in Mississippi.  Ocean Springs was not affected since alcoholic beverages had been sold here for some time.(The Jackson County Times, March 3, 1934, p. 1)

 

Mrs. Annie L. Benjamin expired at Milwaukee in early March.  She had wintered at Ocean Springs for many years at “Shore Acres” and owned the “Benjamin Castle” on Prospect Avenue and Lake Michigan, where her fine art collection hung.(The Milwaukee Journal, March 7, 1938)

 

In April, Robert C. Crysell (1874-1934), an L&N employee, was killed in an accident while loading a rail car.(The Jackson County Times, April 21, 1934, p. 3)

 

The new athletic field on Government Street, and east of the public school [on Bills Avenue] was built as a Civil Works Administration  project for $5800, on the former Sigerson farm.  J.S. Bradford supervised the landscaping for the 600-foot by 600-foot field enclosed by a 7-foot, tight board fence. The Terry Oilers of Ocean Springs beat Gulfport 11 to 3 on April 22nd in a baseball game, the inaugural sporting contest.  Malcolm 'Bud' Hodges raised the American flag as he had won a contest against Duncan Moran, Oscar Joachim and Walter Murphy.  The Biloxi Boys Band played for this grand event.(The Daily Herald, January 20, 1934, p. 1, April 27, 1934, p. 9 and The Jackson County Times, January 20, 1934, p. 1 and April 28, 1934, p. 1)

 

In May 1934, Jefferson Davis Holloway (1869-1938), local L&N railroad engineer, was presented a fifty year,  gold,  service button set with ten diamonds in a ceremony at the L&N Railroad office at Mobile, Alabama.(The Daily Herald, May 23, 1934, p. 8 and The Jackson County Times, May 12, 1934, p. 1)

 

Dorothy Dell (1914-1934), nee Dorothy Dell Goff, former resident and Hollywood starlet, was killed on June 8th in an automobile accident at Pasadena, California.

 

The Methodist congregation at Ocean Springs commenced calling their church, St. Paul’s, in mid-June.(The Jackson County Times, June 16, 1934, p. 3)

 

In June, the “Fish and Bird” tile mural of James McConnell Anderson (1907-1998) and Peter Anderson (1903-1984) and Bob Anderson’s  mural, “Ocean Springs: Past and Present”, were installed in the Ocean Springs Public School building on Government Street.(The Jackson County Times, June 9, 1934, p. 1)

 

Brother Isaiah (1847-1934), nee John Cudney, expired on July 20, 1934, at “New Jerusalem” near Oroville, California.  Brother Isaiah lived for a short duration in the St. Martin community in the 1920s, where he preached and cured the afflicted.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1934, p. 2)

 

In July a Little Theatre Guild was organized at Ocean Springs.  H. Pitts Flateau, president; Mrs. George W. Walter Anderson, vice president; Mrs. Chester Davis, treasurer; and Miss Elsie McFarland, secretary.

 

1935

Elvis A. Presley (1935-1977) was born at Tupelo, Mississippi on January 8th.

 

Marcus F. Shanteau Sr. (1905-1975) opened his automobile repair and maintenance service on Government Street.  He initially sold Sinclair gasoline.

 

H. Minor Russell (1892-1940) sued the City because he felt that the new municipal pier, which was over 600 feet long, infringed upon his riparian rights.(The Daily Herald, April 12, 1935, p. 10)

 

Dave’s Place owned by Walter S. Davidson (1888-1950) opened for business on Washington Avenue in the former Russell Beer Parlor.  He served Eagle and Pabst’s Blue Ribbon beers.(The Jackson County Times, May 4, 1935, p. 3)  He later ran a feed store on Bowen Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 1, 1950, p. 1)

 

On May 6, 1935, the Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.) was created to help provide economic relief to the citizens of the United States who were suffering through the Great Depression.

 

Professor James Lynch (1852-1935), probably a native of County Cavin, Ireland, expired.  Mr. Lynch was a merchant, ran a private school, and served as the town clerk from 1919 until 1929.(The Jackson County Times, July 6, 1935)

 

Edward “Eddie” A. Bellande (1897-1976), a native of Ocean Springs, was awarded the Congressional Air Mail Medal of Honor presented to him by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt in 1935.  It was awarded to Eddie Bellande for an act of heroism following his only crash at Bakersfield, California.  He safely landed a Transcontinental and Western Air Ford Tri-motor aircraft, which was in flames and helped all of his passengers to reach safety before the plane was totally destroyed by the fire.

 

1936

The Mill Dam Bridge, now called the Shearwater Bridge, was rebuilt by Supervisor A.P. Moran (1897-1967).(The Jackson County Times, January 25, 1936 p. 1)

 

Captain Francis O'Neill (1849-1936), retired General Superintendent of the Chicago Police from 1901-1905) and owner of Glengariff, a Front Beach estate, expired at Chicago on January 28, 1936.  Captain O'Neill was passionate about Irish music.  He devoted much of his life to playing, collecting, researching and writing about Irish music.  Captain O'Neill's musical archives and plates for his three music books were legated to the University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana.(The Jackson County Times, February 21, 1927, Jackson County, Ms. Chancery Court Cause No. 5893, and Chicago Tribune, January 29, 1936)

 

In July, the White House, formerly the Artesian House, was demolished by Charles Braun of Biloxi for its heart pine lumber.  A.E. “Fred” Lewis (1862-1933) had erected this small hostel on the southwest corner of Jackson and Porter in 1891.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1936, p. 3)

 

Edward J. Brou (1921-2004) of Ocean Springs placed second in he two-mile marathon swim with a time of 54 minutes and 25 seconds at the Biloxi's Sports carnival held in early July.  He also set a record in the one mile swim at the Southern AAU meet in NOLA on August 29th.  Margaret Brou, his sister, placed second in the 50-yard dash swim at the Biloxi Sports carnival.(The Daily Herald, July 3, 1936, p. 8 and The Jackson County Times, September 5, 1936, p. 1)

 

Albert Enos Lee (1874-1936), native of Iowa, and longtime newspaper publisher at Ocean Springs expired in September.  Mr. Lee was associated with The Hammond Vindicator (Hammond, Louisiana) and published and edited The Progress, The Ocean Springs News, and The Jackson County Times at Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, September 19, 1936, p. 1)

 

Schuyler Poitevent (1875-1936) expired at New Orleans in October.  Mr. Poitevent was educated at Tulane and the University of Virginia..  He was a scholarly man and wrote several books on Colonial history, which were never published.  Poitevent was convinced that Fort Maurepas (1699-1702), the French Beachhead of Louisiana, had been situated on his bay front estate on Lovers Lane.(The Daily Herald, October 16, 1936, p. 6)

 

Aklis B. Barry (1882-1937+), Methodist minister, spoke at the 5th annual town ecumenical Thanksgiving service held in the Baptist church. Transferred to the State penitentiary in November 1936.  Gave Thanksgiving sermon in the Baptist church at Ocean Springs, the 5th annual town ecumenical Thanksgiving service.(The Jackson County Times, November 28, 1936 and p. 1 p. 3)

 

Colonel Hernando Deveaux Money (1869-1936), a lawyer, soldier, farmer and politician died at Lexington, Holmes County, Mississippi in December.  Colonel Money owned the Rose Farm north of Old Fort Bayou for many years.(The Jackson County Times, December 19, 1936)

 

1937

H.W.F. Vaughn (b. circa 1903) came from Saucier, Harrison County, Mississippi to Ocean Springs as Methodist minister.( The Jackson County Times, November 28, 1936, p. 1)

 

Iola Y. Davidson (1883-1963), wife of Judge O.D. Davidson (1872-1938), became the first woman elected as an alderman in the city government.  She represented Ward 2.

 

The Hindenberg, a German dirigible, burned at Lakehurst, New Jersey in early May killing thirty-five passengers and crew.(The Daily Herald, May 8, 1937, p. 1)

 

In August, the Jackson County Board of Supervisors acquired for $20,000, over one-hundred acres of land from W.E. Applegate Jr. in Section 33, T7S-R8W, east of Ocean Springs for a state recreational area, which would become Magnolia State Park.(JXCO Bd. Of Supervisors, Minute Bk. 17, pp. 152-153)

 

James A. Brodie (1855-1937), native of Scotland and horticulturist at North Biloxi (D'Iberville), expired.

 

Jackson County built a dredge perfected by Captain Adam Gautier.  It began operation in December 1937 as a suction dredge, which proved unsatisfactory.  It was then converted into a 'cutter' dredge and was used primarily to provide protection for the seawalls at Pascagoula and Ocean Springs.(The Pascagoula Chronicle-Star, June 17, 1938, p. 1)

 

1938

In March 1939, the Jackson County dredge started work on the 100-foot wide channel to the mouth of Mill Dam Bayou to be an inner harbor at Ocean Springs.  By September 1939, the harbor was essentially completed when Russell Carver (1888-1961), foreman of the Jackson County bridge crew, finished a 200-foot by 10-foot, east-west striking, dock on the north shore of the new harbor.( (The Pascagoula Chronicle-Star, June 17, 1938, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, March 18,1939, p.1 and The Jackson County Times, August 26, 1939, p. 2)

 

A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967) was elected head of the Ocean Springs Rotary Club succeeding T.W. Milner.  He took office on July 1st.(The Jackson County Times, April 9, 1938, p. 1)    

 

The first contingent of Civil Conservation Corps men from Camp No. 5 at New Augusta, Mississippi arrived at their camp east of Ocean Springs on March 26th, to form CCC Company 1437 and commence work on what would become the Magnolia State Park.(The Moss Point Advertiser, March 31, 1938 and The Daily Herald, March 26, 1938, p. 1)

 

Jack Lloyd, the 'Headline Hunter', peripatetic national and international news reportervisited Ocean Springs in late March.(The Jackson County Times, April 2, 1938, p. 1)

 

Dr. Oscar Lee Bailey (1870-1938), pioneer physician and native of Conehatta, Newton County, Mississippi, expired on June 21, 1938.(The Jackson County Times, June   25,1938)

 

Dr. George C. Jones (1876-1938+), a native of New York, came to Ocean Springs from Biloxi where he had been since January.  He opened an office in the Ocean Springs State Bank Building.(The Jackson County Times, July 30, 1938, p. 3)

 

In October, legendary L&N Railroad engineer, Jefferson Davis Holloway (1861-1938) expired at his Washington Avenue residence.  Jeff was known for the punctuality of his train arrivals and departures on the Ocean Springs-New Orleans run.

 

In November, the Ingalls Shipbuilding Corporation at Pascagoula was incorporated.

 

1939

In January, the Theo Bechtel home, formerly Mrs. A.E. Holcomb’s, “Hollywood”, was destroyed by fire.  Mrs. Charlotte Franco Cochran (1864-1939) expired at her home on Robinson Avenue during the conflagration.(The Jackson County Times, January 14, 1939, p. 1)

 

The Kersenacs are building a new Snug Harbor where the old one stood [on the NW side of US Highway 90 near the 1930 War Memorial Bridge].  This structure will be one of the most attractive eating houses on the Coast as everyone knows the delicious food that the Kersanacs serve.(The Jackson County Times, March 11, 1939, p. 4)

 

The first commemoration of Iberville’s Landing of April 1699, was held at Ocean Springs on March 19, 1939.  A.P. Moran (1897-1967) portrayed Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’Iberville (1661-1706).

 

In the spring of 1939, Lt. John Carter Cook (1913-1999), a native of Georgia, arrived in Jackson County, Mississippi with the Civilian Conservation Corps as commander of Company No. 1437, which was stationed at Magnolia State Park, east of Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, May 27, 1939, p. 4)

 

Alfred P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967), Beat 4 Supervisor, commenced work on the Inner Harbor with the cooperation of Annette McConnell Anderson (1867-1964), Charles E. Clark (1879-1945), the Rehage Dairy, and the R.F.C., owners of the Charles G. Parlin property.(The Jackson County Times, March 18, 1939, p. 1)  The 200-foot long dock was built and completed in early September by the county bridge crew of Russell Carver (1888-1961), foreman.(The Jackson County times, August 26, 1939, p. 2, c. 3)

 

Joe Beaugez (1915-1998) went to Dothan, Alabama to pitch in the Alabama-Florida League.(The Jackson County times, March 25, 1939, p. 4)

 

Charles J. Steelman  (1889-1957), former manager of Viator’s Cash Store, purchased the meat market of Lynn Johnson, the K.C. Meat Market, on Washington Avenue and went into business for himself.(The Jackson County Times, March 25, 1934, p. 4)

 

The dial telephone system came to Ocean Springs after a new building was erected to house the equipmentwas completed on Government Street adjacent to the Ocean Springs State Bank.  Mayor

 

Charles R. Bennett made the first call on June 20, 1939 followed by A.P. "Fred" Moran.  The dial system replace the magneto crank-box.(The Daily Herald, March 13, 1939, p. 7, c. 6 and The Jackson County Times, June 24, 1939, p. 1)

 

The first commemoration of Iberville’s Landing of April 1699, was held at Ocean Springs on March 19, 1939.  A.P. Moran (1897-1967) portrayed Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’Iberville (1661-1706).

 

Gustav R.  Nelson (1896-1970), a native of Upsala, Sweden and 1911 immigrant, grew a 2.75 pound lemon on his 85-acre tract, Nelson’s Tropical Gardens, east of Ocean Springs.  The Gus Nelson lemon was larger than that listed as the world’s biggest by Robert Ripley’s “Believe It or Not”(The Daily Herald, April 28, 1939, p. 7)

 

WW II began on September 9th, when Germany invaded Poland.

 

Willie F. Dale (1899-1990) acquired the J.J. O’Keefe Home on Porter Street from the Home Owner’s Loan Corporation for $3850, on December 2nd.(JXCO Land Deed Bk. 74, pp. 158-160)

 

Camille Dick opened the Lamp Light Inn in the Eglin Building on Washington Avenue.(The Jackson County Times, December 9, 1939, p. 4)

 

1940-1949

WW II and recovery from its widespread destruction and death consumed most of this decade.  Americans went back to work in great numbers supplying its military forces and that of its allies on four continents.  The war ended in September 1945, after the atomic bomb was dropped on two Japanese metropolitan areas issuing in the Nuclear Age.  The Iron Curtain went up in eastern Europe and the Cold War with the Soviet Union began as the decade ended.

At Ocean Springs, many young men went into the military and several didn’t return to its oak and magnolia-shaded lanes, lazy bayous, and quaint cottages of their recent adolescence.  For those who served and especially those who gave their lives in North Africa, Europe, and in the South Pacific, we will always be grateful.

The September Storm in 1947 wrought much damage to the waterfront here.  Gulf Hills had a new owner and manager in Dick Waters, who came from Florida, and introduced the Dude Ranch concept to the resort.  The decade closed on a positive note with the completion of Freedom Field and the Community Center.

 

1940

The 2nd Landing of Iberville directed by Miss Mary C. O'Keefe was held on the Front Beach in late March.(The Daily Herald, March 29, 1940 and April 1, 1940)

 

Population of Ocean Springs was 1891 people.(The Jackson County Times, June 22, 1940, p. 1)

 

The Back Bay of Biloxi froze over on January 27, 1940.  This was the  first time since February 13, 1899, when the mercury fell to one degree Fahrenheit on the Mississippi Gulf Coast.(The Daily Herald, January 27, 1940, p. 1)

 

New Blue and Gray sweaters were presented to the following OSHS football players: Orion Baker, Donald Beaugez, Karl Byrd, Barney Dessommes, Lowell Davis, Donald Edwards, Harold Eley, Frank Haviland, Eugene Hill, Bob Hodges, Donald Mohler, Donal Snyder, Richard Steelman, and Jack Williams.(The Daily Herald, February 12, 1940, p. 3)

 

Hiram F. Russell (1858-1940), long time businessman and entrepreneur and once reputed to be the wealthiest man in Jackson County, expired on May 5th.  Mr. Russell came to Ocean Springs from Yazoo City in 1881, to work for R.A. VanCleave (1840-1908).  He served as postmaster (1885-1889) and then became active in real estate, insurance, and furniture-sewing machine-stationary retailing.  His daughter, Ethel Virginia Russell (1899-1957), married A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) in 1923.

 

The Reverend William James Hewson II (1917-2007), the son of William J. Hewson (1876-1930) and Lydia L. Friar (1895-1968), and believed to have been the first Mississippi native born ordained Roman Catholic priest, said his first solemn high mass at St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church on May 26, 1940.  he was ordained in NOLA at the St. Louis Cathedral on May 18, 1940.  Reverend Hewson expired at Baton Rouge, Louisiana on August 2, 2007.(The Jackson County Times, June 1, 1940, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, May 29, 1940, p. 2)

 

In June, Ingalls Shipbuilding Corporation launched a C3 cargo vesselExchequerits first vessel and the first all-welded cargo ship built in America.

 

In late June, the Jackson County dredge commenced work on the construction of a road protection and beach at Ocean Springs.  The plan was to extend the entire length of East Beach.  Supervisor A.P. Moran related that the pumping of sand would require several weeks and without unseen interruptions, the project was planned to carry the road protection from the eastern extremity of East Beach to the small strip of seawall at the foot of East Beach road, a distance of about a mile and one-half.(The Daily Herald, June 28, 1940, p. 8) 

 

Father Charles Hunter of St. Alphonsus performed the 'Blessing of the Fleet' at the harbor.(The Jackson County Times, August 24, 1940, p. 1)

 

Postmaster and former Mayor, L. Morris McClure (1884-1940), died in the post office on October 22nd.(The Jackson County Times, October 26, 1940, p. 1)

 

Magnolia State Park, the last of ten State parks, opened in September.

 

In November, H. Minor Russell (1892-1940) expired at New London, Connecticut.

 

In November, Carrie Seymour Ames (1889-1979) was presented with her 20 year gold-diamond studded service pen for her 20 years service with the telephone company.(The Jackson County Times, January 25, 1941, p. 1)

 

1941

In January, City Hall was moved from the Farmers & Merchant Bank Building to the former National Guard Armory.(The Jackson County Times, January 18, 1941, p. 1)

 

Frank Marion Mitchell (1922-1941), son of Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Mitchell, was injured near Fernwood, Harrison County, Mississippi in automobile accident.  He died in the Gulfport hospital on February 5th.(The Daily Herald, February 6, 1941, p. 1)

 

Wileminia Booker Beaugez (1900-1941), spouse of Emile Beaugez, died from injuries sustained in an automoblie accident.(The Daily Herald, February 13, 1941, p. 1) 

 

C. Ernest Schmidt opened his new restaurant, the Bay Bridge Tavern, on the east side of the US Highway No. 90 Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bay Bridge on February 15th.  Schmidt's slogan was-"Seafood Caught and Cooked".(The Daily Herald, February 14, 1941, p. 2)

 

drive was built around the Inner Harbor in February.(The Jackson County Times, February 15, 1941, p. 1)

 

The E.W. Illing Jr.’s Gulf City Canning Company, formerly the Ocean Springs Packing Company, closed.  It had been leased to L.G. Moore of Biloxi who owned a fleet of fishing vessels and had spent time and money to get the plant in operation.  Mr. Moore had difficulty getting shuckers to work in the factory.  It had been clsoed for several years until Moore's effort to revitalize it. He had brought 600 barrels of oysters to the plant, but could get only 20-24 workers to come to work in a two day span.  The local seafood workers had union affiliations and didn't care to work at Moore's plant.  He had even secured an agreement with the OSHS to use its siren to notify workers that they were needed at the factory.(The Jackson County Times, February 1, 1941, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, February 3, 1941, p. 4)

 

Nola Nance Oliver published, The Gulf Coast of Mississippi.

 

William 'Willie' Dale hired Clarence Kornman of Biloxi to move the O'Keefe residence [on Porter and Jackson] back 32 feet from its former location.  The structure will be made into an apartment house with additional space for a restaurant and another business.(The Daily Herald, Marh 3, 1941, p. 6)

 

In March, Matt Matteson, Gulf Hills golf professional, made a hole in one on No. 3, a 165-yard par three while playing with James D. 'Slugger' Wolf of Chicago.  He used a six iron and went on to shoot a round of 69 on the par 70 course.(The Daily Herald, March 6, 1941, p. 9) 

 

Lt. James B. Gaines succeeded Lt. Neil D. Nolen as new company commander of CCC Company 1437 at Ocean Springs.  Lt. Gaines came to Ocean Springs from CCC camp at Farmersville, Louisiana.  Lt. R.B. Waller was another new officer arriving at this time.  He transferred from the Ninth Corps Area Company 5497 at Mason, Nevada.  Waller was a school teacher which made him an asset in the camp's educational programs.  Both men planned tohave their families relocate to Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, April 12, 1941, p. 7)

 

Fred Ryan-courtesy of Joseph Lyons, his grandson

 

Vice-president, Henry A. Wallace (1888-1965), ate stuffed crabs and potato salad at Fred J. Ryan’s (1886-1943) restaurnt and dance hall on Bowen Avenue.  Mr. Ryan’s restaurant began as the F&H Bar during the Depression with Fred J. Ryan and Henry Endt as proprietors.  It became a restaurant run by his wife, E. Florence Domning (1889-1954).(The Jackson County Times, May 5, 1934) 

 

Byron Patton 'Pat' Harrison (1881-1941) of Gulfport, former Congressman (1911-1919) and US Senator (1919-1941) died in Washington D.C. on the June 22nd.

 

Two Army fliers were killed when their plane hit a power line over Old Fort Bayou.(The Jackson County Times, July 12, 1941, p. 1)

 

In September, the Heffner-Cosper-Dale Cottages were erected by Oscar E. Heffner (1893-1988) on the Holcomb-Bechtel tract situated on Porter and Rayburn.  Frank Galle was the local building contractor.  The cottages were built to alleviate the housing shortage created by Keesler Field at Biloxi.

 

J.C. Wright (1879-1941), brother-in-law of H.L. Hunt, and founder of the Fort Bayou Dairy, expired on February 21st.  The Wright-Hunt tract was once the pecan orchard of Dr. Homer L. Stewart.  It now consists of the US Post Office and the Maurepas Landing housing development.

 

In late October, Warren Jackson (1886-1972) was elected Secretary of the Biloxi Chamber of Commerce to replace Anthony V. Ragusin (1902-1997), who had enlisted in the Army Air Corps.(The Daily Herald, October 29, 1941, p. 1)

 

The Civil Conservation Corp Camp No. 1437, which built Magnolia State Park and is now the site of the Gulf Island National Seashore headquarters, was dissolved in October.(The Jackson County Times, November 1, 1941, p. 1, c. 3)

 

Annette Saxon O'Keefe (1924-1998), brilliant pianist and honor student, was nominated by the Senior Class to represent OSHS in the Good Citizenship Girl contest sponsored by the DAR.(The Daily Herald, November 21, 1941, p. 6)

 

In November, James A. Mustard (1906-2000), golf professional, was hired by Gulf Hills for the winter season. Mr. Mustard came to the USA from Scotland in 1928 and had formerly worked at the Biloxi Country Club with Edward Rankin. James A. Mustard spends the summer golf season at Janesville, Wisconsin.  Mr. Rankin will join him at Gulf Hills coming from Detroit.(The Daily Herald, November 22, 1941, p. 5)

 

WW II commenced for the USA when a Japanese naval task force under Admiral Yamamoto bombed Pearl Harbor, H.I. on December 7, 1941.  War on Japan was declared on December 8th.  Germany and Italy sign an alliance with Japan and enter the war on December 11th.

 

1942

V.G. Humphrey (1885-1942) expired in January.  He was president of the Ocean Springs State Bank and United Poultry Producers at the time of his demise.  Grant Humphrey had been principal of the Vancleave High School, Rotarian, and Mason.(The Daily Herald, January 26, 1942, p. 6)

 

In February, The British War Relief Society met and planned means of raising money to purchase garden seed to be sent to England.(The Jackson County Times, February 21, 1942, p. 4)     

 

Father Dennis O' Sullivan (1877-1942), native of Ireland and acting pastor of St. Alphonsus Catholic Church, died on April 2nd after leaving the confessional.(The Jackson County Times, April 4, 1942, p. 1, The Daily Herald, April 2, 1942, p. 1 and April 3, 1942, p. 1)

 

John Mitchell (1915-1963) and spouse, Georgia Shell Mitchell, built a concrete house on their Cleveland Avenue lot.(The Jackson County Times, March 21, 1942, p. 4)

 

In April, distance runner, Donal Snyder, son of Chester A. Snyder, and a student at Oklahoma City University, won the mile, 880-yard run, and 440-yard dash in record time at Wichita, Kansas.  Snyder would later set other AAU distance running records.

 

In May, Merchant Marine Lt. (jg) Harry W. Benedict Jr.(1913-1942), who lived here from 1923-1926, was killed at the mouth of the Mississippi River when his cargo vessel was torpedoed by a German U-Boat.  In 1926, his mother, Mrs. Harry W. Benedict had won a $15 gold piece in a contest to rename the Gottsche Store.  Her successful appellation was Gottshe’s Thrity-Nifty.(The Jackson County Times, May 23, 1942, p. 1) 

 

The L&N Railroad began using diesel-powered locomotives to pull its passenger trains on the Mississippi coast.(The Jackson County Times, May 23, 1942, p. 1)

 

Matt Huber (1892-1968) and wife, Myrtle Huber, relocated to Mobile were he became manager of the Albright & Woods Drugstore.(The Jackson County Times, July 25, 1942, p. 4)

 

In October, A.P. Moran (1897-1967), Hermes F. Gautier (1895-1969), John T. Powers (1887-1971), and Herbert P. Beaugez (1895-1954) organized the Purity Seafood Company and operated a seafood factory at the foot of Jackson Avenue with a lease from Antonio “Toy” Catchot (1868-1948).

 

 

1943

The Terry Courts were erected on Front Beach and Martin by Henry J. Terry (1890-1975).  They were removed in the 1960s to build the d’Iberville Apartments.

 

The French Hotel on Front Beach became known as the Edwards House.  Mrs. Amelia Edwards (1893-1979) was a kind and excellent hostess and ran the hostel accordingly.  The Ocean Springs Rotary Club met here regularly doing the 1940s.

 

In February, Henrietta Bellew opened a café, Henrietta’s, on Government Street which would last for over fifty-years and become a legendary landmark.

 

Local dentist, Dr. Anton Hrabe (1882-1943), expired in late May.(The Jackson County Times, May 28, 1943, p. 1)

 

The Magnolia State Park was used to bivouac British sailors awaiting their ships from Ingalls at Pascagoula during the summer of 1943.  Several limeys sparked and courted the local lassies.

 

Fred B. Ferson and Paul Linde, formerly of Tennessee, have given up their jobs to work full time at Biloxi to produce high quality prisms for use by the military as range finders for tanks, ships and large artillery pieces for the Franklin Arsenal.  They are assisted in their shop by J.R. McElroy and J.L. McKenzie. Since 1941, the government has given contracts to amateur lens makers to help eliminate the paucity of roof prism manufacturing in America.(The Daily Herald, August 4, 1943, p. 8)

 

In September, Robert W. Hamill (1863-1943) passed on at his home in Clarendon Hills, Illinois.  Mr. Hamill founded the Hamill Farm at Fontainebleau in the early 1900s, and resided at Belle Fontaine Beach for many years.

 

In October, Chester A. Snyder purchased the Stokes Laundry.(The Jackson County Times, October 16, 1943, p. 1

 

On December 7th, ground was broken at the Inner Harbor [Hellmer's Lane] to build the 'Crash Boat Base'.  B.L. Knost of Pass Christian, Mississippi was awarded the $14,740 contract to erect pre-fabricated barracks, a mess hall, and lavatory for service men stationed here from Key Field at Meridian, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1943, p. 1)

 

In December, seventy French sailors were bivouaced at Magnolia State Park awaiting repairs to their ship. Forty of the men were from Martinique and the others from France that went to North Africa when WWII commenced. Lt. Georges LeHot is commanding the sailors at the park which formerly was used as quarters by the CCC men and British sailors.(The Daily Herald, December 11, 1943, p. 3)

 

1944

In February, K.W. Burnham, president of the Board of Supervisors, conveyed approximately 50 acres of land at Magnolia State Park to the State of Mississippi.(JXCO Land Deed Bk. 88, pp. 431-432)

 

On February 10thGeraldine Smith, daughter of Tempy Stuart Smith, made her debut at Carnegie Hall in NYC.

 

    

U.S. Army, 3rd Air Force at Gulfport Field, located a Crash and Rescue boat base in the Inner Harbor to monitor bombing ranges in the Gulf of Mexico and assist downed flyers.

 

1945

Germany surrendered on May 7, 1945.

 

Edward 'Eddie' E. Lemien (1925-2009), Jehovah Witness of Latimer, stated in Federal Court at Biloxi that he was an ordained minister since childhood and did not believe in war.  Lemien had failed to report for induction into military service and claimed that he had filed an appeal which he had never gotten a reply.  Judge Sidney C. Mize instructed the jury to find for the defendant.(The Daily Herald, February 21, 1945, p. 1)

 

Miss Mary C. O’Keefe (1893-1980) resigned from her position as Superintendent of Public Schools.  She was replaced by Mr. S.S. Wall who was elected to the position in July 1945 by the local school board.  Over 360 pupils were expected to enroll for the fall school session.(The Jackson County Times, July 28, 1945, p. 1 and September 8, 1945, p. 1)

 

USMC aviator WW II.-Jeremiah J.  'Jerry' O'Keefe III (b. 1923)

 

During his first WW II aerial combat mission flown with the 2nd Marine Air Wing over the skies of Okinawa in April 1945, 1st Lieutenant J.J. 'Jerry' O’Keefe III destroyed five Japanese aircraft, which earned him the "ace" designation. Before the Pacific theater hostilities ended in August 1945, Jerry O’Keefe  had been credited with two additional kills. For his valiant military service, he was bestowed the Navy Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, Air Medal, and Gold Star. He received these medals on October 14, 1946, at New Orleans. (The Daily Herald, April 25, 1945, p. 1 and October 15, 1946, p. 5)

 

Lawton Carver (1903-1973), native of Ocean Springs and correspondent for International News Service, interviewed General George S. Patton Jr. (1885-1945) at Nuremburg, Germany in late August.(The Jackson County Times, September 1, 1945, p. 1)

 

Beat Four Supervisor Fred Moran (1897-1967) warned the public that it was illegal to swim or fish from the Old Fort Bayou Bridge.(The Jackson County Times, September 1, 1945, p. 1)

 

Japan surrendered to end WW II on September 2, 1945.(The Daily Herald, September 15, 1945, p. )

The OSHS football team beat the Biloxi High 'B' team 18-0 in mid-September.

 

Purity Seafood packed 1761 barrels of shrimp between August 15th and September 20th.  The factory employs 125 local men and women with their payroll averaging between $1500 and $2500 per week.(The Daily Herald, September 24, 1945, p. 4)

 

Albert “Moochie” McGinnis (1906-1945), longtime deliveryman for Gottsche’s Thrifty-Nifty, expired in November.

 

1946

A tornado or strong wind event struck East Biloxi and Ocean Springs in early January. The freak storm resulted in about $10,000 in damage. The most severe destruction at Biloxi occurred between First Street and the Beach and Pine and Maple Street. Two rows of tenements houses owned by Mavar on East Beach were damaged loosing roofs, electrical wiring, and trees. At Ocean Springs, principal damage was $500 to the Purity Seafood Company plant operated by Dudley Lang and the Seymour property, both situated at the foot of Jackson Avenue. No one in either community was injured.(The Daily Herald, January 7, 1946, p. 1)

 

Fast passenger service, the L&N Railroad’s Hummingbird, was inaugurated.

 

David Smith (1856-1946), native of Sydney, Australia, died resulting from an automobile accident on January 2nd. He and his spouse, taught the children of Bayou Puerto [Gulf Hills ] their catechism and they was responsible for the construction of St. Joseph's Chapel.  David was killed in an automobile accident at Biloxi, Mississippi on January 2, 1946. His wife died  on the day that their last Confirmation class received the sacrament from Bishop R.O. Gerow.  His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1946, p. 5)

 

James B. Smith and Richard A. Waters (d. 1989) acquired Gulf Hills from the Branigar Corporation.(The Jackson County Times, January 11, 1947, p. 1)

 

After V-J Day on September 2, 1945, activity at the US Army Air Corps crash boat base began to diminishrapidly.  The rescue vessels at Ocean Springs were moved to Brookley AFB, Mobile, Alabama.  By March 1946, the military facility on Hellmer's Lane was still open, but not operational.  It was permanently closed shortly thereafter.(W.H. Yarrow, Hattiesburg, Mississippi, April 10, 1999) 

 

The Gulf Wave, a beauty shop situated next to Lovelace Drug Store, was managed by Mrs. Elmer Barras, beauty operator, Mrs. Adele Thompson, and Mrs. Florence Rebstock.(The Jackson County Times, April 23, 1946, p. 4)

 

            

BSA Troop 216

 

Boy Scout Troop 216 was organized at Ocean Springs in the late summer or early fall of 1946 by Cyril Hopkins (1911-1968) and Joseph ‘Joe Boy’ Ryan (1928-1985).  The new scouts met in the Community House and the troop initially consisted of about fifty young men divided into three patrols.  Biloxi Knights of Columbus Council No. 1244 sponsored Troop 216 which received its charter in late October 1946.  Committee men from the Knights of Columbus were: E.C. Brou (1896-1949), chairman; C.E. Schmidt (1904-1988); Albert Mallard (1901-1982); R.F. Cazaubon (1883-1970); and Fred L. Westbrook (1889-1963).  Scoutmaster Cyril Hopkins was a surrogate father for many boys of this generation.  In addition to starting Troop 216, he organized the first American Legion baseball team for boys and the Magnolia Stars, a girls’ softball squad.  In this image made in the OSHS auditorium and probably taken at an awards ceremony known in scouting as the ‘Court of Honor’ are Ocean Springs boy scouts identified as: [L-R: 1. Donald Catchot; 2. George A. Kiernan Jr. (1934-2009); 3. C. Ferdinand Kiernan (1931-2001); 4. Ronald J. Benezue (1934-2005); 5. Thomas J. Bellman (1935-2007); 6. Kyle R. Fondren Jr. (1933-2003); 7. Robert Cox; 8. V.O. Stevens Jr.; 9. Alfred Duvernay; 10. W.T. Broome; 11. Floyd Brune Jr.; 12. Gene Seymour; 13. Raymond ‘Big Boy’ Beaugez’ 14. Cyril Hopkins (1911-1968); and 15. Joseph Ryan (1928-1985).  Image courtesy of Joan Ryan Llado-Biloxi, Mississippi. 

 

Boy Scout Troop 216 received its national charter in late October.  Cyril Hopkins (1911-1968) lead the troop with Joseph 'Joe Boy' Ryan (1928-1985) as his able assistant.  By the mid-1950s, Fred L. Westbrook Jr. (1919-2001) had become scoutmaster.  Troop 216 met in City Hall when it was on Washington Avenue in what is now called the Senior Citizens Building north of the Community Center.  Joe Ryan and  Kyle Fondren Jr. were still involved in troop functions.(The Jackson County Times, September 14, 1946, p. 1, September 28, 1946, p. 1, and Johnny Norman, former Eagle Scout in Troop 216, at Waldorf, Maryland February 2010)

 

Circa 1946, Charles M. Carr (1897-1963), a Texan,  built Old Shell Landing, a fishing camp, on the north shore of Graveline Lake.  He rented fishing skiffs and sold fish bait.  During the 1947 Hurricane, he lost one building, most of his pier, and two outboard motors.(The Jackson County Times, September 20, 1947, p. 1)

 

1947

In January, Captain Antonio J. Catchot (1864-1954) retired from the L&N Railroad after sixty-four years of service.(The Jackson County Times, January 11, 1947, p. 1)

 

In January, the Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce was organized.  A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) of the Ocean Springs Lumber Company was elected the first president.  Board members were: Dr. Frank O. Schmidt (1902-1975), L.C. Wiswell, Albert C. Gottsche (1873-1949), Mayor Albert Westbrook (1900-1980), Harry R. Lee (1903-1951), Wendell Palfrey (1896-1956), Henry Girot (1887-1953), and J.K. Lemon (1914-1998).(The Daily Herald, January 28, 1949, p. 3)

 

In March, the old F.E. Schmidt residence on Washington Avenue owned by H.V. Hayden was damaged by fire.  The upper floor and roof were completely destroyed while the lower floor suffered considerable water damage.(The Jackson County Times, March 29, 1947, p. 1)

 

In August, the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory held its first summer session in the former CCC camp building at Magnolia State Park.  Courses were taught in Field Botany and Faunistic Zoology.  Dr. R.L. Caylor of Delta State was the first director.(The Jackson County Times, June 28, 1947, p. 1)

 

Former Mississipppi Governor and US Senator Theodore Gilmore Bilbo (1877-1947) expired at NOLA on August 21st.

 

The eye of the September Storm of the 18th and 19th passed over New Orleans, but left the Mississippi Gulf Coast in turmoil from its wide destructive path.  Winds were measured between 85 and 100 MPH and maximum storm surge measured at 13 feet.  At Ocean Springs major damage occurred between the harbor and US 90 Biloxi Bay Bridge.  The Seymour Brothers and E.P. Guice Seafood establishments, both located outside the seawall at Jackson Avenue, were hard hit.  The Terry Cottages at the foot of Martin Avenue were floated off their foundations.  The Community Pier was completely demolished and the L&N RR Bridge was severely damaged.  The west end  of the Biloxi Bay Bridge was washed out.(The Jackson County Times, September 20, 1947, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, September 23, 1947, p. 1)

 

The Jackson County Times was sold by Harry R. Lee to Colonel G.R. Johnson and Thomas P. McGuinn.(The Daily Herald, September 29, 1947, p. 5)

 

Peggy Eglin was named 'Miss Ocean Springs'.(The Daily Herald, October 24, 1947, p. 3 and The Jackson County Times, October 18, 1947, p. 1)

 

Edgar P. Guice (1899-1971) invented a shrimp mould.(The Jackson County Times, November 28, 1947, p. 1)

 

Judge E.W. Illing (1870-1947), founder of the legendary Illing Theatre, expired.

 

The Gulf Coast Times-(1947 to 1953).  George W. Reagen, editor.  On microfilm at Ocean Springs Public Library, and Ms. Dept. of Archives & History.  Some original issues at the Jackson County Chancery Court Archives in Pascagoula.

                                                

1948

First Mississippi produced tung oil began to flow in late January at the American Tung Oil Mill at the Landon Community, Harrison County, Mississippi situated four miles north of Gulfport and near US Highway No. 49.  The plant processed nuts from groves in George, Greene, Harrison, Jackson, Hancock, Harrison, Perry, and Stone Counties in Mississippi and Mobile and Baldwin Counties in Alabama.(The Daily Herald, January 29, 1948, p. 1 and June 2, 1949, Sec. II, p. 1)

 

 Mike LaMacchai (1921-1992) and Betty Eglin (1927-2004), his spouse, rented the former Jackson County Times office on Porter and planned to open an ice cream parlor called 'The Spot'.  Later, Buford Myrick acquired this business.(The Daily Herald, April 9, 1948, p. 2)     

 

[L-R: J.C. Dezelle, United Gas; W.E. 'Nub" Williams (1890-1966), night officer; Mayor Albert S. Westbrook (1900-1980); Oscar Mitchell, (1893-1964) alderman-ward 4; C.E. “Ernie” Schmidt (1904-1988), alderman-at-large; John Catchot (1897-1987), alderman; R.C. Miller (1887-1953), police chief and street commissioner; J.U. Scharr (1887-1965) alderman ward 2 ; Sadie Catchot Hodges (1894-1973), city clerk; Clarence Hamilton (1902-1992), alderman ward; and Roscoe L. Fickes, United Gas.[image made 5, December 1947 and courtesy of Bruce K. Mohler-January 2017]

 

United Gas began natural gas service to Ocean Springs in late June.(The Daily Herald, June 18, 1948, p. 1 and June 23, 1948, p. 1 and The Jackson County Times, June 18, p. 1)

 

A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) was elected President of the JXCO Board of Supervisors.

 

The Marine Cafeteria building on Lincoln Avenue [Gulfport?] is to go to the Gulf Coast Lab [GCRL] at Magnolia State Park.  An application has been made to the State Building Commission for $50,000 to move and re-erect the structure.  The lab is under auspices of the Mississippi Academy of Sciences.(The Daily Herald, July 10, 1948, p. 6)

 

Miss Jessie M. Boyd (1881-1963), native of Summit, Mississippi and long time resident of Ocean Springs and a Red Cross employee, is credited with bringing the Blue Cross Hospital insurance plan to Ocean Springs on a city wide basis.  Ocean Springs was the 2nd city in Mississippi to adopt the plan after Magnolia, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, August 7, 1948, p. 2)

 

The Rotary Club endorsed the proposed Shearwater Crafts Inc. and the $48,000 bond issue to create it from the existing Shearwater Pottery.(The Daily Herald, October 1, 1948, p. 10)

 

The Fort Bayou Baptist Church was organized in October.  Reverend W.R. Storie and most of the Steelman family of Ocean Springs was in attendance.(The Daily Herald, October 6, 1948, p. 10)

 

Mrs. Hermes Gautier assembled over 100 citizens at the Jackson County Courthouse on October 12th to organize the Jackson County Historic and Preservation Society.  H.P. Heidelberg Sr. was named president; Mary Cahill O'Keefe of Ocean Springs was 1st vice-president; Dora Cowan of Moss Point was 2nd vice-president; Inman Ramsay of Vancleave was 3rd vice-president; Mrs. Winston Nolan of Orange Grove-secretarty; Jacob Lockard of Vancleave-treasurer; and Merle Palmer-parlimentarian.(The Daily Herald, October 14, 1948, p. 1)

 

The Reverend James Mulholland of Handsboro, Mississippi was installed as pastor of the First Presbyterian Church.  At this time George Granitz was made an elder and Frank Snyder and Frank Cramer were made deacons.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1948, p. 8)

 

In October, the Builders Supply Company was commenced by Andy L. Page (1912-1991) at Washington and Reynoir.(The Jackson County Times, October 24, 1948, p. 1)

 

Professor William R. Allen Jr. (1911-1985) of Tulane University [NOLA] brought his third year architectural design class to the Shearwater Pottery to study the needs of the proposed Shearwater Crafts, Inc.(The Daily Herald, November 15, 1948, p. 5)

 

1948 Fire Station on Porter

The Volunteer Fire Department Company erected a fire station on Porter.  Bernard Beaugez (1909-1969) was the president of the organization and Thomas Galle drew the plans for the structure.  It was demolished on June 3, 2003 to build a parking lot for City Hall.(The Jackson County Times, December 10, 1948, p. 1)

 

1949

 Dutchess Club organized to aid in the charitable and civic welfare in and around Ocean Springs.

 

A Civil Air Patrol unit was established at Ocean Springs in January with Bruce L. Thomas, acting commander, and William T. Dunn, acting executuve officer.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1949, p. 4)

 

Superintendent S.S. Wall announced that the public school enrollment at Ocean Springs had reached 400 students.  309 pupils were in Grades 1-8 and 91 students were in Grades 9-12.(The Daily Herald, January 11, 1949, p. 4)

 

Canadian born, Dr. Henry Bradford Powell (1866-1949), founder of the Bayou Inn and long time resident, expired on May 30th.

 

The County dredge was completing the beach at Magnolia State Park.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 1, 1949, p. 1)

 

Last issue of The Jackson County Times was published on March 4th, as the local journal became known as The Gulf Coast Times on March 11, 1949.

 

Albert C. Gottsche (1873-1949) expired in March.  Mr. Gottsche worked for the Davis Brothers until 1910, when he went into business for himself.  He built a building on the southwest corner of Washington and Desoto in 1912, now owned by Blossman Gas.  At this site, A.C. Gottsche ran his legendary grocery store until his demise.(The Daily Herald, March 18, 1949, p. 6) 

 

250th Anniversary Celebration of Iberville's Landing

[L-R: George Granitz (1909-1981), Indian chief, and A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967), Iberville)

 

The 250th Celebration of Iberville's Landing occurred at Ocean Springs on April 3rd.  It was sponsored by Biloxi, Ocean Springs, and North Biloxi (now D'Iberville) and was part of a six day festival titled, "250th Biloxi Birthday Celebration".  Anthony V. Ragusin of Biloxi was the General Chairman.  The pageant for "The Landing" was written and directed by Elinor Wright Scharr (1913-1953), and featured A.P Moran (1897-1967) as Iberville; Paul DeFrank, as Bienville; J.C. Gay, flag bearer; Judlin H. Girot (1912-1970), ensign; Edward Brou Jr., ensign; Lee E. Jordan (1912-1984), major; and H.P. Flateau (1888-1955), priest.(The Daily Herald, March 4, 1949, p. 1)

 

H.P. Flateau (1888-1955) was elected president of the school board.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 8, 1949, p. 10)

 

In May, workmen under the supervision of Art Fifield (1881-1962), and Pascagoula building contractor, J.T. Gibson, were well into the construction of the new Community House on Washington Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 6, 1949, p. 1) Fred S. Bradford (1878-1951) and Marshall Keys (1895-1963) were the masons for the project.

 

In April, Colonel G.R. Johnson sold The Gulf Coast Times to H. Dewitt Smith formerly of Aberdeen, Mississippi.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 15, 1949, p. 1)

 

In late May, Bob Anderson’s “Folk Tales and Fantasy”, a linoleum block print and wood carving exhibit, was shown at the Brooklyn Museum.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 27, 1949, p. 1)

 

Cololonel H.T. Bankston, native of Raymond, Mississippi, named head of Gulf Coast Research Lab for summer term.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 3, 1949, p. 1)

 

Girl Scout Troop 1 was reorganized after a lapse of two years when no leader was available.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 1, 1949, p. 1)

 

A portion of the East Beach Seawall was constructed in August.

 

In October, an iron lung was acquired by the city for emergency uses.  The device was to be utilized in the event of polio, drowning, electrical shock, and cardiovascular trauma.(The Daily Herald, October 15, 1949, p. 4)

 

On November 4th, the first night football game ever played at Ocean Springs occurred at recently completed Freedom Field.  Coach Clay Boyd (1911-1974) led the Greyhounds to a 27-13 win over Pass Christian.  The aerial combo of Larry Williams to  F. Kiernan was effective for three scores.(The Daily Herald, November 7, 1949, p. 9)

 

The new St. Alphonsus parochial grade school opened in early September 1949.  Bishop Richard O. Gerow dedicated the one-story, four-classroom, structure on December 5th.  It cost $35,000-$41,000 and was designed by John T. Collins and built by the Collins Brothers and Mitchell Brothers. Charles Engbarth did the plumbing and heating, and Compton Electric the electrical work.  The old school was relocated to the rear of the new school and was to be used as an auditorium.(The Daily Herald, January 1, 1949, p. 1, September 3., 1949, p. 10 and The Gulf Coast Times, December 10, 1949, p. 1)

The Ocean Springs Fire Department was commenced on December 15, 1949.  New fire house erected on East Porter, which was demolished in June 2003.  Peter Ryan was the first fire chief.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 4, 1971, p. 7)

 

1950-1959

 Another decade-another war.  The US and ROK troops with token UN support engaged North Korean and Chinese military forces, which had invaded South Korea in 1950.  Although the Korean War ended in 1953, the two nations remain enemies. The early 1950s saw the birth of Rock and Roll.  A relatively unknown, hip-gyrating, singer from Tupelo, named Elvis Presley (1935-1977), spent a summer in the area coming to Gulf Hills for rest and relaxation in 1956.

 

Also in 1956, after the dredging of Bayou Cassotte in eastern Jackson County, a chemical-industrial complex began along its banks.  The Mississippi Chemical Corporation of Yazoo City developed fertilizer, sulfuric acid, and phosphate plants here, while H.K. Porter made refractory bricks.  The petroleum refinery of Standard Oil (Ky), now Chevron, came in 1961.

 

Several “clean” industries were developed at Ocean Springs, during the decade, among them the Ferson Optical Company and the E.R. Moore Company.  The Gulf Coast Research Laboratory expanded and became a permanent facility.  Although US 90 by-passed the downtown area in 1954, the economy was generally good as Ingalls Shipbuilding and KAFB provided additional employment opportunities.  Ocean Springs nestled snuggly between Pascagoula and Biloxi became known as “a bed room community”.  The Anderson brothers of Shearwater Pottery continued their creative activities as two notable murals were generated during the decade by Bob and Mac Anderson. 

 

1950

Population of Ocean Springs 3058 people.  The town government drew up an ordinance proclaiming that Ocean Springs is a municipality and that is now classified as a City.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 3, 1951, p. 1)

 

In January, James H. Edwards (1893-1950) expired at New Orleans while serving as Chief Steward of the Army transport service boat, Short Splice.  (The Gulf Coast Times, January 13, 1950, p. 1)     

The Walley Construction Co. of Richton, Mississippi was awarded the $78, 888 contract by the Jackson County Board of Supervisors to build the Moore Company plant on Government Street in late February.(The Daily Herald, February 20, 1950, p. 1)

 

Morgan M. Parker, president of Gulf Coast Manufacturing Company, began building coffins at its plant on Halstead Road.The Gulf Coast Times, February 22, 1951, p. 1)

 

In March, the Bayou Convalescent Home was opened by Mrs. Ethel Rhodes Scott Shafer in the former Bayou Chateau-Bayou Inn.  Mrs. Lea A. Evans, R.N. was named supervisor.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 3, 1950, p. 1)

 

In April, the Civil Aeronautics Authority allocated funds for construction of an airport for Ocean Springs.  J.K. Lemon and Bruce Thomas collected funds from local citizens for the purchase of ten-acres of land from Reinhold W. Schluter (1890-1966).  The proposed airport land was once used as a city dump.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 7, 1950, p. 1)

 

In May, the E.R. Moore Company of Chicago, manufacturers of gym suits and caps and gowns, began operations in early May on the second floor of the Bailey Building (Lovelace Drugs) with ten seamstress.  The Community Center was also utilized as a cutting room until the $76,000 plant on Government Street was completed in November 1950, by the Walley Construction Company of Richton.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 2, 1950, p. 1, April 7, 1950, p. 1, April 14, 1950, p. 1, April 28, 1950, p. 1, May 5, 1950, p. 1, November 10, 1950, p. 1)

 

In May, Alvin Endt hit the first home run at Freedom Field as the Ocean Springs High baseball team lost to Moss Point 14-9.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 19, 1950, p. 1)

 

The Korean Wear started in June.

 

In June, Mayor Albert Westbrook (1900-1980) went to the 100th Anniversary of the L&N Railroad at Louisville, Kentucky.  He was president of the Veterans Club and spoke briefly about the work of his organization.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 9, 1950, p. 5)

 

Jackson County dedicated its new $1,000,000 dollar courthouse at Pascagoula in mid-June.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 16, 1950, p. 1)

 

Gulf Hills saw proprietor, Dick Waters, introduce the “Dude Ranch” resort concept.  It was very popular and prompted management to keep the resort operating all year.  This plan provided guests a comprehensive rate, which included room and board and all sports and social functions.  Spring and winter rates were somewhat more than the summer rate.(The Gulf Coast Times, September 29, 1950, p.1)

 

Elizabeth Keys, local Black educator, was named president of the Negro Teachers Association.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 26, 1952, p. 1)

 

In September, Nolan E. Taconi (1910-1971) began his tenure as School Superintendent as S.S. Wall had resigned in April.  Coach Clay Boyd (1911-1974) was appointed acting Superintendent until Taconi’s term commenced.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 7, 1950, p. 1)

 

In October, Duncan Moran (1925-1995) commenced construction of his two-bedroom, home on the corner of Cleveland and Martin.  Charles Hoffman was his contractor.  The Morans were occupying their new domicile in late January 1951.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 6, 1950, p. 5 and January 26, 1951, p. 5 and The Daily Herald, November 24, 1950, p. 8)

 

T.W. Miles of Evergreen, Alabama had Frank Galle build two cottages.  One faced Porter and the other in the rear was situated on Van Cleave Avenue.  Frank and Gussie Galle also built the Galle-Woods home on the southwest corner of Ocean and Washington Avenue at this time.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 13, 1950, p. 7)

 

The new Ocean Springs Community Center on Washington Avenue was dedicated in late October.  Congressman Bill Colmer complimented the citizens of Ocean Springs for their ability to work together to accomplish this feat.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 3, 1950, p. 1) 

 

E.R. Moore, president of the E.R. Moore Company, spoke briefly at his new $90,000 dollar plant dedication on November 10th.(The Daily Herald, November 13, 1950, p. 1) 

 

William Ruddiman (1928-1978), proprietor of the Wisteria House on the Old Spanish Trail [US HIGHWAY 90], at Fontainebleau. opposite Fontainebleau Farms, held an open house on November 11th.  Camille M. Ruddiman (1891-1982), his mother, assited him with the lunchon.(The Daily Herald, November 14, 1950, p. 5)

 

In December, the State building commission awarded $30,000 to the Gulf Coast Marine Research Laboratory to construct its first permanent building, a laboratory.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 22, 1950, p. 1)

 

Raymond “Big Boy” Beaugez, sophomore running back, led the Greyhounds to a 9-1 record as he scored 142 points-tops in the Mississippi high school ranks.

 

1951

Willie E. Williams appointed 'Night' Marshall by the Board of Aldermen with a salary of $200 per month.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 5, 1951, p. 1)

 

The Planters Club sponsored an art exhibit for Walter "Bob" Anderson (1903-1965).(The Gulf Coast Times, January 12, 1951, p. 1)

 

An OS Police Department sub-station was opened on US Highway 90.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 19, 1951, p. 1)

 

Roland Lovelace (1889-1967) and Valerie Pickel Lovelace (1910-1977) began their new home on the corner of Martin and Cleveland.  Elwin Friar (1910-1970) is still working on his new home on Cleveland.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 26, 1951, p. 5)

 

S.S. Wall resigned as School Trustee.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 26, 1951, p. 1)

 

Bob Anderson (1903-1965) painted murals in the new Ocean Springs Community Center for $1.00.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 22, 1951, p. 1)

 

The County dredge was completing the beach at Magnolia State Park.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 18, 1951, p. 1)

 

Miss Amy Burkett and Mrs. Georgia Reager, her sister, patented a new posture-bench.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 8, 1951, p. 3)

 

Ronald Pook (1888-1993) and Charles Marquiss were completing their new edifices on Old Fort Bayou.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 15, 1951, p. 3)

 

Dr. Percy Haslitt (1880-1969) opened an office in the Young Building on Washington Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 29, 1951, p. 1)

 

The Chamber of Commerce membership exceeded 100 members for the first time.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 29, 1951, p. 1)

 

The George W. Anderson family held a barbeque at Shearwater honoring the Lemon family.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 26, 1951, p. 1)

 

The Jackson Gun Club, a juke joint on U.S. 90, just outside the City limits was raided by the Sheriff who confiscated two slot machines and illicit alcohol from the premises.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 3, 1951, p. 1)

 

The Reorganized Church of the Latter Day Saints moved into their new building on Magnolia and East Porter.  The congregation had been meeting in the city hall.  The Victory Church is here in 2003.(The Daily Herald, May 3, 1951, p. 8)

 

The Board of Aldermen declared on May 1st that Ocean Springs was no longer a townbut had become a City based on the 1950 Federal Census.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 1, 1951, p. 1)

 

In June, the County dredge began building a beach in front of the GCRL to Halstead Road.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 7, 1951, p. 1)

 

Camp Graveline at Fontainebleau opened on July 2, 1951 through the efforts of Father Herbert Mullin and Father Geoffrey O'Connell.  Operated by Missionaries of the Most Holy Trinity from Alabama.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 7, 1951, p. 1, June 28, 1951, p. 1 and August 2, 1951, p. 1)

 

Ceremonies were held on July 6th for the commencement of construction on the 'new' U.S. 90 from Ocean Springs to the east.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 5, 1951, p. 1)

 

Curly Butler and Alvin Endt were named to the State's first team interscholastic baseball team.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 5, 1951, p. 1)

 

Robert I. Ingalls, founder of Ingalls Shipbuilding died on July 12th.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 12, 1951, p. 1)

 

C.E. 'Ernest' Schmidt (1903-1984) began selling his inventions, the hydrolevel and leveleasy, all over the planet.(The Ocean Springs News, July 11, 1951, p.1)

 

The Ferson Optical Company, founded by Fred B. Ferson (1899-1969), located in temporary quarters of the second floor of the Bailey Building (Lovelace Drugs).(The Gulf Coast Times, September 27, 1951, p. 1)

 

A new arkansas-tile, U-shaped building [173 feet by 92 feet] designed by John T. Collins and Associates of Biloxi, was contracted to Currie and Corley of Raleigh, Mississippi for the  St. Martin School in Jackson County. The $64,000 stucture was erected to supplement the exisiting building.(The Daily Herald, November 27, 1951, p. 3)

 

Robert Walter Schultz (1931-1951), native of New Britain, Conn. and former KAFB airman, was killed when his car went through the draw on the Biloxi Bay Bridge in the early morning of November 29th.(The Daily Herald, November 29, 1951, p. 1 and November 30, 1951, p. 1) 

 

Major General James F. Powell announced that Coast gambling was off limits to KAFB personnel.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 6, 1951, p. 1)

 

1952

On January 2nd, the City adopted a zoning ordinance.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 3, 1952, p. 1)

 

A new $300,000, educational plant for black students was constructed on School Street, which was later named for Elizabeth H. Keys (1892-1976), a long time local educator.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 6, 1952, p. 1)

 

Four injured as a motor vessel exploded near the Inner Harbor.(The Gulf Coast Times, May 3, 1952, p. 1)

 

In June 1952, Ocean Springs received its first public telephone booth when Southern Bell Telephone Company erected one on the corner of Washington And Government next to the Hill-Cavanaugh gasoline service station.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 19, 1952, p. 1)

 

Elizabeth Keys resigned from the Black public school.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 26, 1952, p. 1)

 

James Durbin announced his TV and Radio Center.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 24, 1952, p. 1 and July 31, 1952, p. 1)

 

On August 31, 1952, a stone marker was dedicated on Front Beach at the site where in 1910, Robert Rupp (1857-1930) found what is purported to be the corner stone of Fort Maurepas (1699-1702).  The corner stone has been at the Louisiana State Museum in New Orleans since May 1937.(The Daily Herald, September 1, 1952, p. 1 and The Gulf Coast Times, September 4, 1952, p. 1)

 

Edwin Snyder named new manager of the United Poultry Producers.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 2, 1952, p. 1)

 

Mother Jerome O'Brien (1889-1952), native of Scotland, expired at the retirement home of the Missionary Sister of the Sacred Heart on Front Beach.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 13, 1952, p. 1)

In November, a contract was let for the new Ferson Optical plant which would initially employ 75 people.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 20, 1952, p. 1)

 

1953

New Orleans tailor, Henry Girot (1887-1953), founder of Cherokee Glen, director of the Ocean Springs State Bank, and organizer and manager of the United Poultry Producers, expired in late January.(The Gulf Coast Times, January 29, 1953, p. 1)

 

Aldermen abolished the elected positions of city clerk and town marshal. (The Gulf Coast Times, February 2, 1953, p. 1)

 

In early February, Chicago developer, Harvey W. Branigar (1875-1953), a native of Morning Star, Iowa, expired at Gulf Hills which he founded in the late 1920s.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 5, 1953, p. 1)

 

Boy Scout Troop 210 received their new charter.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 2, 1953, p. 1)

 

Mayon Johnson  was appointed to Alderman Ward  to fill the position vacated by Judlin H. Girot.(The Gulf Coast Times, February 12, 1953, p. 1)

 

Edgar P. Guice invented the dehydrated shrimp bait.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 5, 1953, p. 1)

 

In March, Ferdinand Kiernan went to Thomasville, Georgia to try out with the St. Louis Browns.(The Gulf Coast Times, March 19, 1953, p. 1)

 

In April, the Mitchell Brothers erected the Holiday Shore Motel, a 72-unit luxury motor lodge, at Long Beach.(The Gulf Coast Times, April 30, 1953, p, 1)

 

R.A. 'Gus' Harris had the grand opening for the Sea Breeze Restaurant and Lounge located on U.S. Highway 90 at the Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bridge.(the Daily Herald, May 29, 1953, p. 7)

 

In June, the aldermen were considering extending the city limits to include Gulf Hills and Halstead Road.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 11, 1953, p. 1)

 

George Washington Smith (1857-1953), former slave and preacher, expired in mid-June.(The Gulf Coast Times, June 18, 1953, p. 1)

 

In July, the Korean War ended.

 

Dr. James H. Waddell (1925-2005), native of Chatom, Alabama, opened an office at 17 West Porter, present day 822 Porter.(The Daily Herald, July , 1953, p.  3 and The Gulf Coast Times, July 9, 1953, p. 1)

 

Art Fifield’s home on West Porter was destroyed by fire.  It was built by Richard Lyons (1867-1929) in the early 1900s.

 

In July, the Ferson Optical Company held formal opening ceremonies in their new, $85,000 building on Government Street.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 23, 1953, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, July 23, 1953, p. 1)

 

Durbin’s TV Center opened on Washington Avenue.(The Gulf Coast Times, July 23, 1953, p. 1)

 

Donald Catchot was signed by the St. Louis Cardinals to play minor league baseball.(The Gulf Coast Times, August 20 , 1953. P. 1)

 

In September, the LeMoyne Lodge was opened on Fort Bayou by Mrs. Clendinen B. Smith, who acquired it from Ethel Shafer.

 

In October, Wendell Palfrey was constructing the new, $26,000 US Post Office on Washington Avenue at Robinson.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 10, 1953, p. 1_

 

On October 24th, William Lonnie Entrekin (1938-1953), son of William Louis Entrekin (1896-1945) and Viola Gill, was killed east of Wiggins, Mississippi in a shooting accident while hunting squirrels.  Casper C. Mathieu was his hunting companion at the time of the mishaps.  Lonnie was president of his eighth grade class in the Ocean Springs Public School.  His corporal remains were interred in the Belle Fountain Cemetery in the Belle Fontaine Community.(The Daily Herald, October 26, 1953, p.1)

 

The Ruskin Oaks Subdivision opened.(The Gulf Coast Times, October 29, 1953, p. 1)

 

Sadie Catchot Hodges (1894-1973), longtime city clerk, resigned in October.  She was replaced by Lloyd “Joe Boy” Ryan (1928-1985).(The Gulf Coast Times, October 29, 1953, p. 1)

 

Paving began on US Highway 90, which was rerouted from Porter Avenue and Government Street to north of the L&N Railroad.

 

The Ocean Springs News-(1953? to 1967).  Published by Gulf Graphics Publishing Company, James Fraser-editor.  Bound copies 1964-1967 in Ocean Springs Library.

 

1954

The Ocean Springs State Bank merged with the Pascagoula-Moss Point Bank in late January 1954 and it became a branch.  Governor Hugh White attended the ceremony.  Officers of the Pascagoula-Moss Point Bank were: W.B. Herring, president; H.P. Heidelberg, vice-president and cashier; Wm. McLeod, vice-president; Edward A. Khayat, vice-president.(The Daily Herald, February 2, 1954, Section II)

 

Paul W. Allman (1918-2000) of Eldon, Iowa commenced Allman’s Restaurant on the old Ocean Springs Seafood Company tract on US 90 near the War Memorial Bridge.

 

In mid-May, Dr. Edward A. Garnard Jr., dentist from  Pass Christian, opened an office at 95 Washington Avenue in the former Lamp Light Inn.

 

Constable Ernest Floyd 'Red' Beaugez (1919-1954) was killed by an escaped prisoner from California on May 27, 1954.(The Sun Herald, May 19, 2007)

 

The U.S. Post Office moved from Government Street to the Wendell Palfrey Building, on Washington Avenue and Robinson, which now houses Salmagundi Gifts, at present day 922 Washington.

 

Former Mayor, and fire chief, Antonio John Catchot (1864-1954), retired from the L&N on January 1, 1947, after sixty-four years of loyal and meritorious service to that organization.  He died on August 11, 1954, at Handsboro, Mississippi.  Catchot's remains were interred at the Evergreen Cemetery on Fort Bayou.(The Daily HeraldAugust 11, 1954, p. 6)

 

On October 15th, the $12 million, US Highway 90 project from Ocean Springs to the Alabama State line was dedicated.  Included in the construction was two new bridges, an overpass, and a causeway.(The Daily Herald, October 16, 1954, p, 1)

 

November 11th was named Alfred E. Duvernay Day at Ocean Springs.  Alfred E. Duvernay (1929-1950) was killed in action in the Korean Conflict on December 16, 1950 and his corporal remains interred at this time in the Evergreen Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, November 12, 1954)

 

Raymond 'Big Boy' Beaugez, OSHS running back, set a State high school scoring record with 51 points in a 66-7 win over Long Beach.(The Gulf Coast Times, December 6, 1954, p. 2)

 

1955

Colonel Adrian St. John (1891-1955) of Saint's Retreat died on January 12th.  In January 1966, the US Army honored his memory by naming a facilty in Utah, the St. John Park Dugway Proving Ground Utah.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 27, 1966, p. 7)

 

Dick Waters (1908-1989), proprietor of Gulf Hills, was elected president of Master Hosts, an exclusive hotel association, chartered in 1953.(The Daily Herald, April 7, 1955, p. 3) 

 

The City Council approved bonds for a $187,000 municipal water works project on May 10th.(The Daily Herald, April 13, 1955, p. 1 and May 12, 1955, p. 1)

 

       

CITY HALL

Porter Street and Dewey Avenue-L-R: A.P. Fred Moran (1899-1967), MC;   ;    ;    ;  J.H. Seymour, Alderman;    ; Duncan Moran, Alderman (1925-1996)]-Image made May 11, 1955.

 

The new City Hall was dedicated on May 11th by Judge Leslie Grant (1908-1986), City Attorney from 1932-1948.  The 2600 sq.-ft., single story, building was designed by Carl L. Olscher & Associates of NOLA and built by G & K [Gaskins and Krebs] Construction Company of Pascagoula.  Their winning bid for the structure was $33,085.  In addition to city government a 4500 volume City Library room was located in the structure.  A 900 sq.-ft jail was also erected just southwest of the new City Hall.  $40,000 in bonds was approved by the city council in July 1954 and the contract for construction signed in October 1954.  J.C. Gay, Mayor; Aldermen: J. Duncan Moran, L.E. Ferrell, Walton O. Tardy; J.H. Seymour, and Chester McPhearson.  City meetings were held in the fire hall during construction.(City of Ocean Springs, Mississippi 1954-1955 Minute Bk. p. 157 and p. 182 and The Daily Herald, May 12, 1955, p. 1) 

 

Ethel Cates named ‘Harbor Mistress’ of the Inner Harbor.(The Daily Herald, May 9, 1957)

 

Carolyn Cochran of Lucedale, Miss Mississippi, visited the E.R. Moore Company at Ocean Springs and modeled one of the gym suits manufacture by the plant.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1955, p. 8)

 

Dr. Gordon P. Gunter (1909-1998), a marine biologist, was named as the third Director of the Gulf Coast Marine Research Laboratory.  He held this position until 1971.(The Sun Herald, December 20, 1998, p. A-17)          

 

1956

Elvis Presley (1935-1977) met Eddie Bellman, an Ocean Springs native, at Biloxi.  He entertained Presley with deep sea fishing and water skiing trips as Elvis spent much of the summer at Gulf Hills.(Juanico, 1997, p. 82)

 

Winifred Ver Nooy (1891-1967), retired from her position as reference librarian from the University of Chicago's William Rainey Harper Memorial Library on August 1st.  She spent forty-four years on the Midway campus.  Miss Ver Nooy planned to teach two library science courses after her retirement.(The Daily Herald, August 10, 1956. p. 7)  

 

A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967) was elected president of the Mississippi Association of Supervisors.(The Gulf Coast Times, August 20, 1956, p. 1)

 

The new building, dry cleaning, and laundry shop of the Fallo Brothers opened on Government Street on September 4th.  Joseph Fallo and John Fallo utilized the “Hoffman Jet”, a modern dry cleaning unit.(The Gulf Coast Times, September 6, 1956, p. 1)

 

Carroll B. Ishee (1921-1982) designed and built a model home at Gulf Hills.   From this very conventional beginning, Ishee would develop his own architectural style.  One might say that an “Ishee House” is as obvious as a Van Gogh painting, even to an art novice.(The Gulf Coast Times, November 8, 1956, p. 1)

 

Miss Idelle B. Watson (1856-1957) celebrated her 100th birthday on November 8th. (The Daily Herald, November 9, 1956, p. 23)

 

1957

In February, the Mitchell Brothers commenced operations of a Shell Oil and Gas Station, which they had erected at the Inner Harbor.(The Ocean Springs News, February 2, 1957, p. 1)

 

St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church announced that it would build a new church and rectory to cost $175,000.(The Daily Herald, May 21, 1957, p. 1)

 

Gulf Hills Realty opened Gulf Hills West, a new residential development of 80 waterfront lots and several hundred inland lots.  Scott McColl is the sales manager.(The Daily Herald, July 8, 1957, p. 20)

 

Foundation work on the Singing River Hospital at Pascagoula was underway in August.(The Ocean Springs News, August 8, 1957, p. 1)  Mac Anderson’s mural, Singing River, which was sponsored by the American Legion was hung in the lobby in 1959

 

The Mayor’s salary was set at $100 per month and that of the Aldermen at $50 per month on October 1st.(The Ocean Springs News, June 13, 1957, p. 1)

 

In early July, Governor J.P. Coleman dedicated the new $14 million dollar Mississippi Power Company electrical generating plant [later named Plant Watson for A.J. Watson Jr. who became company president in 1958] on Lorraine Road at Gulfport. Construction began in 1955 (The Daily Herald, July 8, 1957, p. 1)

 

The Greyhounds with Bobby Beaugez, Curtis Lloyd, and Oliver Latil carrying the mail crushed Notre Dame at Biloxi to complete an undefeated gridiron season.(The Ocean Springs News, December 5, 1957, p. 1)  The 1957 football squad was the first unvanquished eleven since the 1941 team.(The Ocean Springs News, January 16, 1958, p. 1)

 

In December, Clarence Galle (1912-1986) began demolishing the old Davis Brothers Store on Washington Avenue.  Built in 1883, the large mercantile store was a fixture on Washington Avenue until it closed circa 1954.  The M&M Supply Company was one of the last tenants of the structure.(The Ocean Springs News, December 5, 1957, p. 1)

 

Idelle Beaufort Watson (1857-1957) called her new residence on Lovers Lane, Oakroyd.  She was born on November 8, 1857 to James and Elizabeth Watson in a covered wagon when the Watson family reached Richmond, Indiana.  Miss Watson was educated in the Friends Boarding School, a Quaker institution at Richmond, Indiana, which evolved into Earlham College.  She led a diverse life as she applied her education and intelligence as a writer, teacher, and world traveler.  She was a member of the League of American Pen Women and among the magazines that she wrote for was The Reader’s Digest.  Many of Idelle’s trips to Europe were as a tour guide leading her clients to the various art and cultural sites of the Old World.  She was well qualified for this position, as she had resided in Germany for forty years and in Dresden established a finishing school for young women, which was seized during WWI.  In addition, Idelle had command of nine languages.  Miss Watson was a confidant of Kaiser Wilhelm II (1859-1941) and was provided safe haven while she was domiciled in Germany during the Great War.  During her tenure in Europe, Miss Watson had lectured in art museums and galleries in Paris, Athens, and Constantinople, now IstanbulMrs. Watson passed in 1957 and her corporal remains were sent to Richmond, Indiana for internment in the Elkhorn Cemetery.(Thompson, 1974, p. 641, The Jackson County Times, December 6, 1924, The Daily Herald, September 25, 1926, p. 2, and The Ocean Springs News, November 15, 1956, p. 4 and The Daily Herald, November 9, 1956, p. 23)

 

1958

In January, the Newsom Brothers were awarded a $17,000 contract to build the Shearwater Drive Bridge by the JXCO Board of Supervisors.(The Ocean Springs News, January 16, 1958, p. 1)

 

In February, the E.R. Moore Company completed a 5070 square-foot annex to the existing plant on Government Street.(The Ocean Springs News, February 6, 1958, p. 1)

 

Dr. Estelle T. Babendreer (1871-1958) expired on March 12th..

 

Dr. T.N. Ross Jr. (1928-1958), newly arrived local dentist, and Loriee June Ross (1926-1958), his spouse, drowned off Horn Island on May 3rd.  Mike Ross (b. 1949), their son, wearing a life jacket, was rescued by the Carville, a passing tugboat.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1958, p. 1 and May 7, 1958, p. 1)

 

In June 1958, J.P. Starks Contractors of Biloxi started construction on the 29,000 square-foot, Coca Cola Bottling Plant on US 90 at Cox Avenue.  PFG Optics occupies the former soda bottling plant today.(The Ocean Springs News, June 5, 1958, p. 1)

 

In late September, Lt. Commander Phillip Brou (1924-1958) was killed in a helicopter crash near New Orleans while on Naval Reserve duty.(The Ocean Springs news, October 2, 1958, p. 4)

 

Mary Ann Mobley of Brandon named 1959 Miss America. She visited Ocean Springs and other Coast cities on October 7th.(The Daily Herald, October 8, 1958, p. 1)

 

Gulf Park Estates, a 2200-acre real estate development,was commenced east of Ocean Springs.(Down South, July-August 1962, p. 11)

 

1959

religious census of Ocean Springs was planned by the Ministerial association.  Chairman, Rev. Robert Crumpton, and more than 100 volunteers planned to complete the survey.(The Ocean Springs News, January 8, 1959, p. 1)

 

Katherine Crane Powers (1891-1961) donated a 1.84 acre tract on the northeast corner of Washington and Calhoun, once the site of the Shanahan Hotel, to the City to be used as a playground for children.

 

The East Elementary School (now Oak Park Elementary) on Government Street was dedicated on August 22, 1959.  The new school cost approximately $175,000.  William Allen II, architect, and L.A. Easterling, general contractor.(The Ocean Springs News, February 12, 1959, p. 1 and  August 20, 1959, p. 1)

 

A $25,000 building to house M & Ma dry goods store, for the McPhearson family was built north of the the Lovelane Drug Store on Washington Avenue.  Lane Construction of Pascagoula was the contractor.(The Ocean Springs News, August 27, 1959, p. 1)

 

The $160,000 addition to the Elizabeth H. Keys School was dedicated in late August.  It consisted of two new classrooms, a homemaking department, and a combination auditorium-gymnasium-industrial arts workshop.  Professor W.L. Herd was principal.(The Ocean Springs News, August 20, 1959, p. 5)

 

Perry Gautier was elected Jackson County School Superintendent.(The Ocean Springs News, August 27, 1959, p. 2)        

 

Perkinston Junior College planned in September to open an educational center in the O’Keefe-Dale Home on Porter Avenue.  It housed Trilby’s Restaurant in May.(The Ocean Springs News, May 27, 1959, p. 1)

 

In August, Dickie Waters of Gulf Hills won the Men's State Water Ski Championship at Gulf Hills.  In the ski jump, he soared 103 feet to set a new State record.  David Mattina placed second overall in the Boy's Division.(The Daily Herald, August 17, 1959, p. 11)

 

Vincent A. Seymour (1918-1949), native of Ocean Springs and resident of Gulfport since 1938, was killed on September 7, 1959, when his single-engine, Taylorcraft, airplane crashed into Mobile Bay near Fort Morgan airfield.(The Daily Herald, September 8, 1959, p. 1)

 

Fred L. Westbrook Sr. (1889-1963), rural mail carrier, retired from the U.S. Postal System after 43 years and ten months of service.(The Daily Herald, December 2, 1959, p. 2)

 

Lynda Lee Mead of Natchez named 1960 Miss America.

 

1960-1969

Much of this decade involved a guerilla war in a former, French colony, Vietnam, situated in southeastern Asia.  It would consume our national energy and cost over 50,000 American servicemen their precious lives before our involvement ceased in the early 1970s.  The placement of missiles in Cuba by Russia in September 1962, evoked a response from President John F. Kennedy and the American military known as 'The Cuban Missile Crisis'.  Civil Rights were also a national issue and public school integration in the South began.  In 1964, an English export, the Beatles, brought America and the rest of the planet a look and sound that would influence pop culture for decades.  After a sluggish start vis-a-vis the Russian space program, NASA made rapid progress and put men on the lunar surface in July 1969.  At this time and later, the Ferson Optical Company of Ocean Springs was an integral part of America’s space program providing optical accouterments for satellites and tracking devices.  The assassination of John F. Kennedy (1917-1963), Martin Luther King Jr. (1929-1968), and Robert F. Kennedy (1926-1968) darkened a decade sometimes remembered for the Woodstock weekend and free love.

 

Economic development in eastern Jackson County continued unabated, as ground was broken for a $125 million dollar petroleum refinery on Bayou Cassotte in November 1961.  A $2 million dollar grain elevator at the Port of Pascagoula was also completed in the fall of 1961.  Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula began building attack, nuclear submarines for the US Navy in the early 1960s.  Ground breaking for a $130 million dollar “shipyard of the future” took place at the Ingalls facility in January 1968.  “Mr. Jackson County”, A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967), the man responsible for much of this economic progress expired in October 1967.

 

At Ocean Springs, new sanctuaries were erected by the congregations of the Roman Catholic, Methodist, Lutheran, and Baptist faiths.  Education also went well as Ocean Springs got a new high school plant in 1965, and the Jackson County Junior College opened at Gautier in December 1965.  Local architect, W.R. Allen Jr. (1911-1982), designed both facilities.  A new hospital and elementary school were also erected at Ocean Spring during this interval.  Coach Hugh L. Pepper’s Greyhound gridsters had undefeated seasons in 1963-1964, and went 10-1 in 1965.  The public schools were quietly integrated in 1968.  In August 1969, Camille literally blew away many of our historical homes, precious trees, other treasures as the decade ended on a sour note for her victims.

 

1960

Population of Ocean Springs 5025 people.

 

In January, construction commenced on the $77,000 National Guard Armory on Pine Drive.(The Ocean Springs News, January 21, 1960, p. 1)       

 

The Ocean Springs sewer system and treatment plant which was commenced on November 2, 1959 were deemed about 12% completed in January 1960.  Workers for Sullivan, Long, and Hagerty of Bessemer, Alabama, contractor for the Ocean Springs sewer system, went on strike on January 25th.  It was settled in a few days and work commenced again.  The strike did not affect those laborers of Viking Construction Company of Houston, Texas building the sewer plant.(The Daily Herald, January 25, 1960, p. 2 and January 29, 1960. p. 14)

 

The voters of Beat 4 approved a $190,000 BAWI bond issue for the expansion of the Ferson Optical Company.(The Daily Herald, March 7, 1960, p. 1)

 

Rosie Ray (b. 1947) through Singing River Publishing Company announced the release of her first recording, "I wish I had a Boy".  Miss Ray wrote the song and sung it in both English and Italian. 

 

Professor Marion Carpenter of Biloxi was her manager.  Rosie had won numerous talent shows and had made singing appearances at Keesler AFB, the USO, Veterans Administratin Center and at Pascagoula and Hurley, Mississippi.(The Daily Herald, October 29, 1960).

 

Music teacher, Tempy S. Smith (1890-1960), daughter of Alfred Burton Stuart, died at New York City on November 3rd.

 

Robert 'Big M' Mohler opened a Spud-Nut.  The business became known as Tato-Nut and run by David Mohler, his son.

 

Claude Trahan bought the Gottsche Store at 809 Washington Avenur from Lynn Gottsche.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1960, p. 12)

 

Johnny Pott won $2000 for his 2nd PGA tournament victory beating Sam Snead at the West Palm Beach Open.  in Florida.  He won the Dallas Open in September 1959.(The Daily Herald, December 5, 1960, p. 23)

 

1961

Jitney Jungle food store opened on March 29th, by Carl Griffin of Moss Point.  Griffin had operated a Jitney Jungle at Moss Point since 1947.  Ocean Springs market will be his second.(The Ocean Springs News, February 19, 1959, p. 1)

 

A Red & White food store opened on May 18th.

 

             

Broome's Store [from The Daily Herald, Centennial Edition, October 7, 1984, p. 17.] 

Broome's Food Store opened on Government Street and Vermont [Martin L. King Jr.] on June 7, 1961.

 

The new St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church and rectory were dedicated on September 26th.  Built by Contractor Ralph J. Marion from a Jules K. DeLavergne (NOLA) design for $250,000.  The 1874 church was used as a parish hall until July 1971, when it was demolished.  C’est dommage.

 

Recently completed four-lanes of US 90 between Ocean Springs and Gautier were opened to the public on October 26th.  

Ground breaking ceremonies for $125 million, 100,000 barrels per day capacity, Standard Oil of Kentucky refinery were held on November 8, 1961 in Pascagoula.(The Ocean Springs News, November 9, 1961, p. 3)

 

1962

The Ferson Optical Company secured a contract with NASA for lenses and components for four telescopes to be placed in a satellite.  Employment was expected to increase from seventy to over one-hundred.(The Ocean Springs News, March 1, 1962, p. 9)

The R.W. Schluter scholarship grants to graduating seniors at OS High School commenced in May.(The Ocean Springs News, April 19, 1962, p. 1)

C. Sam Byrd (1898-1993) resident of  608 Russell Avenue built a "fallout shelter" in his backyard at a cost of $800 to serve as protection from nuclear fallout.  The project was inspired by the Cuban Missile Crisis of October 1962.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1980, p. 9)

The citizens of Ocean Springs passed a $635,000 bond issue to construct a new public high school on Holcomb Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs News, May 31, 1962, p. 1)

1962 Ocean Springs-Biloxi Bay Bridge

[image made October 1990 by Ray l. Bellande]

The new $7 million dollar, four-lane, US 90 bridge linking Ocean Springs with Biloxi was dedicated on May 9th.  At the time, it was the longest span designed and erected by Miss. Highway Dept. engineers and also the most expensive bridge built with Mississippi State highway financing.  George L. Lemon (1908-2006), a native of Ocean Springs, was the bridge engineer for the project.(The Ocean Springs News, May 3, 1962, p. 2 and Down South, July-August 1962, p.11))

Ocean Springs and Biloxi were to get direct long distance dialing in August.(The Daily Herald, May 4, 1962, p. 1)

Gulf Park Estates bought by H.V. Watkins and Forrest Jackson and their investors from Jackson, Mississippi.  Harry Del Reeks of Ocean Springs was their general manager.(Down South, July-August 1962, p. 11 and The Ocean Springs News, June 4, 1962, p. 1)

Bradford-O'Keefe erected the Ben O'Keefe funeral parlor on the northwest corner of Government Street and Pine Drive.  It served as the public library in 1994-1995 and was dedicated in August 1997 as the New Hope Center, a joint venture between the YMCA and the O'Keefe Foundation.(The Ocean Springs News, August 6, 1964, p. 3 and The Ocean Springs Record, August 7, 1997, p. 1)

Reverend Merlin F. Usner (1902-1995) was installed as pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs on September 9th.(The Daily Herald, September 10, 1962, p. 7)

Blossman Gas Inc. acquired the old A.C. Gottsche store on Washington and Desoto in November.

The $100,000, two-story, educational building of the First Baptist Church was dedicated on December 8th. The structure was began in February 1961.  The 1st flooor was opened for use in November 19061 and the 2nd floor in July 1962.  Reverend James Haggard has led the church for the past seven years.(The Daily Herald, December 8, 1962, p. 6)

Mary Mills, native of Gulfport and outstanding golfer, was named the first Rookie of the Year by the LPGA.(The Daily Herald, December 12, 1962, p. 26)

Construction began on the iconic La Font Inn at Pascagoula.  Doug Fontaine led a group of investors to finance the 104-room motel and restaurant.  It was demolished in the spring of 2011.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1962, p. 1)

 

1963

The new sanctuary of St. Paul’s United Methodist Church was dedicated on January 13th.  The Reverend J.H. Dilliard was pastor at the time.(The Ocean Springs News, January 17, 1962, p. 1)

E.W. 'Woody' Blossman (1910-1990) was King d"Iberville of the Gulf Coast Carnival Association.  He was elected president of that organization for 1964.(The Daily Herald, January 3, 1964, p. 1)

Two grand dames of Ocean Springs, Iola Y.F. Davidson (1883-1963) and Miss Annie O. Eglin (1881-1963) expired in March. 

Ralph Hodges 'Steve' Marden (1889-1963), former publisher and editor of The Ocean Springs News, expired at Hattiesburg, Mississippi on May 18th.

The Reverend Richard O. Dahlke came to Ocean Springs in June to establish a Lutheran congregation.  It was officially organized at Christus Victor Lutheran Church on February 23, 1964.  Congregants met at 703 Washington Avenue until a sanctuary was erected in 1967 at 2755 Bienville Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs News, June 13, 1963, p. 1)

In August, Johnny Pott of Gulf Hills won $9,000 and the American Golf Classic at the Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio while vanquishing links legends: Arnold Palmer, Julius Boros (1920-1994), Bob Charles, Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player.(The Ocean Springs News, August 9, 1963, p. 1)

Ernest Tue was appointed City Clerk on September 3rd.(The Ocean Springs News, August 11, 1966, p. 1)

The old span of the 1930 Biloxi-Ocean Springs Bridge was removed on August 19th, placed on barges, and towed to the Escatawpa River.  It will replace a span on the bridge that joins Moss Point and Escatawpa, in Jackson County, Mississippi.  Gordon Walker of Pascagoula was the contractor.(The Daily Herald, August 19, 1963, p. 2)

In August, Allen Curry was named principal of OS Junior High School and R.L. Ladner was named principal of East Elementary School by N.E. Taconi, Superintendent of OS public schools.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1963, p. 2)

In October, the Mississippi Power Company moved into a modern brick structure at 705 Washington Avenue.  The building was built and owned by the Ocean Springs Lumber Company.(The Ocean Springs News, October 24, 1963, p. 1)

Captain Ellis Handy (1891-1963) expired in November.  Handy fought in France with the Canadian Army in WWI.  A businessman at Ocean Springs, he also in 1949-1950, wrote a column, “Know Your Neighbor”, for The Gulf Coast Times.  This series is a very valuable preservation of our local chronology.

Lt. Claire B. Brou USN who joined the service in 1948 was the first woman ever stationed in Iceland for a tour of duty with the USN.(The Daily Herald, November 2, 1963, p. 14)

In late December, possibly the largest snowfall of the 20th Century fell along the Mississippi Gulf Coast.  Snowfall measured from 5-8 inches and was spectacular.(The Daily Times-News, January 2, 1964, p. 1)

 

1964

The Ocean Springs Garden Club was founded in 1964.  Original members were: Mrs. Walter Koch; Mrs. Sam Levi; Virginia Favre  Poitevent; Sadie Catchot Hodges; Camile Morgan Ruddiman; Dolores Davidson 'Bobby' Smith; and Mrs. Harry Elder.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 8, 1973, p. 3)

Richard Hawthorn (1914-1974), proprietor of Gulf Graphics Publications, suspended The Daily Times News in January.  This was his attempt to publish a daily newspaper in Ocean Springs.  Dick Hawthorn continued to publish The Ocean Springs News, an excellent weekly newspaper and the Gulf Graphics tourist publication.  His editorial column was called 'Gulf Gaff'.(The Ocean Springs news, March 5, 1964, p. 2)

Annette McConnell Anderson (1867-1964), founder of Fairhaven, the precursor to the Shearwater Pottery, passed on January 25th.(The Ocean Springs News, January 29, 1964, p. 1)

The Gulf Park Estates airport proposed to erect a new 25-plane hangar.  W.S. Dansky was airport manager.(The Ocean Springs News, February 27, 1964, p. 1)

George Bellais and Mrs. Ellzey Burch ruled the Merry Makers carnival ball at the Community Center.(The Ocean Springs News, March 5, 1964, p. 4)

In March, Field, Brackett and Pitts of Jackson and Pascagoula, commenced the Formica World's Fair Housethe first structure in the Seapointe Subdivision on the Fort Point Peninsula.(The Ocean Springs News, March 26, 1964, p. 1)

On July 1st, the Winn-Dixie Store in the Spring Plaza Shopping Center opened for business.  L.G. Rawls was named store manager.  He had been with the grocery company for 25 years and had opened their stores in Biloxi and Gulfport in 1959.(The Ocean Springs News, July 2, 1964, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, July 1, 1964, p. 9 and September 18, 1964, p. 12)

Chief W.T. Broome (1903-1971) was dismissed as Police Chief in late June 1964 by the Board of Alderman in a 3-2 vote.  He was cited as demonstrating "actions not becoming of a gentleman".  Chief Broome hired Albert Sidney Johnstone III, a Pascagoula attorney, to represent him in this action, which he labeled as "political" in nature.  One week after his brief departure from the OSPD, Chief Broome was restored by the Board of Aldermen to supervise the protection and  safety of the citizens of Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, July 1, 1964, p. 1, July 6, 1964, p. 1 and July 8, p. 1)

May Darnell Eleuterius (1946-1964) of Biloxi and Joseph L. Zahra (1943-1964), USAF serviceman from Livonia, Michigan, were shot and killed at Ocean Springs, Mississippi on July 6th.(The Daily Herald, July 7, 1964, p. 1 and July 8, 1964, p. 2)

 

The Ocean Springs Yacht and Country Club, later called the Treasure Oaks Country Club, was founded in late July on a portion of the Gus Nelson estate under the auspices of Charles G. Rumsey (1923-2007).  The 44 members were led by Dr. Robert F. Carter, its first president.  Other officers were: Dr. Lewis Kelly, vice. pres.; Dr. Clifton Beckman, sec.; and John Switzer, treas.(The Daily Herald, July 25, 1964 and August 24, 1964, p. 16 and The Ocean Springs News, August 20, 1964, p. 3)

Construction began in August on the $418,000 Hickory Hill CC and Golf Course at Gautier.  Earl Stone designed the 7100 yards championship links.(The Ocean Springs News, August 27, 1964)

 

An addition to the Ferson Optics plant on Government Street was under construction in September. Leon C. Mills, contractor of Columbus, Mississippi, was erecting the $205,000 structure which included a 5-story, telescope testing tower.  The company estmated that they needed 100 additonal employees to maintain their evolving optical instrumentation enterprise.(The Daily Herald, September 4, 1964, p. 9)

The new administration building at the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory was 80% complete in early September.  The $380,000 structure was designed by Charles Proffer, Gulfport achitect, and built by Oden Construction Company of Hattiesburg, Mississippi.  Dr. Gunter was officed here.(The Daily Herald, September 4, 1964, p. 11)

On September 22nd, the Eglin House on Washington Avenue was consumed by fire.  The elegant old tourist home had housed and boarded visitors, schoolteachers, and others for many decades.  James E. Farley (1880-1964) was killed in the conflagration.  The Villa Maria is situated on a portion of the former Eglin House site.(The Daily Herald, September 22, 1964, p. 1 and p. 23)

In October, voters defeated a $1.25 million bond issue to extend sewer service.(The Ocean Springs News, October 29, 1964, p. 1)

In November 1964, Sheriff Cecil Byrd of Jackson County, Mississippi and Police Chief W.T. Broome of Ocean Springs went to Lakeland, Florida to interrogate an ex-convict from Alabama about the Eleuterius-Zahra slayings in a roadside park at Ocean Springs.  He was cleared of any involvement in the July 1964 murders.(The Times-Picayune, November 4, 1964, p. 5)

On November 13th, the Ocean Springs Greyhounds played their last football contest at Freedom Field completing their second consecutive undefeated season under Coach Hugh Pepper.  In the fall of 1965 the squad moved to 'Greyhound Field' on Hanley Road.  They defeated Notre Dame (Biloxi) 24-6 here on September 3rd, 1965.(The Ocean Springs News, November 19, 1964, p. 1 and September 9, 1965, p. 1)

 

Hugh Lauren Pepper, OSHS football coach, was named Coach of the Year in the Gulf Coast Conference.(The Ocean Springs News, November 19, 1970, p. 1)

 

Toxey Hall Luckey (1927-1984), principal of OS High School, announced his retirement.(The Ocean Springs News, November 12, 1964, p. 1)

 

Betty Boyd [Endt] (1938-1999) was named Miss Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs News, December 31, 1964, p. 1) 

 

Three people from Corpus Christi,Texas and one from New Mexico were killed on Bienville Boulevard [US Highway No. 90] in a fiery collison with a gasoline truck.  Four others were injured.(The Daily Herald, December 31, 1964, p. 1)         

 

1965

W.R. 'Bill' Allen, local architect, won the honor award for outstanding design given by the Association of School Administrators for his work on the new Ocean Springs High School.(The Ocean Springs News, January 28, 1965, p. 1)

The Reverend Francis Deignan (1901-1965), a native of Offaly County, Ireland and pastor of St. Alphonsus Roman Catholic Church since 1944, passed on February 20th .(The Ocean Springs News, February 25, 1965, p. 1)

Joe E. Saxon and Mrs. Dale Campbell ruled the Merry Makers carnival ball at the Community Center with the theme, 'Hill Billy Holiday'.(The Ocean Springs News, March 4, 1965, p. 1)

William Steene (1887-1965) resident of Gulf Hills and nationally acclaimed portrait artist, expired at Biloxi on March 24, 1965.(The Daily Herald, March 29, 1965, p. 1)

In April, Ferson Optical completed a 12,000 square-foot addition to the optical manufacturing facility, which almost doubled the size of the plant.(The Ocean Springs News, April 8, 1965, p. 1)

Janet Ferson Green and companion competed in the 19th Annual Powder Puff Derby, a 2500 mile air race from southern California to Georgia and ending at Tennessee.(The Ocean Springs News, April 15, 1965, p. 1)

In April the Mississippi Public Service Commission accepted the L&N Railroad’s request to close their Ocean Springs depot.(The Ocean Springs News, April 15, 1965, p. 1)

John Smith Kendall (1874-1965), native of Ocean Springs and the son of John Irwin Kendall (1841-1898) and Mary Elizabeth Smith, was a war correspondent during the Spanish American War, Tulane graduate, Professor of Spanish at Tulane, and became a serious student of history expired at McLean, Virginia on April 20th.  Mr. Kendall authored the three volume, The History of New Orleans (1922), and published several essays in The Louisiana Historical Quarterly.

In May, J.K. Lemon (1914-1998) commenced remodeling of his building on Washington Avenue.  Claude Lindsley was the architect and Joseph Collins of Biloxi, the contractor.(The Ocean Springs News, May 13, 1965, p. 3)

Rose Marie Ray of Ocean Springs was named Mississippi State Camellia Queen at Biloxi.

The airport east of Ocean Springs was dedicated in June.(The Ocean Springs News, June 24, 1965, p. 1 and July 1, 1965, p. 2)

Desegregation Plan for the Ocean Springs Public School System was presented.(The Ocean Springs News, August 12, 1965, p. 3)

The new Ocean Springs High School, a 54,000 sq.-ft structure designed for 500 students, on Holcombe Boulevard was opened to the general public on August 22, 1965.  Dedication took place in November 1965.  Oden Construction Co., general contractor, and N. Perry Gautier (1926-2009), newly appointed principal.(The Ocean Springs News, January 28, 1965, p. 1, August 19, 1965, p. 1 and November 24, 1965, p. 1)

Fox Gulf Service owned by John H. Fox opened on the northeast corner of Bienville Boulevard and Vermont.(The Ocean Springs News, September 2, 1965, p. 1)

In early September, Hurricane Betsy struck NOLA with full fury.

Major General Francis M. McAlister (1905-1965), USMC retired, expired at Ocean Springs on September 8th.  Burial at Arlington Cemetery.(The Ocean Springs News, September 9, 1965, p. 1)

Clarence Williams (1911-1993) was appointed Police Chief in early September.(The Daily Herald, September 21, 1965, p. 1)

Former Governor Hugh Lawson White (1881-1965) expired on September 20th.(The Ocean Springs News, September 21, 1965, p. 1)

The Jackson County Junior College at Gautier and the Jefferson Davis J.C. at Biloxi were dedicated by Governor Paul B. Johnson Jr. (1916-1985) on October 22, 1965.(The Ocean Springs News, October 28, 1965, p. 1)

 

Walter I. “Bob” Anderson (1903-1965), decorator and watercolorist, resident of Shearwater Pottery and Horn Island, expired on November 30th at NOLA.(The Ocean Springs News, December 9, 1965, p. 3)

 

The first Civil Defense emergency operations center in the State was dedicated on December 2nd.  The new building located on Dewey Avenue cost $50,000 and designed by H.F. Fountain.  Glenn Young was and is still the city civil defense director.(The Ocean Springs News, December 2, 1965, p. 1)

 

1966

Fred Ferson (1897-1969), founder of Ferson Optical and a former insurance man at Biloxi, retired.(The Ocean Springs News, January 6, 1966, p. 1)

 

Freedom Field was equipped with new lighting.(The Ocean springs Record, June 16, 1966, p. 1)

The new US Post Office on Desoto and Jackson was dedicated on June 19th.  Senator James O. Eastland (1904-1986) was present.  Orwin J. Scharr (1914-2002) was the Postmaster at this time.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 23, 1966, p. 1)

 

Captain Glen Ryan announced that the National Guard 135th Transportation Company would conduct part of its summer training on Deer Island.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 23, 1966, p. 1)

In early July, the City did not reappoint Clarence Williams (1911-1993) as Police Chief.  Mayor Champ Gay assumed his duties.  Chief Williams was rehired by mid-July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 7, 1966, p. 1 and July 21, 1966, p. 1)

Vandalism took place at the Seymour Cemetery on Bayou Talla.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 28, 1966, p. 1)

The Ocean Springs Record celebrated its first anniversary in July.  Jack W. Seebeck (1917-1982), editor and publisher.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 28, 1966, p. 1)

Marsha Beaugez was selected Miss 16 of America for 1967.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 11, 1966, p. 1)

[Lottie Schoemell from The Ocean Springs News, January 13, 1966, p. 3]

 

Joseph K. Williams (1945-1969)-USMC

Michael C. Williams (1945-1969) and Joseph K. Williams (1945-1969), twin brothers and decorated Vietnam veterans, were in a horrific automobile accident on Cowan Road at Gulfport on May 29th.  Michael, Purple Heart recipient,  died in the accident and Joseph, Bronze Star,  lived until August 16th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 21, 1969, p. 2.

 

Charlotte 'Lottie' Moore Schoemell (1895-1966), former world champion endurance swimmer, died at Ocean Springs on August 18th.  In October 1926, Lottie swam 165 miles from Albany, New York to NYC in 63 hours and 35 minutes.  She once held 21 world swimming records.(The Ocean Springs News, January 13, 1966, p. 3 and August 25, 1966, p. 2)

A court order halted the sale of land on Horn Island.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 22, 1966, p. 1)

In December, a contract for construction of the first hospital at Ocean Springs was made with the Fletcher Construction Company.

 

1967

The new medical clinic of Dr. Richard T.  Furr (1929-2006) opened at 1800 Government Street on January 15th.(The Ocean Springs News, January 5, 1967)

Dr. William Cecil Guyton of Ocean Springs and Lydia Mary Salloum of Gulfport ruled Mardi Gras at Biloxi in February.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1967, p. 1)

Jack W. Seebeck (1917-1982) sold The Record to David S. McFalls (11912-1974) in February 1967.  Oscar Jordan, former city attorney, had related to Mr. McFalls of Mr. Seebeck’s desire to vend The Record.  His last issue was printed on February 15, 1967.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1967, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Record, August 15, 1985, p. 4)

Samuel Zanca and Mrs. Van Roberts reigned over The Merry Makers Mardi Gras Ball.(The Daily Herald, February 9, 1967, p. 1)

Reverend Thomas L. Lundy had Bob Cossey, designer and builder and resident of Vancleave, to add a Colonial facade with three rooms and a bathroom to St. John's Episcopal Rectory at 507 Rayburn.  The original house had five rooms.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 23, 1967, p. 1)

By mid-March, The Church of Christ on Washington Avenue valued at $100,000, but was built by parishioners for half that amount, was almost finished.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1967, p. 10)

Barber shop and beauty salon of Roy Baxter opened at 2201 Government Street and called “Los Salones de Espana”.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1967, p. 12)

 

Clyde Dunnaway (1908-1986) opened “Dunnaway’s Restaurant” in March 1967 on U.S. 90.  Hurricane Betsy in September 1965 had destroyed his Biloxi beachfront eatery.  Mr. Dunnaway leased his Ocean Springs eatery in 1970 and moved to Wiggins.  He returned to Ocean Springs in February 1976 and operated his rerstaurant servinf 'crispy chicken' and 'jo jo' potatoes.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 9, 1967, p. 1 and February 5, 1976)

In April, Clarence Galle (1912-1986) opened a seafood market in a new building at 1315 Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 20, 1967, p. 3)

The Dr. Clifton L. Beckman (1933-1984), graduate of Emory Dental School who arrived here in 1963, opened his dental clinic in the new Dental Building at 936 Porter on the southwest corner of Washington and Porter in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 27, 1967, p. 7)

Fred E. O’ Sullivan (1938-2005) was appointed Police Chief.  He was a native of New Orleans and the first Jewish police chief in the history of the States of Mississippi and Louisiana.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 28, 1979, p. 1. and The Sun Herald, February 22, 2005, p. A6)

Chuck Wynn, executive vice president and managing director of Gulf Hills, was elected president of the Mississippi Coast Hotel Association in mid-July.(The Daily Heralf, July 14, 1967, p. 2)

Ruth Honer was the first woman pilot to receive her license at the Gulf Park Estates airport after instructions from Airport Services Inc.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 20, 1967, p. 1)

The old Vancleave Brothers Store on Porter and Washington was demolished in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 29, 1967, p. 2)

 

914 Desoto-June 2014

Blossman Gas planned a Desoto Avenue addition to their corporate complex.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 10, 1967, p. 10)

On August 6thinaugural church services were held in the new Christus Victor Lutheran sanctuary by theReverend Billy Fisher Rutrough (1925-2009).  Slaughter & Smith designed the $61,000 edifice.(The Jackson County News, August 10, 1967, p. 9)

The Pecan Park Elementary School opened in September.  Fifteen acres for school acquired in October 1966.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 13, 1966, p. 1 and September 14, 1967, p. 3)

The New Orleans Saints played their first NFL on September 17th in Tulane's Sugar Bowl Stadium against the Los Angeles Rams losing 27-13..(The Daily Herald, September 18, 1967)

 

A.P. “Fred” Moran (1897-1967), “Mr. Jackson County”, died on October 19, 1967.  Mr. Moran was a member of the JXCO Board of Supervisors for thirty-eight years.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 25, 1967, p. 1)           

 

1968

Ground was broken in January for Litton Industries 130 million dollar "Shipyard of the Future" as Pascagoula.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1968, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs News became The Jackson County News in January.  Dick Hathorne (1914-1974) continued as editor and publisher.(The Jackson County Times, January 31, 1968, p. 1)

 

US Marine Lance Corporal Charles William Eglin III (1947-1968), native of Ocean Springs, and son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Eglin Jr. of Corona, New York, was killed in Vietnam on February 15th.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1968, p. 2)

 

The first hospital, at Ocean Springs, a  thirty-four patient room facility, was dedicated on April 8th.  H.F. Fountain was the architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 4, 1968, p. 1)

 

Aviatrixes, Janet Ferson Green and Janis Hobbs. captured second prize in the Angel Derby race from Nicaragua to Florida.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 2, 1968, p. 1)

 

In July, Gautier re-filed their petition to incorporate as a City.  There were 2097 residents in the area with properties valued at $1,350,000.  Vernon Rouse (1926-1980) was the proposed appointed Mayor.(The Jackson County News, July 24, 1968, p. 1)

 

Inner Harbor (see The Ocean Springs Record, August 1, 1968, p. 1)

 

In October, local artisan, Harry D. Reek (1920-1982), spoke at the dedication of his “Sam Dale Monument” at Dalesville, Lauderdale, County, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 17, 1968, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs Yacht Club, conceived by Dr. R.T. “Dick” Furr, was organized in November in the home of Bache Whitlock on Hellmer’s Lane.  Founding members were: W.R. Allen Jr., Bruce Duckett, Dr. Dick Furr, Janet F. Green, A. Russell Moran (1930-1981), and Bache Whitlock (1915-2002).  The local sailors were also accepted into the North American Yacht Racing Union the same month.

 

The First National Bank of Ocean Springs opened for business on November 25th.  The $104,500 building was erected by J.O. Collins from a Claude Lindsley design.  Hancock Bank occupies this edifice today.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 14, 1968, p. 3)

 

 

1969

Cedar Oaks Apartments on the southwest corner of Porter and Washington Aveue were under construction by Jim-Ray Builders owned by James P. Green and Ray Standly.  The apartment building was completed in late July 1969.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 30, 1969, p. 3 and July 24, 1969, p. 10)

Fire Chief Bernard P. Beaugez (1909-1969) expired on March 22nd.

 

Fred B. Ferson-Founder of Ferson Optical in 1951

[Image courtesy of Linda Ellis-Vancleave, Mississippi]

 

In April, Fred B. Ferson (1897-1969), founder of the Ferson Optical Company expired.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 1, 1969, p. 1)

 

Donald L. “Pat” Conner (1912-1982) became our first full time mayor.

 

The new $250,000 sanctuary of the First Baptist Church of Ocean Springs was dedicated on May 11th.

 

New Fire Chief

[L-R: Chief Leonard Allen; James Murray (kneeling); William 'Bill' Miller; Ken Cole; and Chuck Deal.  Image made on Dewey Avenue circa 1969 and courtesy of Maggie Allen]

 

Leonard Allen (b. 1923) named Fire Chief and Bernard Galle (1919-1978), assistant Fire Chief.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1969, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, May 7, 1969, p. 43)

 

Rose Marie Ray (b. 1947), OSHS and USM graduate, won the Miss Mississippi pageant at Jackson on May 3rd.  She competed in the Miss USA contest at Miami in late May.(The Daily Herald, May 5, 1969, p. 19)

 

Armistead Denning Puryear graduated from the Air Force Academy and was promoted to 2nd Lieutenant USAF on 5 June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 5, 1969, p. 12)

 

Professor W. Lamar Herd (1922-1998), native of Decatur, Mississippi, left the Ocean Springs Public School System [E.H. Keys] to become principal  of the Addison High School at Port Gibson, Mississippi in June 1969.  He and his wife, Aline Jeanette McGee Herd, a native of Collins, Mississippi, had taught at Ocean Springs since 1952.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 5, 1969, p. 1)

 

The Blossman Printing Company with a Heidelberg press was formally opened in June on Desoto.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 26, 1969, p. 3)

 

KOA on Mississippi Highway No. 57 north of Ocean Springs had grand opening on July 18th.  Willis Johnson, proprietor.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 10, 1969, p. 3)

 

Ronald A. Simnicht, DDS joined his brother in his dental practice on Governemnt Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 24, 1969, p. 9)

The First Federal Savings & Loan at 819 Desoto Avenue opened on August 16, 1969.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 14, 1969, p. 1)           

       Camille at Ocean Springs          

[one day post-Camille looking at Biloxi Bay and US Highway 90 Bridge to the southwest from Porter Street.  Courtesy of Jon B. Bombard and Ria Bombard, Saranac Lake, New York]           

On August 17th, a tropical cyclone named “Camille” made an overnight visit to the Mississippi Gulf Coast, which will never be forgotten by those who weathered her banshee winds and tidal surge.  Glenn Young (1925-2008), Civil Defense director, had a shelter set up in the Junior High School.  Other safe havens were: St. Alphonsus Church, St. Paul's Methodist Church, and the 1st Baptist Church.  Hurricane Camille severely damaged St. Theresa’s, the convent of the Marianite nuns on Front Beach and Jackson Avenue.  Father Gilbert  O’Neill (1890-1969), a native of Wedonia, Kentucky and a Roman Catholic priest of the Order of Saint Benedict, drowned during the tempest while attempting to determine the safety of the nuns.  Father O’Neill was ordained a priest in May 1923 at St. Bernard College in Cullman, Alabama.  He had come to Ocean Springs as chaplain to the Italians nuns after pastorates at Corbin, Kentucky and Sheffield and Tuscumbia, Alabama.  Hardest hit areas of town were the Front Beach and the Seapointe Subdivision on Lovers Lane.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1969, p. 10)

 

William T. Ames (1860-1969), former Mayor of Ocean Springs, expired at Algiers, Louisiana.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 9, 1969, p. 8)

The golf course at St. Andrews opened on November 7, 1969 with Bobby Burch as club professional.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 13, 1969)

Ray J. Hudachek (19-2011)was promoted chief engineer of the Standard Oil refinery at Pascagoula.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 4, 1969, p. 1)

 

           

Dedication of new Bernard P. Beaugez fire station [L-R: Cora Seymour Beaugez (1915-1993), widow of Bernard P. Beaugez (1909-1969); Chief Leonard Allen; Asst. Chief Bernard Galle (1919-1978); and ?  Courtesy of Maggie Allen]

The Bernard P. Beaugez fire station on Government Street was dedicated on December 7, 1969.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1969, p. 1)

 

1970-1979

The 1970s were dynamic times.  The war in Vietnam ended for America in 1973, but the Arab oil embargo and subsequent energy crisis saw a dramatic increase in petroleum prices.  It demonstrated our energy vulnerability to an international oil cartel, OPEC.  Watergate and President Nixon’s duplicity led to his resignation in 1974.  The nation’s Bicentennial Celebration (1776-1976) was certainly one of the top events of the decade with the Dow-Jones closing over 1000 for the first time.

Locally, Ingalls Shipbuilding was awarded a Navy contract to build the DD-936, Spruance Class destroyer.  They launched the first LHA, Tarawa, in November 1973.   In 1976, The Sand Hill Crane Refuge was created in western Jackson County.

In 1971, Ocean Springs got its first movie house, The Springs Cinema, since the Illing Theatre closed in the 1950s.  In 1976, the Downtown Revitalization and Preservation Committee was formed, and the Historic Preservation Commission commenced functioning in 1979. 

In 1973, Connie Moran and Karen Williams advanced to the national finals in talent and beauty contests after winning the State titles of Miss Teen Mississippi and Miss Pre-Teen Mississippi, respectively.  Miss Williams was crowned Miss hemisphere at Asbury Park, New Jersey.

On the sporting scene in the late 1970s, young tennis players, Tommy and Steve Carter, Danny, David, and Kim Olesen, Laurie White, and Lance St. Amant, under the tutelage of Treasure Oaks club professional, Jim Cantrelle, began to make waves in State and regional competitions.

 

1970

Population of Ocean Springs 9580 people.

 

In February, David McFalls (1912-1974) sold The Ocean Springs Record to Jac Fase Publishing, owned by Dr. Dewey Lane, Dr. Paul Moore, and Wayne Weidie.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 1970, p. 1)

 

Gulf Hills was named a Bird Sanctuary in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 26, 1970, p. 3)

 

Frasier Wilkerson (1920-1987) opened a garden supply business on LeMoyne Boulevard in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 5, 1970, p. 20)

 

Agnes Grinstead Anderson (1907-1992), retired from teaching while at East Elementary on June 5th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1970, p. 1)

 

Franchesca Spencer Howard (1911-1971) was named OSHS “Teacher of the Year”.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 28, 1970, p. 29)  Francesca Spencer Theriot Howard, the daughter of Pennsylvanian, Stewart Courtenay Spencer (1867-1959), and Ethel Griffiths (1871-1945), like her mother, was a native of Louisville, Kentucky.  The Spencer family arrived at Ocean Springs circa 1920.  Franchesca matriculated to Randolph-Macon College at Lynchburg, Virginia in September 1929.(The Daily Herald, September 16, 1930, p. 2)  She began her teaching career at the Ocean Springs Public School in the fall of 1934.  Mrs. Howard had taught at the rural Daisy-Vestry school in northwest Jackson County before coming to Ocean Springs.(The Jackson County Times, May 31, 1934, p.3)  Franchesca attended summer school at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in the summer of 1936.  She came home with Mrs. J.L. Dickey and daughter, Dorothy Dickey.(The Daily Herald, July 31, 1936, p. 7)  Married Numa Theriot circa 1942.  Divorced 1946?  One daughter, Francis Spencer King (1942-1963), the wife of Thomas L. King. Francesca Spencer resigned her position at the Ocean Springs Public School in May 1948, to teach English at St. Martin High School.  Mrs. Spencer had problems with School Superintendent, S.S. Wall.  She had aspired to be named principal of the school.  When Mrs. Spencer approached Mr. Wall with this request, she alleged that he rejected it in an “intolerably rude” manner.(The Jackson County Times, May 14, 1948, p. 1)

 

Jane Dees [married Barry Barq and Jack Gottsche] of Vancleave was crowned OS Miss Hospitality in late May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 28, 1970, p. 9)

In June, Ingalls won a $2.1 billion dollar contract to build thirty US Navy warships, particularly the Spruance Class, DD-963.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 25, 1970, p. 1)

The garage of the Emergency Operations Center was converted to an air-conditioned six-cell jailhouse.

The City approved plans for the Mochella Apartment complex on Holcomb Boulevard near the High School.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 2, 1970)

In late June the A&P Supermarket opened in the Ocean Springs Shopping Center on Bienville Boulevard with V.J. Cannizaro Jr. as store manager.  The Ben Franklin store and United Dollar Store opened last month in this new shopping venue.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 2, 1970, p. 1)

The Magnolia Park Elementary school had a ten-class room addition.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 9, 1970, p. 1)

Betty Bradford Milsted (1913-2009) joined The Ocean Springs Record as a news reporter.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 16, 1970, p. 1)

Judlin Girot (1912-1970), former resident, CPA and alderman and with LaPorte, Girot, Sehrt, & Romig in NOLA, expired in the Crescent City on July   .(The Ocean Springs Record, July 23, 1970, p. 1)

Bob Ederer, net manufacturer, temporarily situated on Jackson Avenue, planned to be the first to move to the new, ninety-four acre Ocean Springs Industrial Park east of town on Bienville Boulevard.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 23, 1970, p. 2)

In August, the Chamber of Commerce had a city slogan contest.  Harvey D. Speight Jr. won with “City of Discovery”.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 13, 1970, p. 2 and October 15, 1970, p. 1)

The Ocean Springs Yacht Club clubhouse on Inner Harbor burned while under construction.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 10, 1970, p. 1)

Open house for the new convent at Jackson Avenue for the Marianite Sisters of the Sacred Heart was held on October 25th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 22, 1970, p. 1)

Hugh Lauren Pepper, OSHS football coach, was named Coach of the Year in the Gulf Coast Conference.(The Ocean Springs News, November 19, 1970, p. 1)

On December 5th, voters rejected a $1.5 million dollar school bond issue.  Had it passed, the 1927 Ocean Springs Public School would have been demolished.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1970, p. 1)

Vernon Reinike’s monument to Iberville (1671-1706) was dedicated at Marshall Park in mid-December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1970, p. 1)

Sarah Gardner Brown (1881-1970), the spouse of William Bruce Brown,  expired at Tucson, Arizona on December 11th.  She was a resident here from 1939 to 1969.  Mrs. Brown was a resident of the Deer Park Inn, Lake Forest, Illinois.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1970, p. 6)

 

1971

In January, Blossman Gas demolished the old Claude Engbarth auto garage on Washington Avenue, to build a flower shop.(The Ocean Spring Record, January 7, 1971, p. 1)

on January 8th, President Richard M. Nixon signed legislation creating Gulf Islands National Seashore.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 1, 1996, p. 3)

Radio station WSOM began broadcasting Southern gospel music on February 19th.  Charles M. Cooper and Margaret Cooper of Gulfport were the owners.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1970, p. 1 and February 18, 1971, p. 2, and February 24, 2000, p. 6)

In mid-February, Donald C. Munro (1924-2000) and DeVeaux Walker Munro, his spouse, broke ground for Deedy’s Shopping Village on Thorn Avenue at Bienville Boulevard.  Robert Cossey of Vancleave was the project architect and James Neirynck, contractor.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 18, 1971, p. 1)

N.E. Taconi (1910-1971), Superintendent of Public Schools, expired on March 9th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 11, 1971, p. 1)  Allan T. Curry, who came to Ocean Springs as Junior High principal in 1962, succeeded Mr. Taconi in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 22, 1971, p. 1)

The 1699 Historical Committee received its State charter in March.  Betty Bradford Milsted was president.(The Ocean Springs News, March 11, 1971, p. 1)

Dr. Frank O. Schmidt (1902-1975) retired in March.  He began practicing medicine with Dr. O.L. Bailey in 1934.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 1, 1971, p. 1)

In April, the $1.5 million dollar school bond issue failed again.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 15, 1971, p. 1)

memorial plaque was placed at the Ruskin Oak in late April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1971, p. 13)

Dr. Francis ‘Sonny’ Selman Jr., a Tulane University graduate, began his urology practice with Dr. Robert F. Carter.  Dr. Selman retired in 2007.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 15, 1971, p. 1)

The Master Grill on Bienville Boulevard was opened on June 8th by Joe and Beverly Bailey.  The building was built by A.L. Turner of Biloxi.  In 2008, the Master Grill became the Yellow Mouth Grill.(The Ocean Springs Record,  June 10, 1971, p. 7)

John McKay, local politician, began his career at Ocean Springs with the recreation department in June 1971.(The Ocean Springs Record,  June 10, 1971, p. 2)

Kay Watson and Mary Anderson Stebly held ‘Indian Day Camp’ at the Shearwater Pottery.(The Ocean Springs Record,  June 10, 1971, p. 2)

Ground was broken for the First National Bank of Ocean Springs on June 18th.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 24, 1971, p. 1)

The Springs Cinema, Ocean Springs first movie house since the Illing Theatre closed in the 1950s, was planned by Calvin Grosscup.  Slaughter & Smith were architects for the project.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 10, 1971, p.1 )

 

Mayon Johnson

Mayon Johnson (1919-2014) was installed as Postmaster in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, July1, 1971, p. 1)

 

Edwin Cooper (b. 1957), son of WOSM radio station proprietors, became the youngest licensed radio announcer in Mississippi after passing his FCC broadcast examination.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1971, p. 1)

Clarence Galle (1912-1986) began demolition of the 19th Century St. Alphonsis Church in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1971, p. 1)

 

The old New Beach Hotel and Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart retirement home on Front Beach Drive was demolished in July by Clarence Galle (1912-1986).(The Ocean Springs Record, July 22, 1971, p. 2)

 

Wylie T. Broome (1903-1971), retired police chief, expired in August.

 

Vito J. Canizaro Jr. donated the first pint of blood to the Ocean Springs Blood Bank at the Ocean Springs Hospital in August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 20, 1971, p. 1)

 

Dr. C.W. Ball

Dr. C.W. Ball (1941-1996) entered private dental practice with Dr. Cecil Guyton at the Dental Arts Center, 922 Porter.  Dr. Ball was a 1965 University of Tennessee graduate and had worked in the Canal Zone, Panama, Vietnam and the Biloxi VA Hospital before joining Dr. Guyton.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 20, 1971, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs Nursing Center, a 19,000 square-foot facility, developed by George J. Sliman (1934-1997) on the Ocean Springs-Vancleave Road was scheduled to open in January 1972.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 26, 1971, p. 8)

 

The third house at the Children's Home of Grace in Vancleave was dedicated in August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 26, 1971, p. 11)

 

In September, Broome's Food Store planned a major renovation.  H.F. Fountain Jr., AIA(The Ocean Springs record, September 20, 1971, p. 7)

 

The Gallery Up, an art gallery in the Farmer's and Merchants State Bank Building, was opened in early September by William R. Allen Jr. (1911-1985).(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1971, p. 1 and September 16, 1971, p. 10)

 

In October, First Development Corporation of Ocean Springs, E.W. Blossman, president, received a SBA loan of $142,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 21, 1971, p. 1)

 

Sue McClamroch, psychiatric, social worker was named Woman of the Year by the Ocean Springs Business Professional Woman.  She was the fourth annual honoree.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 21, 1971, p. 1)

 

St. Alphonsus Catholic Church broke ground for a new 6000 square-foot, parish hall in October.  H.F. Fountain Jr., AIA and James Neirynck (1929-2014), general contractor.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 21, 1971, p. 5)

 

The Villa Maria considered the Coast’s first skyscraper and still one of the tallest buildings on the Mississippi Coast is located on West Porter Street in Ocean Springs.  This 198 unit, 13-story, $2.5 million dollar, apartment complex was erected by the Catholic Charities Housing Association commencing in April 1970 and being completed in September 1971.  The ribbon cutting was held on November 28, 1971.  Structures along Washington Avenue and West Porter Street were demolished to erect the structure.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 24, 1971, p. 1 and December 2, 1971, p. 1)

On Christmas Day, the Gulf Hills Dude Ranch main building burned to the ground.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 30, 1971, p. 1 and p. 6)

 

1972

The Springs Cinema on Bienville Boulevard opened early 1972.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 6, 1972, p. 3)

The Banker’s Trust Building on Bienville was completed in 1972.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 6, 1972, p. 3)

Dr. Gordon P. Gunter (1909-1998) of the GCRL was named president-elect of the World Mariculture Society at St. Petersburg, Florida.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 10, 1972, p. 1)

Dr. Harold Howse was named Director of the GCRL, which he joined in 1967.  PhD in Anatomy from Tulane University.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 2, 1972, Sec. II, p.3)

Bourn's TV opened in a new building at 2321 Government Street, which was built by Robert Bell.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 2, 1972, p.2)

The Gulf Coast Research Lab opened its Environmental Education Center in a metal building at Point Cadet in Biloxi.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1972, p. 1)

In March, the Societe des Arbres was formed to protect and catalog trees.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1972, p. 1)

In late April, the Secretary of the InteriorRoger Morton (1914-1979), dedicated GINS.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 27, 1972, p. 1)

In April, Moran Hall, a women's dormitory, at MGCCC Perkinston was dedicated in honor of A.P. 'Fred' Moran (1897-1967).(THe Ocean Springs Record, July 13, 1972, p. 5)

The Fort Bayou Apartments were under construction.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 18, 1972, p. 1)

On May 28th, the Ocean Springs Nursing Center on the OS-Vancleave Road opened for business.  George Sliman was the developer.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 25, 1972, p. 1)

Stanley C. Ramsay (1928-2007), local realtor, was named to head 'The Ramsay Clan' association.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 15, 1972, p. 3)

A marina was to built at Gulf Park Estates.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 6, 1972, p. 2)

Aldermen adopt a comprehensive zoning ordinance for the City of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 27, 1972, p. 1)

Moschella Enterprises proposed a 77-unit condominium, Gulf Oaks, on Front Beach Drive.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 20, 1972, p. 1)

In July 1972, WOSM began broadcasting from its new building on Brown Road, east of Ms. Highway No. 57.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 27, 1972)

In August, Fletcher Construction Company was awarded a $1 million dollar contract for an addition to theOcean Springs Hospital.(The Ocean Springs record, August 10, 1972, p. 1)

J.O. Collins construction of Biloxi awarded $144,223 contract to erect library on Dewey Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 10, 1972, p. 2)

Bayou Chateau Apartments on Bienville Boulevard announced that completion expected by June 1973.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 28, 1972)

Bank of Mississippi commenced construction in September.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 21, 1972, p. 1)

In late September, Dr. Broussard’s Ocean Springs Health & Spa Club opened on Bienville Boulevard (now part of YMCA).(The Ocean Springs Record, September 28, 1972, p. 7)

In October, the Ocean Springs Arts Association commenced its Fall Art Show, which continues to the present.

Trent Lott was elected to Congress for the first time in November replacing William Colmer.

Lt. Colonel Horace M. Gladney received the Bronze Star in Vietnam.(The Ocean Springs Record,  December 7, 1972, p. 3)

The $1.5 million dollar school bond issue passed on December 12th.

Former Mayor, Charles E. Schmidt (1904-1988), published “Ocean Springs French Beachhead”, an excellent chronology of the city from 1699 to WW II.

 

1973

The aldermen reduced the Mayor’s salary to $250 per month.(The Ocean Springs News, January 18, 1973, p. 1)           

E.W. Blossman and the 1st Ocean Springs Development Corp. were building on Government Street, the Marmin Studio or Marmin Aquatic Center (now the YMCA), the finest swim facility in the State.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 1, 1973, p. 1)            

Coast Federal Savings & Loan opened for business on Bienville and Church St. on February 22nd.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1973)

Gayden Green and James Goodwin Jr. of Ocean Springs ruled the Mardi Gras at Biloxi on March 6th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 8, 1973, p. 1)

In March, the Gulf Coast Research Lab’s educational facility building was dedicated to Dr. Richard L. Caylor.  Dr. Gordon Gunter (1909-1998), the third director of the lab, was recognized by having the main library, situated on the ground floor of the Caylor Building, named for him.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 15, 1973, p. 1)

The Coastal Medical Center was founded by Dr. Maurice A. Taquino, Dr. Harry Clark, and Robert W. Bell.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 1973, p. 1)

E. Watson Wood memorial gardens dedicated at the Coast Convalescent Center on East Beach Boulevardat Biloxi on April 15th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1973, p. 2 and April 19, 1973, p. 8)

The Fort Bayou Apartments formally opened in late April.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 3, 1973, p. 5)

In May, Connie Marie Moran named Miss Mississippi Teen-Ager.  Connie went to Atlanta in September and place in the top 15 in the national contest.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1973, Sec. 2-p. 12 and September 6, 1973, p. 2)

The new Ocean Springs Library on Dewey Avenue was dedicated on June 24th.  It was built by J.O. Collins from a W.R. Allen Jr. design.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 1973, p. 1)

The Gulf Oaks Condominiums, built by Charles Moschella Enterprises, opened their four models units on July 15th.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 21, 1973, p. 6)

An Elks Club was founded at Ocean Springs on July 10th at Dale's Lounge on Porter Street.  Founding officers were: William Cooper, chairman; Louis Ramon, co-chairman; Charles Duffie, sec.-treasurer.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 19, 1973, p. 4)

In July, archaeologists from the MDAH began a detailed search for the site of Fort Maurepas (1699-1702) on the Fort Point peninsula (Lovers Lane).  The six-month survey investigated the Connor, Palfrey Estate, Callan, and at least one other tract on “the Lane”.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 19, 1973, p. 1 and December 6, 1973, p. 1)

Elizabeth Keys, local educator, was honored by the District Grand Household of Ruth at its annual convention for her forty years of service to DGHR No. 14.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 19, 1973, p. 4)

Pleasant’s Restaurant and Lounge owned by John C. Pleasant Jr. (1938-1998) opened in August on US 90 East.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 30, 1973, p. 1)

In October, Grant's Plaza shopping center opened on Bienville Boulevard.  Anchor stores were Grants City, owned by the W.T. Grant and Company, and the National Food Store.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 11, 1973, p. 1 and The Daily Herald, October 13, 1973, p. 5)

Coast Federal Savings & Loan announced construction of new building on Bienville and Church Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 11, 1973, p. 7)

Margarita Weyerstall Metzger, formerly of Ocean Springs and foreign language professor at Youngstown State University, was awarded her PhD from Jaime Balmes University at Guadalajara, Mexico in October.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 18, 1973, p. 18)

Aurine Gallaher, career educator, named outstanding career woman by Ocean Springs Business & Professional Club.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 25, 1973, p. 1)

First Presbyterian Church dedicated the church gardens in honor of General L.J. Stewart and Henry Brooks.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 22, 1973, p. 3)

In November, Ferson Optics planned a $4.1 million dollar, 56,000 square-foot addition to their existing facility on Government Street.  The work force was expected to increase to four hundred-fifty people.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 22, 1973, p. 1)

Residents of Lover's Lane blocked archaeologists's search for Fort Maurepas.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 6, 1973, p. 1)

 

1974

The Marsh Islands Golf Course, a Pete Dye-Johnny Pott design, was dedicated on January 5-6, 1973.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 3, 1974, p. 1.

On January 19th, the Gulf Oaks Condominiums on Front Beach opened for public sale.  Units ranged in area from 1700 to 2000 square-feet in area and priceed from $43,000 to $60,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 23, 1974, p. 6)

John R. Blossman (1943-2009)

John R. Blossman (1943-2009), King d'Iberville and Laurie James Turnbough, Queen Ixolob ruled the Gulf Coast Carnival Association Mardi Grad at Biloxi on    1974.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 28, 1974, p. 1)

 

275th Anniversary celebration of Iberville's Landing [L-R: Frank T. Pickel (1912-1982), Bienville; Orey Alson Young (1892-1986), Iberville; and Marby R. Penton (1922-1995), Commandant Sauvolle.           

 

On April 7th, the 275th Celebration of the Landing of Iberville was held on Front Beach Drive.  Orey A. Young (1892-1986) portrayed French Canadian hero, Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’ Iberville (1671-1706), in the local pageant.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 11, 1974, p. 3)

 

Brigadier General Leroy J. Stewart (1900-1983) received the Jackson Dawson Medal from the Massachusetts Horticultural Society for his work on dogwoods and other woody plants.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 25, 1974, p. 3)

 

The Ocean Springs Art Association was incorporated on May 10th.

 

Doctor David L. Dugger, native of Memphis, opened his pediatrics medical practice on the OS-Vancleave Road in Ocean Springs in late July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 25, 1974, p. 1)  

 

David S. McFalls, founder of The Whistle Stop and former editor-publisher, retired from the Ocean Springs Chamber of Commerce in August 1974 and expired at Ocean Springs in early September 1974.  Ruth Joseph McFalls died in September 1986 at Ocean Springs. (The Ocean Springs Record, August 15, 1974, p. 1, September 12, 1974, p. 1 and September 18, 1986, p. 3)

 

Clay Boyd Recreational Park in east Ocean Springs was dedicated in the memory of former OSHS principal and athletic coachVernon Clay Boyd (1911-1974), on November 2nd.  Coach Boyd died on December 12th. (The Ocean Springs Record, October 31, 1974, p. 12 and December 12, 1974, p. 2)

 

In December, the Ocean Springs Junior High School erected on Government Street by W.F. Mosley from a design by Pascagoula architects, Slaughter & Smith, was opened for classroom work.(The Ocean Springs News, December 2, 1974, p. 1)

 

Former Greyhound coach, Clay Boyd (1911-1974), expired in mid-December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 12, 1974, p. 2)

 

On December 7thJohn Fahnstock launched Alpha Optics.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 9, 1981, p. 1)

 

1974 OS Debutantes presented were: Patricia Carter, Vickie Fulton, Leslie Jo Grace, Josette E. Hand, Letitia Lee Little, Connie Marie Moran, and Deveaux Corrine Munro.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 12, 1974, p. 2)

 

On December 31stChancellor L.C. Corban (1901-1989) retired after fifty years in the legal profession.  Sixteen of those years were on the chancery and circuit court benches.(The Ocean Springs News, December 19, 1974, p. 2)

Elks Lodge No. 2501 of Ocean Springs received its charter with a membership of one hundred.

 

1975

The Friends of Walter Anderson, Inc. had their inaugural meeting in the Ocean Springs Community House on February 15th. Stewart J. Gilchrist of Laurel was elected president of the organization.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 13, 1975, p. 1)

Pianist Gigi Reeks was selected as guest artist to the NOLA Symphony during its 1975-1976 season.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 3, 1975, p. 3)

In March, Harry Reeks (1920-1982), Ocean Springs sculptor, and Mayor Jerry O'Keefe (b. 1923), presented his proposal for 'The Golden Fisherman', a welded, 12 foot, bronze statue to be electroplated with 14 carat gold, to the Biloxi Planning Commission and Urban Renewal Commission.  The project was expected to cost between $30,000 and $35,000.  Reeks was commissioned to create the Golden Fisherman in mid-April for $34,000.  The sundial was to be replaced by the Golden Fisherman.(The Daily Herald, March 21, 1975, p. A2 and April 18, 1975)

On April 6th, the 276th Celebration of the Landing of Iberville was held on Front Beach Drive.  W.F. 'Willy' Dale (1899-1990) portrayed French Canadian hero, Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’ Iberville (1671-1706), in the local pageant.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 10, 1975, p. 2)

Dr. John Kirk Drake, orthopedic surgeon, opened his office.(The Ocean springs Record, July 2, 1981, p. 10)

Former Mayor and businessman, J.C. “Champ” Gay (1909-1975) expired in mid-July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 24, 1975, p. 1)

Alpha Optical Systems was organized by John Fahnestock.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 9, 1981, p. 1 and September 1, 1983, p. 11)

The Davis Bayou Unit of GINS opened.

Land purchased for Sandhill Crane Refuge.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 18, 1975, p. 2)

Chamber of Commerce directors oppose Sandhill Crane habitat.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 9, 1975, p. 1)

Marmin Pool on Government Street opened its drive for a non-profit corporation.(The Ocean Spring Record, October 16, 1975, p. 1)

The cypress log from which Peter W. Toth carved Crooked Feather was donated by Lum Cumbest, Jackson County, Mississippi Board of Supervisor, and his brothers.  The log weighed ten tons and was eight feet wide at its base.(The Daily Herald, December 4, 1975, p. B-1)

In December the Mississippi Gulf Coast YMCA planned for its initial membership drive.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1975, p. 1.)

Clarence Hamilton Sr. (1902-1992) was named Outstanding Citizen of the Year by the OS Volunteer Fire Department.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 15, 1976, p. 3.)

 

1976

Lloyd “Hap” A. Glaudi (1912-1989), legendary sportscaster for WWL Channel 4 of NOLA, had lunch at the Lagniappe and predicted that if legalized gambling came to the Mississippi Gulf Coast, in ten years it would be as prominent as Las Vegas.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 22, 1976, p. 10)

Nancy Longnecker was named new Chamber of Commerce manager and Donna Matheny, her assistant.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 22, 1976, p. 1)

Long time educator, Elizabeth H. Keys (1892-1976), expired on February 2nd

 

Peter W. Toth and Crooked Feather [L-R: Toth sculpting in 1975 and completed memorial in March 1997]

 

In February, Governor Cliff Finch spoke at the dedication of Peter W. Toth’s Indian Monument,  “Crooked Feather”, in Davidson Park on US Highway 90.  It was Toth’s seventeenth memorial to the American Indian in his “Whispering Giants” series.  He planned one for every State.  Lum Cumbest, Jackson County, Mississippi Supervisor, donated a ten-ton, cypress log for the project.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 5, 1976, p. 1, February 19, 1976, p. 1 and February 19, 1976, p. 8)  In February 1978, Toth (b. 1947) was working on memorial number twenty-six, at Desert Hot Springs, California.(The Daily Herald, February 10, 1978, p. B-1)

Elks Lodge No. 2501 held its first Mardi Gras Ball with Robert A. Carter, King Fidelity I, and Odean St. Andrie, Queen Charity I.  The theme was 'The Deep South'.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 1976, p. 12)

OS Yacht Club agreed to sell property to the State of Mississippi for Fort Maurepas replica.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 19, 1976, p. 1)

Neal Ballard (1920-1984) opened his Pewter Shop at 1110 Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 1, 1976, p. 10)

Ocean Springs Seafood was remodeled by the Fayard family.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 15, 1976, p. 12)

Heber Ladner (1902-1989), Secretary of State of Mississippi, was Iberville.

The Sauvolle marker, a French Colonial Historical plaque, was dedicated on Front Beach Drive on April 25th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1976, p. 5)

The E.R. Moore Company on Government Street was renovated in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1976, p. 3)

The Champ Oak, a Live Oak, at the L&N Depot was dedicated to the memory of John Champlin Gay (1909-1975), former Mayor and civic leader.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 27, 1976, p. 2)

Mamie Coles Hanshaw (1910-1976), author, artist, musician, and poet expired on May 21, 1976.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 27, 1976, p. 3)

McDonald’s and a Sonic Drive Inn, both on US 90, opened in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 3, 1976, p. 12 and July 1, 1976, p. 5)

The Gulf Coast YMCA received its charter at Black Mountain, North Carolina.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1976, p. 1)

Keebler's Auto Body Shop at 702 Cox Avenue was badly damaged by fire.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 15, 1976, p. 2)

On July 31st, the Jaycees buried two time capsules at City Hall.  One is to be opened in 2026 and the other in 2076.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 22, 1976, p. 1)

Daniel Bernard 'Ram' Vancourt Jr. (1910-1976), Bronze Star winner in WWII and  former Commander of 138th Transportation Battalion-MNG, expired in late July.  Nellie McElroy Vancourt (1912-2003), his wife, died on April 14, 2003.(The Daily Herald, July 27, 1976, p. A2 and The Sun Herald, April 16, 2003, p. A6)

Gayden's Small World, a children's clothing store, opened in late July.  It was owned by Hervey and Gayden Purcell and situated in Deedy's Shopping Village on US Highway 90.(The Daily Herald, July 28, 1976, p. B9)

Bishop Richard O. Gerow (1895-1976), native of Mobile and retired Catholic Bishop of Natchez from 1924 to 1966, died at Jackson, Mississippi in December.     

 
1977

In January, the Board of Aldermen proposed a $400,000 Community Center on Hanley Road which was rejected by voters in March.(The Ocean Springs News, January 20, 1977, p. 1 and March 10, 1977, p. 10)

Elks Lodge No. 2501 held its first Mardi Gras Parade rolling on the streets of Ocean Springs.  Bill Bosarge was King Fidelity II, and Ollie Mae Gallagher, Queen Charity II.  The Grand Marshal was Bo Causey.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 3, 1977, p. 1 and p. 2 and February 10, 1977, p. 1)

The Ocean Springs Record was acquired by the Mississippi Publishing Corporation of Jackson, Mississippi effective May 1, 1977.  Wayne W. Weidie had purchased The Record in April 1977 from Dr. Dewey Lane and Dr. Paul H. Moore, his business partners since February 1970.  Mr. Weidie then conveyed the journal to The Ocean Springs Record, Inc., the subsidiary company of the Mississippi Publishing Corporation.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 28, 1977, p. 1 and JXCO, Ms. Land Deed Bk. 588, p. 168 and Bk. 589, p. 264)

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Biloxi was created June 6, 1977 and led by Bishop Joseph L. Howze.(The Daily Herald, June 2, 1984, p. A12)

Don Green was named president of PFG Precision Optics, a local subsidiary of Precision Optics of Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, which initiated operations here in 1977.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 30, 1977, p. 3)

An interim visitors contact station opened at Gulf Islands National Seashore in July.(The Ocean Springs News, July 21, 1977, p. 1)

In July, a pistol range for the police department was completed on Hanshaw and Old Spanish Trail.  The Middle School would be erected here in 1995.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 28, 1977, p. 1)

In August, Neirynck Construction Company drove pilings for the new Ocean Springs Yacht Club at the foot of the OS-Biloxi Bridge.

Elvis Aron Presley (1935-1977), The King and the most widely recognized entertainer of the 20th Century, expired at Memphis, Tennessee on August 16th.

In September, the Enrichment Program commenced at the four, public elementary school plants.(The Ocean Springs News, September 29, 1977, p. 1)

Popeye’s Famous Fried Chicken opened on Bienville Boulevard on September 2, 1977.

 “The Islander”, a Mississippi ETV documentary on the life of Bob Anderson (1903-1965), was broadcast on September 26th.  In June 1978, it won an award from the Southern Educational Communications Association for the Most Creative Production.  This recognition followed kudos from the Virgin Islands International Film Festival; International Film & Television Festival of New York; and the Gabriel Awards.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 22, 1977, p. 1, and June 22, 1978, p. 2)    

Wilda F. Mayfield was recognized by the congregation of the Macedonia Baptist Church for her thirty-eight years of secretarial service.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 15, 1977, p. 13)

The new Ocean Springs Yacht Club on Front Beach was dedicated on December 12th.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 8, 1977, p. 4) 

Raymond Matthew 'Ray' Thompson (1898-1977), native of Lee Township, Fayette County, Ohio expired at Gulfport, Mississippi on Christmas Day.  In 1940, Mr. Thompson with Ellen Ursula 'Sue' Thompson, his spouse, came South, probably from Youngstown, Ohio where he was the proprietor of an advertising agency.  They resided initially at New Orleans where he began to write about history and travel.  In the early 1950s, they relocated to Biloxi, Mississippi where Ray wrote for Down South, a regional magazine.  In March 1956, he began a long running weekly series of journal articles, Know Your Coast and Know Your State, which were published in The Daily HeraldThe Jackson DailyNews, and The Clarion-Ledger.  Ray M. Thompson also authored: New Orleans From A to Z, The Land of Lafitte the Pirate, and The Confederate Shrine Beauvoir, the Last Home of Jefferson Davis (1957).  In 1962, he was editor of theJefferson Parish, Louisiana Yearly Review.(from biographical information provided by Yvonne Arnold of the McCain Archives, University of Southern Mississippi)

 

1978

Captain Marvin Olson, USAF, flew into his 109th tropical cyclone setting a Hurricane Hunter record.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 16, 1978, p. 20)

The EPA warned the city that its wastewater treatment plant had deficiencies to be corrected and that it was understaffed.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 1978, p. 1)

Robert Mohler renovated his Tato-Nut which had been in business since 1960.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1978, p. 1)

convenience store was approved by the Board of Aldermen on Porter near Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 15, 1978, p. 1)

In August, The Ocean Springs Record office on Cox Avenue was renovated and a new structure added behind the existing building.(The Ocean Springs record, August 10, 1978, p. 1)

In October, the Shearwater Pottery celebrated its 50th anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 26, 1978, p. 1)

In December, ground was broken for the Singing River Mall at Gautier, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 7, 1978, p. 5)

 

1979

The Twin Oaks at Gulf Hills, believed to be over 500 years old and weighing 20 tons, fell.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1979, p. 20)              

Wendy’s opened on January 29, 1979.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 2, 1979, p. 2)

           

Elks Mardi Gras-King Fidelity IV [image by Suzanne Deuel Weidie, February 1979]

 

The 4th Annual Elks Mardi Gras Parade with the 'Star Wars' theme was held on February 10th with Don F. Davis (b. 1929), King Fidelity IV, and Lois J. Switzer (1918-1998), Queen Charity IV, on the throne.  Mike Davis also on this float was a page for his Don F. Davis, his father.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1979, p. 11)

Lynda Levi (b. 1946), native of Marks, Mississippi and spouse of Dempsey Levi, was named a finalist in the first Mrs. Mississippi contest.(The Daily Herald, February 19, 1979, p. A8)

The Mississippi Jaycees named John Blossman (b. 1943) one of the three most outstanding men in the State.  Last Ocean Springs man named since Dr. Ray Wesson in 1971.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1979, p.1 and The Sun Herald, February 21, 1979, p. B4)

James E. 'Jim' Cantrell, (1929-2006) tennis professional at Treasure Oaks, was named 1979 Professional of the Year in the USPTA.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1979, p. 16)

Matt Cox, Police Chief, resigned in mid-February.(The Daily Herald, February 21, 1979, p. 1 and February 27, 1979, p. 1 and The Ocean Springs Record, February 22, 1979, p. 1)

The Ocean Springs Historic Preservation Commission was formed in March.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 8, 1979, p. 1)

N.E. Taconi School will become 6th grade complex.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1979, p. 1)

50 private rooms at the Ocean Springs Hospital were added in June for a cost of  $6 million dollars.  The radiology department also acquired a CAT scanner.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 7, 1979, p. 1 and p. 6)

In June, the Chamber of Commerce acquired the L&N Depot.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1979, p. 3)

Fred O’Sullivan named police chief in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 28, 1979, p. 1.)

Construction began on the Ocean Springs Medical Park behind the hospital.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 5, 1979, p. 10)

On August 3, 1979, The Ocean Springs Record office opened at 715 Cox Avenue.  In late July 1979, The Ocean Springs Record office had relocated from the L&N Depot on Washington Avenue to 715 Cox Avenue.  On August 3, 1979, The Record celebrated their 14th anniversary as well as the opening of their new quarters for business. William R. Allen Jr. (1911-1985) had managed the building’s refurbishment as the journal’s architect-contractor.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 2, 1979, p. 1 and August 2, 1979, p. 1)

 The JXCO Board of Supervisors voted to lease property on Washington Avenue to the Friends of Walter Anderson, Inc.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 6, 1979, p. 1)

Hurricane Frederic hit on September 12th.  The eye passed over Pascagoula.  Glenn Young, OS Civil Defense Director, believed that the damage from this tempest, was more severe than previous storms to strike the city.

Cheryl Prewitt of Ackerman was named 1980 Miss America.

Gay-Lemon Park was under construction in September.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 13, 1979, p. 10)

The first annual Fine Arts Festival was held in early November. In 1985, it became the Peter Anderson Festival.  Original director, Margaret Hollingsworth Anderson , continues in this capacity today.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 25, 1979, p. 1) 

In December, the slate roof on the L&N Depot [Chamber of Commerce] was replaced with a $50,000 composition roof after Hurricane Frederic's fury increased the leakiness of the old slate covering rendering it not repairable.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 13, 1979, p. 3) 

Regina B. Hines Ellison (1938-2005), published, “Ocean Springs, 1892”.

 

1980-1989

The decade started out on a sour note with the Iran Hostage Crisis and failed rescue.  Also in 1980, a geological, cataclysmic event of the first magnitude occurred in Washington State when Mt. St. Helens blew.  Ronald Reagan ascended to the Presidency, and the American hostages were returned from Tehran in January 1981.  After 132 years of possession, the USA lost the America’s Cup to Australia in 1983.

In 1986, the Chernobyl Power Station at Kiev in the Ukraine, became the worst nuclear accident ever when its reactor melted down.  By 1987, Bill Gates (b. 1955) of Microsoft became the first billionaire in the high tech world of microcomputers.

US Naval ship construction at Ingalls continued, and two WW II battleships, Iowa (BB 61) and Wisconsin (BB 64), were refurbished.  Hurricane Elena in September 1985 brought countywide devastation.

The 1980 US Federal Census place the population of Ocean Springs at 14,000, an increase of 48% since the 1970 census.  The World population had reached 5 billion people at this time.  The geographic center of the city began moving eastward as the Sea Shores Plaza with a Delchamps grocery, Wal-Mart, the Civic Center, and the Parkside Square Shopping Center were constructed on the east side of town.  Several historical districts and individual historical sites were accepted into the National Historical Register of Historic Places. 

 

1980

Population of Ocean Springs 14504 people.

 

Patrolman Robert Germany (b. 1948) was named patrolman of the year by Police Chief Fred O'Sullivan.  A.J. Hogan and Doug Daams were cited for their lifesaving efforts in early December in administering CPR to an elderly man who had suffered an apparent heart attack.(The Daily Herald, January 22, 1980, p. A2)

 

Construction began on a $98,000 fire station on Deena Road by Gulf South Construction Company from a design by H.F. Fountain, architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 24, 1980, p.1)

 

In late February, the Ocean Springs Garden Club planted two live oaks at the White Oaks Inn [O'Keefe-Dale property] on West Porter in memory of W.F. 'Willy' Dale (1899-1990) and W.F. Dale Jr. (1926-1979).  Miss Florence Morrow (1868-1934), a pioneer public school teacher, was also honored with an oak tree at the N.E. Taconi School on Magnolia Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 6, 1980, p.7)

 

The Singing River Mall at Gautier, Mississippi had its grand opening on March 9th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 13, 1980, p. 3)

 

On February 8th, the Ocean Springs Police Officers Association led by Kevin V. Alves Sr. became affiliated with the AFL-CIO as Local 121 of the Inter Union of Police Associations.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 13, 1980, p. 1)

 

Dr. Ray Wesson (1937-1980) and his wife, Delores Ann Gill Wesson (1942-1980), were killed on March 14th, when their Polish airliner crashed south of Warsaw, Poland.  Dr. Wesson was physician for the national boxing team.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 20, 1980, p. 1)

 

The new L&N Railroad, a concrete structure, opened for rail and boat traffic in early May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1980, p. 1)

 

Dr. Gordon Gunter (1909-1998) of the GCRL was honored with induction as a Fellow in the Louisiana Academy of Sciences.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 15, 1980, p. 5)

 

In May, voters rejected a $400,000 bond issue for a new recreation building.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 22, 1980, p. 1)

 

Mayor Pat Connor (1912-1982) disagreed with the Federal Census count at Ocean Springs arguing that it should be 15,644 people as opposed to the preliminary figure of 14,188 people suggested by the census bureau.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 31, 1980, p. 1)

 

Former Mayor Charles Ernest Schmidt filed suit against the City challenging the salary of the Mayor.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 7, 1980, p. 2)

 

A contract was approved by the legislature for the construction of the Fort Maurepas replica on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, September    , 1980, p.   )

 

Former Mayor Albert S. Westbrook (1900-1980) expired on October 9th.

 

1981

In January, Jackson based developer, Mrs. Loris Bridges, began negotiations to acquire Gulf Hills Inn.  She acquired majority ownership of the property in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 8, 1981, p. 1 and July 30, 1980, p. 1)

Carter & Mullins Inc. of Columbia, Mississippi commenced construction of the Fort Maurepas replica on the former site of Dr. J.J. Bland’s New Beach Hotel.(The Ocean Springs News, January 22, 1981, p. 1)

King Jerry Wicks and Queen Gini Robinson ruled the Elks Mardi Gras Parade on February 21st.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 5, 1981, p. 12)

In March, the Singing River Mall opened in Gautier.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 1, 1981, p. 1)

Hubert de Germiny, press attache' to the Consul General of France at New Orleans was chosen as Iberville for the Landing ceremony.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1981, p. 1 and April 30, 1981, p. 3)

Dr. James H. Waddell opened an office to treat for the control of chronic pain.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1981, p. 18)

In June, fiscal conservative, Chester McPhearson (1924-2006) was chosen Mayor, as the electorate voted out all incumbents.  The Reverend Jesse L. Trotter Sr. became the first black alderman in the city’s eighty-nine years of municipal government.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 4, 1981, p. 1)

In late June, the City aldermen awarded a $126,395 construction contract to Gulf South Construction Company to erect the Alice Street Recreation Center.  The City's amended budget for 1981 was $4,410,021.(The Daily Herald, June 24, 1981)

Dr. Lionel N. Eleuterius, GCRL, published Tidal Marsh Plants, a field guide, in August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 27, 1981, p. 7)

In September, the Sea Shores Plaza shopping center with Woolco and Delchamps as anchor stores opened on US 90.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 16, 1981, p. 3, July 16, 1981, p. 3, September 17, 1981, p. 1, and September 23, 1981, p. 3)

The Mississippi Repertory Theater founded in 1978, presented “The Rainmaker” at the JXCO Jr. College. Marco St. John produced and starred in the production.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 24, 1981, p. 10)

In October, Hugh L. Pepper was named athletic director at Ocean Springs High School replacing Tommy Glass.  Coach, Pepper had 149 victories and 12 Gulf Coast Conference Championships in his nineteen-year tenure as head football coach.  He was replace in January 1982, by Kenny Lyons.(The Ocean Springs News, October 29, 1981, p. 1 and January 14, 1982, p. 1)

The School Board requested a feasibility study for a US Army Jr. ROTC program for the high school.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 15, 1981, p. 1)

In November, Wometco Plastics planned to renovate and equip the former Coca Cola plant, which had moved to its new facility on Highway 57 in the early 1970s.  They would manufacture 2 liter disposable, plastic bottles.(The Ocean Springs News, November 5, 1981, p. 1)

Dr. William Pontius of Ocean Springs was elected Chief of Staff of the Biloxi Regional Medical Center in December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1981, p. 3)

Fred Wagner, project architect, announced that Phase I of the Fort Maurepas replica was competed.  It represented 20% of the total construction.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1981, p. 1)

 

1982

 

CARROLL B. ISHEE

[attorney-building contractor and designer of 'The Ishee House']

 

Former attorney, home designer and building contractor, Carroll Ishee (1921-1982), expired.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 21, 1982, p. 1)

 

On March 2nd, one hundred Ocean Springs educators went to Jackson to lobby State legislators for a 15% pay increase.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 18, 1982, p. 1)

 

In early April, the Gannet Company, agreed to purchase The Ocean Springs Record and eight other journals from the Jackson based Hederman family.  Among these were the Hattiesburg American, The Jackson Clarion-Ledger, and The Jackson Daily News.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 8, 1982, p. 1)

 

Former Mayor, Donald L. “Pat” Connor (1912-1982), expired on April 30th.

 

The Ocean Springs Greyhounds baseball team beat Meridian 17-12 to win the State Championship.(The Ocean Springs Record, Souvenir Edition of May 27, 1982, p. 3)

 

In July, the Gulf Hills Development Corporation filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 8, 1982, p. 1)

 

Pizza Hut began home delivery service in September.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 23, 1982, p. 11)

 

Benjamin G. Pott (1907-1982), golf professional at Gulf Hills for many years, expired at Gulf Hills on October 23rd.  He was playing golf at the time.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 28, 1982, p. 8)

 

Freddie Weldy, superintendent of the Water Department, was recognized on his 30th anniversary as a city employee.(The Ocean Springs News, November    , 1982, p.   )

 

In December, City fathers with the urging of Betty Bradford Milsted (1913-2009) saved the present Senior Citizens building on Washington Avenue from demolition.(The Ocean Springs record, December 9. 1982, p. 1)

 

Jocelyn’s Restaurant on US 90 opened for business in December.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 8, 1984, p. 6)

 

settlement was reached for land claims on Mississippi barrier islands.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 9, 1982, p. 8)   

 

Bob Winans, son of famed Louisiana photographer Fonville Winans (1911-1992), opened a photographic studio at Ocean Springs called "de Fonville", son of Fonville.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 9, 1982, p. 9)

 

On December 31, 1982, the corporate entity known as the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company was officially merged into the Seaboard System Railroad, ending the L&N's 132-year existence under a single name. The Seaboard System quickly lost its own corporate identity as it and the Chessie System became CSX Transportation in 1986.

 

1983

State funds for the completion of the Fort Maurepas replica on Front Beach were frozen.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 13, 1983, p. 1)

 

Brigadier General Leroy J. Stewart (1900-1983) expired at Keesler AFB at Biloxi, Mississippi on January 13th.  General L.J. Stewart was known at Ocean Springs for his gardens and landscaping abilities.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 27, 1983, p. 2)

 

The Elks Mardi Gras Parade was held on February 5th with Queen Charity VIII Caroline F. Davis (1934-2006) and King Fidelity VIII Al Auge ruling the streets of "World of Lil' Abner".

 

In February, the Gulf Hills Inn was purchased by Windham Properties of Pensacola, Florida. Renamed Royal Gulf Hills.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 17, 1983, p. 1)

 

Haroll D. Castle of Ocean Springs and Melissa Jaynell Schloegel of Gulfport [now Mrs. Andrew Marion of Ocean Springs] ruled the 57th Biloxi Mardi Gras.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 17, 1983, p. 1)

 

Henrietta’s Restaurant celebrated its 40th anniversary in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 24, 1983, p. 1)

 

Ground broken for Inner Harbor Park in March.

 

The EPA ordered an inspection of all public schools to determine if friable asbestos was utilized in their construction.(The Ocean Springs News, March 17, 1983, p. 1)

 

John Bell Williams (1918-1983), Governor of Mississippi from 1968-1972, expired at Brandon, Mississippi on March 25th.

 

The W.R. Colmer Visitor’s Center at the GINS-Davis Bayou Unit was dedicated on April 1st .(The Ocean Springs Record, March 31, 1983, p. 2)

 

Charles J. Lippian (1916-1997), State Representative from Pascagoula, and Louis Fortenberry, State Senator from Pascagoula, were Iberville and Bienville respectively on April 24th.  Mayor Chester McPhearson (1924-2006) was Commandant Sauvolle.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 21, 1983, p. 1)

 

Dr. John R. Broussard (1925-1983), an Ocean Springs veterinarian, was killed by Jerry L. Davis on May 6, 1983 while attending the Jazz and Heritage Festival at New Orleans.  Dr. Broussard and spouse, Betty Broussard, were preparing to camp at a site on the Chef Menteur Highway in east New orleans when robbed by Mr. Davis.  Davis was convicted of 1st degree murder and sentenced to life for his crime.  His corporal remains were interred in the Biloxi Cemetery.(The Daily Herald, February 1, 1984, p. A-1)

 

In September, the Mississippi Department of Archives and History approved the proposed historic districts of Ocean Springs for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 22, 1983, p. 1)

 

The Benezue family closed their Fort Bayou Fish Camp operated by Donald J. Benezue due to eminent domain litigation for the construction of a new span across Fort Bayou.  They were given $72,500 for their land and buildings.(The Ocean Springs Record, February  20, 1983. p. 1)

 

Freddie Williams selected to head Ocean Springs Recreation Department.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 20, 1983, p. 14)

 

Janet Ferson Green, president of PFG Precision Optics, was named Career Woman of the Year by the Business and Professional Women's Club.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 27, 1983, p. 2)

 

The new St. Martin High School was dedicated on October 23rd.  Representative C. Trent Lott was the guest of honor.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 27, 1983, p. 2 and November 17, 1983, p. 13)

 

The Greyhound football team was winless for the first time in the history of the school.  Coach Kenny Lyons resigned after compiling a 1-18 record.  Athletic director, Hugh L. Pepper, returned to the helm in 1984.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 17, 1983, p. 1)

 

Alan Bond, of the Royal Perth Yacht Club, defeated Liberty at Newport, Rhode Island to become the first challenger in 132 years to win the America's Cup.

 

1984

Mary 'Willie' Willena Nixon (1920-1984), the first local employee of the E.R. Moore Company at Ocean Springs, died in early February.  Willie Nixon retired in July 1983 after 33 years with the company as its bookkeeper and office manager.  She joined the organization in 1950.(The Daily Herald, February 6, 1984, p. A2 and The Mississippi Press, July 13, 1983)

Nealand H. Ballard (1920-1984)

 

Nealand 'Neil' H. Ballard (1920-1984), native of Minneapolis, Minnesota and pewter craftsman, died on February 20th.  Neil owned The Bugle B at 1110 Government Street.  He opened his shop in April 1976.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 1, 1976, p. 10)

Anne Auge and Ralph Dickens ruled the Elks Mardi Gras Parade.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 1, 1984, p. 1)

Dr. Deanne Stephens Nuwer was named 'outstanding history teacher'.(The Mississippi Press, March 15, 1984, p. 9A)

In March, the Oak Cove town homes were built on Fort Bayou by the Richards Joint Venture Company.  Maria C. Bargas was the architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 1984, p. 5)

Senator Thad Cochran dedicated the $154,00, Inner Harbor Park built on Kensington and Pine on April 7, 1984.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1984, p. 1)

Colonel (ret.) Stuart Allan Roosa (1933-1994), command module pilot of Apollo 14, was chosen as Ibervillefor the April 1699 Landing held on April 29th.  Aubrey Rozzell of the Bureau of Recreation and Parks, Department of Natural resources, was Bienville.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 26, 1984, p. 1.)

Paul Kilpatrick announced that Ocean Lanes, a 24-alley bowling facility, would open in the fall.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 3, 1984, p. 1)

The Senior Citizens Building on Washington Avenue refurbishment commenced in late May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1984, p. 1)

 

Major General Romulus W. Puryear (1911-1984), native of Hartsville, Tennessee and former Commander of KAFB [retired July 1967] and one of the founders of Metropolitan National Bank, expired at Ocean Springs in mid-June.His corporal remains were interred at Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia.  Alice Denning Puryear (1914-2010), his spouse, died on May 8, 2010 at Ocean Springs.(The Daily Herald, June 18, 1984, p. A2 and The Ocean Springs Record, July 27, 1967, p. 1)

 

Retired Mississippi Power Company executive and civic leader, Lee E. Jordan (1912-1884), expired on August 13th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 16, 1984, p. 1)

 

Linda Noble Lee Brokl, principal of East Elementary, was selected as one of the most distinguished elementary school principals in America.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 6, 1984, p. 1)

 

 A 300-acre, industrial park was announced for Ocean Springs on Ms. Highway No. 57.  It would later be called the Sunplex.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 13, 1984, p. 1)

 

 In December, Shearwater Pottery founder, Peter Anderson (1901-1984) expired on the 20th.  Before his demise, he was the oldest working master potter in the country.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 27, 1984, p. 1)

 

1985

Jerry St. Pe'

 

Jerry St. Pe’ was named president of Ingalls Shipbuilding.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 24, 1985, p. 1)

Elmer Williams (1898-1985), one of the founders of the DeJean Packing Company, expired on January 29, 1985.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 31, 1985, p. 6)

Dick Molpus was selected to portray Iberville at the annual 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Daily Herald, March 19, 1985, p. A3)

After years of delay, the Senior Citizens Building on Washington Avenue was ready for use.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 18, 1985, p. 12)

The Ocean Springs High School golf team won its first State Championship in May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 16, 1985, p. 1)

Hurricane Elena struck with fury on September 2nd.(The Ocean Springs News, September 5, 1985, p. 1)

Jocelyn Seymour Mayfield of Joecelyn’s Restaurant was featured on Mississippi ETV in mid-October.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 10, 1985, p. 1)

The First Presbyterian Church commenced their 100th anniversary year on October 19th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 24, 1985, p. 1)

The new $7.73 million Ft. Bayou bridge opened in early November.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 9, 1985, p. 1)

 

1986

The Ocean Springs Record raised the price of a single copy of its journal to $.50.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 2, 1986, p. 1)

Lawrence 'Larry' Simpson Stewart (1950-2013) was named Commodore of the OSYC.(The Sun Herald, April 30, 2013, p. A6)

Robert E. 'Bob' Williams and Toni Rae Catchot Blackmon were King and Queen of the Elks Mardi Grasparade on January 25th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 30th, 1986, p. 1)

Ronald A. Pook (1888-1993), thirty three year resident of Ocean Springs (1950-1993) wrote Murder in Mississippi and Other Stories.  Mr. Pook expired at Allentown, Pennsylvania on February 25, 1993.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 13, 1986, p. 2)

Local teens, Eric Zala and Chris Stomolos, remade the movie, “The Raiders of the Lost Ark”, at the Zala home on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 10, 1986, p. 6)

In May, Craig Claiborne, food critic for The New York Times ate at Trilby’s Restaurant.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1987, p. 7)

In June, James Reeves Construction Company of Laurel, Mississippi began work on the Samaritan House on Jackson Avenue..(The Ocean Springs Record, July 3, 1986, p. 1) 

In June, Mrs. Alice T. Martin donated some land of the 12.5 acres tract selected on US 90 for a community center.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 12, 1986, p. 1)  The JXCO Board of Supervisors pledged to give $400,000 to erect the structure.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 26, 1986, p. 1)

 

J.J. O’Keefe III (b. 1923) acquired the 1906 O’Keefe family home at 911 Porter from Willie Dale (1899-1990).  It had been out of the family for forty-eight years.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 3, 1986, p. 2 and July 10. 1986, p. 2)

Mary Alice Fairbank Miner produced a 60 minute video tape titled 'Water Fun', which in a step-by-step approach demonstrated the techniques that she had used in educating 30,000 youngsters to swim.  Mrs. Miner is the author of Dolly Dolphin's Do's and Dont's (1975); Sing a Song of Swimming (1975); Lustige Wasserratten  [Funny Water Rats] (1980); and Water Fun (1985).  The last two books were publsihed by Prentice Hall.(The Daily Herald, August 21, 1986, p. B1)

An attempt to have the Fort Maurepas replica incorporated into the Gulf Islands National Seashore was rejected by the National Park Service.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 28, 1986, p. 1)

Ralph and Betsy Codianne were operating The Old Blue House Restaurant in the Kiernan House on Washington Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 4, 1986, p. 4)

Dr. Sam Levi (1911-1986), a radiologist and native of Winnipeg, Canada, expired on October 8 th.(The Ocean Springs record, October 16, 1986, p. 3)

The annual Ocean Springs Arts Festival sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce was renamed the Peter Anderson Arts Festival.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 16, 1986, p. 1)

On October 29th, the new $724,000 US Post Office opened on US 90.  Andrew Samuel Mason (b. 1939) was postmaster.(The Ocean Springs Record, 30, 1986, p. 1)

A 9-foot metal sculpture by Thomas Schomberg, an American artist, was dedicated at the Museum of Sports and Tourism in Warsaw, Poland, to the memory of twenty-two members of the US Amateur Boxing Team and Dr. Ray Wesson, team physician, and spouse, Ann Wesson, of Ocean Springs, who were killed with sixty-three other passengers in the crash of a Polish jet airliner near Warsaw, Poland in March 1980.  An identical monument was placed at the US Olympic training center at Colorado Springs, Colorado.(The Ocean Springs News, November 20, 1986, p. 1)

In December, construction commenced on The Doll House of Arthemise Blossman.  Located on Bienville Boulevard, the Victorian replica was designed by architect Bruce Tolar.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1986, p. 1)

Clyde 'Buddy' Gunn begin the restoration of the Halstead House on East Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 11, 1986, p. 8)

Brad Lemon was appointed to the Harbor Commission.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 18, 1986, p. 2)

On December 31, 1982, the corporate entity known as the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company was officially merged into the Seaboard System Railroad, ending the L&N's 132-year existence under a single name. The Seaboard System quickly lost its own corporate identity as it and the Chessie System became CSX Transportation in 1986.

 

1987

Mike Henary, King Fidelity XXII and Donna Surwill, Queen Charity XXII, ruled the Elks Mardi Gras parade, which rolled through Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 12, 1987, p. 1)

In April, Peter Toth returned to town to restore “Crooked Feather” which had been toppled by Elena in September 1985.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1987, 2)

Craig Claiborne (1920-2000), food critic for The New York Timesdined at Trilby’s.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 21, 1987, p. 7)

Walter Ryan became the first heart transplant recipient from Ocean Springs in June.  The Ochsner Foundation Hospital at NOLA performed the operation.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 18, 1987, p. 1)

The Samaritan House and Mrs. Blossman’s Doll House opened in late June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 25, 1987, p. 1 and July 2, 1987, p. 1)

On July 30th, the Trojan Carrie exploded and burned at the Fort Bayou Apartments Marina resulting in the burning deaths of Edward Clohessy (1956-1987), Eleanor Clohessy (1933-1987) and Heidi Clohessy Cottom (1963-1987).  Five children were rescued from the burning vessel.(The Ocean Springs Record,September 3, 1930) 

In August, the Coca Cola building on US HIGHWAY 90 was sold to PFG Precision Optics.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 27, 1987, p. 1) 

 

Biloxi attorney, Vincent J. Sherry (1929-1987) and Margaret Sherry, (19-1987) his spouse, were murdered at Biloxi on September 14th.(The Sun Herald, September 17, 1987, p. 1)

 

Blossman Inc. acquired the former US Post Office on Desoto and Jackson and planned to renovate it for their printing operations. Plans were to move into the structure in the springs of 1988.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 15, 1987)

 

Alice Duckett, Chairperson of the Historic Preservation Commission, announced that the National Trust had accepted two historical districts and 12 individual properties in Ocean Springs to its Register of Historical Places.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 5, 1987, p. 1)

 

In November, Bausch & Lomb sold its Ferson Optics division to Cambridge Instruments of England.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 12, 1987, p. 1)

 

The 1909 J.J. O’Keefe home on Porter was opened in early December, after a $1 million dollar restoration.  The edifice became the funeral parlor for Bradford-O’Keefe.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 3, 1987, p. 1)

 

tree ordinance to protect oak, magnolia, cypress, sycamore, and cedar was passed by the City government in mid-December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 17, 1987, p. 1)

 

1988

St. Elizabeth Seton Catholic Church was dedicated on January 3rd.  The $480,000 dollar sanctuary was designed by Gerald Hopkins, Biloxi architect, and erected by Polk Construction Company of Columbia, Mississippi.  Father Fannon, founded the parish in 1975.  They used a multi-purpose parish hall until the new church was completed.  Father Fannon was transfered to Waveland and replaced by Father George Kitchin in March 1988.(The Sun Herald, February 20, 1988)

C. Ernest Schmidt (1904-1988), former Mayor, engineer-inventor, businessman, and local historian expired in January.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 21, 1988, p. 1)

The historic Farmers and Merchants State Bank Building in downtown Ocean Springs will undergo a major exterior restoration. The 75 year old building, built in 1913, which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places, housed the second bank built in Ocean Springs. The structure is architecturally  significant because it represents the introduction of Neo-classical formality into a turn-of-century business district of small, simple brick and frame structures.(The Sun Herald March 12,1988  p.E1)

The Reverend George Kitchin was welcomed to St. Elizabeth Seton Catholic Church.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 31, 1988, p. 6)

A pilot program in computer instruction was commenced at Pecan Park Elementary School.(The Ocean Springs News April 14, 1988, p. 1 and May 5, 1988, p. 1)

In May, the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory became a part of USM.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 26, 1988, p. 1)

In August, HOSA (Historic Ocean Springs Association) was organized by local vendors and concerned citizens to revitalize and beautify downtown Ocean Springs.  It was incorporated on November 18, 1988 by Bruce B. Tolar, Sharon McQuilken, and Wynn S. Seaman.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 1, 1988, p. 1)

Kay White Casson (1916-1988), local journalist and antiquities dealer who founded the Silver Knight Antiques on Porter Avenue, expired on September 29th.  In 1974, Mrs. Casson was a major player in establishing the street fair associated with the Landing of Iberville annual celebration.  She was honored on April 25, 1987, when Kay Casson day was proclaimed citywide.(The Ocean Springs News, April 16, 1987 and October 6, 1988, p. 2)

The West Jackson County governmental services complex at 6904 North Washington Avenue was dedicated on November 4th.(The Ocean Springs News, November 10, 1988, p. 1)

Wal-Mart closed a deal to construct a retail store in east Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs record, 17, 1988, p. 1)      

The $1.3 million dollar, Civic Center on US 90 was 40% complete in early December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 8, 1988, p. 1)           

 

1989

J.J. O’Keefe III chaired a $1 million dollar fund raising campaign for the Walter Anderson Museum of Art.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 19, 1989, p. 1)

James McConnell Anderson was selected to design a mosaic mural for the new Civic Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 19, 1989, p. 1)

Coors Ceramics of Golden, Colorado acquired Alpha Optical Systems which now had sixty employees.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 26, 1989, p. 1)

In March, Christus Victor, local Lutheran parish, planned for a new parish hall and sanctuary.  Bruce Tolar, architect.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1989, p. 10)

Judge Lawrence C. Corban (1900-1989), native of Fayette, Mississippi and former OS City attorney from 1953-1959, Circuit Court Judge (1939-1953), Jackson County Chancery Court Judge (1959-1975) and outstanding Coast citizen and Mason, expired on April 3rd. 

Mike Moore was Iberville, John Snuggs was Bienville, and Ronnie Shows was Sauvolle at the 1699 Landing of Iberville on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs record, April 20, 1989, p. 1 and May 4, 1989, p. 1)

In June, police chief, Kevin V. Alves Sr., became the first Republican mayor of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 22, 1989, p. 1)

The former Marshall Park Bandstand was donated to HOSA by Carl Lizana and Ronnie Hamilton, proprietors of Aunt Jenny’s Restaurant, and removed from the old Bayou Inn property of Dr. H.B. Powell on Fort Bayou to Marshall Park for restoration.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 9, 1989, p. 1 and June 8, 1989, p. 13)

 

Ocean Springs Civic Center [image made October 6, 2009]

 

The Ocean Springs Civic Center on Bienville Boulevard was dedicated on June 23rd.  A surprise retirement party was given for Mayor Chester McPhearson.  The gala opening was held on July 28-29. (The Ocean Springs Record, June 29, 1989, p. 1 and July 27, 1989, p. 1)

 

Walter Anderson’s “The Magic Carpet and other tales” was broadcast statewide by Mississippi ETV on September 7th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 24, 1989, p. 1)

 

Historic Preservation Ordinance passed in September.

Democrat Gene Taylor, successful candidate for the 5th District seat in Congress, received 69% of the Ocean Springs vote on October 17th.

Carolyn Frayser became the first woman municipal police chief in Mississippi when she replaced mayor elect, Kevin Alves, in late October.(The Ocean Springs Record, 26, 1989, p. 1)

Wal-Mart under construction, 90,899 sq. ft. structure, built by Tilley Construction of Gulfport.  Wal-Martopened on October 31st.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 16, 1989, p. 14 and The Ocean Springs Record, October 26, 1989, p. 1)

Sav-A-Center Supermarket planned for Parkside Square Shopping Center in east Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 9, 1989, p. 1)

A new Veterans Memorial was dedicated on November 11, 1989 at the Ocean Springs Civic Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 16, 1989, p. 1)

 

In December, the loss of the Swingster Company to another city was avoided when Mayor Alves and other civic leaders resolved differences with the Reverend Jesse Trotter and the Concerned Citizens Committee.  The Trotter group opposed a zoning change, which would have allowed expansion for Swingster and Alpha Optical Systems into a residential area.  In exchange for desisting litigation, the Mayor and Board of Aldermen agreed to recommend that the companies hire additional minority workers; rename Vermont Avenue Park and a section of Vermont Avenue in memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. (1929-1968); and clean certain city right of ways.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 9, 1989, p. 1 and December 7, 1989, p. 1)

 

In mid-December, James M. Owens was found guilty of possessing destructive devises.  OS Police and Federal ATF agents found a pipe bomb in his apartment at El Madrid on Front Beach and five bombs in the trunk of his car.(The Sun Herald, December 14, 1989)   

 

Richard A. Waters (1908-1989) former owner of Gulf Hills expired in California on December 16, 1989.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 11, 1990, p. 3)

 

1990-1999

The 1990s saw the balance of economic and military power on the planet shift dramatically to the United States.  By 1992, The Cold War with the Soviet Union abated as that nation approached a more democratic form of government with the free election of Boris N. Yeltsin, as the first president, of the Russian Republic in 1991.  With the dissolution of the Warsaw Pact military alliance, the Iron Curtain in Eastern Europe was lowered.  In addition, the Baltic Republics, the Ukraine, and other former Soviet puppet states became independent.  The Yugoslavian Federation shattered in January 1992.

 

During this decade, America took on the role of global moral enforcer, particularly after Iraq invaded Kuwait in August of 1990.  This transgression precipitated the Persian Gulf War, which ended in April 1991.  In an offensive campaign called Desert Storm, the US and its allies drove the Iraqi forces of Saddam Hussein out of Kuwait in only one hundred hours of combined combat.  Included among the 532,000 US forces in the Gulf War were the men of the Mississippi National Guard’s 1355th Quartermaster unit based at Ocean Springs.  The group was recognized for its meritorious service during the campaign, and two members, John McKay and Randal Turner, were awarded the Bronze Star.  Other American military forces were sent to quell domestic turmoil in Panama, Haiti, Somalia, and the former Yugoslavian states of Bosnia-Herzegovinia and Kosovo.  There was an aberration in this foreign policy as genocide in several southern African nations was ignored.

 

Domestically, in 1992 the Nation elected a Democrat president, W.J. Clinton, who by 1995, had to deal with a Republican majority in congress.  America discovered how vulnerable it was to domestic terrorist attacks with the World Trade Center bombing in 1993, and the total destruction of the A.P. Murrah Federal Building at Oklahoma City in 1995.  The Judge Clarence Thomas Supreme Court hearings, Clinton-Lewinsky capers and subsequent impeachment, Simpson-Goldman murder trial, and tobacco settlements kept TV ratings competitive with the soap operas.

 

During this decade Ocean Springs experienced an exponential period of growth associated with gambling and industrial activities at Biloxi and east Jackson County.  Commercial and residential construction was in the hundreds of millions of dollars.  The commercial district in Old Ocean Springs saw a revival commencing in 1991, with the erection of Centennial Square east of the L&N Depot and the restoration of the L&N Depot in 1997.  Government Street was also the scene of a renaissance as the Richard Furr family completed Magnolia Square, a professional office complex in 1994.  This was followed closely by their refurbishment of the Young-Shanteau Garage, called Palmetto Place (1995), and the old Steelman Grocery (1997).  The Little Children’s Park was refurbished with new playground equipment (1997), a walking bridge (1997), and pavilion (1998).  The golden glow in the city’s construction palette was the Walter Anderson Museum of Art on Washington Avenue in 1990.  It increased tourism and complimented the Shearwater Pottery after its opening in May 1991.  Other notable architectural improvements in the city were the 1996 Middle School on Handshaw Road, the addition of the new Presbyterian Church on Ocean Avenue in 1995, and the July 1999 completion of the Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church on Weed Avenue.

 

The city also witnessed a culinary explosion during the decade.  Mike Salvetti, a gregarious Italian-American from Syracuse, rolled the dice and successfully brought fine dining to lower Washington Avenue, which complimented the in place Martha’s Tearoom, an upscale luncheon.  Among the other new comers in the local restaurant business this decade were: Anthony’s Under the Oaks, Le Croissant, China Wok, China Garden, El Saltillo, Bay View Gourmet, Fishermen’s Wharf, Catch of the Day, Que Pasa, The Porter House, Lagniappe, La Palmita, Cornerstone Deli, and Phoenicia.  Does anyone remember when Aunt Jenny’s, BB’s, Germaine’s, Henrietta’s, Jocelyn’s, Pleasant’s BBQ, and Troy’s Steakhouse were our only local restaurants? 

 

1990

 

Population of Ocean Springs 14650 people [13327 white and 907 black].(The Sun Herald, March 9, 2001, p. A10)

 

           Wayne Weidie           

 

In January, Wayne Weidie, editor-publisher,  left The Ocean Springs Record to join the staff of Representative Gene Taylor in Washington D.C.  James Ricketts came on board as publisher and editor in March.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 4, 1990, p. 1 and March 29, 1990, p. 1)

 

Joshua Joseph retired from the Ocean Springs Police Reserves after 20 years of service.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1990)

 

 

Oliver Bass of Moss Point, Mississippi was hired as the first director of community development and planning for the City of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1990, p. 1 and January 25, 1990, p. 1)

 

The restoration of the OS High School murals of Walter Anderson commenced.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1990, p. 9)

 

H.L. Robertson and Pat Harrington ruled the Elks Parade Mardi Gras with Arnold Blackmon as Grand Marshal of the parade.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 1, 1990, p. 1)

 

Mayor Alves had the water tower on Washington Avenue painted royal blue.(The Sun Herald, February 10, 1990, p. C3)

 

Dr. Dewey L. Herring of Columbia, Mississippi was named the new Ocean Springs Public School Superintendent replacing the retiring Allen Curry.(The Sun Herald, February 14, 1990, p. C2 and The Ocean Springs Record, February 15, 1990, p. 1)

 

Longtime philanthropist and businessman, E.W. “Woody” Blossman (1913-1990) expired on February 26th at NOLA.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 1, 1990, p. 1)

 

A Walter Anderson exhibit was shown at Perkinston Jr. College.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 22, 1990, p. 2)

 

James R. Ricketts, Gulf Coast bureau chief for The Clarion Ledger was named editor-publisher of The Ocean Springs Record.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 29, 1990, p. 1)

 

The new Christus Victor Lutheran Church on Bienville Boulevard was dedicated on April 8th.  It was designed by architect Bruce Tolar and erected by McClendon Building Service for $468,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 5,, 1990, p. 1)

 

Ground was broken for the Walter Anderson Museum of Art (WAMA) in early April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 12, 1990, p. 1)

 

U.S. Senator Thad Cochran (Rep.-Ms) was Iberville and Joe Martin was Bienville at the annual landing commemoration held on April 29th.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 19, 1990, p. 1 and May 3, 1990, p. 1)

 

The City contemplated leasing Fort Maurepas.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 17, 1990, p. 1)

 

The Marianite Sisters of the Holy Cross left St. Alphonsus and Ocean Springs for Bangalore, India.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1990, p. 1 and p. 11)

 

Allen Curry, OS School Superintendent, retired after nineteen years.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 31, 1990, p. 1)

 

Robert L. McGhee (1939-1990), a National Park Service ranger, was killed by two jail escapees from Floridaat the Gulf Islands National Seashore-Davis Bayou Unit.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 31, 1990, p. 1)

 

St. Martin Community Center and Public Library were dedicated on May 27th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 24, 1990, p. 8)

 

In July, Ocean Springs was accepted into the Main Street program.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 5, 1990, p. 1 )

 

The Ocean Springs Record celebrated its 25th anniversary in early August.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 9 , 1990, pp. 10-11 )

 

In October, city government passed amended 9-1989 Historic Preservation Ordinance.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 31, 1991, p. 1)

 

On December 4th, 62% of the citizens of Jackson County who voted in a countywide referendum were against dockside gambling.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 6, 1990, p. 1)

 

East Elementary was renamed Oak Park by the Ocean Springs School Board.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 1, 1991, p. 1)

 

Myrtle Keys (1922-2005) closed her dry cleaning establishment on Cash Alley, but remained to accommodate clients for clothes alterations.(The Ocean Springs Record,  November 22, 1990, p. 1)

 

In December, James M. Owens was found guilty of possessing destructive devises.  OS Police and Federal ATF agents found a pipe bomb in his apartment at El Madrid on Front Beach on December 14, 1989 and five bombs in the trunk of his car.(The Sun Herald, December 1, 1990)

 

Concerned citizens protested the removal of the clock from the Ocean Springs State Bank Building.  It was to be placed on the Hancock Bank Building across the street.(The Ocean Springs News, December 13, 1990, p. 1)

 

1991

 

The 1355th Mississippi National Guard unit at Ocean Springs a Service and Support Company departed Fort Benning, Georgia for Saudi Arabia to participate in The Gulf War and  Operation Desert Storm.  They were bivouacked in Saudi Arabia for seven months.(The Ocean Springs Record,  January 10, 1991, p. 1 and December 26, 1991, p. 1)

 

The Library Board recommended that the 1927 Public School be refurbished as the new municipal library.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 10, 1991, p. 1)

 

The Elks Mardi Gras parade rolled on January 19th with King Fidelity XVI Chuck Kiesling and Marge Ferguson, as his Queen.(The Ocean Springs Record,  January 10, 1991, p. 6)

 

Vermont Street between US Higway 90 and Government Street was renamed ‘Martin Luther King’ on January 13th.(The Ocean Springs Record,  January 17, 1991, p. 1)

 

The Library Board recommended that the 1927 Public School be refurbished as the new municipal library.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 10, 1991, p. 1)

 

The Reverend Jesse Trotter (1925-2010) dedicated on January 13,1991, that portion of the former Vermont Avenue between US Highway 90 (Bienville Boulevard) and Government Street as M.L. King Boulevard.(The Sun Herald, January 17, 1991)

 

Chris Poss, ten year employee, four as managing editor of The Ocean Springs Record, and creator of ‘Trifles’retired in February.(The Ocean Springs Record,  February 21, 1991, p. 4)

 

Johnny Revolta (1911-1991), former winter golf teaching professional at Gulf Hills and Edgewater Gulf, expired on March 3rd at Palm Springs, California.

 

Curbside recycling commenced in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 4 , 1991, p. 1)

 

The $1.3 million dollar, Walter Anderson Museum of Art (WAMA) opened on May 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 9, 1991, p. 1)

 

Margaret Miller was named executive director of the Chamber of Commerce after Nancy Loper Martinresigned.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 25, 1991, p. 1 and May 23, 1991, p. 1)

 

In a bloodless coup, the City of Ocean Springs took possession of the Fort Maurepas replica from the State of Mississippi in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 25, 1991, p. 1)

 

The 1355th Quartermaster Company returned from the Persian Gulf War.  These veterans of Desert Storm were honored with a parade on August 17th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 15, p. 1 and August 22, 1991, p. 1)

 

Agnes “Sissy” G. Anderson (1909-1991), spouse of Bob Anderson, and author of Approaching the Magic Hour (1989), expired on August 14th.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 22, 1991, p. 1)

 

The Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church celebrated its 100th anniversary in November.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 21, 1991, p. 1)

 

 

1992

 

Governor elect,  Daniel Kirkwood 'Kirk' Fordice Jr. (1934-2004) began his first term on January 14th.

 

In March, Don Hinton replaced Hugh L. Pepper as athletic director and head football coach at Ocean Springs High School.  In his 29 years at the high school with 27 years as head coach, Coach Pepper’s gridsters compiled a record of 189 wins, 81 losses, and 3 ties.  Twelve Gulf Coast Championships were also won.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 14, 1992, p. 11)

 

Henrietta Savage, proprietor of Henrietta’s Restaurant, was honored by loyal patrons with a downtown parade and reception at the Community Center.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 2, 1992, p. 1)

 

Clarence Hamilton (1902-1992) was Iberville and Clarence Hamilton II, Bienville, for the 1699 Landing on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1992, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs Education Foundation was approved by the School Board in June.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 11, 1992, p. 1)

 

Charter member meeting of the Fort Maurepas Society held on July 8, 1992.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 2, 1992, p. 2)

 

On August 1stdockside gambling commenced at Biloxi when two riverboat casinos from Iowa, the Diamond Lady and the Emerald Lady, opened for business as The Isle of Capri Casino.(The Biloxi-d’Iberville Press, July 22, 1992, p. 1 and The Sun Herald, July 29, 2007, p. G1)

On September 9thOcean Springs celebrated its 100th year of incorporation.  Steve Robinson did an outstanding job in chairing the Centennial Commission.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 10, 1992, p. 1)

 

In October, aldermen agreed to expand the municipal library rather than renovate the 1927 Public School on Government.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 8, 1992, p. 1)

 

W.J. "Bill" Clinton lost the “presidential election” at Tato-Nut to George Bush 110 votes to 52 votes.  Does this indicate that eating Tato-Nuts improves ones political IQ?  Maybe they should be shipped to Washington D.C. daily!(The Ocean Springs Record, November 5, 1992, p. 1)

 

Bill and Rosemary McWhirter acquired the Ocean Springs airport.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1992, p. 1 )

 

Cosco Inc. completes Centennial Square, a retail and office complex, east of the L&N Depot.  Ground was broken in March 1991.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 7, 1991, p. 2)

 

 The St. John’s Episcopal Church on Rayburn Avenue was erected one hundred years ago.

 

1993

Hugo J. Rungo (1909-1993) founder of Hugo's, the Coast's first pizza parlor, at Biloxi expired on the 9th.

Mart Calhoun and Robby Taylor ruled the Elks Parade Mardi Gras with Charles E. Duffie as Grand Marshal of the parade.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 11, 1993, p. 1)

George W. Cook became postmaster in early March.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 4, 1993, p. 1)

Commander Larry Kryske and David Fausnaugh were Iberville and Bienville respectively at the 1699 Landing Celebration in late April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 29, 1993, p. 1)

“Sous Les Chenes”, a column devoted to local history and culture, commenced in the Ocean Springs Record on May 13th.

The first all Republican Board of Aldermen and Mayor in the history of Ocean Springs took their municipal offices on July 1st.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 1, 1993, p. 1)

Jackson County Archives opened on July 6th with Betty Clark Rogers and Lois Castigliola as archivists.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 26, 1996, p. 23)

Oak Shade, Ocean Springs, first bed and breakfast opened by Chris Vinsonhaler and Marian Wingo on LaFontaine and Dewey.(The Mississippi Press, August 1, 1993, p. B-1 and The Sun Herald, October 2, 1993, p. 1)

 

The Reverend Paul Aultman (1930-1993) charismatic leader of the First Baptist of Ocean Springs expired on September 3, 1993.(The Ocean Springs News, September 9, 1993, p. 6 and September 23, 1993, p. 1)

 

Wood-blasted landmark signs posted around Ocean Springs.  Made by Millie McGinty Lipps.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1993, p. 8)

Members and supporters of The Gay and Lesbian Task Force paraded through downtown Ocean Springs on September 18, 1993.  The Old Fort Bayou Bridge mysteriously malfunctioned prohibiting many marchers from joining the public display.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1993, p. 1 September 16, 1993, p. 1 and September 23, 1993, p. 1)

In September, a landscape ordinance was approved by the city government.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 23, 1993, p. 1)

Glenn Miller painted a mural on the “Who-Zat” Fishing Camp on Washington Avenue, north of Old Fort Bayou.(The Sun Herald, October 28, 1993, p. D-1)

In December, Ocean Springs annexed 2.4 square miles and 600 unhappy people on the northeast perimeter of the city.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 9, 1993, p. 1)

Old home on Dewey which had house “Main Street” was demolished for more library parking.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 9, 1993)

 Two Ocean Springs police officers reported seeing an UFO hovering over the US Highway 90 and Vermont [Martin Luther King Jr.] intersection on the eve of October 16th.  Other UFO sightings were reported to police in Biloxi.(The Sun Herald, October 17, 1973, p. 2)

Clarence L. Williams (1911-1993), former Police Chief, expired on October 24th.(The Sun Herald, October 26, 1993, p. A2)

new bridge spanning Davis Bayou was completed in November.  Cost $180,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, November   , 1993, p.  )

Ethelyn S. Connor, our “Tree Lady”, received the Mississippi Urban and Community Forestry award in late December.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 30, 1993, p. 9)

        

 

1994

 

Chuck Ferguson was King Fidelity and Diana Hill, Queen Charity of the Elks Parade "By the Sea" held on January 29th.  H.L. Robertson was Grand Marshal.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 27, 1994, p. 1 and p. 7)

 

The municipal library on Dewey Avenue was closed on February 14th , for an $835,000 expansion.  It reopened in the former O’Keefe Funeral Parlor, temporary quarters, on Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 10, 1994, p. 3)

 

Moo-licious, an ice cream parlor, moved from Washington Avenue to Thorn Avenue.(The Sun Herald, February 19,1994)

 

 

Frank Bertucci and Lorrie Catherine Blossman

 

Lorrie Catherine Blossman (b. 1971) and Frank D. Bertucci ruled the Gulf Coast Carnival Association at Biloxi.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 24, 1994, p. 10)

 

New Heron Bayou Bridge opened in March.  Cost $106,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 17, 1994, p. 1)

 

 

Ray L. Bellande named “Historian of the Year” for Ocean Springs.(The Mississippi Press, April 3, 1994)

 

1699 Landing-April 1994 [L-R: Carroll Clifford, Iberville and Kevin Alves, Bienville]

 

Supervisor Beat Five Carroll Clifford, Iberville, and Mayor Kevin Alves, Bienville, at the 1699 Landing Commemoration in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 14, 1994, p. 1)

 

Thomas McIlwain, Director GCRL, announced his retirement in June.  Twenty-nine years at GCRL and director since 1989.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 30, 1994, p. 1 and September 22, 1994, p. 1)

 

Glenn Miller painted a mural on the Bayou Sporting Goods building on Bienville Boulevard.(The Sun Herald, July 23, 1994).

 

The Seaman’s Memorial on Front Beach was dedicated on September 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 8, 1994, p. 1 and The Mississippi Press, September 5, 1994, p. 1 and p. 8)

 

In September, voters approved a $9.95 million dollar bond issue to expand and repair existing school facilities.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 1, 1994, p. 1)

 

Michel and Mike Hale of The Secret Garden Nursery were the first winners of what has become an annual October event, The Scarecrow Decorating Contest, for commercial enterprises.  It is sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce and judged by noted horticulturist, Felder Rushing of Jackson.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 20, 1994, p. 1)

 

WOSM radio station recognized as the No. 2 Gospel radio station in the South.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 1, 1994, p. 1)

 

1995

 

In mid-January, Marby Penton (1923-1995), local attorney and State representative from 1964-1976, expired.(The Sun Herald, January 13, 1995, p. B-2)

 

King Fidelity Jack Willse and Queen Charity Kennon Robertson ruled the Elks Mardi Gras parade on February 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record February 9, 1995, p. 1)

 

In February, the City borrowed $650,000 to alleviate immediate city-wide drainage problems estimated to be cost in excess of $6 million dollars.(The Ocean Springs Record February 9, 1995, p. 1)

 

Stanley Partridge, Principal OSHS, announced his retirement.(The Ocean Springs Record February 16, 1995, p. 1)

 

In March, the School Board awarded a $497,000 contract to Starks Construction Company to renovate the Taconi and Pecan Park schools.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 16, 1995, p. 1)

 

Governor Daniel Kirkwood 'Kirk' Fordice Jr. (1934-2004) and State Representative Alvin Endt were Iberville and Bienville at the 1699 Landing on Front Beach.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 20, 1995, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs Public Library, situated on Dewey Avenue, reopened for public use with its refurbished and expanded space in early May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 11, 1995, p. 1)

 

In May, Henrietta’s Café on Government Street closed its doors after fifty-two years of being in the food service business.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 25, 19995, p. 1)

 

On May 28th, the McLeod Lodge F&AM No. 424 celebrated its 100th anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 1, 1995, p. 1)

 

Joe Batson celebrated his 40th year with Hancock Bank.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 8, 1995, p. 5)

 

CSX Caboose

[Donated to the City by CSX for a railroad museum, but never utilized.  Remained in the City Hall parking lot on Dewey Avenue until moved to Davidson Park near 'Crooked Feather' in May 2001.  Image by Ray L. Bellande]

 

David Sullivan named new principal at OSHS.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 8, 1995, p. 1)

 

James Allen Sadler (1936-1995), local attorney, passed on July 31, 1995.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 3, 1995, p. 1)

 

On August 20th, the First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs dedicated its new sanctuary on Ocean Avenue.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 17, 1995, p. 3 and The Mississippi Press, August 18-19-1995)

 

The Reverend Merlin F. Usner (1902-1995), native of NOLA and pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Ocean Springs from 1962-1971, died at Katy, Harris County, Texas on September 20th.(SSDI)

 

Businessman and civic leader, John Duncan Moran (1925-1995), expired on August 26th.(The Sun Herald, August 27, 1995, p. B-2)

 

Taconi Gymnasium refurbishment completed in September for $34,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 21, 1995, p. 1)

 

1996

 

Shannon Suarez, Biloxi native and former football coach at OSHS, was inducted into the Louisiana High School Athletics Assoc. Coaches Hall of Fame in early January.  He was head coach at Sulphur High School from 1966-1983 and compiled a record of 144-47-4 while guiding the Golden Tors.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 14, 1995, p. 15)

 

Elks Mardi Gras parade 'Arabian Nights", led by King Chuck Tobias and Queen Lin Calhoun.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 18, 1996, p. 1 and February 1, 1996, p. 20)

 

In February, the 1355th Quartermaster National Guard unit was deactivated and members integrated into the 155th Armored unit.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 29, 1996, pp. 1-3)

 

In March, Mayor Alves’s white elephant, “the little caboose that no one wanted”, was exiled to the parking lot east of City Hall.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 28, 1996, p. 1)

 

1699 Landing of Iberville on Front Beach with U.S. Representative Gene Taylor, as Iberville and Walter Brown, radio personality, as Bienville.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 28, 1996, p. 1)

 

$4 million dollar emergency medicine complex opened at the Ocean Springs Hospital in April.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 18, 1996, p. 3)

 

Dr. Claude W. Ball DDS died on June 10th.(The Sun Herald, June 12, 1996, p. A2)

 

On July 7th, Gautier, Mississippi celebrated its 10th Anniversary as an incorporated town.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 4, 1996, p. 1)

 

The Ocean Springs Middle School opened on Handshaw Road in August.(The Ocean Springs Record,   , 1996, p.  )

 

The O’Keefe Foundation, a philanthropic association created by J.J. O’Keefe III, was commenced in August.(Susan O’Keefe Snyder)

 

American Legion-Jaycee Hut on Iberville Drive was demolished on September 17, 1996.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 19, 1996, p. 3)

 

The reconfiguration of Le Moyne Boulevard in St. Martin to five lanes was completed in November 1996.

 

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints broke ground on Big Ridge Road in November.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 28, 1996, p. 3)

 

In December, the L&N Depot restoration contract was awarded to J.O. Collins Contractors of Biloxi.  C. Germany Architects of Ocean Springs were consultants on the project.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 5, 1996, p. 12)

 

The Ocean Springs Rotary Club sponsored a book by Elizabeth L. Roberts and J.K. Lemon, Ocean Springs: The Way We Were 1900-1950, a history of Ocean Springs as told through postal cards.

 

1997

 

Dan Schroeder, King Fidelity XXII, and Raylene Reynolds, Queen Charity XXII, ruled the Elks Mardi Grasparade on January 18th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 23, p. 9) 

 

In January, HOSA funded the construction of a wooden bridge designed by Henry Moore for Little Children Park.  It was built by McPhearson Construction Company and dedicated in March)(The Mississippi Press, January 13, 1997, p. 8-A, The Ocean Springs Record, January   , p.     and March 20 , 1997, p. 1)

 

Construction of the controversial Indian Head Motel at Davidson Park on US 90 began in February.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 13, 1997, p. 1)

 

The $4.2 million dollar Women and Childrens’ Floor was dedicated at Ocean Springs Hospital.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 20,1997)

 

John F. Vallor Jr. portrayed Iberville and Johnny Beck was Bienville at the 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Ocean Springs record, April 24, 1997, p. 1)

 

 

 

Mississippi Vietnam Memorial

[images by Ray L. Bellande on May 31, 1997 and interior on October 2009]

 

 

The Mississippi Vietnam Memorial was dedicated on May 31st.  Designed by Farrol D. Holloman and Mark S. Vaughn of Jackson and erected by GMR Construction Co., Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record, June 5, 1997, p. 1)

 

The New Hope Center, a partnership between the YMCA and the O’Keefe Foundation, was commenced to help integrate handicapped and non-handicapped children in the fields of scouting and athletic activities.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 7, 1997, p. 1)

 

Civic and cultural leader, Dolores “Bobby” Davidson Smith (1916-1997) expired on September 6, 1997.(The Sun Herald, September 9, 1997, and The Ocean Springs Record, September 11, 1997, p. 5)

 

The Gulf Coast Research Laboratory celebrated its 50th birthday on October 5th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 2, 1997 and October 9,1997, p. 1)

 

The Mississippi Department of Health issued fines in November to the Gulf Park Water Company in the amount of $2.1 million dollars for non-compliance of its order to upgrade their potable water system.(The Ocean Springs Record, November  , 1997, p.  )

 

Marine archaeologists surveyed the wreck of 17th or 18th Century vessel in the shallow water of Biloxi Bay, north of the CSX RR bridge.(The Ocean Springs Record, November , 1997, p.   )

           

 

1998

 

Professor W. Lamar Herd (1922-1998), former teacher and principal of the Elizabeth Keys Colored School, expired at Jackson, Mississippi, on January 25, 1998.(SS death index)

 

Janet Ferson Green retired from PFG Optics.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 23, 1998, p. 3)

 

The Elks Mardi Gras parade was led by King Steve Barbknecht and Queen Mary Thurbo with the theme'Best of the West'.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 7, 1998)

 

Robert and Virginia Myer of Gulf Hills donated $100,000 to the Historic Ocean Springs Association(HOSA).  The investment earnings from this endowment are presented to a person or business in the community that has made significant aesthetic improvements to their property or business.  The Porter House, a restaurant at 604 Porter, was the initial Meyer award winner.  It was owned by E. Stephen "Jake" Jacobs and Janet Cole Jacobs.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 5, 1998, p. 1)

 

The Mississippi Historical Society selected Dr. John Ray Skates, Professor Emeritus of the University of Southern Mississippi, as its 1998 recipient of the Dunbar Rowland Award for his life long contribution to Mississippi's history.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 19, 1998, p. 14)  

           

James McConnell Anderson (1907-1998), last of the artistic Anderson Brothers of the Shearwater Pottery, passed on April 3rd.(The Sun Herald, April 6, 1998, p. A-7)

 

Lt. Governor Ronnie Musgrove was Iberville and Pete Pope, Jackson County Sheriff was Bienville at the annual 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 23, 1998, p. 1)

 

Annette Saxon O'Keefe (1924-1998), wife of J.J. O'Keefe III (b. 1923), native of Augusta, Georgia, anoutstanding pianist and 1942 valedictorian and honor graduate of OSHS, mother of thirteen children, civic leader, supporter of the arts, and philanthropist, died on May 16, 1998.(The Sun Herald, May 18, 1998, p. A7 and The History of Jackson Co., Mississippi 1989, pp. 303)

 

Mike Ezell named new Police Chief in July.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 23, 1998, p. 1)

 

 

In July, local financial consultant, Douglas Gulley was indicted on thirty-five counts of embezzlement for allegedly taking $3.3 million dollars from his investors.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 16, 1998, p. 1)

 

In August, Lynn Presley, former Chancery Clerk of Jackson County, was incarcerated for ten years for mishandling public funds.  Presley was released in the summer of 2006.(The Ocean Springs Record, August 20, 1998, p. 1)       

   

Waning hours of Hurricane Georges on Front Beach Drive

 

The eye of Hurricane Georges, a category one tempest, passed over Ocean Springs on September 29th.(The Ocean Springs Record, October 1, 1998, p. 1)

 

Entrepreneur, civic leader, and historian, James K. Lemon (1914-1998), “Mr. Ocean Springs”, expired in early October.(The Sun Herald, October 6, 1998, p. A-9)

 

The Mississippi Heritage Trust named the 1927 Ocean Springs Public School to its list of the ten most endangered historical buildings in Mississippi.(The Mississippi Press, November 29, 1998, p. 8-A)

 

Brother Jerome Lepre  (1927-1998), Gulf Coast genealogist, author and historian, expired at NOLA on September 19, 1998.  He was named a Fullbright Scholar in May 1968 to the Univeristy of Sophia at Tokyo, Japan.(The Daily Herald, May 13, 1968, p. 5)

 

 

Marine biologist and former director of the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, Dr. Gordon P. Gunter (1909-1998), expired on December 19th.  The ‘Relentless’, a former Naval submarine hunter, now a research vessel owned by NOAA, was renamed ‘NOAA Gordon Gunter [R336]’ and commissioned August 28, 1998.(The Sun Herald, December 20, 1998, p. A-17 and The Ocean Springs Record, September 3, 1998, p. 1)

 

The Board of Aldermen approved the purchase of 123-acres of land in east Ocean Springs for a recreation complex.  Cost $370,000.(The Ocean Springs Record, November 5, 1998, p. 1)

 

J.O. Collins Contractors of Biloxi were awarded a $571,000 contract to erect the Alternative School on Government Street.(The Ocean Springs Record, December 10, 1998, p. 1)

 

1999

 

Mark Hare was appointed Fire Chief.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 28, 1999, p. 1)

 

King Fidelity XXIV, Donald Smith, ruled the Elks Parade with his Queen, Cheryl Noble.  Gene Taylor, U.S. Representative was Grand Marshall.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 28, 1999, p. 1)

 

In February, James and Cindy Ricketts left The Ocean Springs Record, to manage The Jackson County Floridian at Marianna, Florida.(The Ocean Springs Record,  February 4, 1999, p. 1)

 

In February Christopher I. Stebly was awarded a grant to paint a large mural on the corner of Washington Avenue and Bowen.(The Sun Herald, February 24, 1999, p. A-7)

 

William Cecil Guyton (1927-1999), dentist and humanitarian, expired on February 27th.(The Ocean Springs Record, March 4, 1999, p. 1)

 

 

Friends of the M.C. O’Keefe Cultural Center formed to preserve the1927 Ocean Springs Public School on Government Street.

 

Gloria S. Moran (1924-1999), Gulf Coast genealogist, French Colonial historian, and longtime supporter of the Fort Maurepas replica, expired on April 3rd.(The Sun Herald, April 6, 1999, p. A-5 and April 7, 1999, p. A-9)

 

Graham Somerville, Chevron refinery manager, portrayed Iberville and Jeff Lawson, WLOX TV anchorman, was Bienville at the 1699 Landing Celebration.(The Ocean Springs Record, April 22, 1999, p. 1)

 

Friends of the Sandhill Crane refuge was organized in May.(The Ocean Springs Record, May 20, 1999, p. 2)

 

Site preparation for a Super Wal-Mart on US 90, commenced in June. (Observation)

 

The Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church held services in its new sanctuary on July 18, 1999.  Formal dedication of the sanctuary occurred on August 15, 1999.(The Ocean Springs Record, July 22, 1999, p. 1)

 

2000

 

Population of Ocean Springs 17225 people [15113 white and 1211 black].(The Sun Herald, March 9, 2001, p. A10)

 

Ronald Musgrove (b. 1957), Democrat, was declared Governor of Mississippi on January 4th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 6, 2000, p. 1)

 

The Art House, a co-op of local artists commenced in a house on Cash Alley on January 11th.(The Ocean Springs Record, January 14, 2010, p. 3)

 

William Ackert and Lois Barbknecht were King Fidelity and Queen Charity of the Elks Mardi Gras parade on February 12th.(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, February 17, 2000, p. 1)

 

Jacob 'Jake' Valentine (1917-2000)"father of the Mississippi Sandhill Crane Refuge" expired at Lafayette, Louisiana on February 4, 2000.(The Ocean Springs Record, February 17, 2000, p. 9)

 

Super Wal-Mart opened on US Highway 90.

 

Southern Traditions, an upscale restaurant opened on Washington Avenue.

 

Germaine's Restaurant, formerly Trilby's on Bienville Boulevard, and owned by Jack and Jane Dees Gottsche celebrated its 10th anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, March 2, 2000, p. 5)

 

In March, Gilda Marie Seymour Catchot was named Mrs. Mississippi.(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, March 16, 2000, p. 1)

 

Jeff Hugh O'Keefe was Iberville at the 1699 Landing Celebration..(The Ocean Springs Record-Independent, April 27, 2000, p. 1) 

         

"New Crooked Feather" [L-R: May 2000 and May 2001.  Images by Ray L. Bellande]

 

Peter Wolf Toth’s 1976 “Crooked Feather” was replaced for $20,000 by local sculpture, Thomas King.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, April 4, 2000, p. 1 and June 22, 2000, p. 1)

Ocean Springs Lumber Company celebrated its 75th Anniversary.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, May 4, 2000, p. 1)

Police Chief Mike Ezell resigned in April.(The Mississippi Press, April 23, 2000 and April 28, 2000)

Kerry Belk named Chief of the OSPD.

Walter Anderson's Community Center Murals were insured for $8 million dollars by the City of Ocean Springs.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, September 28, 2000, p. 1)

 The USS Cole returned to Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula where she was built for repairs following the terrorist's attacked at Aden, Yemen on October 12th.

Donovan Scruggs began his tenure as Community Development and City Planner on July 17th.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, August 31, 2000, p. 1)

Shell Landing, a Davis Love III, designed golf course opened in November at Gautier.(The Ocean Springs Record, September 28, 2000 p. 1)

Acadian Ambulance replaced American Medical Response after twenty six years as local ambulance operator.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, November 16, 2000, p. 1)

Arthemise Alsina Blossman (1914-2000), widow of E.W. 'Woody' Blossman (1913-1990), expired on December 6th.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, December 14, 2000, p. 1)

The USS Cole returned to Ingalls Shipbuilding at Pascagoula on December 13th for repairs following the Muslim terrorist's attack at Aden, Yemen on October 12th.  USS Cole had been built at Ingalls.(The Ocean Springs Record-Gautier Independent, December 21, 2000, p. 1)